BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 06/07/2010

Sumeer Homes, Inc.

Phone: (972) 659-0655Fax: (972) 659-0587

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues4
Problems with Product / Service12
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints18

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (18)BBB Closure Definitions
12/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: Earnest Deposit Refund
I signed a home purchase agreement on Oct 14, 2013 with SUMEER HOMES for buying a property at **** ****** St. ****** XXXXX and deposited $5,000/- as an earnest money through cashier cheque.
I am dealing with Sales agent name ***** ****** and the above addressed home is still under constructions and will be completed by End of December 2013 and he said they cannot provide appraisal or title until construction is completed. I did not agreed in written for any extra amount upgrades.
Also as per my agreement clause# 6.1 ( I did not agreed on that clause and submitted a separate letter saying "Sumeer Homes will refund the total Earnest deposit if any bank denies my approval less than the home value amount or credit score issues). This letter is signed and initial by Sumeer Homes. Both parties have the copies of it.

I applied for pre-approval mortgage application with UIF BANK (http://www.myuif.com) and got denied due to limited credit history and not enough score. My wife personally submitted the denied bank document to ***** ****** on Oct 29th 2013. Today Nov 5,2013 he acknowledge that they will refund only 50% of the total amount ($2,500) saying reason is that the denial document is not legitimate with signature or stamp whereas as per Bank it's a legal bank document which do not require any signatory.

My wife asked sales person ****** ******* to inquire about the document by them if it is not legitimate. Mr. ***** replied rudely that this is not his business to inquire on that and hanged off phone on her face. Even she asked him to give his manager number to escalate the case and that too he denied saying he is the one to represent SUMEER HOMES.

***** ****** has very bad reviews which I couldn't able to find out earlier and learned a good lesson to deal with him or Sumeer Homes in future. I need every penny as my refund without any settlement options.

Initial Business Response
Sumeer Homes has agreed to refund the buyers Ernest Money. This will be our 37th year in the business.. We will always do what's right and show the up most respect for our customers. We will mail this check out on 12/01/2013

Consumer Response
I am still waiting for the post mail as per the business confirmed to resolve by sending the $5,000 USD refund of my earnest money deposit. Kindly advise when cheque will reach to my registered address.


Consumer Response
I would like to close the case with BBB as I personally picked the Bank&West cheque#***** for the amount of $5,000/- from Sumeer Homes office on Monday 12/9 at around 4PM.

I am so thankful and grateful to BBB for their excellent actions taken on my case. Without BBB help, my issue was impossible to resolve with ***** ******. He claimed to deduct 50% ($2,500) just for not having signature on bank denial letter which is against their contract and unlawful.

My opinion to *** ****** - Director of Operations for Sumeer Homes Inc. is to replace ***** ****** immediately because he does not have any respect towards his words or customer. I will sure advise my family and friends to think 100 times before dealing with ***** ****** who is representing Sumeeer Homes in unethical way.

Still thank you Mr. *** for your acknowledgement and action.

Regards
********

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

12/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: Sumeer promised to refund us $325 for an overpayment at the design center.
This issue revolves around the fact that we paid for an item at the design center that should have been standard and not an upgrade. **** **** with Sumeer acknowledged the mistake an issued a verbal credit. With that credit we used a portion of the credit to upgrade a chandelier and tile upgrade. The remaining credit was $325. **** **** said they would issue a check after we closed. This promise was witnessed by my wife Mesha, our realtor Tonya Parks, and myself in the model home before our closing.

We closed on 10/1/13 and after multiple conversations with **** to his surprise Sumeer has not sent us a check for $325. I last spoke to **** 2 weeks ago and he said he would personally go to the home office and pick up the check. I have not heard from **** and calls to his mobile go unanswered and voicemails have not been returned.

We are only asking for OUR money that we overpaid that we were promised to have returned to us. I believe 45 days is enough time to wait on a refund.

Its as simple as that.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

11/12/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: ***** ********* ***** irving complaint
I have signed a contract booked XXXXX ********* ***** XXXXX on 27th Aug 2013 at 5:00Pm with Krish bhatia of Sumeer homes.

I have specifically asked was there any flood in the area and Mr Krish categorily informed that there were no floods in this area. After signing the contract came to know that there was a flood in 2010 in the area.

On 30th Aug Send an email to inform that we are backout WITHIN 2 DAYS.

When we meet Sumeer homes they refuse to return the money.

Also When went to meet Krish for filling the backout form he told not to fill the flood issue instead enter some other reason to get the money back.

The information for the flood is incorrectly provided and the $5000 SHOULD BE REFUNDED BACK.

Initial Business Response
The original complaint is inaccurate as we are not in a flood Zone. We are not sure as to why the buyer mentioned this as being the issue of complaint and the reasoning they were backing out of the contract. I am looking into this situation further and will have a more detailed response after my findings. The buyer is in breech of Contract.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/30/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised written warranty or guarantee

Complaint: Issues with limited warranty of house purchase. I turned in warranty form with 2 things that needed attention. 3 years later, nothing has been done
I purchased my townhome from Sumeer homes 3 years ago. they extended my fence line and was told that they would stain the new wood planks. They have yet to do it. A few months ago I complained about this to the BBB and a few days later they sent someone out. the person took a look at the fence and said he would be back but never did. I cannot stain it because the HOA will not allow me to. The biggest and most concerning complaint is the poor grading job they did in my back yard. Every time it rains, my back yard gets completely flooded. the neighbors yard is about 2.5 feet above my level and they have drainage pipes that let all their rain water flow out to my back yard. The property behind me also is about 2 feet above my floor level. So all the rain water has nowhere to go other that to sit stagnant in my backyard for days. This then creates a health hazard. We get mosquitos all the time because of the sitting water. My baby girls cannot enjoy their back yard after rain and I cannot let my dogs out in the back yard because it is nothing but water and mud. In my entry way (sidewalk), the drainage pipes also lead out to the walk way to the entrance of my house. Muds spills all over the walk way. We had a small earthquake about a year ago. My wife ran out of the house with my baby in her arms and nearly slipped on the mud from the rain that day. Luckily she was able to keep her balance. But that also is an issue. I do not understand why they would have all the water drainage pipes lead from their yard to my yard. i was told by experts that the drainage pipes should lead out to the front of the house into the street, not into my back yard. He could not understand how that was able to pass inspection. I have asked them over and over again. I have called and left messages for the warranty department and I never get a call back. The salesman (Krish Bhatia) who sold us the house has an office in front of our townhome. My wife has gone several times to his office. He only cracks the door open and tells her to leave. She once walked in while he was with a client, and she went in asking to help get the situation fixed, he yelled at her and told her to shut up and get out. She believes she was treated like that because she is a women and Hispanic. The builder also has his office there and he pretty much shuts us down the same way. I went to speak to Krish and demand an apology for how he treated my wife and with me he cowered, saying he never said anything. I asked him to help me. he said he cannot do anything. He says what can he do. I told him, you see that logo on your shirt, you represent Sumeer home. You sold us the house. You should me able to help. He insists that he cannot. I told him I would contact the BBB and the City of Irving. He said he did not care. to do what I wanted to. As I walked away he said we were crazy.

Please BBB, I implore that you help us. We have no where else to turn. We have had this problem for 3 years. I have had this burden on my shoulders for 3 years.

Thank you in advance

Initial Business Response
We have been in contact With The *****'s and are steadily working to resolve the matter.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

05/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor a contract or agreement

Complaint: Breach of Contract - Sumeer made no attempt to close on the closing date stated in the contract; there was no written notice to extend contract
PLEASE TAKE NOTICE Sumeer Homes is in breach of our contract titled "New Home Contract - Inventory" signed on November 28, 2012 for the purchase of Lot 5, Block 5, Addition Shoal Creek Townhomes, Section 1, Dallas County, commonly known as 6401 Eagle Nest Drive, Garland, Texas.

Specifically, Sumeer Homes has breached the following obligations under the contract: Section 5, Closing, states "For Inventory Contract, the date of closing shall be on or before December 28, or such date selected by Seller, in sellers sole discretion, as evidenced by written notice from Seller, not later than the date which is thirty (30) days after the aforesaid date." There was no written notice from Seller to extend the Closing Date. Sumeer Homes is therefore in breach of this contract.

Section 6, Remedies, states "IN THE EVENT OF A DEFAULT BY SELLER, AS ITS SOLE AND EXCLUSIVE REMEDIES, PURCHASER SHALL BE ENTITLED TO COLLECT, WITHOUT PROOF OF LOSS OR DAMAGE, A REFUND OF THE EARNEST MONEY, PLUS THE SUM OF $100 AS LIQUIDATED DAMAGES.

Business' Initial Response
Sumeer Homes did not give written notice to move the closing because Mr ****** verbally agreed with our onsite salesman that he was not in a hurry and would not have a problem rolling the closing over to the next month. The only items remaining were cosmetic in nature. The house had received a certificate of occupancy. After we were told that the closing would roll over to the next month, we received a cancellation notice from Mr. ******. Sumeer Homes had already absorbed Upgrades that were installed in the house per the earnest money contract and held back the amounts we had to pay to have the items installed. Our contracts specifically read that any upgrades installed that are rolled into the sales price are non refundable . We have deducted the amounts owed to us and have sent the remainder of the Earnest Money to Mr. ******. We look forward to possibly doing business with Mr. ****** in the future and wish him and his family the best.


****** ******
Sumeer Homes Inc.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 3
05/19/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: puchased new home 2008, ceramic tile is popping up in several areas in my home. This should not happen in the first five years I would think.
Contacted sumeer in 2009 spoke with ***** about flooring and was told that some tile may become loose but nothing to be concerned about. In Nov 2013 tile popped up in the kitchen area, and now I have the same problem in one of my bathrooms. Also there loose tiles in other areas. This should no be happening in the first 5 yrs.

Initial Business Response
Home owner contacted the company that carry's the buyers warranty American e Builders in which they had a visual inspection done at the property . Per the warranty report there is no structural issues with this property. Buyer closed in 2008 and is out of warranty with the builder. Due to the lack of watering and maintaining soil moisture it has now caused some minor shifting which has caused the tile to crack in certain areas. This is very common when the whole DFW area is under drought conditions and when it does rain this will cause the soil to swell which in return could effect the interior of the home. We have been in business 39 years and will always stand behind our workmanship and abide by the contracts that are executed. This buyer is clearly out of warranty. This is a lack of Homeowner maintenance. We consider this matter closed.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No I do not accept this, clearly because I water my lawn 3 times each week. I have the water bills to prove this. This is not from lack of water.

04/14/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: Despite MANY attempts, several walkthrough items, guaranteed to be fixed under warranty, have not been fixed.
I built my home at 3631 Swiss Lane and closed on 12-26-12. On 2-19-13, I submitted my 60 Day Walkthrough list to *****. (I am not clear on his job title.) He walked through with me and told me the items would be handled. I then submitted a 90 Day Walkthrough list in March and several of the items had still not been addressed. One of these items was the tile in the upstairs master bathtub(cut and placed incorrectly under the faucet). There were other items listed that took several months and several contacts, but were eventually taken care of. Around June, we also alerted ***** that a drawer in the kitchen would not closed due to the track being installed incorrectly. Throughout the summer, I contacted both ***** and ***** ****** (Warranty contact), letting them know that the items had not been addressed and asking them to contact me to let me know when they would be addressed. I received a few calls and emails from ***** saying that contractors should be calling me, but they never did. In late November, I contacted ***** again telling him I would be home for Thanksgiving and Christmas break and that I'd like the repairs to be taken care of before the warranty expired in December. I was assured again that I would be contacted. I made several more attempts in Dec that were handled in the same way. Each time, being told I would be contacted but wasn't. On January 2nd, I contacted ***** again, telling him I had not been contacted and no repairs made. Two days later, a man from the cabinet company called and said I'm around the corner and I want to come over now. I told them I was not home. They said they would call me back to reschedule, but never did. I even tried to call back the number that called me to reschedule, but they said they needed to talk to headquarters and they would get back with me. They did not. I have sent ***** yet another email letting him know that these items still have not been resolved and am waiting to hear back. I feel that I've been very patient and understanding, but after looking at some reviews online, it seems this is not the first time this has happened. There seem to be several people receiving the run around when it comes to repairs and warranty work. I am hoping that by filing this complaint, the work that was agreed upon will be completed.

Initial Business Response
Im sorry for the delayed response but we are having problems with our server. If indeed these are warranty issues then they will be addressed accordingly. We are experiencing high labor Shortages in DFW and are trying our best to accommodate and rectify any complaints. I will have this info forwarded to our builder and will follow up when I know more.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have been in my house over a year. I have heard explanations such as these repeatedly throughout the process, and feel they are an excuse to delay the work in the hopes that I will give up. Other customers have also reported answers such as these in an attempt to give them the run around as well. I want these items resolved.

09/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: Sumeer Homes, specifically Krish Bhatia stated if the financing did not go through, he would refund me my earnest money of $5000.
I, ******* ******, was suppose to purchase a townhouse from Sumeer Homes. I was told by Krish Bhatia if anything goes wrong, I would receive a refund of my earnest money in the amount of $5000. He never mentioned I would receive a refund less the cost of the hardwood floors in the family room. Krish only gave me a refund of $2600 stating I had to pay for the cost of the upgrade. The contract I signed stated the floors would be installed at no cost to the buyer. I have emailed Krish asking for his supervisor contact information in which he has refused to provide me the information. I have called and left a voicemail on the main office number, as well as my real estate agent, and no one has gotten back to us. I am asking for a full refund of the remaining balance of $2400. Even the contract I signed for the hardwood floors says cost was zero.

Business' Initial Response
I'm sorry for the confusion but our contracts specifically read earnest money will be refunded less upgrades that were put in the house. Every builder in DFW has the same requirements. We performed according to the earnest money Contract. We put the upgrades in with the understanding and belief that Mrs. ****** was indeed qualified for the new home purchase and were only to find out later that she had been denied. Again, We wish her well and have fulfilled our obligation.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not agree with the response given by Sumeer Homes. Reading my contract, nothing specified that any upgrades would be deducted from my earnest money. I am wondering did the company look at my contract specifically because the response given sounds like a generic response. Everything I signed stated the up grades were at no charge. The portion the says a non-refundable amount has zero entered as well. I really want us to come to a come agreement because I want to avoid taking legal action. I feel as though I have been taken advantage of and want a full refund. I will be filing a consumer complaint with the attorney general and then seeking legal representation if the issue is not resolved.

Complaint Resolution: Company agreed to arbitration in accordance with their BBB agreement, but the consumer declined.

07/10/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/30/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.