BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1992

Wilson Heating, Air & Plumbing

Phone: (214) 655-2665Fax: (214) 321-872710528 Garland Rd, DallasTX 75218-2637 Send email to Wilson Heating, Air & Plumbing

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/01/1992

BBB has determined that Wilson Heating, Air & Plumbing meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Wilson Heating, Air & Plumbing's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Wilson Heating, Air & Plumbing

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
06/06/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company quoted payment terms which were not upheld, and has been unwilling to admit the mistake or have it corrected.
Kari at Wilson quoted terms that Wells Fargo was not able to provide, and was not able to have it corrected. So, in order to get our minimum payments close to what she had quoted us, she changed our financing terms (without our approval) from "18 months no interest" to "12.9% interest". The contracts provided from Wilson which we signed had a "Plan Number" written on them and no interest rates ever listed.

Further explanation:
Special financing terms of "18 months no interest if paid in full, with estimated minimum payments of $165" were quoted by Kari at Wilson verbally and in writing prior to agreement of service, and signed contract.

Upon receiving our first statement, I noticed that financing through Wells Fargo was set up with minimum payments of $270 (not even close to quoted minimum payment).

After a lengthy conversation with Kari who told me she had simply made a mistake by writing the wrong "plan number" on the contract, she promised to correct it back to the original terms we had discussed, which was "18 months no interest if paid in full with minimum payments of $165".

Kari sent a new contract to us to sign with only a different "plan number" written (as discussed), and had nothing written regarding an interest amount to be charged.

The next statement received from Wells Fargo showed revised financing with a 12.9% interest rate. I disputed with Wells Fargo because I was never quoted anything with this interest rate, never discussed an interest rate with Kari, and never agreed to it verbally or in writing.

Wells Fargo has sent me a denial letter with a copy of my contract which had been provided to them by Wilson. Wilson's copy of the contract had "12.9%" written in under the "Special Rate" section. My original 3-part carbon contract which we signed does not have anything written under that section, and no mention of interest anywhere on the contract.

Wilson's apparent argument to Wells Fargo is that we signed a contract agreeing to pay 12.9% interest, but the contract did not have an interest rate written on it when we signed it. Wilson added the interest rate to their copy of the contract after I had signed it.

Had I known the correct terms upon the original quote, I would not have agreed to the 18 mo no int plan because that minimum payment is too high for our budget. I also would not have agreed to the 12.9% int plan because I could have used an existing credit card with a lower interest rate.

If Wells Fargo is not able or willing to provide the terms Kari quoted, then Wilson should offer something to it's customer to compensate for having made this huge mistake. We have yet to receive a truthful explanation of what happened, a sincere apology, or an offering of anything to make up for what happened, and keep a happy customer.

Desired Settlement
Free service, maintenance and air filters might come close to covering the hundreds or thousands of dollars in interest we will be paying in the coming years because of Kari ******'s mistake.

We are open to other suggestions to compensate for the additional amount of money we will be paying on our account with Wells Fargo.

There is nothing you can do or provide to make up for the amount of time I have lost and stress I have endured over the past YEAR trying to resolve this.

Business Response
Mrs. ***** was quoted 4 different plans to select from. 3 being same as cash and the last plan having a set APR. She request to have the plan that had a payment as close to $150 as possible. That plan had the longest term with a set APR. Mrs. ***** was mailed all the information regarding the Wells Fargo account. She received the paperwork, sign and return it to our office and in turn it was forwarded to Wells Fargo. We have charged and refunded then charged her account several times to try and get this matter resolved for her. She in the end wanted a plan and monthly payment that I was not able to offer. The last conversation I had with her, she said she didn't care what the interest was as long as it had a monthly payment that was around $150. No matter how many times we changed her plan she continued to call in with another problem. It is her responsibility it insure that she is choosing a plan that best fits her financially.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was quoted terms by Kari which I have in writing. When the first Wells Fargo statement came in, the terms did not match what I was quoted. Upon discussion with Kari, I was told she had made a clerical error and entered the wrong Plan Number on the contract. Kari sent a new contract with a different Plan Number to sign and have Wells Fargo correct the terms. When the next statement came in, the terms were again not what I had agreed to or discussed with Kari. Kari ****** was the only person I was allowed to speak with regarding this issue and has continued to tell me that I should be able to get the terms she had quoted me, and that she was going to have her Wells Fargo Rep correct it. My account has been changed 4 times back and forth between two different incorrect terms, each time with Kari telling me its not what she discussed with her Wells Fargo Rep. ****** also provided an altered version of my contract to Wells Fargo trying to prove that I agreed to terms which I did not. I have all original documents and have all discussions in email and voicemail as evidence.:


I was quoted by Kari ****** 3 term options ("same as cash" meaning No Interest if paid in full by "X" months) which included estimated minimum monthly payments for each option. I selected the option which included a minimum payment I could afford.

The plan ****** set up with Wells Fargo included a minimum payment almost double what was quoted by Kari ******. This is what I have been debating with them from day one. Kari admitted verbally and in writing that she made a clerical mistake and would have her Wells Fargo Rep correct the terms on my account. I have all this documented in writing. This happened 4 times because the terms kept being changed back and forth to a 12.9% interest plan which I did not request or agree to, and each time Kari admitted that it was not what she requested her Wells Fargo Rep to do.

After almost a year, I had submitted a dispute with Wells Fargo explaining in detail what had happened with ****** and my account, and provided copies of all the communication with Kari. After a month, they supplied me with a copy of my contract that ****** had provided to them. ******'s copy of the contract showed "12.9%" hand written in a section that was blank when I had signed.

I have the original 3-part contract that does not have anything written or typed anywhere stating there would be any form of interest charged on the "Plan" that I was agreeing to. The only specifics on the contract are my personal information, an "invoice" number and a "Plan number" which Kari had explained was the correct plan number... referring to the clerical error (wrong plan number) she had made on the first contract I signed. Again, I have all this conversation documented in email and voicemail.

The contract ****** provided Wells Fargo had information added to it after I had signed it which is falsifying a legal document.

If Kari or anyone else at ****** had explained to me from the beginning, or at ANY point during this process, that they had made a mistake which was not correctable through Wells Fargo's term options, then I would not have continued communicating with them to have my account terms changed to what Kari had quoted me. I was being told each time by Kari, that the terms could be corrected and that she was going to have her Wells Fargo Rep correct it.

Wells Fargo has since assured me that the terms Kari quoted me are not possible and is not sure where the amounts would have come from. Kari told me that she quoted the amounts from a chart they have in her store provided by Wells Fargo. I can't come to any other conclusion but that Kari made a mistake when quoting me minimum payment amounts, and instead of admitting the real mistake and telling me what could/couldn't be done at that point, has been trying to cover up and blame the errors on the Wells Fargo.

I informed Wells Fargo that the contract copy ****** provided them was falsified, and they have documented that in their records. At this point I have chosen to leave the account terms at the 12.9% interest because this is a minimum payment I can afford. If I had known this was the only feasible term option they could provide me before agreeing to service, I could have used one of my existing credit cards with a lower interest rate to pay.

Not only will I be paying much more in interest than I should be, but have spent a ridiculous amount of time over the last year discussing something that was not even a possibility because Kari has continued to tell me it was.

05/31/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service man A - our leaking coils may be a warranty fix due to a bad batch of coils 2010.

We are told by Service man A that he is filling
the freon (under warranty) and that our leaking coils may be a warranty fix. (due to a bad batch of coils from 2010). He tells us Service man B will be out the next day to do a leak check.
Service man B comes out the next day and does not
do the leak check. He tells us the leak check cost $695.00 and he will not proceed until we pay it.
Next he tells us that service man A should've charged us for the freon he put in our unit!!!
First, we know the problem. We don't need a leak check. Second, after repeated calls - we've received NO RESPONSE to our questions about our system under warranty and maintenance agreement.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking an explanation of why, if this is a known problem from RUUD (bad coils), we would have
to pay to get it fixed OR A LEAK CHECK!
We want replacement of our coils on our unit.
We haven't received any contact -other than the
two very different solutions from the technicians!

Business Response
Unfortunately the model number on the coil that needs to be replaced is not the Ruud coil we installed. It is actually a Rheem coil. In order to have this replace at no charge it will have to be done through the company that installed it. Rheem and Ruud have had problems with their coils.I have included a section below explaining more information regarding this matter.

A Class action lawsuit has been brought against Rheem Manufacturing Company alleging Rheem's air conditioning units contain defective evaporator coils. Rheem's coils are made with copper which highly susceptible to corrosion. The copper coils become porous as they corrode and begin to leak the refrigerant. The loss of refrigerant due to leaking prevents the air conditioner from emitting cool air, defeating the ultimate purpose of the product.

07/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wilson installed a new A/C unit at **** ********** **** (XXXXX) and despite several service calls still is not working as expected.
NEW A/C system was installed in August 2013, and Wilson has been out multiple times to try and correct the issue. The most recent most recent leak test was completed 9/26/14 (found leak in schrader valves and they were replaced). Additional coolant was added 8/19/14 - then told that office would contact to schedule appointment for ANOTHER leak test.The leak test on 9/26/14 was the second leak test performed, and although it was temporarily resolved, the issue has returned as of 6/26/15. I called for service at 8:40 pm on 6/25/15, and was told that I would be contacted first thing Friday morning to schedule a technician to come out and check the unit. I have since called at 9:25 am, 9:28 am, 10:48 am and 10:59 am and received a voicemail system every time. After paying around $8,000 for a new A/C system, it is unacceptable that the system continually fails to cool on a consistent basis, and temporary fixes are continually applied. It is extremely troubling that it is so difficult to schedule a time for a Wilson service technician to be scheduled to correct the issues after Wilson was the company that installed the unit and has been the ONLY company to service the unit since installation.

Desired Settlement
If the unit installed by Wilson Heating and Air is unable to be repaired after multiple attempts by Wilson Service technicians, it would be prudent for the company to either COMPLETELY repair the system that is either defective or improperly installed, or completely replace the system. It is both inconvenient and unethical to require customers to continually call for service to a new system installed, and arranging to meet service technicians between the hours of 8 am and 5 pm require rearranging of my work schedule (for which I have to produce out of pocket expenses) to compensate for failure to meet the contractual obligation by Wilson Heating and Air to ensure that the products and services for which they charge, are installed correctly, and are in working order.

It should not require SEVERAL calls to at least secure a time for a service technician to come out and "look at the problem" that has been attempted to be corrected by Wilson Heating and Air multiple times since the date of installation.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Steve ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *********@msn.com
We have located the leak on the customers HVAC unit and made the necessary repairs.

07/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We requested service at our residence. We were told we were on the schedule but no one ever showed up or contacted us without us contacting the office
On Tuesday, June 16th I arrived home to realize my outside unit was not working. I called Wilson (who installed the unit and who we've used before without incident). The technician came out and told us that the fan on the unit was burned out and he would be out the next morning (Wednesday June 17th) to replace it. Mid-morning of the 17th, I called the technician to get an ETA. He said he was on a call and it'd probably be after lunch. Towards the end of the day, my wife called the office and was told that they would not be coming out to our house and that we were on the schedule for the next afternoon Thursday June 18th. Again, towards the end of the day on the 18th, my wife called the office and was told that they were not coming out. The person she spoke with then told her that the unit would not be covered under warranty because we didn't have an annual maintenance performed and that it wasn't just the fan, but the entire unit that would need to be replace. Neither of these points explained why we were told on multiple occasions that a technician would be out to work on the unit and never showed up. According to my wife the person she spoke with was argumentative and unapologetic that no one showed up for any of the appointments they gave us.

Desired Settlement
Waive of any charges related to the call on June 16th. The weather permitted us to remain in the house without air conditioning on the 16th and 17th, but with 90+ degree temperatures on the 18th, I was forced to buy window units so we could sleep at our house that night.

Business Response
The customer was not charged for our service call on that day. Our warranty states that the system must be maintained on a annual basis for it to remain valid. We have not been out to this customers home since 7/16/2010. Which means the warranty is voided.

07/23/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
24/7 means 24/7
On Tuesday, July 8, 2014, I called ******'s about a noise coming from my air conditioner which indicated to me there might be a problem. ******'s does advertise 24/7 emergency service on their website. Please see the following link
http://www.wilsonsvc.com/dallas-tx/ac-repair.htm

I could not reach the answering service, rather got their voice mail. I did not receive any contact until 7:45 the next morning, nearly nine hours later. I told the office manager I had asked for emergency service. Her response, delivered quite rudely I must add was "We don't come out for noises in the attic." Their advertisement states 24/7 service, certainly not that one will wait ten hours for a rude reply. They installed this equipment IN THE ATTIC so certainly it would qualify as being something they would need to look at. In fact their warranty states that if any other company services the equipment, the warranty is null and void.
I asked to speak to Mr. ****** to complain. I was told again quite rudely that he was not available and would not speak to me in any event. I attempted to reach out to them via Facebook, but they declined to respond in any way.

Desired Settlement
Ideally they would correct their website, either removing the reference to 24/7 service entirely or stating that at the discretion of the office manager any requests for assistance may not be handled until the following morning or later.
Realistically I would think that a personal apology from both Mr. ****** and the employee in question would be acceptable. And I do not want to hear how sweet she is once I get to know her. Certainly she is to Mr. ****** as he can fire her instantly. I had a very different experience.

Business Response
I called Ms.***** on receipt of the notice of complaint. I received it on 7/14/14, and called
at 10:37 AM. I left a message, and will await her
call.
Our advertising offers 24 hour seven day a week.
EMERGENCY SERVICE. it is at our discretion to
decide what an emergency is. Anything that would cause damage to property or put lives in peril, is an emergency. A noise in the attic is not. The police work 24/7, but unless there is an injury, they won't respond to an accident..We responded well within the 24 hour period.
It is not worth the risk, to wake up a technician,
and send him away from his home and family, in the middle of the night, for a noise in the attic. I
do not even know what the noise was, as we were not asked to respond when we called as 7:45 AM.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Ventilating Equipment, Humidifying Apparatus, Heating Equipment, Heat Recovery Equipment & Systems, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Water Heater - Tankless, Water Heaters - Dealers, Garbage Disposals - Household, Thermostats, Water Leak Detection, Heat Exchangers, Dehumidifying Equipment, Radiant Barrier Contractor, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Water Heaters - Repairing, Ventilating Contractors, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbers - Commercial, Plumbers, Contractor - Insulation, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/13/1992Business started: 07/01/1987
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
PO Box 12157, Capitol Station
Austin, TX 78711
(800) 803-9202
http://www.license.state.tx.us

Texas Board of Plumbing Examiners
PO Box 4200
Austin, TX 78765-4200
(512) 936-5200
http://www.tsbpe.state.tx.us/index.html

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Wilson (Owner)Mr. Eric Wilson (Vice President)
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Ventilating Equipment, Humidifying Apparatus, Heating Equipment, Heat Recovery Equipment & Systems, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Water Heater - Tankless, Water Heaters - Dealers, Garbage Disposals - Household, Thermostats, Water Leak Detection, Heat Exchangers, Dehumidifying Equipment, Radiant Barrier Contractor, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Geothermal Heating & Cooling, Water Heaters - Repairing, Ventilating Contractors, Plumbing Drains & Sewer Cleaning, Plumbers - Commercial, Plumbers, Contractor - Insulation, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

This company offers plumbing, heating, air conditioning sales and service, insulation, and radiant barrier.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 06:00 AM to 11:30 PMTue: 06:00 AM to 11:30 PMWed: 06:00 AM to 11:30 PMThu: 06:00 AM to 11:30 PMFri: 06:00 AM to 11:30 PMSat: 06:00 AM to 11:30 PMSun: 06:00 AM to 11:30 PM
Service Area

Dallas and Northeast Texas

Alternate Business Names
OPNOX Inc., Wilson Air Conditioning Plumbing & Heating, Wilson Heating A/C & Plumbing, Wilson Plumbing, Heating & A/C

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Wilson Heating, Air & Plumbing

10528 Garland Rd

Dallas, TX 75218-2637

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 10528 Garland Rd 

    Dallas, TX 75218-2637

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Wilson Heating, Air & Plumbing is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.