BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/13/2008

M. Christopher Homes, LLC

Find a Location

Phone: (214) 736-6335Fax: (972) 529-1078View Additional Phone Numbers2710 Country Club Dr, AllenTX 75002-7398 Send email to M. Christopher Homes, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/13/2008

BBB has determined that M. Christopher Homes, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised M. Christopher Homes, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
11/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
M Christopher is refusing to build my home per the specifications written in their own contract, despite documentation that violations are present
In the construction contract with M Christopher Homes it they will install manufacturer's products in accordance with the manufacturer's specifications. Below is what I sent M Christopher via email and certified mail.

I'm writing to requests that you remedy the following problems. It is a concern to myself and 2 consultants working independently of each other that the manufacturer's installation instructions were not followed, specifically for exterior insulation sheathing and the windows. It clearly states in M. Christopher's express home warranty agreement section 2.4 Manufactured Products: the builder shall install all manufactured products in accordance with the manufacturer's instructions and specifications. The home warranty agreement also states in section 1.15 Resolving conflict among standards. When an inconsistency exists between the code, and the manufacturer's instructions and specifications the most restrictive standard requirement shall apply.

1) remove underpinning from the foundation (refer to 4.0 foundations in attached report)

on a side note: I do have a concern as to why you used the a foam thermal barrier between the sill plate and the foundation on other homes in the development but you did not use it on this home. can you tell me why?

2) replace all R-Matte RMax Plus 3. and install per manufacturer's instructions (refer to 4.2 Walls in attached report) Remedy all the problems in this section of the report.

3) properly attach all joists hangers and secure all ceiling joists (refer to 4.3 Ceilings in attached report) Im not concerned with the size of the joists hangers in this report or the notched engineered joist.

4) remedy appliance access in the attic. (refer to 4.4 Roof Attic in attached report)

5) remedy Flashing installation. (refer to 5.1 Flashing in attached report)

6) remedy roof penetrations (refer to 5.2 Roof Penetrations in attached report)

7) re-install all windows per manufacturer's instructions and replace windows with broken nail fins. (refer to 6.0 Windows in attached report)






In addition to all of my documented concerns regarding the construction of the house located at *** **********., that as currently constructed it does not meet the requirements of the International Energy Conservation Code, 2006 Edition which is also one of the codes adopted by the City of Lucas.

Specifically, I refer you to the following sections; Section 402.4.1 Building Thermal Envelope, Section 402.4.2 Fenestration Air Leakage, 402.4.3 Recessed Lighting, Section 402.5 Moisture Control (MANDATORY), Section 502.4.3 Sealing of the Building Envelope.

It is also required by this code that a Vapor Barrier be installed on the interior wall of all exterior insulated walls and according to the City of Lucas Amendments to the Building Code that R-22 insulation is to be installed at the rafters, not R-19.

All Im asking for is that you build the home it states you will in your own contract and warranty agreement.


Desired Settlement
I want M Christopher Homes to build the home following the standards that are in the contract. I want a well built home that is built to the manufacturer's specifications. I have 2 independent professional consultants that have documented their concerns with the quality of construction. Im requesting M Christopher Homes follow all the recommendations per the 2 reports I sent them.

04/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was pressured into closing on my house even though I had a list of unresolved items. Now I have new more serious issues and still no resolution.
Feb 2013 - Closed on my $700k home. I had a list of approximately 10 items that still needed to be finished. The builder pushed me to close promising to make sure it would all be resolved. I have chipped granite in my kitchen that was installed that way, I was told after closing they would finish my interior paint, when it was time to call them to finish I was told that was not a warranty item.
New issues I have been trying to get resolved with their warranty department since October 2013. I also have text communication with the owner, Rudy Rivas promising they will make it right. I paid for extra insulation and my pipes are freezing on the exterior rooms in my home. I have concrete now cracking with exposed rebar. I have brick in my exterior separating. My woof floors which i SETTLED for at closing were supposed to be stained gray, but ended up BLUE/GRAY. Three months later the stain is fading and the floors are turning brown. I called warranty department and the floor guy tells me the only way to fix this is to sand the entire house and start over. That of course is not an option. The warranty department came out and he worked with the floor guys. They did a sample, which is still here, showing a black stain. I accepted the sample. They stained over stain my entire house. I now have black floors, with brown bleeding through and a white HAZE. The sample they did is still 100% in tact and looks completely different than the entire house. The PRESIDENT of the builder came out to look at the floors at my request. He took MANY photos and advised that he was meeting with a new floor guys that does ALUMINUM OXIDE stain. He was thinking that might me a solution. That was Wednesday, January 22. The PRESIDENT (Bryon) advised that he would get back to me by Thursday. I emailed again on Friday when he did not get back with me. He replied saying he was talking to more independent inspectors (which I found odd) for their input on what to do with my floors. He led me to believe he did not want to be any more intrusive and wanted the best resolution possible. On Monday, January 27th I received an email with the warranty language from their contract advising me this was not a warranty issue. And then the owner Rudy Rivas chimed in trying to tell me I violated the warranty by talking to their floor guy directly. I advised Rudy that I have ALL text and email communication showing otherwise. This builder likes to send their contractors out to do work and then they don't show up. But in this particular instance I have not communicated direct AT ALL. So now I will be spending $50k to have my floors pulled and new floors installed. In addition to the stain issues I have separation of the floors ALL OVER my house. 1/8 inch gaps everywhere. But according to the PRESIDENT (Bryon) that is perfectly normal.
Al my cabinets are paint grade. They had to spray them. I was told that I picked a difficult color and the end result was the best I would get. So now I have to also pay to have ALL the cabinets in my house repainted which will cost $5-$10k.
I tried everything to be quiet and try and get things resolved. I know that after filing this complaint they will refuse ALL work to my home because that is how they work.
At one point in the middle of building my house the builder fired me, yes he fired me and said he did not want to build my house. That was after I hired an inspector to point out all the flaws. Some flaws which should have been caught by the CITY INSPECTION. I ended up having to KISS BUTT just to get my house finished. To bring a new builder in at that stage would have cost me even more. Sad, I have what appears to be a beautiful house. I worry every day about what's going to happen next.

Desired Settlement
This is pointless because I know it will not happen but here it goes.
I want the floors pulled out and new ones of my choice installed.
I want all my cabinets/doors painted with ENAMEL paint that I know will not chip and will last.
I want ALL the items on my repair list from February 2013 and current taken care of to my satisfaction.
I am not waiting for this to be done by builder. I am proceeding at my expense to have this done because they have made it clear that they do not care. At least now I have direction.

Business Response
February 21, 2014
M Christopher Custom Homes is a customer oriented company. We have met the customer
several times and continue to work toward a mutually agreeable resolution to any
outstanding warrantable issue.
We welcome opportunities to discuss solutions to issues we feel have been caused by
miscommunication.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is accurate. The builder is in fact communicating. At this point we are still waiting for action and completion of the items that were supposed to be resolved when we closed a year ago. In addition to major warranty items. As soon as these items have been actually resolved I will gladly resolve my BBB claim.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders, Contractors - Flooring, Contractor - Commercial, Post-Construction Clean Up, Real Estate Agents, Real Estate - Commercial, Real Estate, Construction Management, Countertops, Basement - Remodeling, Construction & Remodeling Services, Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Roofing Contractors, Painting Contractors, Contractors - General, Outdoor Kitchens, Kitchen Remodeling, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 09/22/2008Business started: 01/01/2006
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Real Estate Commission
P.O. Box 12188
Austin, TX78711
(512) 936-3000
http://www.trec.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rudy Rivas (Owner)
Business Category

Home Builders, Contractors - Flooring, Contractor - Commercial, Post-Construction Clean Up, Real Estate Agents, Real Estate - Commercial, Real Estate, Construction Management, Countertops, Basement - Remodeling, Construction & Remodeling Services, Swimming Pool Contractors, Dealers, Design, Roofing Contractors, Painting Contractors, Contractors - General, Outdoor Kitchens, Kitchen Remodeling, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

Alternate Business Names
M. Christopher Remodeling, M. Christopher and Company, M. Christopher & Co., M Christopher Homes, M Christopher Remodeling, M Christopher and Co., 214remodel, 214 Remodel
Industry Tips
Resort Property Resale Service

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

12 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for M. Christopher Homes, LLC

2710 Country Club Dr

Allen, TX 75002-7398

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 2710 Country Club Dr 

    Allen, TX 75002-7398(214) 288-9456
    (214) 736-6335

  • 630 Oakmont Court 

    Fairview, TX 75069

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*M. Christopher Homes, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (214) 288-9456
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Home Builders

Resort Property Resale Service
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.