BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/04/2011

TWG Insurance (Headquarters)

Phone: (866) 428-5353Fax: (866) 877-6250View Additional Phone Numbers100 E Royal Ln Ste 320, IrvingTX 75039-4223 Send email to TWG Insurance

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/04/2011

BBB has determined that TWG Insurance meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised TWG Insurance's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
11/01/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the service

Complaint: TWG filed wrong information for TWIA and homeowners insurance that caused premium increases after property closing.
TWG filed wrong information for TWIA insurance and did not followup properly with notifications that we were about to lose the insurance. This caused premium increases after closing on property of $241.00. TWIA policy #XXXXXXXX.
TWG filed wrong information for homeowners policy which ASI (insurer) denied coverage effective 8-27-13 after property closing date of 6-10-13. TWG agent said we would have to go else where for the correct insurance 6 working days before the insurance termination date. After finding and agency that knew how to handle coastal property insurance it has cost us another approx. $900 in premiums after closing on the property. At present time I am seeking a refund of $398 for the wrongful ASI policy issue. ASI #TXLXXXXXX

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Drew Burks
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@twginsurance.com
ASI policy TXLXXXXXX was issued on 5/15/2013 with an effective date of 6/10/2013 for a new home closing. The policy was written based on phone conversations between the client and TWG agent Jon Easterlin. Upon a physical inspection conducted by the carrier, it was discovered that a breezeway connected the main dwelling to a dock, making the risk ineligible with ASI. ASI sent an UW cancellation notice of this to both the client and TWG on 7/23/2013. At that time, Mr. Easterlin shopped TWG's other carriers for a replacement policy. On 8/8/2013, while issuing a boat insurance policy for Mr. ******, Mr. Easterlin informed the client that we did not have an option for him. On 8/19/2013, Mr. Easterlin emailed Mr. ****** the name of a local agency that specializes in Galveston area insurance policies. With the ASI policy set to cancel effective 8/27, Jeannete Ponce, an account service manager at TWG, contacted ASI on 8/26 to expedite the refund from ASI and was able to have the carrier process the refund of $254 on 8/27 (this normally takes up to 10 days). TWG also issued a full refund of the $199 agency fee on 8/27. Total refund sent to client is $453.

TWIA application XXXXXXXXXX was submitted on 5/15/2013 based on conversations between the client and Mr. Easterlin and WPI-8 certificates reviewed by Mr. Easterlin. On 7/17/2013 TWG received an UW notice from Texas Windstorm (TWIA) regarding the construction type of the home. While the application was submitted with frame construction type, the replacement cost estimator had brick veneer as construction type. On 7/25/2013, Elisabeth Yzaguirre (TWG UW specialist) submitted the corrected documentation to TWIA. On 8/12/2013, we were notified by TWIA that additional premium of $241 was due based on the construction type and a change in the building code. As of this date, the TWIA policy is active and paid in full.

If any further action is required, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
TWG Representative, As you know, we are residence of mailing address: XXXXXX
This is the same address that TWG sent the refund check for the account setup fee for $199. To date we have not received a check for the ASI policy refund. Our previous mailing residence in XXXXX does have active address change and we have been receiving mail forwarded from that address.
According to your response to the BBB, ASI cut a refund check for $254 which we have not received. In my view this amount would be incorrect with the proportion that ASI insurance covered our property and then withdrew coverage. Per your response to BBB the policy began on 6/10/2013 and was withdrawn 8/27/2013. I count 79 days of coverage. We paid $398 at closing for a one year policy. Therefore, 79 days divided by 365 days would equal 21.643% of policy usage. And I should get $311.86 refund for the unused policy coverage portion.
TWG has not taken any posture of responsibility for totally mishandling the coastal property for which TWG claims to be a full service insurance agency.
1. As for the payment that was reconciled with TWIA, this would not have happened thorough TWG. If we had not gotten involved with any agency that was knowledgeable about coastal property insurance the $241 would not have been paid. This agency assisted us directly with TWIA and our cost differences were submitted by them the same day we were in their offices seeking a new home owner insurance policy.
2. TWG forced us with 7 working days to shop for homeowners insurance after TWG had 27 days to supply us with and telling us that they where going to supply a home owners policy with better coverage at a lower premium than the ASI policy that was withdrawn. As documented in the BBB report TWG surrendered that they could not offer any coverage at all. In fact, told us we needed to go elsewhere to seek insurance.
3. TWG offered TWIA and homeowners insurance at our property closing on 6/10/2013 at $199 setup fee, $398 homeowners policy, and $1278 windstorm TWIA policy. After all the corrections of TWG's mishandling of our insurance needs it has cost an additional $241 for correction of TWIA coverage, and an additional $440.23 for a proper homeowners policy.
4. Evidently, to date, we are headed for a disagreement of the ASI refund check amount.
TWG Representative, before you try a second time to get an ASI refund check to us, could you please explain the following. Why does the difference exists between your report that the ASI check for $254 and not for an unused portion at $311.86?


Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/30/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/01/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/10/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/10/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation did not disclose key conditions of the offer

Complaint: Agent failed to inform me that the policy did not cover theft.
On May 6, 2013 I reported a claim to the insurance company. Received a call back from them on the 8th of May telling me I was not covered for theft, but that I was covered for everything else. Shocked by this I asked how this could be and received no reasonable answer or explanation. I called back into the insurance company as a new customer making inquiries' regarding their policy procedures then came right out and asked them if their homeowner policies covered theft and what would cause for it not to? I was told that yes they would cover theft unless otherwise instructed by policy holder not to. I then confessed that I was a policy holder and explained my situation. After being put on hold and transferred to a supervisor I still could not get an answer or explanation as to why my policy would have ever been written not to cover theft. Instead I was told that over three years' time that they have new and better policies and would be more than happy to have it added now.
The declaration page I received when we got the policy does not state it does not cover theft. Since dealing with this situation other questions have me concerned as well. Starting with the date the policy went into effect. Declaration states policy went into effect on 4/21/2011, we did not even close on our house until 5/24/2011. Then there is the matter of things we had to comply with before we could be insured. Communications going back and forth up till the beginning of July.
Now I am being told that our policy covers everything but theft? And that it did not cover vandalism until a year later. We were never told or asked for vandalism to be added, I now see that our premium went up and other adjustment to the policy were made as well. Had I know I was paying for a policy that did not cover theft I would not of understood the need or reason to pay for it to cover vandalism. Another disturbing factor is when I requested for a copy of the policy to be sent to me at the address that is being insured I was told that I would have to send in a written request to have it sent to that address, but yet when Peter called and requested for the same thing to be done it got done without such request.
The next step I took was trying to contact the insurance agent that worked with us in getting the policy. I called TWG Insurance and asked for the agent by name and was connected to Mr. Clay, I briefly explained my situation to him and he informed me that he no longer worked for TWG and that he would need a minute to pull my policy and get up to date regarding it. I politely asked if I could count on hearing back from him that same day in which he answered "yes I would". I have yet to receive a call back from Mr. Clay and have left him at least 2 other messages asking for a return call regarding the matter.
I then proceeded to contact TWG and asked to be connected to a supervisor and have been communicating with Amber regarding the situation but getting nowhere except for a lot of he said she said. I am being told that due to the fact of being an owner of a Rottweiler dog is why we were given the policy that we were??? When the policy was being considered we were at one point told that the reasons why being insured by National Lloyed rather than a company better know was due to a liability issue regarding the dog. The agent recommended that we go with said company, "they offered the best coverage for the price". We were never told that they policy did not cover theft and for that matter what does theft coverage have to do in regards to owning a Rottweiler anyways? That's not a liability issue.

Business' Initial Response
According to our records, Peter Driscoll (first named insured), spouse of the complainant, called TWG Insurance on 4/5/2011 indicating that he was looking for an insurance policy for less than $100 per month. As the TWG agent, John-Clay Harter, was reviewing his insurance needs it was discovered that ************ had a Rottweiler. Many insurance carriers will not insure a home in which a Rottweiler resides due to increased liability concerns with a breed of dog that is deemed vicious. As such, ************ had a limited number of options. Ultimately, through mutual discussion, it was determined that the best option for ************ was an owner-occupied dwelling policy through National Lloyds. One disadvantage of this policy type is that it does not cover losses resulting from theft and TWG records clearly indicate that this drawback was discussed directly between the agent (Mr. Harter) and the insured (************). TWG records do not indicate that Ms. ****** was ever involved in the direct purchasing discussion, and as such, TWG would not have known about her concern regarding lack of theft coverage under this policy.

Consumer's Final Response
The language from the policy documents provided does not mention theft to be covered as a perils nor as an exclusion. TWG claims that their documentation from April 2011 states that the first named insured was aware that the policy he was purchasing did not cover losses from theft then why won't they provide this proof, they also state that conversations are recorded so they should have no problem providing that recorded conversation.

Business' Final Response
Copied below is the language from the policy documents provided to the named insureds directly from National Lloyds explaining the perils covered by the policy. At the time of purchase, the first named insured, Peter ******** also signed the policy disclosure explaining the responsibility of the insured to read the policy language to determine the coverage(s) provided and coverage(s) available. Our documentation from April 2011 states that the first named insured was aware that the policy he was purchasing did not cover losses from theft.

PERILS INSURED AGAINST
We insure for direct physical loss to the covered property caused by a peril listed below unless the loss is excluded in the General Exclusions.
1. Fire and Lightning
2. Sudden and Accidental Damage from Smoke
This peril does not include loss caused by smog or by smoke from industrial or agricultural operations.
3. Windstorm, Hurricane and Hail.
a. Unless specifically insured on the Miscellaneous Property Schedule endorsement, this peril does not include:
(1) loss to cloth awnings, greenhouses and their contents, buildings or structures located wholly or partially over water and their contents; or
(2) loss to radio and television towers, outside satellite dishes, masts and antennas, including lead-in wiring, wind chargers and windmills.
b. We do not cover loss caused by windstorm, hurricane, or hail to the inside of a building or
personal property contained in a building unless direct force of wind or hail makes an opening in a roof or wall and rain, snow, sand or dust enters through this opening and causes the damage.
4. Explosion.
5. Aircraft and Vehicles.
Loss must result from actual physical contact of a vehicle with covered property or with the building containing the covered property
6. Riot and Civil Commotion.
7. Vandalism and Malicious Mischief.
8. Sudden and Accidental Discharge, Leakage, Overflow or Release of Water or Steam
within any portion of a plumbing or automatic fire protective sprinkler system that is above the surface of the ground, or from within any portion of a heating or air conditioning system that is above the surface of the ground, or from within a household appliance. This peril does not cover loss to the system or appliance from which the water or steam was discharged, leaked, overflowed or was released. However, if the sudden and accidental discharge, leakage, overflow or release was caused by freezing of any portion of a plumbing or automatic fire protective sprinkler system that is above the surface of the ground, of any heating or air conditioning system that is above the surface of the ground, or of a household appliance, we will also cover the loss to any of these systems or appliances if:
a. the dwelling is occupied, not vacant and not being constructed; or
b. the dwelling is vacant, unoccupied or being constructed, but you have used reasonable care to:(1) maintain heat in the building; or (2) shut off the water supply and drain the system and
appliance or water.
A loss resulting from this peril includes the cost of tearing out and replacing that part of the dwelling structure, excluding the slab or the foundation, necessary to repair or replace the system or appliance from which the water or steam was discharged, leaked, overflowed or was released.
We do not cover sudden and accidental discharge, leakage, overflow or release of water or steam:
a. from within any portion of a plumbing or automatic fire protective sprinkler system that is either:
(1) below the surface of the ground; or
(2) within or below the slab or foundation; or
b. from within any portion of a heating or air conditioning system that is either:
(1) below the surface of the ground; or
(2) within or below the slab or foundation.

We do not cover loss caused by constant, repeated or intermittent discharge, seepage, leakage,
overflow or release of water or steam.

Our total LIMIT OF LIABILITY for loss(es) for this coverage during the policy period stated on the declarations page of this policy is $10,000 , and is the most we will pay for the sum of all losses caused by this peril regardless of the number of losses that occur during the policy period stated on the declarations page. Each payment for a loss for this peril during the policy period will reduce this limit of liability by the amount of each such payment for the remainder of the policy period.

This is not additional insurance and does not increase the COVERAGE A (DWELLING) or
COVERAGE B (PERSONAL PROPERTY) limit of liability.
9. Fall of trees or limbs, including felling, topping or trimming.
10. Objects falling from the weight of ice, snow or sleet.


11. Collapse of building or any part of the building.
We do not cover loss either consisting of, or caused directly or indirectly by:
a. earthquake, earth movement, landslide, subsidence or earth sinking, or the rising, shifting,
expansion, contraction, settling or movement of surface or subsurface soils.
b. insects, vermin, wet or dry rot, wear and tear, inherent vice, decay, deterioration, or any quality in property that causes it to damage or destroy itself.
12. Breakage of glass which is part of the building including glass in storm doors and storm windows.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

05/18/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance Agency, Insurance Services, Insurance - Workers Compensation, Insurance - Rental, Insurance - Marine, Insurance - Life, Insurance - Auto, Insurance - Homeowners

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/19/2007Business started: 11/01/2003
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Insurance
333 Guadalupe Street
Austin, TX78701
(800) 252-3439
http://www.tdi.texas.gov

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Mark Jones (CEO / Chairman)Customer Contact: Mr. Brent Meyer (Controller)Mr. Michael Colby CPA (CFO)
Business Category

Insurance Agency, Insurance Services, Insurance - Workers Compensation, Insurance - Rental, Insurance - Marine, Insurance - Life, Insurance - Auto, Insurance - Homeowners

Alternate Business Names
Texas Wasatch Insurance Services, LP.
Industry Tips
Insurance
Automobile Insurance
Fraudulent Health Insurance a Growing Problem
Scam Artists Even Target the Bereaved
The Hail Season is Here
Tips on Purchasing Identity Theft Insurance
Travel Insurance - Is it Necessary?
Will Your Auto Insurance Weather the Storm?

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for TWG Insurance

100 E Royal Ln Ste 320

Irving, TX 75039-4223

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 100 E Royal Ln Ste 320 

    Irving, TX 75039-4223(866) 428-5353
    (214) 838-5500

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*TWG Insurance is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (214) 838-5500
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.