BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

cheaphotels.com

(866) 413-980910440 North Central Expressway Suite 400, DallasTX 75231http://cheaphotels.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

cheaphotels.com is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised cheaphotels.com's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on cheaphotels.com

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
06/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
there website says no fees but then they charge you
i booked a room with them on may 7th 2015 at 8:00 pm. there website said they don't charge any cancellation fees after booking the room the next page says there are no refunds. i called them may 8th at 800 am to cancel my reservation because of a change in plans of me going to a different city. they lady i talked to said that they would talk with the hotel manager and get me the refund to me and send me an email or call me with a conformation. i also called the hotel and talked with the manager and he said they had no problem refunding it but it would have to go thorough cheap hotels. on may 13th at 230 pm i called cheap hotels because i had not heard form them. they then informed me that they were not going to refund me the money because it is a non refundable room and told them that is not what there website says or what they told me yesterday and cheap hotels just repeated that they were not refundeed me for the room. so they basically just stole 120 dollars from me

Desired Settlement
i wont the 119.90 i paid for the room that i did not get. or a credit for a free room of the same value

Business Response
Hello BBB,

I am pleased to provide assistance with case #XXXXXXXX. Below are the findings and resolution to the case:

Customer Complaint:

The customer states he placed a reservation at Holiday Inn St. Louis-South County Center for check in May 8 through check out May 9, 2015.

The customer states that he called Cheaphotels.com to cancel the reservation on May 8, 2015.

The customer is requesting a full refund of $119.90.

The customer claims that the website stated that there was originally no charge for cancellation, but after confirming his purchase, he claims the website then stated the room selected was non-refundable.

Findings:

According to our records, on May 7, 2015, Mr. ***** ******* reserved a One King Bed with Sofa Bed- Nonsmoking Room, for check in May 8 through check out May 9, 2015.

The cancellation policy agreed to at the time of booking states:
The room type and rate selected are non-refundable. Should you change or cancel this reservation for any reason, your payment will not be refunded.
Cancellations or changes made after check-in are subject to a hotel fee equal to 100% of the total amount paid for the reservation.

Cheaphotels.com follows the hotel's policy on cancellations and charges accordingly. Cheaphotels.com does not have a separate cancellation fee or penalty.

Mr. ******* called and canceled the reservation on March 8, 2015. As a courtesy, we contacted the property on May 8, 2015 with the customer's refund request. The property advised they would charge according to the cancellation policy agreed to at the time of booking.

As a courtesy, we contacted the property management again on June 4, 2015 with a second appeal of the customer's refund request. The property staff confirmed they were able to waive the cancellation penalty and authorized a full refund.

Resolution:

We are happy to inform you, we have refunded the reservation in full, in the amount of $119.90, on June 4, 2015. This refund will process on our side within 24 hours and will return to the form of payment used at the time of booking within 3-7 days or on your next billing cycle.

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us a chance for resolution.

Regards,

******* F
Customer Relations Specialist


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
It is good to see a company back the customer up. Thank you

06/29/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I reserved a hotel named Magical Memories villas from Cheaphotels.com. I paid a certain amount and was surprisingly charged an extra fee when checking
I reserved a hotel called Magical Memories villas from cheap hotels.com. They were promoting a 55% off each night, so it was going to be $99 per night so for two nights it was going to be $223.74 total balance due. No extra fees, it was just that. When it came to checking in to the resort/villa the front desk worker told us we had a balance to of $135 for cleaning fees. We were surprised and told him this wasn't the case because it does not say it in our reservation we printed out. It didn't. His excuse was that it sometimes it doesn't say it, which isn't the case at all. I called cheap hotels and they were not helpful either, at first the lady I spoke to said she doesn't see any extra charges that were supposed to be charged but when she called the hotel and they talked to her, she switched her story up and said it says "some extra fees may apply" but she doesn't know why it didn't show up on our reservation. I demanded this fee to be waved because it wasn't fair but she said she cannot do anything about it. I talked to a supervisor, his name was Carlos and he told me I either have the option to pay the $135 or if I want to cancel the reservation pay $99 for one night worth cancellation fee. This was ridiculous to me, because in the first pace this is their fault for misleading customers so it's a lose lose situation for us. my father was exhausted and decided to pay the $135 since he saw there was no customer service being handed to us and he just wanted a place to sleep. We paid the $135 to not go throughout the hassle of finding another hotel at the last minute and paying $99 to cancel. On top of that, the address that was printed on our reservation for our stay wasn't even the place were we were staying at. that was just the check in place, the actual place which isn't really called "Magical Memories villas" was called "Grand Palms circle" was located 10 miles away from check in. This is something else that wasn't mentioned in our reservation. In the end, we were very disappointed with just everything coming from both companies; Cheaphotels.com and Magical Memories Villas. They showed no sort of customer service and they weren't inviting at all. Cheaphotels.com were at fault for this for misleading us and not owning up for their mistake.

Desired Settlement
To be honest, I don't even want a full refund for what I originally paid from cheap hotels.com because thats what I read and paid for. But I am requesting the $135 I was basically force to pay. We were in an unknown city and of course we have no other choice. But cheap hotels.com mislead us and didn't own up and showed any type of customer service to help us out. I will never reserve any hotel from this company again.

Business Response
Hello BBB,

I am pleased to provide assistance with case # XXXXXXXX. Below are the findings and resolution to the case:

Customer Complaint:

The customer states she placed a reservation at the Magical Memories Villas for check-in May 24 through check-out May 26, 2015 for a total cost of $223.74. She claims that when she printed her receipt, no additional charges were listed. However, upon arrival at the hotel, the guest stated she was asked to pay an additional $135.00. She also states that the location of the property was located separately from the designated check-in facility.

The customer is requesting a refund for the amount of $135 for the difference in the amount charged for the reservation and the amount requested at the hotel property.

Findings:

According to our records, the customer's reservation was placed through CheapHotels.com on May 13, 2015. CheapHotels.com is a company with which Expedia does business with through the Expedia Affiliate Network.

Magical Memories Villas are a property management team that services many locations throughout the area. The location information stated on our website provides the address for the check-in facility for incoming guests and verifies all locations are within eight miles of Disney.

When the customer completed the booking process, she received a confirmation receipt with additional charges listed as follows:

Mandatory Fees and Taxes:

Cleaning Fee:

USD 95 per accommodation, per stay (varies per unit size)

After a thorough investigation, I confirmed with the hotel that the guest was charged $135.60. This amount includes the $95.00 cleaning fee, a $25.00 charge for damage insurance that the customer accepted upon check-in, and applicable taxes and fees.

Resolution:

Because the property charged only the mandatory fees listed on the customer's reservation, and optional services selected by the guest at check-in, I regret to advise that we are unable to honor the customer's request for a refund of $135.00.

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us a chance for resolution.

Thank you,

Vanessa F
Customer Relations Specialist

05/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Having refund issues with hotel - see full story
Last week we booked two different hotels. The first one was for Montreal. My two issues are that I accidently booked it but then we decided just to go with it. Secondly, after trying to dispute this with the hotel, they had told me I had the option to do a refundable one when I booked it - I did not see that option at the time of booking. The issue I had with the hotel was last week I read some reviews that were unsettling. That they are horrible for bed bugs. I am severely allergic to dust mites and bed bugs and did not want to chance it and stay somewhere where later I could go to the emergency room. I have before and can provide medical records. If it wasn't for that, we would happily be staying there. But we would rather pay double the amount to stay somewhere else than ruining a trip and having to go to the ER. The manager (**** **********) was professional but I would have liked some sympathy in our situation. Again, he said I had the option of a refundable rate (which I would have obviously went for as my other hotel I booked gave that option) but I did not see it. I believe that more than 30 days notice is enough to make an exception in my case as it is for health concerns. My itinery number is XXXXXXXXX .

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund.

Business Response
Hello BBB,

I am pleased to provide assistance with case #XXXXXXXX. Below are the findings and resolution to the case:

Customer Complaint:

The customer stated she accidently booked a non-refundable reservation online. After researching the property's reviews, the guest was not comfortable staying at the property and the reservation was cancelled. The customer states she would have booked a refundable option if one had been available.

The customer is requesting a full refund of $118.30.

Findings:

Our records indicate the booking was made online through Hotelscheap.org on April 15, 2014 as a non-refundable rate.

The rates and availability on the website is updated frequently, therefore we are not able to guarantee specific rates at any given time.

As a courtesy, we contacted the property on the customer's behalf. The property staff advised since the reservation was confirmed under a non-refundable agreement, the full penalty will still be charged as agreed upon at the time of booking.

Resolution:

Unfortunately, since the property was not able to waive the cancellation penalty as requested, we are unable to honor the customer's request for a refund of $118.30.

Thank you for bringing this matter to our attention and allowing us a chance for resolution.

***** J.
Customer Relations Specialist

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Thank you for your review of my case. In reading your response, you stated I only wanted to cancel it because I accidently booked it. That is false. Yes, I did accidently book it, but was going to just stick with it. After investigating it on traveladvisor.com, I came into reviews that would put my health into jeopardy. MANY of the reviews mentioned bed bugs and other bugs. I had been in and out of the hospital for an unknown allergy. After tests being done, they did find that I am severely allergic to bed bugs and dust mites and I was not about to take that chance and have to be rushed to the ER. I can provide medical records to prove this. After reviewing additional new reviews on traveladvisor.com, I believe that my request is warranted. Also, I believe that it is now cheaphotels.com responsibility to provide the refund as that is why I opened a case with the BBB with cheaphotels.com and not the hotel. I had tried to resolve this directly with the hotel and it was not resolved. FYI, they did admit they had/have bed bugs and that every hotel has them and if they say that don't they are lying. That came directly from the manager. As you can see in the reviews that many customers have issues with this hotel and their staff. If this is not refunded/resolved, I would advise cheahotels.com looking at their affiliation with this hotel as it is making cheaphotels.com and other websites similar (expedia) look really bad. I see that expedia.com also refunded another customers money after them being unsatisfied.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hotels

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/19/2012
Business Category

Hotels

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for cheaphotels.com

10440 North Central Expressway Suite 400

Dallas, TX 75231

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 10440 North Central Expressway Suite 400 

    Dallas, TX 75231

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*cheaphotels.com is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Hotels

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.