BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/21/2013

Landon Homes, LP

Phone: (214) 619-2930Fax: (214) 619-10984050 W Park Blvd, PlanoTX 75093-3839 Send email to Landon Homes, LPView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/21/2013

BBB has determined that Landon Homes, LP meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Landon Homes, LP's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.

Factors that raised Landon Homes, LP's rating include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues6
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)BBB Closure Definitions
06/02/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Guarantee or Warranty Complaint Issue

Complaint: I am a home owner that is responsible for my home but not for shoddy workman. This problem is not my fault.
We moved in Landon Homes on August 30, 2012. Just before we closed on the day of my final walk through. I asked my builder about a hole that was already in my driveway.
He said that it was normal and they can patch it. On October 15, 2012, while still waiting for the driveway patching to take place, we noticed a hairline crack across two of the driveway pads. I then placed a warranty request. In October , 2012, the warranty reps came to inspect the driveway, and informed me that the hole and cracking in the driveway pads were due to normal settling, and that it should not get any worst. By May 20 2013, my husband and I noticed that we now had larger cracks across all four pads that were much larger than a hairline crack. We are now able to stand a quarter in all four of the cracked pads, which also includes more than twenty five (25) holes that are larger than quarter, as well as nickel size holes along with rust, all over the driveway. Additionally, the cracks across the driveway pads are pitting inside the cracks across the driveway, and the driveway is crumpling as well. My porch now has a hairline crack that has not gotten any worst since May 20, 2013. Earlier this year, I placed another warranty request I was told again that this is normal settling and continue to monitor the holes, and that they can fill the holes in but it would be a different color. I was fine with that as long as my driveway wouldn't get any pot holes or slopes. I placed another request after monitoring the driveway as I was told to do, and now it really is bad, but i continue to get the same response It's normal settling. It's gotten worst quickly...so on April 11, 2014. I was told that the driveway has gotten worst since my first request, but it is still in compliance with regulations of what a driveway should be. My complaint is that I will have to replace my new driveway in a home that is less than 2 years old and Landon homes will not take responsibility for the fact that my driveway was clearly poured up wrong and the re-bar was not placed correctly. I have also noticed that none of my neighbors or anyone else in my neighborhood are experiencing this type of so called, normal settling on their driveways. The crack in a new cement driveway is a structural defect, not a cosmetic one. If it is not fixed it gets worst not better. Landon Homes please explain how this is normal settling and why you can't replace my driveway, that is clearly not normal, in less than two years. I understand concrete does crack but clearly this is more than just a normal situation from settling.

Initial Business Response

To whom it may concern,
Please accept our apologies for the lateness of this response. There has been a lot of discussion with our team and the Mrs. ***** regarding this situation.
Natural settling of the driveway is a natural process, especially in Texas. Mrs. *****'s driveway was well within our tolerance levels. That being said in the spirit of keeping our customers happy we are going to replace the driveway for them as a courtesy. It is a onetime thing and we require them to sign a waiver saying that any cracking and natural settling moving forward is normal in the home building process and the driveway won't be replaced again.
Waiver was signed April 29th, 2014
Driveway re-poured May 5th, 2014
This arrangement should close out this ticket immediately.
Regards,
***** *****

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/20/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: Landon homes failed to fix all the defects and issues discovered during the closing.
First of all we want to say that Landon Homes was not up front with us prior to signing the contract. Our lot is 7 feet wider than the other lots on the street. We paid premium for that. They did not tell us that there is a 15 feet wide easement on the left side of it. We asked them after we found out and they said every lot has some sort of easement.

If we would have known we would not have purchased that lot.

There were many issues with the house at the time of closing. After given assurance that these items will be fixed by the construction manager who was the only representative from Landon Homes at the time of closing , we went ahead and closed on the house. Guess what, he was no longer with Landon Homes after a month.

Here is list of items and a response from the builder:

1) Water puddles under our garage door whenever it rains and stays there over 24 hours. They said there is no fix for that.

2) Water does not completely drain in the powder room sink. They said it is normal. It does not happen with other sinks.

3) There are bumps in the walls and we can see the joint lines above in the ceiling. We have crooked arches in the house. They said it is up to Landon Home's standard.

4) One of our major issue is with the driveway and sidewalk. At the time of the closing there were patches. Concrete work was not done properly. To remedy this, they poured a layer of cement over the sidewalk which is now peeling off. They provided us with only one option which was to stain the driveway to cover up the defects. After few months, stain faded in many places. They re-stained the driveway which did not even hold for few days. It started to peel of after few days. Now, they said they will not do anything to fix the problem.

5) Many of the items installed in the house were either incorrect or missing. Most of them were taken care of.

6) We have a noise issue with the A/C unit installed in a closet in the living area. They offered it to move to the attic. There was no assurance that it will reduce the noise so we dropped the issue.

7) We have leaky windows that we have not reported yet. We are exhausted from dealing with issues after issues.

Landon Homes took care of most of the small items. They refused to take care of some of the major issues. In the beginning, Landon Homes customer service was great but after few months it deteriorated. Resolution to the requests started to take weeks if not months. They will not tell you about some of the critical options available to the home owners at .

The quality of construction is very poor in our opinion.







Initial Business Response
NAME: **** ****
ADDRESS: ***** ******* **** XXXXX Frisco, TX
EMAIL: ******@yahoo.com
Customer:
Landon homes failed to fix all the defects and issues discovered during the closing.
First of all we want to say that Landon Homes was not up front with us prior to signing the contract. Our lot is 7 feet wider than the other lots on the street. We paid premium for that. They did not tell us that there is a 15 feet wide easement on the left side of it. We asked them after we found out and they said every lot has some sort of easement. Prior to the start of construction on the home, the customer was presented a Home Site Plan showing where the home would sit on the lot chosen. The plan clearly shows the position of the home on the lot, distances from the property and building lines, sidewalk and driveway placement as well as all known easements. The "15 feet wide easement" on the left side is a drainage easement below ground and is clearly shown on the Site Plan. This easement has no visible indications in the yard. The lot is approximately 7 feet wider than a standard lot and had a premium price for the additional size as is standard practice for most all home builders.
If we would have known we would not have purchased that lot.
Landon response: The site plan presented prior to construction start has the customer's initials on it. It clearly shows all the easements mentioned above. We never sell a lot of home on a lot without the customer signing exactly what we are selling them. I have a copy if you should need one to show proof.

Customer: There were many issues with the house at the time of closing. After given assurance that these items will be fixed by the construction manager who was the only representative from Landon Homes at the time of closing , we went ahead and closed on the house. Guess what, he was no longer with Landon Homes after a month.
Landon Response: This home closed on 21 Nov, 2012. The one year warranty expired 21 Nov, 2013.
Here is list of items and a response from the builder:

Customer: 1) Water puddles under our garage door whenever it rains and stays there over 24 hours. They said there is no fix for that.
Landon Response: There is a small area of concrete at the exterior of the overhead garage door that water does not drain away from and evaporates after the rain has ended. There is no fix for this concrete area.
Customer: 2) Water does not completely drain in the powder room sink. They said it is normal. It does not happen with other sinks.
Landon Response: This bathroom has a pedestal style sink and has a very tiny amount of water remaining in the bottom just around the drain ring. This is normal and not a defect in this type sink.
Customer: 3) There are bumps in the walls and we can see the joint lines above in the ceiling. We have crooked arches in the house. They said it is up to Landon Home's standard.
Landon Response: Wood framed walls and ceilings covered with sheetrock and texture will have noticeable "joint lines" depending on the lighting conditions in the room. Landon Homes inspected the walls, ceilings and arches for compliance with our standards and they were in compliance.

Customer: 4) One of our major issue is with the driveway and sidewalk. At the time of the closing there were patches. Concrete work was not done properly. To remedy this, they poured a layer of cement over the sidewalk which is now peeling off. They provided us with only one option which was to stain the driveway to cover up the defects. After few months, stain faded in many places. They re-stained the driveway which did not even hold for few days. It started to peel of after few days. Now, they said they will not do anything to fix the problem.
Landon Response: Additional sidewalk was added to the home after the original installation of the sidewalks and driveway. Concrete poured at different times will never match color or shade of concrete poured at a different time, even if it sourced from the same concrete plant. The sidewalks at this home are not the exact color or shade as the homes surrounding it. In an effort to satisfy the customer, Landon Homes agreed to have the sidewalk and driveway color stained at no charge to the customer in late 2012. The normal use of a driveway will wear the surface of both concrete and color stained concrete. This wear is normal, is not preventable and is not covered by the Homeowner Warranty.

Customer: 5) Many of the items installed in the house were either incorrect or missing. Most of them were taken care of.
Landon Response: Items covered under the written Warranty were corrected. Items not covered under the written Warranty were declined.


Customer: 6) We have a noise issue with the A/C unit installed in a closet in the living area. They offered it to move to the attic. There was no assurance that it will reduce the noise so we dropped the issue. The HVAC unit is located in an interior closet just as is shown in our Model home. Landon Homes installed a noise reducing material on the HVAC unit in the return air plenum, significantly reducing the sound heard at the return air grilles.
Landon Response: Landon Homes also offered to move the HVAC unit to the attic if any customer was not satisfied with the noise reduction achieved. Landon Homes offered to move this unit to the attic at no charge to the customer with the stipulation that the move would be permanant, the unit would not be moved back to the original location. Landon Homes could not guarantee that the noise level would be less, the same or more with the unit in the attic. The customer declined the offer to move the equipment to the attic.
Customer: 7) We have leaky windows that we have not reported yet. We are exhausted from dealing with issues after issues.
Landon Homes: "Leaky windows" have not been reported to Landon Homes Warranty department.


Customer: Landon Homes took care of most of the small items. They refused to take care of some of the major issues. In the beginning, Landon Homes customer service was great but after few months it deteriorated. Resolution to the requests started to take weeks if not months. They will not tell you about some of the critical options available to the home owners at.
Landon Response: Landon Homes cannot possibly note the literally thousands of options, changes or other custom features possible on a new home. Many customers do not realize or become aware of a feature that is possible to do in a home until they see it another home, a magazine or on a TV show about homes. A feature or design that is important to one may or may not be important to another. Landon Homes does not allow changes to the home after the deadline has been reached for changes. The "critical option" requested was to replace one wall of kitchen base cabinets, upper cabinets and granite countertops to allow the installation of a larger (36") cooktop and vent-hood in place of the contracted 30" cooktop and vent-hood. Landon Homes declined to remove the custom built cabinets and granite top already installed.

*** additional information needed please reach out of call. We have all documentation available for you to review at your request.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/24/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor service under the terms of warranties

Complaint: Our 1st year under warranty with Landon Homes has been a non-stop battle resulting in a long list of unresolved issues.
The quality of construction of the Landon Home that we built last year and the customer service we have experienced are poor to say the least. We closed on the house with a long list of outstanding issues that Landon Homes assured us would be resolved within 30 days of closing. We are still battling to resolve a noise issue in a bedroom wall that was on that list. The person handling customer service repairs in our community is an extremely poor communicator and cannot schedule repairs and traids properly. Workers have on numerous occasions shown up for repair appointments at our house without any idea of what work they need to do.

When we elevated the problems to customer service management we received pushback and run-arounds. We have heard from our neighbors that "the only way to get anything done is to go directly to **** Landon but even then they just don't care." If we had know that we would receive this kind of customer service while under warranty, we never would have purchased this ****** Home. "Built better by design" is their "motto" which is far from reality.

The whole reason why we purchased a new home is so that we could spend more time with our family and less time on house repairs that are common with older homes.

We are exhausted from dealing with issue after issue, communicating numerous times about the problems. We look forward to hopefully soon being able to go to bed and wake up without house repair concerns on our minds. We will not recommend Landon Homes to anyone.

We were concerned with leaks, foundation problems, numerous cracks around the house, various noises in the walls and leaky windows. For the most part, none of those issues were addressed in a timely manner. It always seemed like as one issue was being investigated, other issues would arise.

Initial Business Response
To whom it may concern,
Landon Homes has gone above and beyond to assist the **** family and what they believe are issues with their home. Landon agrees that some have been legitimate and taken care of not once but twice or more, due to their lack of satisfaction. Over the last year we have been working with 3rd party engineers (reports available upon request/Customer also has these reports) and a ton of ****** Homes' staff and trades, beginning with *** *********** VP of Operations, ***** ***** VP of Sales and Marketing, **** ***** Project Manager for Austin Ridge, **** ******* Warranty Manager including multiple builders.
The following summary was sent to Mr. and Mrs. **** on the 7th of February, 2014. Spelling out everything we have done, and are prepared to do. This has been a year-long project and some of the expectations have been above and beyond reason.
Mr. and Mrs. ****
**** ********* *****
Frisco, Texas.

Please find below a summary with conclusions of our meeting on 2/6/2014. The final portion of this letter will list any current or outstanding work to be performed to finalize the current service ticket.
I.) Summary of Meeting

1. Front entry door: needed adjustment for proper seal when shut, and had minor caulk and stain shrinkage and peeling.
a. Probuild's door department adjusted your front door for proper operation and seal on 2/6/14. No further action necessary
b. During the adjustment it was noted the door sweep was in need of replacement, this will be scheduled as soon as you're available.
2. Granite tops:
a. Stone Resources service department made all necessary repairs on 2/6/14. No further action necessary.
3. Floor Noises: at game room, media room, second floor bedroom closet and upstairs landing.
a. Flooring Services warranty department repaired all floor noises on 2/6/14, with your acknowledgment of completion. No further action necessary.
4. Settlement Cracks and caulk shrinkage:
a. Paint contractor was working during our meeting, caulking and touch up paint.
b. We agreed to address minor seams in the stair radius wall, one more time as a courtesy; this will be scheduled when you return from vacation. Please contact us with a date after you return.
c. We evaluated the ceiling at the upstairs game room and media room. It was our conclusion the ceilings were well within tolerance and no further action will be taken.
5. Foundation Concerns:
a. We examined your home for signs of aggressive movement beyond normal limitations or an engineered foundation. No signs were found and no further action will be taken.
b. For your records and peace of mine, we provided a copy of the Engineers evaluation on your home.
6. Popping noise: Master bedroom wall adjacent to the utility room, and upstairs front left bedroom.
a. We've been unable to duplicate or validate a source for the noises you're hearing in these rooms.
b. We agreed, within our capabilities, to seek and explore other trades whom may have knowledge or expertise in these areas.
c. We've made several attempts to find and eliminate these noises, until such time we can identify and validate a source to repair no further action will be taken.
7. Soaker Hose: Exterior perimeter beam.
a. The system installed on your home was permitted and inspected by code officials, and your system is designed the same as all other Landon Homes in this community and other municipalities where this type of system is required.
b. Your system was checked for leaks and proper operation and no further action will be taken.
8. Fencing:
a. We inspected the installation and condition of your back yard fence, it was in good condition and properly installed. We did note the back left section, approximately 20', was in contact with the soil. This potentially occurred when the home next door was final graded. We will remove the access soil touching the bottom portion of this section; this will elevate any potential water damming.
9. Re-grade left side yard:
a. We examined the yard drainage on the left side and found it to be well within industry tolerances and standards.
b. For your records and peace of mind we provided a copy of a grade survey showing elevation points on the left side.
c. We agreed to do some minor hand grading by the kitchen boxed window, an area approximately 3' in length, next to the perimeter beam.
10. A/C Condenser:
a. The A/C condenser is installed and operates correctly. ****** Homes will not move the condenser and no further action will be taken.

II). Final outstanding items to complete as of 2/7/14
A. Replace door sweep at front entry door. Done
B. Float 3 seams at stair radius wall and paint. (Customer will contact us when they return from vacation) - Customer has told us to only Kilz and paint.
C. Paint drywall repairs in master bedroom. Customer won't let us paint the drywall due to them hearing noises in the walls that we can't confirm over the past year.
D. Remove access soil at back left section of rear yard fence. (Customer will contact us in the spring) Landon will take care of.
E. Hand grade small section by kitchen box window at perimeter beam. (Customer will contact us in the spring) Landon will take care of.


Landon Homes has gone above and beyond, as we are prepared to do for our customers, but at some point we have to have the homeowner become responsible for their home. As you can see above we have spent many man hours in staff and trades to not just rectify warrantable items but we did a lot of courtesy work for them as we serve at the pleasure of our customers.
Please close out this ticket at your earliest convenience as we really have done all we can possible do for this customer.

Regards,
Always
Landon Homes











Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response that the company gave is a great illustration of them spending a lot of time and energy trying to prove that the customer is wrong and that the big issues that concern us, do not exist. We acknowledge that they have taken care of some of the small defects in our home, but we are still battling with the company to address the big issues. Our first year living in this house and dealing with the warranty department has been very trying on our family and has caused us a great deal of distress. We want nothing more than to have these problems behind us. We are not staying in contact with the warranty department because we enjoy these battles, we just want the company to take care of the problems so we can all move on with our lives.
On multiple occasions we were told that someone would come to our house to fix a problem but they often wouldn't show up at all and we would not hear from anyone about a change in plans for the appointment. We were given no warning that an appointment would not take place which is very disruptive when we would take time off work to be at the house. Also, quite often trades people would show up at our house not really knowing exactly what they would be working on. As a result of not knowing what they would be working on, they frequently would not even have the right tools with them when they showed up. This would often lead to those people leaving our house indicating we would have to reschedule. Imagine having to reach out to customer service at least five times to take care of a problem. It was especially frustrating when we would receive emails from our community warranty manager stating "this is just an email to make sure all of your issues have been resolved" when we still had a large number of items to be taken care of.
****** Homes said that they have been unable to duplicate or verify the noises that we as homeowners are claiming we are hearing. Such a nice way of trying to say those issues are not valid. I have video-taped the sounds coming from the two main wall areas in the house that are of concern to us. I have played those videos to the community warranty manager and his boss while they have been at my home. We have also tried to contact those people on various days when the wall noises have been very active, to ask them to stop by our house to hear them first-hand. After leaving voicemails and text messages, we simply would not hear back from them. They have managed to maintain their claim of "we haven't heard the noises directly ourselves." One bedroom wall has had a popping noise on windy days since before we moved in. Finding and fixing the popping noise was part of our "exception report" which lists items that should be resolved within the first 30 days of our moving into our home. The community warranty manager even put some blue tape on the wall where the noise was coming from and then he started lying saying he has never heard the noise. Management supports him which is reflected in their response. We are still trying to figure out what is causing the noise and have repeatedly asked ****** Homes to open up that wall to determine what is going on inside the wall. ****** is planning on adjusting the brick ties again, but has yet to open the wall from the inside. Another wall noise in our master bedroom has been occurring for about four months and we are getting the distinct impression that ****** does not know what to do about it and is thus giving up on trying to solve the problem.


The fact that the company listed all the management people who are involved in our warranty issues and the fact that the issues are still not resolved is the proof of how ****** Homes manages their warranty.

Final Business Response
We have 3rd party reporting that we can share if necessary. The Customers also have a copy of these reports.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/05/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Disputed warranty coverage and/or terms

Complaint: Landon Homes is not providing warranty services for a roof leak causing damages inside the home.
We entered into a contract with Landon Homes on April 20th 2013 to build a new home. The home was completed on 11/4/2013 and we closed on the home the same day. Landon Homes claims to be one of the most energy efficient home builders on the market. The first thing we noticed upon moving in was the lack of hot water in the kitchen. We have a tank-less hot water heater and our kitchen sink would not get hot water after five minutes of running. We were able to get hot water to the kitchen by turning the temperature up to 140 deg., which is unsafe for our children, but the water is either scalding hot or icy cold. There is no in-between. After speaking with the other homeowners and one of Landon's own plumbers, this is a known issue. It's been a design flaw from the beginning. The system is highly inefficient when it comes to water usage since it takes so long to warm the water to wash dishes. With the kitchen at the end of the line, Landon did not install a return line into the system that could allow for an easy installation of a circulation pump. We are still in the process of trying to find a solution to this. We've had to modify our flow rate settings in the water heater just to get hot water to our dishwasher to sanitize our dishes. The second issue noted was every time the dishwasher would run; a water ring would appear on our wood flooring. When Landon's appliance technician came out to fix the issue, he noted that this model dishwasher always leaks. To correct the issue, he actually cut a notch out of the seal so the water build up would not accumulate. Our question to Landon is why would you still sell/install dishwashers that leak? Next, our windows are not sealed properly. The weather stripping in-between the two halves are missing in 50% of our windows. Not to mention the air leaking into the home from the light switches, plug outlets, canned light fixtures and underneath the cabinets. So much for a sealed home that is energy efficient and advertised to reduce energy bills. Then we tried to have TV and internet installed in the home. When the electrician walked the house with us and sold us all our additions, they never mentioned that we should set the home up for DSL service instead of cable, which is not allowed in our area. They also told us that all our phone outlets could additionally be used as internet outlets, which also is not true. According to the AT&T rep., the couplings installed in the house were in poor condition and had to be replaced. He also said that we were limited to 4 phone/internet outlets. This is not what we were sold. After living in the house for 3 weeks, we noticed some water damage in the master bathroom from a shower leak. It took a week for the crew to arrive and when they did they informed me that the final cleaning crew regularly damages the shower seals. I find it very surprising that if Landon knows the cleaning crew damages seals that they don't correct this issue. Because of this negligence, we incurred water damage on the drywall and trim. 2 out of the 3 showers we have in the home leaked and caused damage. And now we have discovered a water leak in the roof. The water is coming from the roof down into our media and game room. The paint is peeling away, the base boards are bubbling and the carpet is completely saturated. I immediately called Landon and their response was to call a contractor and they handed their brand new homeowners a piece of paper stating that the damage was caused by extreme weather conditions and not covered. Ice and snow are normal weather conditions that occur every year in North Texas. For the price Landon charged us for the house, I would expect it to be built properly. I can understand the homes that have been lived in for over a year to not be covered in this case because they have had time to show their flaws but the houses that were just constructed should not be incurring this kind of damage.

Initial Business Response
Firstly I apologize for not responding sooner. I actually thought I had asked for an extension as it was Christmas and we as a company were trying to unwind from the ice storm. Please let me know how and when I can get us back up and running.

Response is below; I have entered our answers at the back of their concerns

Homeowner;We entered into a contract with Landon Homes on April 20th 2013 to build a new home. The home was completed on 11/4/2013 and we closed on the home the same day.

Landon Homes claims to be one of the most energy efficient home builders on the market. The first thing we noticed upon moving in was the lack of hot water in the kitchen. We have a tank-less hot water heater and our kitchen sink would not get hot water after five minutes of running. We were able to get hot water to the kitchen by turning the temperature up to 140 deg., which is unsafe for our children, but the water is either scalding hot or icy cold. There is no in-between. After speaking with the other homeowners and one of Landon's own plumbers, this is a known issue. It's been a design flaw from the beginning. The system is highly inefficient when it comes to water usage since it takes so long to warm the water to wash dishes. With the kitchen at the end of the line, Landon did not install a return line into the system that could allow for an easy installation of a circulation pump. We are still in the process of trying to find a solution to this. We've had to modify our flow rate settings in the water heater just to get hot water to our dishwasher to sanitize our dishes.
Landon: We are working to on a solution for them.

Homeowner: The second issue noted was every time the dishwasher would run; a water ring would appear on our wood flooring. When Landon's appliance technician came out to fix the issue, he noted that this model dishwasher always leaks. To correct the issue, he actually cut a notch out of the seal so the water build up would not accumulate. Our question to Landon is why would you still sell/install dishwashers that leak?
Landon; After our realization of this particular model leaking we changed to a different model that is comparable.

Homeowner: Next, our windows are not sealed properly. The weather stripping in-between the two halves are missing in 50% of our windows. Not to mention the air leaking into the home from the light switches, plug outlets, canned light fixtures and underneath the cabinets. So much for a sealed home that is energy efficient and advertised to reduce energy bills.
Landon; Krestmark, Landon's window company went out on 12-20 to replace and or check all windows and make sure they were installed/sealed correctly. Anything that needed doing on the windows was completed. The sealing around the switch, outlet, lights fixtures is not something we do at Landon Homes. We explained this to **** and ******** and let them know of products that can be used to remedy this situation (rubber gaskets, caulking, etc).

Homeowner: Then we tried to have TV and internet installed in the home. When the electrician walked the house with us and sold us all our additions, they never mentioned that we should set the home up for DSL service instead of cable, which is not allowed in our area. They also told us that all our phone outlets could additionally be used as internet outlets, which also is not true. According to the AT&T rep., the couplings installed in the house were in poor condition and had to be replaced. He also said that we were limited to 4 phone/internet outlets. This is not what we were sold.
Landon: We do install a cat 5, 4 pair wire at all phone and or data locations which can be used either for 4 voice or 4 data lines depending on what the buyer needs at each location. If the connections were in poor condition we would have had IES electric repair them. We are relying on the word of AT&T that they were in poor condition. The main line coming from the street into the home is 4 pair line, so yes you would be limited to either 4 phone or 4 internet connections coming into your home. This is not something builders control it is the utility companies that control this and they are different for each location.

Homeowner: After living in the house for 3 weeks, we noticed some water damage in the master bathroom from a shower leak. It took a week for the crew to arrive and when they did they informed me that the final cleaning crew regularly damages the shower seals. I find it very surprising that if Landon knows the cleaning crew damages seals that they don't correct this issue. Because of this negligence, we incurred water damage on the drywall and trim. 2 out of the 3 showers we have in the home leaked and caused damage.
Landon; The leak was small so a 4" piece of base board trim on the end of the half wall and cut about three inches of drywall out that was damp. We let the wall dry out for three days and All Type glass came out on 12-13-2013 to seal the master and down bath 2 shower enclosures. We then replaced, trim, drywall and paint in the master bathroom 12-26/12-27, bath 2 did not have any damage to base boards or drywall, to Landon Homes knowledge this has been a onetime event.

Homeowner: And now we have discovered a water leak in the roof. The water is coming from the roof down into our media and game room. The paint is peeling away, the base boards are bubbling and the carpet is completely saturated. I immediately called Landon and their response was to call a contractor and they handed their brand new homeowners a piece of paper stating that the damage was caused by extreme weather conditions and not covered. Ice and snow are normal weather conditions that occur every year in North Texas. For the price Landon charged us for the house, I would expect it to be built properly. I can understand the homes that have been lived in for over a year to not be covered in this case because they have had time to show their flaws but the houses that were just constructed should not be incurring this kind of damage.

Landon; As noted in previous BBB responses:
There were many homes throughout DFW affected by the extreme weather conditions that began Thursday, Dec 5th. The build-up of ice on a roof can lead to the formation of an ice dam. Ice dams generally form at the bottom of a roof slope and/or at the gutter line. The ice dam will impede or completely block the flow of frozen precipitation as it melts and flows down the roof. When the flow reaches the bottom of the slope, it refreezes and builds an ice dam. Additional flow becomes trapped behind the dam of ice and backs up under the shingles where it can infiltrate the underlayment, leading to leaks inside the structure. Ice sickles hanging from roof overhangs are a common indicator of an ice dam having formed at the edge of the roof.

That being said as a company we decided to repair any damage done to the home from the cause of this storm. The roof was built to code and approved as all our roofs are. We have since repaired the damage and tested the roof for leaks and we seem to be in good shape.

I hope this will close out this customer's complaint and if there is anything else outstanding that I should be addressing let me know.

Regards

***** *****

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

11/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: Haven't received earnest money from lakeview estates
**** ****** told me via email that I would receive my earnest money refund within three weeks from the date of the contract cancellation of **** ********* *** being submitted. he told me it was supposedly processed thru the corporate office. I Signed and submitted a contract cancellation request but that's the last I heard. I email and ask questions but get vauge responses, sometimes no response at all. I really don't trust the guy. Ive already sent a certified letter formally requesting that I want our refund or atleast a define date of when I will receive it or I will contact an attorney

Initial Business Response
Good morning,

Firstly let me say that Landon Homes is by no way obligated by contract, to return Mr. ********'s $5000 earnest money. He purchased a home from us and we happily set up a payment plan for him, and over a period of 3 payments we had collected that money. We normally require that money which is non-refundable within the first 14 days of the contract process. We went above and beyond to assist him with this purchase.

That being said we are, in good faith, going to return his $5000 in full. I believe by now he is aware of this. I just wanted it to be told that Landon Homes was not in the wrong at all in this situation. We wish Mr. ******** the best and even hope if his situation changes and he was in the market for a home again he would come see us and we would be happy to accommodate him and his needs.

Warmest Regards

***** *****
VP Sales and Marketing

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 2
02/07/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Disputed warranty coverage and/or terms

Complaint: Landon Homes claims no responsibility for roof leak in brand new home after ice storm.
After living in our home for less than 6 weeks we now have water damage caused by inadequate flashing installed during the roofing process. Our construction manager said "they don't build homes to protect against ice". Landon claims this is an act of God and refuse to take responsibility, costing us thousands of dollars in home owners deductible. The quality of their work has been very disappointing considering how much they charge for their homes. We've been trying for weeks to get other cosmetic issues addressed, to no avail. Their follow up customer service is very poor and I would NOT recommend them to anyone. During the building of our home, construction plans were repeatedly ignored, a dozen electrical outlets were covered with drywall, cracked granite countertops were installed and not replaced and switch plates and outlet covers were hung crooked. I would like for them to correct all construction issues to my satisfaction, including the necessary roof repairs to prevent any future leaks and to reimburse me and my insurance company for all damages related to the current roof leak problem.

Initial Business Response
Response:
To whom it may concern,
Our Landon Homes team has visited the home in question more than once over the past few weeks. It was determined not just by our construction team, but the roofing company as well that the damage done was caused by the significant extreme weather we had earlier this month. Our construction manager was trying to explain that here in Texas we build our homes to Texas code and they are not built in the same way you would maybe build a home in the northern portions of the country were cold extreme weather is more the norm, so to speak. Ice in Dallas is a rare thing, especially when the cold temperatures stick around for days afterward. The analogy can be used with a Tornado or Straight Line Winds that we do see more often. If a home was damaged by a storm of that nature it would not be the builder's responsibility to repair any damage done. This why homeowners insurance is a must when purchasing a new home! The length of time the homeowner has been in the home is not relevant as we have strict inspections that our homes have to pass at every stage of construction and this home along with every closed Landon home, passed these inspections, otherwise the city would not have issued us a Certificate of Occupancy which is required to close escrow on any home.
There were many homes throughout DFW affected by the extreme weather conditions that began Thursday, Dec 5th. The build-up of ice on a roof can lead to the formation of an ice dam. Ice dams generally form at the bottom of a roof slope and/or at the gutter line. The ice dam will impede or completely block the flow of frozen precipitation as it melts and flows down the roof. When the flow reaches the bottom of the slope, it refreezes and builds an ice dam. Additional flow becomes trapped behind the dam of ice and backs up under the shingles where it can infiltrate the underlayment, leading to leaks inside the structure. Ice sickles hanging from roof overhangs are a common indicator of an ice dam having formed at the edge of the roof.
That being said as a company we decided to repair any damage done to the home from the cause of this storm. The homeowners selected a company of their choice and we are reimbursing them the full amount they paid to have the water restoration taken care of. We always want to do the right thing by our customers however this storm was something out of our control.
I have attached an explanation of what Ice Dams are:
Ice dams are an extreme weather condition and are addressed as a non-warrantable condition in the Landon Homes Express Limited Warranty booklet included in the Home Owner Manual issued to our buyers at the time of contract. This is discussed in the following sections:
Extreme Weather Conditions, pages 10-11, Section 6: Exclusions, item 30:
"Extreme Weather Conditions, drought, windstorm, hail, lightning, ice, snow, blizzard..." are excluded from coverage.
Page 12, Section 8, (H)- Performance Standard for Roofs:
Item (1), (b):
i: "The Builder shall not be responsible for leaks caused by extreme weather."
ii: "The homeowner shall perform periodic maintenance to prevent leaks due to build-up of debris, snow or ice. The homeowner shall take such action as is necessary to prevent downspouts and gutters from becoming clogged."
When this condition occurs, homeowners should take appropriate action to prevent further spread and contact their Homeowners Insurance Company as soon as possible as this is not a warrantable condition.

From the NRCA- National Roofing Contractors Association:
Ice dams
Ice dams can be a persistent problem in regions with significant snow/ice accumulations during extended periods of below-freezing temperatures. Ice dams form when roof areas become warm enough to melt snow/ice, typically because of the combination of the insulating effect of heavy snow/ice accumulation and heat loss from conditioned spaces. Water from melted snow/ice runs down the roof under the snow/ice cover and refreezes along roof overhangs where the roof surface temperature is lower. As more water from the melting snow/ice becomes trapped behind the dam of ice, it can back up under shingles and infiltrate the underlayment, leading to leaks.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
To say that ice storms in Dallas are a "rare" thing is absurd. Less than 3 yrs ago we had another bad ice storm that left streets frozen for 9 days. We get ice storms usually annually, of late. Our problem was completely preventable, had our builder used Ice and Water Shield in the deep valleys of our roof, like reputable builders use. This product is required by law north of the Red River but not in Texas. Yes, they did build it "to code", so they did the bare minimum, but a home of this alleged quality should be weatherproof for at least 20-30 yrs. The Ice and Water Shield is an inexpensive product and is an easy underlayment to apply during the roofing process. My roofer was well acquainted with the product and uses it often to repair roofs built incorrectly by builders. While Landon Homes did reverse their initial decision not to cover any damages, to their current position of repairing damaged sheetrock, paint and carpet, they have still said they will not cover roof repair costs. We feel the roof is the CAUSE of our damages and expect Landon Homes to reimburse us the cost of repairs. We also still have not received reimbursement for the water extraction which was a week long process and cost us almost $3000.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/10/2010Business started: 09/19/2008
Type of Entity

Partnership

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Tanya Smith (VP Sales and Marketing)Mr. John Landon (President)
Business Category

Home Builders

Industry Tips
Buying An Unbuilt Home
Storm Clean-up Schemes Cause Additional Heartache

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Landon Homes, LP

4050 W Park Blvd

Plano, TX 75093-3839

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4050 W Park Blvd 

    Plano, TX 75093-3839(214) 619-2930

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Landon Homes, LP is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.