BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Best Western-Market Center

Phone: (214) 741-9000Fax: (214) 741-6100

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
10/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Inconvenienced 2 nights of my 4 night stay. Poor communication. Poor customer service. Unsafe living space that could have been life threatening
Check in 9/9/15. Dirty hypodermic syringe and needle found in room on 9/10/15 (Severe health hazard). Also the safe did not work. Mgmt did not want to see but had to tell him he needed to see. He wanted to just send someone to clean it. Maintenance moved me to another room because of the safe. (Inconvenience #1) I bought food and place in the refrigerator. When I got back to the room on later that night, the food was spoiled. The refrigerator in the new room did not work. Called front desk. No answer. This was at 1000 at night. The next morning (9/11/15) at approx 7am the toilet floods. I reported both the toilet and the refrigerator to the front desk. I was not given a plunger to stop the water from overflowing onto the floor. (Unsanitary health hazard). Maintenance finally came to fix the toilet and the refrigerator. I left for my conference. I came back to the room only to find the refrigerator not working again. I contacted Brandy at the front desk and he came to fix the refrigerator. Unfortunately when he did, sparks flew from the back of the refrigerator unit. (Fire hazard). Be moved me again back to the room with the faulty safe but at least the dirty hypodermic needle was gone. This is the 2nd time I was inconvenienced during my 4 night stay. Each time there was an incident, I reported it to the front desk (requesting that management contact me) and to Best Western corporate requesting still that management contact me. I requested a 2 night refund because of the inconvenience and because of the health hazards and safety risks of the TWO room, TWO night incident. Not only did the manager not contact me until after I had checked out, he was rude, refused to identify himself on the phone and told me that the owner/manager was in the hospital. When I requested that the manager Patel contact me after he gets out of the hospital so we could solve this problem he proceeded to tell me that he may be in there 4 or 5 months and there was nothing he could do except provide a 1 night.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that I be refunded the $197.50 to my credit card the two nights of inconvenience (where I was moved twice) due to a dirty hypodermic needle being found in the room, a faulty safe, a flooding toilet, and a fire hazard refrigerator. I would also like a written apology from the owner of the hotel for not meeting up to my expectations as a customer and as a consumer.

Business Response
The issue in question has already been resolved by us with Best Western International. We have provided the guest 2 complementary night out of 4 nights stay. We have charged 3 nights on guest card out of 4 nights stay ( One night did not charged )and We have also provided the guest with 16,000 Best Western Rewards points which are sufficient to claim a free night stay at any Best Western worldwide. So the guest has been provided with 2 free nights. In addition, we have also made the guest a Best Western Rewards member and provided 10x reward points for her stay at Best Western Market Center in addition to member perks. As stated above, guest has received the desired compensation, Also Our entire team has taken the time to graciously apologize to the guest over and over for the incident. and we consider the matter resolved.

Thanking you in anticipations.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The hotel itself did not apologize. I had to contact corporate to get them to respond well after I had checked out. I want not fully compensated as they claim. They DID NOT make me a Best Western reward member. I was ALREADY a rewards member BEFORE this HORRIBLE experience. I requested 2 nights back in the SAME FORM of payment as I paid, not in points as I will never stay at a BW again. I told them this. I was bullied by the manager, Patel. He refused to contact me regarding my treatment and the rooms unsanitary conditions. He had yet to apologize.

10/03/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The hotel has bed bugs that I seen with my eyes I was forced to check out early and was charged an extra night. I reported issue nothing has been done
During my stay on 8/28/13 - 9/30/13 (3 nights)at the Best Western -Market Center hotel on 2023 market Center Blvd Dallas Texas XXXXX I seen and was able to catch a bed bug in my bed. I was laying in the bed when I pulled back the covers and seen what looked to be a black spot but it was moving!!!. I looked closer and seen that it was a bed bug so I ran and found a plastic bag and caught it in a Ziploc bag. I immediately reported the bed bug to the front desk rep name William and which he accused me of bring the bed bug from my home. He also stated that I was trying to get out of paying for my stay. The front desk rep was extremely rude and unprofessional. I was forced to check out a day early due to the bed bug incident and asked if I not be charged at all because of the bed bugs. I was forced to pay for the 3 nights that I stayed in the hotel. I received a printed receipt for a payment of 3 days which totaled 346.88 $. When I checked my bank statement days later on 9/4/13 I seen that I had been over charged 120.00$ which was for an extra night. I called 1800 Western to reported the over charge as well as the bed bugs I also called the hotel directly and asked for my refund but the manager Patel told me that because I checked out a day early that I was charged the full amount even though I did not stay the next night. After several calls to 1800-western to report the bed bugs they told me that it was nothing that they could do and that they would work to get my money back. I had to call my bank and dispute the charge, however the hotel is fighting with my bank to not refund the money. I have never encountered anything like this in my life. I reported bed bugs which is considered to be a serious issue to most businesses however Best Western does not consider bed bugs to be that big of a deal in which I was called a lier by one of their employees and had have my clothes dry cleaned (over a hundred dollar bill). I am still out of the 346.88 the amount that I was forced to pay for staying in a bed bug infested hotel. I have also called the state of Texas, the health department, and the city of Dallas to report the bed bugs, however all of whom has not been any help to me or even returned any of my phone calls. I also did some research on the hotel at that location and found other reports from people that have reported the hotel for having bed bugs in the past.

Desired Settlement
I would like my total refund for 346.88. this is the amount that I was forced to pay even after I reported the bed bugs in which I should not have been charged anything.

Business Response
Thank you for contacting us regarding the issue. The events transpired with the guest as below.

The guest checked in our hotel on August 28 for 4 nights. A day prior to her scheduled checkout day, she came to checkout at 6PM. The standard checkout time in hotel industry is 11AM in any hotel and they are charged for the day if they are to checkout past the noon. The guest was informed by the front desk of this policy and that she'd be charged for the day since she's checking out 7 hours after scheduled checkout time and had also used the room. The guest did not receive it well and was quite upset at the staff for it and stormed off. Within few minutes, guest returned with a complaint that she has bed bugs in her room and demanded a refund. The front manager, the head housekeeper, maintenance engineer, and the manager himself checked the room 314 where she stayed and did not find any evidence to support her complaint.

To keep the guest happy, we did not charge her for the day and only charged her for 3 nights. The guest then demanded a full refund for her entire stay and threatened to file complaints and ruin our public ratings if we did not comply with her terms. The same guest room has been rented numerous times since and has not received any reports of bed bugs. Our property is recently renovated and has all new guest rooms, carpet, paint, bed and bedding, all furniture, TVs, vanity and mirror and more ongoing work. We've never had to call our pest control terminator for issues regarding bed bugs or other bug problems.

The guest also made a similar complaint to the Best Western Inc. regarding this issue and after their thorough investigation, they concluded that her claims were unfounded and dismissed the complaint.

We are determined to provide quality accommodation to our guests and a comfortable stay. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact us.

sincerely
Am

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The entire response from Bestwestern is not true. The time in which they say I asked about checking out early is not correct, the manager was not there and would not speak to me at all (on the phone or in person that day). I was with my family and had them video tape the incident with their phone so I actually have the incident on video. I did ask the man at the front desk about checking out early in which he said that it would not be a good idea because I would still have to pay for that day. I was fine with the policy and replied with an ok and than went to my room. While I was sitting in the bed I seen the bed bug. I went back down to the front desk to report it and of course to ask for a total refund. I still stand firm about wanting my total refund back due to the bed bug that I seen and have video of on that day. I still believe no person in this world would want to pay for a room that has bed bugs and if I had known the hotel had bed bugs I would not have stayed there the 3 nights before. If you go to bedbugsreports.com and Bedbugregistry.com there are reports from others who have encountered the same problem with the same hotel. I also have prof of being overcharged in which I had to put in a claim with my bank to get my money back (my bank was able to get my money back for the overcharge). At no point did I threaten to do anything other than call the corporate office which is what I did. This hotel has had problems with bed bugs that date back to 2011 according to reports from other guest that have stayed in the hotel. The fact that the hotel claims to have never have been treated for bed bugs is sad because every hotel should take precaution and treat for pest and bugs whether they have them or not. I still have not received my total refund however money is not the issues in this case, the issue is the safety and health of other that stay at the hotel. I do not want another person to encounter the bed bug infestation in which I did because I can care less about the money.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hotels

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.