BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/10/2008


Find a Location

Phone: (972) 265-8000Fax: (972) 265-80146250 Traxxas Way, McKinneyTX 75070-2424 Send email to Traxxas

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/10/2008

BBB has determined that Traxxas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Traxxas' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service18
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 22

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Traxxas

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (22)
06/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

four motor failures on latrax alias model 6608.
my children bought this quad for me for Christmas I have about 1.5 hours of flight time and have lost four motors. traxxas has replaced all four motors for me for free. now they tell me that they will charge me any motors that go bad. I feel that this quad has a faulty motor design.

Desired Settlement
supply motors till you have the motor issue taken care or refund the cost of quad.

Business Response
To whom it may concern,

Our first record of contact with Mr. ******** was in January 2014 regarding a failed motor on his Alias quadcopter. Upon verification of which motor failed we sent a courtesy replacement as soon as they came off backorder. Then almost a month later Mr. ******** again contacted us for a motor failure, which we again replaced at no charge. In mid-March we received another call citing more failed motors, which we once again replaced at no charge as a final courtesy. At this point we notified Mr. ******** that motors are considered wear and tear items which do not carry a term warranty. Since we had already sent four at no charge future motor replacements would need to be purchased.

All LaTrax vehicles carry a 30 day manufacturing defect warranty on electronics while motors and physical components do not carry a term warranty. Due to the nature of this hobby and how the vehicle is used a motor or other part may fail, even on the first use, with no manufacturing defect being present. The primary cause of part failure on Alias is simply impact (crash) damage. Once replaced a motor may fail again quickly if other components have been damaged (bearings, propellers, etc.) due to the increased workload. If Mr. ******** feels his Alias is somehow defective we would welcome the opportunity to help him resolve any issues, he would need to return his Alias to Traxxas for inspection and repair. Our technicians will determine if any component(s) are incorrectly made or assembled and correct any defects found.

Due to the non-warrantable nature of the physical wear and tear parts Traxxas will be unable to provide further courtesy replacements sight-unseen.

Return information:

6250 Traxxas Way
McKinney, TX XXXXX

03/17/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Slow course of action to solve a wrong parts order. a very angry store owner and after has angry the parts order was still not solved.
I order a Slash 4X4 form Fast Eddies RC Souce in Yuma AZ, my first purchase of a Rc Traxxas.
I have bought other parts form and all was good.
I than ordered new rims and bad land tires for my car, they had the tires but had to order the matching rims that come on the unit. they had them in an week, so I picked them up glued the tires on the rims and found out that they would not fit my car. I took them back, to get the right rims and new tires.

Desired Settlement
I ordered tires and rims form Fast Eddies in Yuma AZ. They did not have the rims so they ordered them, after they cane in and I had glued the tires on, I found out that they were the wrong rim. I took them back and Eddie said he would remove the tires and I would have to wait till next week to the new rims, he said that the tires would not be damaged when he removed them ( ones is for sure) I would off liked new tires and rims, for which I paid for. He did not like me questioning him about the tires not being damaged in removal. He said they would put the new tires on and call me Thursday or Friday. (they did not) I called them Thursday about 3pm and nothing had been done, again I asked them to call me went they were done. Never did call. I showed up Saturday to see if my tires were done and they were, I asked Eddie if he called and he became very angry (because he didn't). After I got home I noticed that one off the tires was not installed right and the bead is damaged.

Business Response
Fast Eddies Hobbies in Yuma, AZ is a business operated completely independent of Traxxas. As the manufacturer we handle warranty and product defect concerns, neither of which appear to be the situation here. While we always want customers to have a positive experience with dealers Traxxas does not become involved in disputes between local shops and customers outside of the warranty process. As a courtesy to the customer we have replaced his rims at no charge but unfortunately the tires are non-Traxxas products for which we are unable to offer compensation. The customer has been given a single point of contact with Traxxas Customer Service for any future questions or help he may need.

07/11/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The warranty on their electronics is only 30 days. Yet they offer an extended warranty for a fee.
I bought their Revo 3.3 Radio Control truck, model 5309 for $640 on April 22, 2013 and the servo for the throttle broke on May 27th, about a $40 item. When I emailed them asking about what is the warranty for the servo, they said there is only a 30 day warranty, but for a fee I can use their extended warranty. I feel with this "Extended Warranty" they offer for a fee after 30 days, that they know their product is going to break and that they can make more money fixing their not very dependable products. I still have the emails that were sent back and forth and in one of them I said that if the steering servo would have broke, I would have just went out and bought another one, because the steering servo is under a lot of torque. But the throttle servo broke and there is not a lot of torque generated and I feel that it shouldn't have broke already. The RC truck was only used a couple of times a week. In fact, shortly after I was done with their "Break In Period" is when the throttle servo broke. During this "Break In Period" you can't just ride the truck hard, so I just can't believe the throttle servo broke already. I have been in Radio Control Planes, Boats and Cars for a long time and I know this kind of hobby takes a beating and things will break, but not in 35 days when the product was only used a couple of times a week. I wasn't going to write to BBB about this, because it's such a small thing. But, the more I think about this the more upset I get.

Desired Settlement
At the time I felt that they should have replaced the servo and I would pay for shipping. Being a now unhappy customer after their emails and that all they wanted to do is charge me money to repair the servo. I have thrown the servo away and replaced it with a Futaba Servo that is probably 18 years old. I don't expect anything from them and will stop buying their product.

Business' Initial Response
Customer has been contacted and a replacement servo has been provided, vehicle is operating normally. We have provided a single point of contact with our Customer Service team if any further issues experienced. Hobby quality remote control vehicles do require maintenance, upkeep and replacement of worn or broken components. Our customer service team is here Monday - Friday 8:30am - 9:00pm CST to assist with any future questions or issues.

12/17/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The Traxxas batteries that we purchased had a one year warranty and after sending the batteries back to them they would not exchange them.
All the batteries were purchased from Tower Cust# ********* Paid by Visa Debit On 2/15/15 Order #XXX XXXXXX Stock ******* Quanity (2) $125.98. Traxxas LiPo2S 7.4V 5800mAh 25C w/iD Connector. On 3/7/15 Order #XXX XXXXXX ************ Traxxas LiPo 2S 7.4 7600mAh 25C w/iD Connector Quanity (2) $159.98. We purchased these batteries to use in Traxxas RC cars and also purchased the charger for the batteries. I sent them back to the company and got an email that said it was not a manufacturers defect and so i would have to paid for it. I am extremely upset about this because it should be under the one year hasn't even been 6 months!

Desired Settlement
The company should adhear to the warranty and exchange the batteries.

Business Response
To Whom It May Concern,

The customer contacted Traxxas on 7/17/2015 reporting his 7600mah 2cell Traxxas LiPo batteries had puffed (swollen up). The representative informed the customer puffing was not a factory defect, something happens to cause the packs to puff, and that the only replacement option we have available is the Lifetime Replacement Plan which is a 50% discount from retail. Many things can cause a LiPo battery to puff that are not manufacturing defects, including but not limited to, over-charging, over-discharging, improper balancing, overheating, leaving them connected to the vehicle when not in use and/or physical damage. Even leaving batteries in a hot car or sitting fully charged for a period of time can cause them to puff.

Traxxas Power Cell LiPo Batteries carry a one year warranty against manufacturing defects. This is not an "unlimited one year warranty", it covers defects in materials or workmanship only, not all things that may happen to a battery pack during use or storage. LiPo batteries, while extremely powerful, are sensitive to how they're used and a variety of things may cause failures that do not constitute a defect from manufacturing.

The representative advised the customer at the time of the call that he should neutralize the packs in a salt water bath and send them in for the Lifetime Replacement Plan. The LRP price is 50% of the listed retail value from the Traxxas parts list, not a discounted price through a store or online retailer (street price). In the case of the 7600mah 2 cell packs the listed retail value is $120.00 and the replacement price is $60.00 plus shipping. Due to the customer's frustration we offered to reduce this to $40 per battery, which the customer accepted. Unfortunately, the packs are currently on backorder and will ship when available.

The engine exchange referenced by the customer is actually called the Power Up Program. Once again the pricing is based on the listed Traxxas retail value of the product, not a discounted or sale price. The exact quote from is "Trade Up and Save 50% Off the Retail Price!" The system in question (MXL-6s Brushless Power System) has a retail value of $479.95. The Power Up cost for this system, upon receipt of a qualifying brushed system, is $240.00 plus shipping. This was explained to the customer in a subsequent phone conversation; however, they declined to take advantage of the program at that time. It will still be available if they decide to utilize the Power Up Program in the future.

06/05/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Not following through with there advertised claims of " Warranty Services".
Traxxas states on there website, hobby stores and to any potential buyer that...

Lifetime Battery Exchange Program
Traxxas stands by Power Cell LiPo batteries with the best warranty and exchange program available. For the first year of ownership, Traxxas will replace any battery found to be defective at no cost. After one year, any Power Cell LiPo battery in any condition can be exchanged for a new equivalent battery for just 50% of the new pack's retail price, no questions asked.

I recently purchased " December 8th 2014" two TRA2872x Traxxas 3s 5000mah 25c lipo batteries to go along with my traxxas erevo. Immediately upon arrival from shipping the batteries were tested on my charger and found to be "Unbalanced Cell's". I called traxxas immediately and spoke to a representative who stated " that is normal and to use them and it should balance out". I did just that and they still stayed unbalanced after every BALANCE CHARGE but only by 0.08 of each cell.
On X-XX-XX I balance charged the batteries and took them out in my stock brushless erevo and after 5 minutes of driving noticed my truck was weird. I pulled my truck in to notice the batteries were both puffed inside of the erevo tray's. I immediately pulled them out and they were hot. I ran home and tested them on a cell checker and they were all well within standard opperating range they were in the 3.90 area of each cell. I was so concerned with the heat of the lipo and my apartment complex that I ran luke warm water into a 5 gallon bucket and dummped a whole bottle of morton salt into that bucket and stirred and dropped the lipos in there and monitored closely as to not have a fire in my place. The following day half way through the day the lipos were sucked back in " not puffy" and water and had greenish sludge/tint. I removed the lipos and checked voltage with a very slight reading of less than 1.00 a cell and immediately threw them away.

I called Traxxas on X-XX-XX " the next day they were opened" to let them know that " Hey I just bought these batteries and something happend because they puffed up and were really hot".
To my dismay the Traxxas employee told me that I would have to pay 50% of retail to get new ones. I told him that the warranty service states that " Within a year any battery found to be defective will be replaced at no cost" He laughed and said " Yea you'll have to pay 50%. I told him okay fine can I email you a copy of my receipt and he said no to only mail " USPS" it in. That's unfair. I understand providing proof and will do that!

Basically traxxas tells everyone they will replace within a year if anything goes wrong...well I have only had these 3 to 4 months and they want me to pay 50% off there retail of $74.99 and so forth when I shouldn't have to pay anything. I bought the batteries and have been doing this hobby for over a decade and know how to handle batteries.
I shouldn't have to pay anything for new batteries.If they advertise that warranty service before you buy, they need to follow through after the purchase. I buy batteries based off warranty's as a "Just in case type measure"

Desired Settlement
I want my batteries refunded after I mail you proof of the receipt. If I am unable to get 2 new tra2872x 3s 5000mah 25s lipo id batteries free of cost and I have to pay the 50% then the advertising on your website and to other companys has to be removed. If you state those services before a consumer buys you need to honor them afterwards.

Business Response
We are sorry to hear Mr. ***** had a disappointing and frustrating experience with his product. Traxxas stands behind our LiPo batteries with a one year warranty against manufacturing defects. Before a warranty claim can be processed, however, we must receive the product for inspection. Unfortunately, the customer indicated he had already disposed of the batteries and could not send them in for inspection and verification, so out of courtesy we offered to replace the batteries sight unseen under our Lifetime Replacement Program for half the Traxxas listed retail value of $100.00 per pack. Please reference the parts list shown in the link below for written detail concerning the Traxxas listed retail value. parts.pdf

Scroll to the section titled "Radio System, Batteries & Chargers" at the start of page 2. Traxxas is committed to customer service and will continue to hold the 1/2 off offer open to Mr. ***** for 30 days from when we made the offer to him.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Traxxas doesn't need to receive the battery in order to process a warranty claim. That is just there tactics. I got rid of the battery's because they were a hazard to have around my apartment. Other things can be done without sending battery's back. They do that to make it harder on the consumer and the chances of them actually coming out of pocket are less because they will say something is wrong with the battery. Here's the thing. TRAXXAS SELL'S THAT BATTERY FOR $74.99..PLease click on this link.

And everyone ELSE who sell's the battery is right around that price range or lower. I purchased my battery's from Tower Hobbies " I have receipt" for $64.99...Why in the world do they all of a sudden mark up the price UNDER WARRANTY CLAIMS? Aren't they supposed to help out there customer as opposed to marking up price higher to make a profit?
I should be able to provide receipt and AT WORSE! Get half off the actual going price of what I paid.
I have been buying Traxxas products for over 10 years. Thousands each month and year. And this is the first time out of how many of there lipo's I have bought that I am asking for help?
It's okay. I wanted the word out of how they are doing me so that others can see if they have a warranty claim that they will double the price of what they paid and then tell them they can warranty them out.
Traxxas also advertise's they use CASTLE CREATION products in there vehicles. Yet they dont offer the castle creations warranty? Don't advertise another company unless you are also following there guidelines too....Misleading... Traxxas offers 30 DAYS! On electronics....Sound a little fishy since castle is know for a year? Castle will replace any defective item within a year. NOPE not Traxxas.

Thank you Traxxas for your support! You guy's are great!

Final Business Response
Due to the value of the product in question ($200 retail) we are unable to simply send out free replacement items sight unseen. We have made an offer for reduced cost replacement above and beyond our written warranty of which the customer has declined to take advantage. Unfortunately we have no other discount programs or offers available.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Traxxas stands by Power Cell LiPo batteries with the best warranty and exchange program available. For the first year of ownership, Traxxas will replace any battery found to be defective at no cost. After one year, any Power Cell LiPo battery in any condition can be exchanged for a new equivalent battery for just 50% of the new pack's retail price, no questions asked.

Traxxas models and products are about experiencing total performance and satisfaction, not just in the products, but also with the company that stands behind them.

The above statements are posted all over your website because you want consumers to believe you're going to help them if something is wrong. " within reason of course"

But again. You marked the battery's up to $100.00 a piece and say you can take 50% off that to HELP me in a warranty claim. Considering YOU SELL THE BATTERY FOR $74.99 " See Below"

I feel completely manipulated. Do you really want your customers to feel like they have been manipulated?

I take responsibility for not having the batteries. I was worried, I have never had a swollen lipo like that and reacted, but considering I bought your product and as soon as it was received I called your customer support and said " Something is wrong" and YOU ALL told me to continue to use it and it went bad I feel you should replace like your advertised claims say.

You are not helping.Whoever is writting these emails back you know darn well marking a lipo up to double it's sale price and then taking 50% off is absurd.

Again..Please take note.

YOU SELL THE BATTERY FOR $74.99 and want to charge me $100.00 a piece minus 50% is insane at least give it to me for what you sell it for PLUS the 50% off..

This is sad that a big company is swindling a customer.Anyone reading this will be like...What the heck? They are trying to sell him there lipo for $100.00 under a warranty claim? That's ridiculous. When I can buy it for around $60.00!

Thanks for helping Traxxas!

02/16/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Got a revo 3.3 on dec XX XXXX and on jan XX XXXX the truck's trans blew leaving me out over $500. I am looking for them to stand behind there prod.
Got a revo 3.3 on dec XX XXXX and on jan XX XXXX the truck's trans blew leaving me out over $500. I am looking for them to stand behind there prod.

Desired Settlement
Transmission Replacement

Business Response
Traxxas takes customer service seriously and is committed to a quality customer service experience. On 1/19/2015, the customer called Traxxas Support and was issued a Return Authorization Number for the transmission. On 1/28/2015, the Traxxas Repair Lab repaired the transmission, installing replacement gears and testing for proper function before shipping the transmission back to the customer later that afternoon.

10/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Motor burning out on a alias quad helicopter
I have replaced a motor two times already that has burned out. It's the same motor the Kent's burning out. I have spent over $100.00 in motors to keep this thing running properly for a family member. I had spoke to the store I brought it from and they stated its the manufactures problem not theirs. I am not happy with this product. If the same motor keeps burning out then it's a defect that the company needs to fix. I spoke with traxxas on the phone and they said they will not refund our money and will send us replacement motors. That's still not solving the problem with the alias quad copter. They refused to send us a new one or refund us our money. I'm not going to waste my time to keep paying for replacement motors that keep burning out every day or two due to a defect the company won't own up too. I looked at other reviews online from other people who brought this product and they all state they have the same problem. So in no doubt it's a defect!

Desired Settlement
I'm looking for the company to refund my $150 I spent on this item. Or send us a brand new alias quad helicopter that works properly with NO Defects. I will not keep accepting replacement motors from them. They need to put out a recall on this item and fix all of them

Business Response
Our only documented contact with the customer was on 8/21. They called to report motor failures on an Alias purchased the previous month and requested a refund. The rep explained we do not offer refunds on used items and sent a replacement set of motors as a courtesy. The number of online failure reports represents a tiny fraction of the overall Alias customer base and is not a representative sample useful for determining failure rates of products.

If the customer is consistently seeing the same motor fail over and over it's likely due to some sort of damage on that corner of the quad. Anything which causes a motor to work harder than it was designed to will cause motors to wear prematurely. From hands-on experience in our service center, reports of this nature are almost always due to some sort of physical issue (typically caused by an impact) that damaged a component. During the call the customer was also advised they could send the Alias in for evaluation if they felt there was some sort of overall defect with the unit. If anything is found to be defective Traxxas will repair or replace parts as needed per our warranty process. If something has been damaged due to impact it would not fall under a manufacturing defect however we can still work with the customer to ensure they have a fully functional product.

The customer is encouraged to return the Alias to Traxxas for evaluation and repair. Our technicians will ensure it is fully functional.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
the company did not state for use to send it back to them for evaluation over the phone!! that's a complete lie on their end. the fact the motor burned out within two days of purchasing the product. they don't want to take full responsibility due to All this issues with this product... I have read several reviews from other consumers and they all had the same issue within a day or two of purchasing the same product! it's a bad design or bad motors the are selling.. it's a waste of $150.00. I can't get back cause company won't own up their problems! .... I will never buy anything from them again and will continue to fight this problem.... or they will keep providing me with free motors... the dealer who even sold the item to me stated all his customers who brought it came back in with same complaints with a day or two with same problem. but his policy is no returns and its up to manufacture to fix problem!!! one very in happy customer here!!

Final Business Response
Due to the nature of radio controlled aircraft damage to the Alias quadcopter on the very first flight can occur without any manufacturing defects being present. Traxxas is aware of online reviews and uses this information along with direct input from dealers, distributors and customers to ensure that our customers receive a positive flying experience. Several thousands of Alias quadcopters are in daily operation without issue. Alias quadcopter motors are considered wear and tear items that will need replacement throughout the life of the product, they carry no term warranty and how the product is used will largely determine lifespan.

At this time Traxxas has provided a complete set of courtesy replacement motors in an attempt to resolve the issue and will be unable to provide additional replacement motors without an examination of the product by Traxxas' repair lab. So again, we ask that Ms. ****** send us the Alias and Traxxas will give it a complete examination to determine if there are any defects in the product.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
makes no sense... again we told the company over the phone the same motor burned out twice within 2 days of buying the product..... we would be more then willing to send them the item at their cost for examination not ours... I will not continue to keep buying motors when the same motor burns out!!! I will never buy from this company again!

09/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Had boat less than a year and it's constantly in and out of service for manufacturing issues. Now traxxas will not fix their product without charging
This remote control boat was purchased on September 2013. Ever since I've had it I've constantly have to return it for service considering there's always a malfunction. The company has been very good about repairing the issues and sending me the boat back but every time I received it it seems like it still has issues. So I contacted the company through emails phone calls trying to fix the problem but the company now wants to charge me more money to get it initially fixed. Since I've had the boat I have not used it to its full capabilities. Everytime I go to use the product it breaks or has to be sent back but now the company is explaining that I have to put more money into it so I can run properly from the manufacturer. I have over a years of emails documented. Please help me figure this issue out. Thank you *** **** ****

Desired Settlement
A. Fix the product without cost
B. Return products for a complete refund

No other solutions

Business Response
The customer's complaint is that he has owned his Spartan remote control boat for less than a year and according to him "it has been in and out of service for manufacturing issues" for a good portion of that time. We would like to first establish that the Spartan Boat like most of our products carries a 30 day warranty beginning from the date of the original purchase. Specifically, the warranty covers the electronic components only and is designed to protect the consumer in the unlikely event of a manufacturing defect. The customer first sent one of the components from the boat to Traxxas on 09/30/2013. It was the Electronic Speed Control which is used to control the amount of power going to the boat's motor. The part was tested by us on the day it was received from the customer and found to be faulty. The component was replaced free of charge because it was an electronic component covered under our 30 day electronics warranty and a new replacement unit was shipped back to the customer the following business day. This particular event represents the only legitimate warranty issue with the boat and was promptly resolved by Traxxas.
Approximately two months later on 11/14/2013, the customer again shipped some of the components from his boat to Traxxas for diagnosis and repair. His complaint was that the boat would not operate properly or attain any meaningful speed or run time. One of the components he sent in was the electric motor from his Spartan Boat. Upon inspection, one of our technicians determined that the bearings and other components in the motor had rusted to the point that the motor was no longer functioning properly. This was due to the fact that the motor had not been properly lubricated or maintained by the customer per the written instructions that were attached to the boat from the factory and also available on-line. In spite of the fact that the motor is not covered under any sort of term warranty and the failure was clearly caused by lack of maintenance on the part of the user, Traxxas chose to replace the motor with a new unit free of charge (normally a $75.00 charge) in the interest of providing a level of customer service beyond the customer's expectation. Traxxas also provided written feedback to the customer detailing the cause of failure and reiterating proper maintenance procedures. The motor was inspected and replaced within one business day of arrival and the new motor was shipped back to the customer on the following business day.
Between November of 2013 and June of 2014, we have had a great deal of interaction with the customer for various reasons. He ended up sending us various components from the boat including his LiPo batteries on an additional 4 occasions, bringing the total to 6. We also have record of 13 telephone calls and at least 14 emails from the customer, all of which were answered by a trained support representative or by our Repair Lab Supervisor. The subject matter of the majority of these interactions centered around the fact that almost every time he ran the boat, he would over discharge one or more cells in one of the Traxxas Lithium Polymer (LiPo for short) batteries that he had purchased separately to operate the boat. Over discharging a LiPo battery will usually permanently damage the battery and render it unfit for continued use. The particular batteries he chose are fully compatible with the Spartan Boat and LiPo batteries in general have become a popular choice for remote control hobby enthusiasts due to their longer run times and/or high power. However; LiPo batteries require in-depth knowledge on the part of the user in order to be utilized effectively. The user must fully understand every aspect of how to properly charge, discharge, cycle, balance, store and in general prep and maintain the batteries for use in a remote control vehicle. Traxxas staffs its call and email response center with trained professionals who are always available to assist customers with any and all questions related to any of our products, including LiPo batteries. There is also a wealth of information available on the Internet from Traxxas and countless other sources for the consumer to educate themselves on the dos and don'ts of LiPo battery use. This fact is an important point because we have determined that the problems and issues that the customer began reporting on or about 01/16/2014 and are the basis for his current complaint are the result of a lack of knowledge and/or failure on his part to properly charge and balance his LiPo batteries before installing them and using them to operate the boat. We were able to determine this based on all of our telephone and email conversations with him as well as by inspecting the batteries and other components each time he sent them in. On each and every occasion, one or more of the LiPo battery cells was over discharged upon arrival, which is almost ALWAYS due to improper charging and balancing techniques OR due to an improper setting on the electronic speed control. The electronic speed control was thoroughly tested each time he sent it in and was found to be in perfect working order the last 5 times he sent it in and the settings were correct for the type of batteries being used. Furthermore, on the 6th and final time the customer shipped in his complete Spartan Boat along with his battery charger and his batteries. We tested all of the components and everything was functioning perfectly except for the fact that one or more of the cells in his LiPo batteries were once again over discharged upon arrival. We tested his boat on the water a total of 15 times using many different sets of LiPo batteries that we had properly charged and balanced using his battery charger and the boat performed flawlessly. After each and every test the batteries were removed from the boat still in perfect working order and ready to be charged and balanced to be utilized in the future. We also recorded video of 3 complete runs from start to finish and provided the videos to the customer in an attempt to convince him that there is absolutely nothing wrong with his boat and that his issues lie with his procedures. The fact that we were able to operate his boat utilizing his battery charger to charge multiple sets of different batteries and experienced no issues whatsoever leaves only one possibility. The customer is not following proper procedures with regard to charging and balancing his batteries. We replaced one battery free of charge on 3 separate occasions and replaced both batteries free of charge the last time he sent in his entire boat for testing. In total, we replaced 5 batteries free of charge at a retail value of $159.99 each, or a total of $799.95 in an effort to keep him happy, in spite of the fact that the batteries were not failing due to a factory defect or a defect with the boat itself. There was a great attempt on our part to provide feedback and educate him on proper LiPo battery handling procedures each and every time he sent in batteries that had been over discharged or improperly balanced. The feedback and education was conveyed via telephone conversations, Technician Notes included with repairs and email correspondence, some of which even contained pictures to illustrate a particular point. Traxxas will gladly provide any and all documentation to support these claims including the videos of the boat in operation upon request.
Despite our best efforts, the customer was still unable to properly charge and balance the last brand new set of two LiPo batteries we sent to him free of charge. Traxxas makes every reasonable effort to help ensure that our customer's buy a product that is appropriate for their skill level but in this case we did not sell the boat or the original set of LiPo batteries directly to the customer. He purchased them from an independent dealer and ultimately the customer is the one who must decide based on all of the available information and knowledge of their own past experience if the product is appropriate for their skill level.
The customer has requested that we repair the product without cost or issue a complete refund. There is nothing wrong with the product so there would be nothing for us to repair and no reason to allow him to return it. In addition, he did not buy the boat directly from Traxxas and even if he did, we do not accept returns of used products. Furthermore, we have already replaced $799.95 worth of batteries, a $75.00 motor and provided approximately $450.00 worth of labor for a total of $1,324.95 worth of free parts and labor in an attempt to help this customer with his hobby.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While most of this information is accurate the business still fails to address the ongoing engineering problems with boat. As you can see a lot was done to this boat but the problem still remains that traxxas spartan boat continues to damage it's batteries rendering the boat as useful as a thousand dollar paper weight. I do understand the boat has a 30 day warranty but the problem was reported immediately under the 30 day timeframe and was never fully repaired. Also, further investigation shows that the batteries that were used during testing where not the same batteries I currently have in my boat. So in my opinion the proper repairs have not been made. I would be willing to work with the business so as long as the boat is fully repaired without charge.

Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hobby & Model Construction Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturing, Toys - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Internet Shopping, Importers, Exporters, Manufacturers & Producers

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 09/01/2000Business started: 01/01/1986
Type of Entity


Business Management
Principal: Milo Mattorano
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Tim O'Brien Mr. Mike Jenkins (Owner) Mike Killion
Business Category

Hobby & Model Construction Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturing, Toys - Wholesale & Manufacturers, Internet Shopping, Importers, Exporters, Manufacturers & Producers

Products & Services

This company offers the design and manufacture of hobby class radio controlled cars, trucks and boats.

Alternate Business Names
Traxxas L.P.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Traxxas

6250 Traxxas Way

McKinney, TX 75070-2424

To | From


2 Locations

  • 6250 Traxxas Way 

    McKinney, TX 75070-2424

  • 1100 Klein Rd (former address) 

    Plano, TX 75074-3721(972) 265-8000

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Traxxas is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Hobby & Model Construction Supplies - Wholesale & Manufacturing


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.