BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1986

Baker International Insurance Agency

Phone: (940) 270-3200Fax: (940) 269-1503

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service13
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints14

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (14)BBB Closure Definitions
01/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: Baker International failed to meet their contractual obligations to insure all of my families belongings.
I purchased moving insurance through Baker Innternational on 10/1/2013 for a move from Cincinnati, Ohio to Lenexa, Kansas on 10/3/2013. The total value of articles insured was $114,000. The move was conducted by All My Sons Movers, Cincinnati. All aspects of the move were professionally done.

Our items arrived on 10/10/2013. We noticed numerous item broken and/or damaged. We followed the process as outlined by Bakers International and made sure as we unpacked to itemize all damages.

We submitted our damage report on November 15th and 16th via email to Baker International. I was assigned ***** ******* who contacted me directly, to handle my claim. We discussed the damage and he told me to expect an evaluation by Home Team Solutions of Kansas City.

After the formal evaluation, ***** requested additional information which I provided later in the day. In a subsequent phone call. ***** told me that Baker International refused to compensate me or repair damages resulting from missing parts of 4 bookshelves, steam cleaner, drill set, coffee table, and Wii Fit console rendering them useless. He stated that missing items weren't covered per the policy. I corrected him in stating that the items weren't missing, but vital components making it functional were. Other items such as ripped shoes were disallowed because they couldn't understand how they got ripped even after I explained how the movers packed items, which directly caused the damage. Their expert even agreed with me. When I asked to speak to a supervisor to address my concerns, he refused and then stated that they didn't do that and that I could only speak to him and him only.

Finally, It is listed in the contract that Baker will compensate the customer for the removal of damaged items. When I brought this up to *****, he at first stated that they didn't do that. Then, he had to ask his supervisor and get back to me. He never got back to me after a week and the issue was never resolved. ***** made it clear that he believed the file was closed and no further action would be taken.

Baker International did not meet their contractual obligation even on items that were clearly spelled out in the contract.

Initial Business Response
We have spoken with the shipper and addressed his concerns and request for additional settlement. We made additional settlement where warranted and the customer is wholly satisfied.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

12/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: Insurer will not pay for damaged furniture during transit as contracted for.
The insurer reported to me that after review by their Florida contracted furniture restorer two items of damaged furniture will not be covered. The restorer claims these items where not transit worthy because the point of breakage on these items were either not clued and nailed or not nailed and clued.
No where on the signed contract did it indicate they would not cover furniture that was not "both nailed and glued together" as it is not transit worthy. Naturally this would be a ridiculous clause to add in if they wanted any business.
The reality is these two items were not at all damaged at the time it was picked up from the point of origination however it was damaged when it was delivered. Therefore they are responsible to make it right as is the reason for the purchase of this insurance in the first place.

Initial Business Response
The expert that inspected the claimants furniture advised that the damage did not appear to be caused by mishandling but was due to the construction of the items. As stated in section 4f of our certificate of insurance damage due to inherent vice is not covered. However, we take the complaints of our customers seriously and as such have settled the claim to the satisfaction of the customer.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

11/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Contract Complaint Issue

Complaint: Spent $2,070 with Baker Ins. for moving & storage insurance. I need to be reimbursed for the storage costs.
I have spent $2,070 for moving and storage insurance as of 10-23-2013. The articles were professionally packed and then were picked up 1-4-2012 by Golden West Movers and sent to their storage facility where they are now. A move needs to be made now to the final destination for my belongings. The current storage costs are $175 per month for the 17 months they have been in storage and $100 per month for the insurance from Baker.

Point, I would have chosen Golden West Movers, the original contractor to complete the move, but they no longer provide long distance moving services. Therefore, I chose Red Ball as the moving contractor.

Baker International has told me they will not provide insurance coverage for the move to the final destination due to the fact that a company other then Golden West Movers is conducting the move.

Red Ball will be providing the moving services. Red Ball is a very reputable company that has been in business since 1911 and has a A+ rating from the BBB.

There is a complete inventory list of what was picked up and the condition of the articles at the time of pick up. This inventory and condition determination was completed by Golden West Movers. Red Ball will also take a full accounting of the articles they pick up and the condition they are in. An easy comparison can be made at that time of the change, from storage to Red Ball's moving van. in condition from the original pick up date thru the time it has been in storage which Baker would insure against and damages up to the point of Red Ball picking up the articles. It will cost an additional $365 to purchase a no deductible, $35,000 worth of insurance for the move from storage to the final destination. I would pay this amount to Red Ball.

Note. The insurance policy from Red Ball is superior insurance policy in that there is not a deductible. The Baker policy has a $1,000 deductible for EACH article damaged. How many articles fit that criteria? This is a misleading clause in the contract, it was never explained to me, and it is a VERY significant fact.




Initial Business Response
At Baker International it is our long standing goal to serve our customers with the utmost excellence and we take this complaint very seriously.

We have spoken with Mr. **** and have agreed to refund his storage premium. However I would like to respond to his comments.

Red Ball Moving is not registered with our company. They are a mover and typically provide valuation not insurance(which is what he said he needed). Furthermore, Mr. **** purchased an insurance policy for $50,000 not $35,000 so the comments he made about the difference in costs is not really comparing services of the same type and kind. The deductible in his coverage is not per article but rather per occurrence (move). We do not offer a policy with a deductible per article and he confirmed that he misunderstood the terms in our telephone conversation.

Again we regret that Mr. **** was dissatisfied and felt the need to file this complaint. He is pleased with our agreement to refund his storage premium and we agree that this is the best resolution.

Thank you.

Best Regards.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

04/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: Contracted with Baker Insurance to cover loss/damage to my household goods during a move. Baker refuses to pay for the 15 lost/stolen items.
On October 30 of 2012 I contracted with Baker Insurance to cover anye loss and damages to my household goods that I might have with a planned move between California and New Jersey. I entered into a policy with them (certificate #XXXXXX) and paid $862.50 for the policy which provided $175,000 in coverage with a $1,000 deductible.

After the move was completed, there were numerous items damaged and 15 items missing. Baker paid for the damaged items, but refused to pay for the stolen/missing items despite each and every missing item being noted on the inventory sheet as not being initialed as received. The agent for Baker said "I'm certain you didn't receive the items, but my management won't approve the payout". The value of the missing items is approximately $4,500.

I have not yet filed formal charges with the Texas Attorney general's office or insurance commission, as I was hoping to resolve this matter through the BBB first.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ************
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@bakerintl.com
Further review of the claim was made and we did make consideration on the missing items and the customer was contacted and was in agreement with settlement offer.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/11/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
06/26/2014Problems with Product / Service
02/18/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/10/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/03/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/03/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance Agency

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.