BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Sumeer Homes, Inc.

Phone: (972) 659-0655Fax: (972) 659-0587

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues5
Problems with Product / Service13
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints19

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (19)
07/11/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sumeer Homes does not value their customers which is evident on the amount of time it has taken to complete our home. We are now 6 months past closing
My husband and I are first time home buyers and we made the mistake of choosing Sumeer Homes to complete the task of building our home. We have been terribly inconvenienced by their delay. Our original closing date which we signed on our contract, was February 19th. We are now almost in July (6 MONTHS PAST THE DATE WE WERE GIVEN!!!))and we are still not in our home. They keep giving us the same excuse that the weather is delaying them, yet we have seen a total of 3 additional homes be COMPLETED, and 4 additional homes almost completed which were started at least 2-3 months after construction on our home began.Weather has not been an issue for 6 months, we live less than 5 miles from our new home and we have had no inclement weather! Summer Homes is building their model/spec homes before their paying customers homes! It is a complete disregard for us as paying customers. We do not feel like we are a priority at all! They are only interested in getting the other houses done so that they can sell them and make more money! There has also been a very poor lack of communication between the builder and us. No one has called updating us on the progress of our home. We always have to call them and when we do, the phone call is never returned with urgency or in a timely matter. We have been offered NO COMPENSATION for the 6 MONTH DELAY even though we have been horribly inconvenienced by this problem. From what we have seen the contractors that they use also have a complete disregard for us as well. There is unnecessary trash,punctures, dents and scratches throughout our "new" home.In the beginning, we were given multiple warnings by our soon to be neighbors, warning us to stay on top of Summeer Homes because they have encountered many structural, cosmetic and electrical problems within the first year of moving into their homes. We were warned to stay on top of them to fix any problems that might occur because they do not handle things in a timely fashion. We listened , but decided to move forward with building the house wanting to give Summeer Homes the benefit of the doubt. We were WRONG in using that judgement. It has been a nightmare!! We have an inspector who has come to inspect the home many times and we already have a list of things that have to be replaced and repaired before we can close.( The roof is a major problem) Again this has been the WORST experience of our lives and we do not feel like we are valued customers, and no one is wanting to compensate us for the inconvenience and stress. We are ready to walk away from it all!! They see us as young, naive, first time home buyers who they can take advantage of and that is just not the case! I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND SUMEER HOMES TO ANYONE! THEY HAVE HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE AS WELL AS HORRIBLE QUALITY IN BUILDING!!!

Desired Settlement
Refund of our money, so that we can walk away from everything or some kind of compensation!!

Business Response
I regret that the ******* are requesting a cancellation of the earnest money contract for a new home being built at *** ********** in Waxahachie. However there is inconsistences in their comments and are simply not true. We have had delays in all of our construction just as every builder in DFW is experiencing these same delays. We have been in contact on numerous occasion and were actually told to slow the process down because they were trying to finalize loan details while saving additional money. we've also experienced numerous complaints about the granite they chose here at our design center and after meeting with them we showed them that it was the actual granite they chose. That being said, we understand the frustration and will refund all the earnest money plus additional 100 dollars per remedies of the earnest money contract. We will have a check processed by July 7th, 2014.

This market is under serious constraints with available trades and skilled laborers but there is not much else we can do . We wish the ******* good luck and regret they have made the decision to back out of the contract as we are so close to finishing the home.

12/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Earnest Deposit Refund
I signed a home purchase agreement on Oct 14, 2013 with SUMEER HOMES for buying a property at **** ****** St. ****** XXXXX and deposited $5,000/- as an earnest money through cashier cheque.
I am dealing with Sales agent name ***** ****** and the above addressed home is still under constructions and will be completed by End of December 2013 and he said they cannot provide appraisal or title until construction is completed. I did not agreed in written for any extra amount upgrades.
Also as per my agreement clause# 6.1 ( I did not agreed on that clause and submitted a separate letter saying "Sumeer Homes will refund the total Earnest deposit if any bank denies my approval less than the home value amount or credit score issues). This letter is signed and initial by Sumeer Homes. Both parties have the copies of it.

I applied for pre-approval mortgage application with UIF BANK (http://www.myuif.com) and got denied due to limited credit history and not enough score. My wife personally submitted the denied bank document to ***** ****** on Oct 29th 2013. Today Nov 5,2013 he acknowledge that they will refund only 50% of the total amount ($2,500) saying reason is that the denial document is not legitimate with signature or stamp whereas as per Bank it's a legal bank document which do not require any signatory.

My wife asked sales person ****** ******* to inquire about the document by them if it is not legitimate. Mr. ***** replied rudely that this is not his business to inquire on that and hanged off phone on her face. Even she asked him to give his manager number to escalate the case and that too he denied saying he is the one to represent SUMEER HOMES.

***** ****** has very bad reviews which I couldn't able to find out earlier and learned a good lesson to deal with him or Sumeer Homes in future. I need every penny as my refund without any settlement options.

Desired Settlement
I need 100% ($5,000) USD as full refund without any other settlement options.

Business Response
Sumeer Homes has agreed to refund the buyers Ernest Money. This will be our 37th year in the business.. We will always do what's right and show the up most respect for our customers. We will mail this check out on 12/01/2013

Consumer Response
I am still waiting for the post mail as per the business confirmed to resolve by sending the $5,000 USD refund of my earnest money deposit. Kindly advise when cheque will reach to my registered address.


Consumer Response
I would like to close the case with BBB as I personally picked the Bank&West cheque#***** for the amount of $5,000/- from Sumeer Homes office on Monday 12/9 at around 4PM.

I am so thankful and grateful to BBB for their excellent actions taken on my case. Without BBB help, my issue was impossible to resolve with ***** ******. He claimed to deduct 50% ($2,500) just for not having signature on bank denial letter which is against their contract and unlawful.

My opinion to *** ****** - Director of Operations for Sumeer Homes Inc. is to replace ***** ****** immediately because he does not have any respect towards his words or customer. I will sure advise my family and friends to think 100 times before dealing with ***** ****** who is representing Sumeeer Homes in unethical way.

Still thank you Mr. *** for your acknowledgement and action.

Regards
********

12/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sumeer promised to refund us $325 for an overpayment at the design center.
This issue revolves around the fact that we paid for an item at the design center that should have been standard and not an upgrade. **** **** with Sumeer acknowledged the mistake an issued a verbal credit. With that credit we used a portion of the credit to upgrade a chandelier and tile upgrade. The remaining credit was $325. **** **** said they would issue a check after we closed. This promise was witnessed by my wife Mesha, our realtor Tonya Parks, and myself in the model home before our closing.

We closed on 10/1/13 and after multiple conversations with **** to his surprise Sumeer has not sent us a check for $325. I last spoke to **** 2 weeks ago and he said he would personally go to the home office and pick up the check. I have not heard from **** and calls to his mobile go unanswered and voicemails have not been returned.

We are only asking for OUR money that we overpaid that we were promised to have returned to us. I believe 45 days is enough time to wait on a refund.

Its as simple as that.

Desired Settlement
To resolve this issue, a check for $325 would be required. An apology for taking so long and forcing us to seek outside assistance would be a bonus. Thank you.

02/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sumeer homes did not refund my entire earnest money from the cancellation of the contract of the home that they did not build to print.
On November 4th 2013 my wife **** and I signed a contract with ***** ******,sales person with Sumeer Homes to build us a home model ****** in Oxford Estates in Waxahachie Texas located at 336 ********* Ct.We gave Sumeer homes a check in the amount of $2000 as earnest money to start the building process.While we were discussing the floor plans with *****, we asked numerous times about room sizes to make sure we would be satisfied with the house we were buying. We also asked for some interior walls to be moved and changed to what we wanted and this was done without any hesitation.Again we verified that room sizes with ***** would be what we wanted in each room and ***** made the changes as requested on the copies of the floor plan and we signed the changes to be sent in for approval to the Sumeer corporate office.She also told us that the next steps in the process was we were going to need to go thier design center and pick out color choices and then after that we would meet with the builder to finalize the prints before the building started.On November 6th I recieved an email from ***** ****** from the design center to set up an appointment.In the email she said that we would meet with her for up to 2 hours at "no charge" to make our color and material choices in our house.We met on November 12th and made our decisions.Around the second week of December I met with the builder,****** to review the prints. I asked him if any changes were done to the prints and he said no and this would not take very long and I just had to sign off so they could start building.At that time I asked for my copies of the prints and he said they do not give out copies,which I thought was odd because it was our home that was being built and I wanted verification they were going to build what we agreed upon.He said its against company policy but at anytime during the build process I could just ask and he would bring out the prints. While I was not satisfied with his answer, I went along with it because I knew I had a copy of all the changes and many of the sizes of the rooms from ***** that I could use if questions did come up.Around Februray 20th 2014 **** and I were driving by our house seeing the progress.We noticed that the frame was up and the roof boards were on.We stopped to walk inside.**** said the rooms are not what we asked for.To verify this we measured each room as well as the entire foundation to find out that it was over 1 ft smaller than the copy of the marked up print we had.Each room was smaller than what ***** told us too.On March X XXXX we went to discuss our findings with *****. She said it was only the patio that was smaller and that the room sizes needed to be measured from the brick ledge outside.We have never heard this before and was never discussed at anytime previously.I said that this was not the house we agreed to have built and said that Sumeer violated the contract and that we wanted to cancel. She got very upset and said that I would need to talk to her boss *** ******.I asked for his number and we left. Within 10 minutes ***** called me and said that she called *** and we could come back and sign the contract cancellation agreement and he agreed we could cancel and get the refund.When we returned ***** already had the contract cancellation form filled out with the box checked approved for earnest money refund. **** and I signed it.Asked how long for our refund check? She said 2-3 weeks.After numerous emails and phone calls to *** without any response from him on the status of our check I had to go to the Sumeer office personally to request my check on April 9th and I returned on April 14th to pick it up. The check I recieved was in the amount of $1300 instead of $2000. Per a letter from *** he stated that we were really not entitled the earnest money refund per the contract so he deducted $500 for plan changes and $200 designer fees. We would have not cancelled the contract if correct size house was built per contract.

Desired Settlement
I want our entire earnest money refunded as stated on the cancellation contract form that ***** ****** filled out. She checked the box on the form under action by seller " approved for earnest money refund". The box on form right below the box check states" approved for earnest money refund less seller expenses" which was not checked. Sumeer did not build the house size per the contract so they violated the contract not us so we are entilted our entire earnest money refund of $2000. We have supporting documents of the entire transaction if needed for more clarification.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Director of Operations
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***@sumeerhome.com
Only the owner of the Company and myself can approve the earnest money refunds not sales. Does Mr. ***** have a signed copy of the cancellation form?? I do not believe so. I approved the cancellation form April 2nd,2014.The purchaser signed the earnest money contract to build a specific Sumeer Home plan November the 3rd 2013. The Purchaser signed off on the plans November the 20th, 2013 showing the final layout of the house and all room sizes.. After the house was framed they were not happy with the room sizes . We have built this house over one hundred times and the room sizes are always according to the plan which they signed. They vented frustration to the sales rep and basically complained about that situation and said they were not happy and wanted to cancel the contract. keep in mind we had made some changes to the original plan they wanted to build. Our sales rep told them if they cancelled they would not receive earnest money refund according to the contract they signed, item3. paragraph A,b,c,d.staes,The earnest money shall be non refundable if amended, revised or a new plan is developed or any changes are done per the customers request. I agreed to give them the earnest money less the changes that were made on the plan to accommodate the architect and with held additional funds that went to the designer when they selected all of materials for the home. We did Mr. ***** a favor. His total earnest refund was 2000.00 dollars less a 500.0 drafting fee and 200.00 design studio fee. Mr. ***** was refunded 1300.00. Sumeer Homes considers this a mute issue as we did not default according to the new home earnest money contract. The buyer defaulted and we basically let him out of his contract. We wish nothing but the best for Mr. *****.

Consumer Response
We do not agree or accept Mr. ********** response to our complaint #XXXXXXXX against Sumeer Homes for the following reasons:
1. We never asked to back out of the contract. We simply wanted to know why they poured it smaller. On November 3rd we went to speak to ************ to find out why they poured the concrete slab smaller than what was agreed upon (all of our signatures show the larger concrete pad) and she did not offer any answers, her response was, "well we will just cancel your contract and give you back your earnest money".
2. The foundation was not poured to the plans that we submitted to our Mortgage Lender which specified the cost per sq ft of the house.
3. They poured the patio too small after we agreed to pay for the additional cost of the additional concrete, which is stated in the contract.
4. We do have the cancelled contract form filled out by ************ with **********'s verbal approval and with the box checked " approved for earnest money refund". She called me on my cell phone on March 3rd after we left her and asked us to return to sign the form because she talked to *** and the contract cancellation and earnest money refund was approved per ***. If this was not the case my wife or I would not have signed the contract cancellation form.
5. We do have an email from the Sumeer designer, ************ dated November 7th that states there will be "no charge" for the design meeting.
6. Sumeer defaulted on the contract not us when they poured the concrete slab too small so all of our earnest money is due to us.
7. Mr. ********** was not present or was he part of any of this conversation with my wife and I, so most of his information is second hand and not accurate.

Consumer Response
We do not agree or accept Mr. ********** response to our complaint #******** against Sumeer Homes for the following reasons:
1. We never asked to back out of the contract. We simply wanted to know why they poured it smaller. On November 3rd we went to speak to ************ to find out why they poured the concrete slab smaller than what was agreed upon (all of our signatures show the larger concrete pad) and she did not offer any answers, her response was, "well we will just cancel your contract and give you back your earnest money".
2. The foundation was not poured to the plans that we submitted to our Mortgage Lender which specified the cost per sq ft of the house.
3. They poured the patio too small after we agreed to pay for the additional cost of the additional concrete, which is stated in the contract.
4. We do have the cancelled contract form filled out by ************ with **********'s verbal approval and with the box checked " approved for earnest money refund". She called me on my cell phone on March 3rd after we left her and asked us to return to sign the form because she talked to *** and the contract cancellation and earnest money refund was approved per ***. If this was not the case my wife or I would not have signed the contract cancellation form.
5. We do have an email from the Sumeer designer, ************ dated November 7th that states there will be "no charge" for the design meeting.
6. Sumeer defaulted on the contract not us when they poured the concrete slab too small so all of our earnest money is due to us.
7. Mr. ********** was not present or was he part of any of this conversation with my wife and I, so most of his information is second hand and not accurate.

08/11/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Driveway panel completely cracked through running edge to edge
We purchased our home in January 2015. Nice home and for the most part have been satisfied with it. We have had some small problems, but Pat New has taken care of those, for the most part.
Within just a few days of moving in, we noticed one of our driveway panels developing a hairline crack, which has now cracked through edge to edge in the panel. This was brought up to Pat, but we were told it was not wide enough to be warranted. We have had other panels develop hairlines now as well. Our concern is after the 12 month warranty period expires, we are stuck with this subpar driveway. Obviously, this driveway was a weak poor or the subgrade was poorly done. There are also many spider web cracks in various parts of the concrete. We have had a couple of people in the concrete business look at it, and both agreed it was not normal to see a crack like this within the first few months of the pour. Poor workmanship, but I will have to say not surprised. We had to have contractors come out over and over again for other problems(before and after the sale) before they were done right, or they would damage or ruin something else in the process of correcting one problem. Not for sure the logic Sumeer Homes applies here for hiring their contractors, but we have another builder in this neighborhood that doesn't have multiple complaints with their workmanship with the BBB. I know good contactors can be hard to find and keep, but have not been impressed with many of the contractors Sumeer uses.
I even sent a certified letter to the owner, and there was no response. They have not responded to me regarding the driveway issue at all. Poor customer relations coming from the top is not good for any business. Nor even one phone call from someone besides Pat, addressing our complaint.

Desired Settlement
Replace cracked through panel, and extend the warranty on the driveway for two more years, with same repairs as need within those two years if cracked through panels occur again

Business Response
This issue with the driveway is not warrantable, No builder in the State of Texas will warrant concrete when it comes to flatwork. This concrete has cracked due to the shrinkage and expansion of soil. We have looked at the driveway and have determined that it is within tolerances per the warranty agreement. Section 7 item 3(a)
Says a crack in exterior concrete shall not cause vertical displacement to or in excess of 1/4 inch or horizontal separation equal to or excess of 1/4 of an inch. It is the homeowners responsibility to not over water or allow surrounding soil to become excessively dry. With the 30 plus inches of rain we had over winter and spring and the drought conditions we experienced last summer it is a common thing in Texas for concrete to move and crack. This issue is within tolerances and in compliance with the warranty the purchaser received at closing. Simply said, Concrete will crack. We will continue to honor Mr. Jeansonnes warranty as long as it meets all the binding criteria and standards for the Home warranty agreement.

06/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to comply with Texas/HOA law and Chapel Hill Community Covenants by granting the appropriate community representation on the HOA Board. Newroc Services does not represent and manage the community of Chapel Hill, located in Prosper, Texas in good faith. Newroc Services and Sumeer Homes, Inc. do not allow appropriate community representation on the board, refusing to tally or disclose community votes, failure to represent the community via NewRoc (HOA Management company) who is refusing to disclose all of the community financials, not following up on requests for information, and falsifying annual board meetings minutes to remove critical asks from the residents.

Desired Settlement
Without disclosure of the full financial statements, outstanding maintenance requests, and without allowing the community representation, and pending request to have the community financials audited by a 3rd party, there is no known amount of damages at this time.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern:

NewRoc Services gave notice for and held a annual meeting May 13, 2014. Financials were presented and discussed.
During the annual meeting, the members present, voted for directors. The votes were tallied at that time.

Only one home owner asked for additional information. He made an appointment and reviewed specific information. Afterward he said he was satisfied. We have not received any queries from **** *******.

With Kind Regards,
***** ********




NewRoc Services,LLC
XXX-XXX-XXXX
www.newrocservices.com


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Newroc's response is not accurate. The people who were present at the May 2014 meeting voiced there outrage during the meeting about Newroc's poor record keeping and lack of accountability for the finances of Chapel Hill HOA. The reason it appears that only 1 person "might" have approached someone from Newroc after the meeting is because they are fed up with Newroc's unprofessionalism and inability to listen to the good homeowners of Chapel Hill. It's a waste of time. Newroc produced a simple balance sheet at the 2014 HOA meeting but could not provide any other records, including minutes to provide explanations of how HOA fees are being responsibly handled. Another community in Frisco, TX reports the exact same experience and concerns. That complaint is against Sumeer Homes,Inc. who is also the builder of the Chapel Hill community and in control of the HOA board in both communities. Newroc and Sumeer appear to be run by the same people and employed by both companies. The home owners of Chapel Hill demanded and are entitled to see the bids and signed contracts for maintenance on the premises of the Chapel Hill community. We have yet to see those and Newroc, nor the board of directors of Chapel Hill HOA can produce them. Newroc Services and Sumeer Homes, Inc. are not acting in the best interest of the Chapel Hill homeowners. They appear to be self serving their own financial interests. Their tactics of ignoring questions are reckless and remain unaccountable to the communities they claim to represent.

Final Business Response
Sumeer Homes Is currently building out the remainder of the lots that we purchased from the bank when the crash hit in 2007. The original developer went under and the management company that was in place was struggling to maintain. As the Declarers, we hired Newroc service to manage the subdivision. We are actively seeking a response as well as resolution to the homeowners inquires and a meeting should be scheduled this month to go over any concerns regarding the HOA. Sumeer Homes is not associated with Newroc services and is NOT one of the same as this person claims. We do have 2 employees that are board members and are helping to facilitate any misunderstanding there may be with the Management company. We are close to closing out this subdivision and passing it over to the community which would consist of new board members. We will continue to work with existing homeowners and the management company moving forward.




Sumeer Homes Inc

06/01/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Blocking private property by the home builder and its subcontractors. Refusing to unblock. Acting belligerent; gated community limits PD enforcement
Local law enforcement has limited authority to enforce rules governing parking and other private property infringements by this home builder in this gated community called Lakeside Village.

Builder's on site representative, Rich, directed te subcontractor work force to not move their vehicles that were blocking driveway mailbox of private property that adjoins a house under construction by this builder.

When local law enforcement was called anyway, and upon officer's arrival, this representative of the builder felt compelled to comply with the need to move his subcontractor's vehicle that was blocking neighbor's access to their mail box.

Desired Settlement
Desist from trespassing * blocking property abutting his ongoing house construction.

Business Response
This issue was addressed immediately and rectified. The person does not do business with Sumeer Homes. He was upset because of all the traffic that was on the street during normal construction working hours. My representative tried to assist him and this man but he became angry with an aggressive attitude. We were not breaking any laws as the gentleman had plenty of room in front of his driveway which was his main complaint. From my understanding, the officer involved was confused as to why he was even called to the area.

We are currently building spec homes in this subdivision and sometimes it gets a little crowded with workers coming in and out. We are sorry for any misunderstanding with this gentleman will definitely make it a point to stay far away from his property as possible. We have a great relationship with other homeowners in the community as well as the HOA

Regards
****** *****

Consumer Response
Business's response that you sent to me is full of distortions and inaccuracies. Their rep on site "Rich" dared their subcontractor not to move his truck as if I would then be helpless. The officer who came was not confused; officer told me that he was told by workers of the subcontractor that "Rich" himself had moved the truck forward just before the police officer arrived.
There is no way we can expect liars to own up to the truth of the matter.
I have no further comments.
Thanks for taking note of my complaint and bringing it into open forum.

Sent from my iPhone

01/19/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to fix water holding/standing on the drive way.
Water is holding on drive way. I have submitted warranty request upon initial move in of Sept 2013, several times from then till now. The landscapers came out twice to fix the problem but they have not been able to resolve the issue. I resubmitted again at a year Sept 2014. Now I do not get a response from the builder. The drive way needs to be taken care of as soon as possible. This is a warranty issue and has not been resolved.

Desired Settlement
To properly fix the problem of the holding water on the drive as soon as possible.

Business Response



1/08/2015


The issue with the drive way has been addressed and repaired. Keep in MIND! there is not a builder in the State Of Texas that warrants Flatwork. We will continue to honor Mrs. ********* warranty according to the terms of the builders contract executed by both parties.



Rgeards,
Sumeer Homes Inc

12/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to comply with Texas/HOA law and Shoal Creek Trail Community Covenants by granting the appropriate community representation on the HOA Board.
Sumeer is not allowing the appropriate community representation on the board, refusing to tally or disclose community votes, failure to represent the community via NewRoc (HOA Management company) who is refusing to disclose all of the community financials, not following up on requests for information, and falsifying annual board meetings minutes to remove critical asks from the residents.

Desired Settlement
Without disclosure of the full financial statements, outstanding maintenance requests, and without allowing the community representation, and pending request to have the community financials audited by a 3rd party, there is no known amount of damages at this time. This request is to see if the BBB can aide the community by requesting ****** respond and comply.

Page 1 of 3
04/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sumeer Homes, Inc., appears to be in collusion with Newroc Services, and has not been accountable for HOA fees in the Chapel Hill community.
Failure to comply with Texas/HOA law and Chapel Hill Community Covenants by granting the appropriate community representation on the HOA Board. Sumeer is not allowing the appropriate community representation on the board, refusing to tally or disclose community votes, failure to represent the community via NewRoc (HOA Management company) who is refusing to disclose all of the community financials, not following up on requests for information, and falsifying annual board meetings minutes to remove critical asks from the residents.

Desired Settlement
Without disclosure of the full financial statements, outstanding maintenance requests, and without allowing the community representation, and pending request to have the community financials audited by a 3rd party, there is no known amount of damages at this time. This request is to see if the BBB can aide the community of Chapel Hill, Prosper, TX in securing all HOA record keeping from Sumeer Homes, Inc. as it is related to the Chapel Hill community.

04/02/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to provide adequate roof drainage system allowing water to settle back under roof causing major water damage to porch area roof and int. walls
House was purchase 6 years ago, several roof leaks were repaired in 1st year. However, this detrioration has happened over past few years and could not be detected within year one. I had an indpendent roofer to come out to inspect my roof where the leak was. It was noted that Sumeer didn't provide drainage in the front area of the porch on both sides and thus water is settling back underneath a flashing and getting back into the house. The water has cause damaged by the front living room window and under the porch roof. Water settles on the porch and does not drain off. I told the Superintendent that the water does not drain off the porch and he insisted that porch was leveled properly. If this was the case water would not sit on porch from day one. That issue was never addressed. The water from the roof where the drainage is not present on one side has cause dry wall defects where the paint has peeled up. The water has gotten down to the carper and the padding. We have not had an inspector to check for mold behind the wall as of yet, but that is our next step. I contacted Sumeer and esalated the issue. They were suppose to have a roofer to come out and look at the issue. When they sent someone to the house, no one was home and we havent' heard back from them. My concern is that these issues are being ignored. Everytime I talk with someone at Sumeer they express to me that these things should have been noted in year before my warranty for leaks ran out. Well not EVERTHING and EVERT condidtion is noticed in year one of a NEWLY BUILT home, especially an issue that speaks to a drainage system not being adequately installed. I have contacted my eWarranty representative that is noted in my warranty paperwork and I provided them with pictures. They have since returned to be the response that this is not their issue either since it is not a structural issue. Therefore, I was confused with the whole 10/2/1 warranty. It appears that everyone that is suppose to be accountable for repair/replacement work is dodging accountability. Sumeer should take responsibility since they had a gross negligence issue to start with

Desired Settlement
First we are requesting that Sumeer installs the proper drainage system that PREVENTS and RESOLVES the water from coming back into the house. Secondly, we are requesting that Sumeer reparis all the damages that have been caused due to this negligence. Repair / Replace roof area under the porch. Repair / replace window leaks around the window trim area from roof area of the porch. Replace the blinds of the window that have been damaged due to water. Repair / replace the drywall with potential mold behind it. Repair / replace carpet and padding in the area where water has cause damaged. and repair / replace leveling of porch where the water won't drain.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.