BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/08/2005

On Time Experts

Phone: (214) 321-8664Fax: (214) 292-8449View Additional Phone Numbers1510 Stevens Street, DallasTX 75218-3136 Send email to On Time Experts

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/08/2005

BBB has determined that On Time Experts meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised On Time Experts' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service11
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 18

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (18)BBB Closure Definitions
06/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 7/20/13,new heating/AC unit installed. Installed wrong.Electric bills doubled 4+ months.Casey requested bills,said he would refund amt. No response
On 7/19/2013 we had a Bryant 3 ton basic heat pump system installed at a cost of $10,605. (Serial #'s 2213EXXXXX & 2813AXXXXX) Our heating bills doubled. A tech was called out on 2/18/2014 and asked to look at system because the usage on the monthly bills more than doubled once the heat was turned on. He discovered that the thermostat was not set up correctly when installed. It was running off all 3 heat strips instead of the heat pump. After speaking with Casey Simpson several times about our concern as to what damage the faulty installation might have done to our heat strips/heat pump and the amount of money we were out on our electric bills due to their error, he assured me that he would reimburse me for the above amount if I would send him copies of the bills. I sent him 21 months worth of bills in 2012/2013/2014 for comparison, as well as a chart showing the monthly usage/bill comparison. I followed up by email 4/23/14. No response. I followed up again by email 5/9/2014, 5/12/2014 and 5/21/2014. No response. I tried calling several times and have gotten no response. The last time I called was Friday 6/6/2014 and his assistant that answers the phone assured me he would give him the message to call me. Today is 6/10/2014 and I have neither had a phone call or email returned to me. The main 4 months I am concerned with are Dec, Jan, Feb, & Mar. The following are the electric charges/usage amounts with the OLD UNIT: December 2012: $110.40/1031 January 2013: $136.35/1441 February 2013: 128.30/1340 March 2013: $135.60/1347. The next set of charges are after the NEW UNIT was installed. December 2013: 227.11/2230 January 2014: $288.71/2935 February 2014: $282.81/2870 March 2014: $197.37/1754. The total for the 4 months after the new unit was installed equals $996.00. The total charges in comparison for the same 4 months the previous year with the old system was: $510.65. The difference in overcharges between the two is $485.35. This is the amount I was told I would be reimbursed due to their error, and this is what I am asking to be honored by this company.

Desired Settlement
The main 4 months I am concerned with are Dec, Jan, Feb, & Mar. The following are the electric charges/usage amounts with the OLD UNIT: December 2012: $110.40/1031 January 2013: $136.35/1441 February 2013: 128.30/1340 March 2013: $135.60/1347. The next set of charges are after the NEW UNIT was installed. December 2013: 227.11/2230 January 2014: $288.71/2935 February 2014: $282.81/2870 March 2014: $197.37/1754. The total for the 4 months after the new unit was installed equals $996.00. The total charges in comparison for the same 4 months the previous year with the old system was: $510.65. The difference in overcharges between the two is $485.35. This is the amount I was told I would be reimbursed due to their error, and this is what I am asking to be honored by this company.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Randy Kelley Owner
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@theontimeexperts.com
I'm sorry this happened! We will refund $500. If you ever have a problem in the future and it doesn't get taken care of please call me, Randy Kelley. Thank You!

06/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On Time Experts has charged us hundreds of dollars and we still have a dysfunctional A/C.
OTE came to our home and charged $109 to diagnose why our AC was not cooling. They ordered a part, came out again on May 12th to install it. Our system is only 2 years old. On the 12th a new motherboard was installed and Freon was added. This should have been covered under our prior warranty with Avery Air, which they said they would honor. Instead, they charged $435. On May 21st the A/C was not cooling yet again. OTE wanted to charge another $90 to diagnose the new problem. I refused. They came out anyway, and charged my father-in-law $ to fix the *new* problem. I want my money back and will be certain to advertise their crookedness.

Desired Settlement
I want all the money we wasted on this crooked business returned to my family, totaling $535.00.

Business Response
On 5-7-14 we did diagnose the original problem which was the control board outside. That was a $109 diagnostic. At that time the client approved the $270 labor charge to replace the control board. Which includes warranty processing.

On 5-12-14 we returned and installed the control board. Once the unit was running we found that it was low on Freon. We installed 3 pounds of R-410A and did a preliminary leak search for $165. The total charge to replace the control board install the Freon and do a preliminary leak search was $435.

On 5-22-14, ten days later, the unit quit cooling again because the dual run capacitor failed. We charged an $89 diagnostic and $90 labor/warranty processing to replace the capacitor.

Later that day the unit quit cooling again. We went out at and found the expansion valve not working properly. We did not charge for this trip and told the client we would replace it at NO CHARGE. The client then goes to the BBB the next day and creates a complaint without talking to us first.

Unfortunately Avery Air is out of business. We did not purchase the company. We only purchased their assets. We are covering the parts under warranty just not the labor.

I am truly sorry that the system failed on multiple occasions. We want to do what's right. However, giving back ALL of the money doesn't seem right either. We didn't do anything intentional to cause the unit to fail.


The issue that I see here is that we possibly could have found that the capacitor was weak when we replaced the control board. In that case the capacitor would have still had to be replaced but there would not have been a diagnostic charge.


I would be more than happy to refund the $89 diagnostic fee and still replace the expansion valve at NO CHARGE.

12/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Requested for old system not be taken away...system was sabotaged and is unusable called 4 times no return call...also was told inspection...none rcvd
Inspector never showed up...old system was sabatoged....

Desired Settlement
Acknowledgement and fix old system ...bring back main door

Business' Initial Response
I'm not sure I understand the complaint other than no return phone call and no inspection.

I will find out what is going on with the inspection. If the client asked for the old equipment we would leave the old equipment. I don't understand.

Consumer Response
One hour heating never called me back after this initial investigation was opened. This issue was not resolved. I did get an inspector to come out but one hour heating never made good on the old system they sabotaged and never brought the equipment / door nor did they replace the door as they stated they would do.


Business Response
Called customer on September 5th to set up her inspection with the City of Balch Springs & she informed me of water standing around the French pit & about the door on old system being taken. She had requested that the equipment being removed & any cooper to remain with her. Per Mrs. ****** we removed about a foot of cooper took the door to the furnace. Unfortunately the door was damaged during the removal so he threw it out with the foot of copper, but everything else was left with her. We called the customer back & explained to her about the door being damaged & we could try to build her one. The customer said that would be fine but she has already sold the equipment to some man in Denton. I ask her for an address & number so we could call him to set up a date to go out & get dimensions of the equipment to make the door. The customer said she would have to call back after she found his information. Mrs. ****** at this time scheduled her inspection with the city for September 18th & requested we called her the day before to remind her about the inspection. Called her on the 17th of September & got her voice mail, left message about the inspector coming out on the 18th to complete the inspection. We asked her to call us back with the information for the man who she sold the equipment to. To this day Mrs. ****** has never called us back. We went back out on the 5th of September to take her a foot of copper & fix the French pit. This is a complaint about a door missing from a old piece of equipment that she sold.


Business Response
Called customer on September 5th to set up her inspection with the City of Balch Springs & she informed me of water standing around the French pit & about the door on old system being taken. She had requested that the equipment being removed & any cooper to remain with her. Per Mrs. ****** we removed about a foot of cooper took the door to the furnace. Unfortunately the door was damaged during the removal so he threw it out with the foot of copper, but everything else was left with her. We called the customer back & explained to her about the door being damaged & we could try to build her one. The customer said that would be fine but she has already sold the equipment to some man in Denton. I ask her for an address & number so we could call him to set up a date to go out & get dimensions of the equipment to make the door. The customer said she would have to call back after she found his information. Mrs. ****** at this time scheduled her inspection with the city for September 18th & requested we called her the day before to remind her about the inspection. Called her on the 17th of September & got her voice mail, left message about the inspector coming out on the 18th to complete the inspection. We asked her to call us back with the information for the man who she sold the equipment to. To this day Mrs. ****** has never called us back. We went back out on the 5th of September to take her a foot of copper & fix the French pit. This is a complaint about a door missing from a old piece of equipment that she sold.

11/21/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
call 1 hour for an estimate for replacing the ac, person came out and heater would not work, air and heater were working before.spoke with ***** and ***** mgr but denied anything and a sevice guy look at it , he found someone had stuff a vent with a large plastic bag that kept it from working. he had to remove 3 screws to get to the bag so i think this was done on purpose. i gave them a call to see if this could take off. so i had to pay someone 80. dollars to get the heater to work. so be aware when someone comes over for an estiment
Product_Or_Service: air conditioner

Desired Settlement
I don,t think 1 hour will do anything but letting the public of what happen to me

Business Response
There is no way we would have put a plastic bag in the flue pipe. We would not be in business very long doing such things.

Please provide us with an invoice showing what was done and the cost and we will be more than happy to refund the money.

09/12/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Pre-paid for service contract. Made appointment. No one came to home to provide service. They will not refund my money that was PRE-PAID.
Joined "Comfort Club" Pre-paid for one year of service. Called One Air and scheduled appointment for July 1, 2013. One Hour Air did not come to provide service. Have requested refund of my pre-paid funds since One Air Hour did not provide the service which I already paid them for. Have requested refund via email, letter and telephone. One Hour Air has refused to refund my pre-paid money for the service. One Hour Air DID NOT provide service for which I had already paid them. They have taken my money and NOT provided the service for which they were paid.

Desired Settlement
One Hour Air needs to refund the $230.00 which I pain them in January 2013 for HVAC service.

Business' Initial Response
This is not how we do business! I apologize for the miscommunication within our company. We will refund the $230.

Page 1 of 3
05/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Because of a malfunction of an HVAC under warranty, On Time Experts should be responsible for damage to my hardwood floor and mold on substructure.
In June of 2012, I purchased an HVAC system from On Time Experts (formerly One Hour Air Conditioning and Heating). On Time Experts installed the system. While still under warranty, the unit malfunctioned and leaked water causing permanent damage to my hardwood floor. The leak also caused mold to grow on the substructure directly underneath the unit.
I discovered the leak when changing the filter in August 2013. I called On Time Experts and they came out to investigate on August 20. The service tech found that a part, under warranty, had malfunctioned. He showed me the float which had not shut off the system when the drain line became clogged. He cleaned the line and got the system working properly. The technician said he could not find the drain line to the outside of the house. We discussed the damage to the hardwood floor.
When the technician left, I went into the crawl space underneath the house. I found two problems. There was quite a bit of mold under the unit and the drain line was not installed according to code.
I called On Time Experts and requested an inspection and assessment of damage. Another technician came out and saw the mold and that the drain had not been installed correctly. He said they would come and fix the drain. The technician called the office about responsibility for the damage, but was told a manager would come out and look at the problem. I asked him if I should go ahead and get estimates and he said no, they had their own contractors.
Meanwhile, another technician came and installed a new drain system. I was not charged for this, because the drain system had not been correctly installed when On Time Experts installed the HVAC system.
In September, a service manager came out to assess the damage. He called in to the office and spoke to the owner. The service manager said he would call me back in a couple of days. He never called back and did not return numerous requests to call me.
In late November, I wrote a letter to the President of the company. The service manager called me. He said, "Can't you just live with it?" I said the damage was unsightly and the floor had buckled. He said he would call me back in a couple of days. He never called back.

Desired Settlement
I would like On Time Experts to repair my hardwood floor and be responsible for removal of the mold on the substructure of my house.

Business Response
The system was installed in June of 2012. The system came with a 1 year labor warranty, 10 year manufacturer parts warranty.

On 03/10/2013 we performed a maintenance visit on the air conditioner. On 08/20/2013 the client called stating that there might be a water leak because his filter keeps getting wet when he changes it. We checked the freon charge and the float switches and blew out the drains at no charge. On 08/27/2013 we went back out and found that the drain line, under the house, didn't actually go into the sewer. However, it passed the city inspection. Because we should have caught that fact, we installed a French pit at no charge, good faith on 08/29/2013. On 11/06/2013 we performed a maintenance visit on the heater and nothing was mentioned.

The water was dripping for several months before we receive a call. If we had received the call earlier the floor would not have been an issue. I don't feel it is our responsibility to fix the floor because the client waited to call us in a timely manner. Also the labor warranty had expired.

I feel we have acted in good faith in this matter.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I did not wait to call in a timely manner. I called as soon as I saw the filter was wet. Also, the labor warranty is for the unit and has nothing to do with the damage to the floor. If the company did not think they had any responsibility, why did they send employees to inspect twice? Why did the company say they would get back to me and they never did? Why didn't the company return my calls? The last time I spoke with an employee, he admitted responsibility by saying, "Can't you just live with it?"

12/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
One Hour took over failed Avery and advertise they honor their warranty. Renigging on that, want $800 to replace 2yr evaporator. plus $109 service
Called One Hour because upstairs warm and their website says they took over Avery and do free service call for former Avery customers and it says they also honor Avery warranties. We have 10 yr P&L warranty on our 2 yr old system. Tech diagnosed leaky evaporator. Charge 109 for call. Now want $800 saying they "bought Avery's assets but not liabilities". Very dishonest. Say they won't honor Avery "in house" warranty.

Desired Settlement
We are only requesting that 1) they refund the $109 service call fee 2) we are willing to pay $200 for a "repair", although we are not convinced he is correct. I think a proper diagnosis would of been to recharge the system and see if it stayed cool or got warm again. We are very unhappy with their explanation of why it will cost $800; if they want to keep Avery customers they should honor the warranty.

Business Response
The following is EXACTLY what is says on our website....

AVERY AIR CUSTOMERS

Effective Dec. 14th Avery closed their doors. Avery filed Chapter 7 Bankruptcy on January 2nd.

If You Purchased 10 Year Parts & Labor Warranty Through

Their Asure Extended Service Plan

For Your AMANA or GOODMAN Equipment.

We Can Honor Your Warranty

***Provided Avery paid for your warranty, call us, we can check that for you***

I totally understand the frustration ALL of the Avery Air customers are going through. However, if we were to take over their IN House warranties, we to would go bankrupt.

If our technician EVER misdiagnosis a problem in a coil we will replace the coil absolutely FREE.

I feel we have provided a service by finding the system low on Freon and conducting a leak search at NO CHARGE.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They did not perform this service at NO CHARGE. We paid $109 diagnosis charge. We would like that refunded. One Hour's website is deceptive and misleading in saying that they honor Avery's warranties when they really do not. We never would have called this company due to poor ratings compared to others had it not been for the Avery connection.

08/06/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/16/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/05/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/08/2005Business started: 09/01/1964
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Licensing & Regulation
PO Box 12157, Capitol Station
Austin, TX78711
(800) 803-9202
http://www.license.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Randy Kelley (Owner)
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

This company offers Residential and Light Commercial air conditioning and heating repair and system replacement. We also provide Indoor Air Quality solutions.

Alternate Business Names
Dallas Unique Indoor Comfort LTD

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for On Time Experts

1510 Stevens Street

Dallas, TX 75218-3136

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1510 Stevens Street 

    Dallas, TX 75218-3136(214) 321-8664
    (214) 328-2100
    (214) 414-1002
    (972) 543-6530
    (972) 961-3962

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*On Time Experts is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (214) 328-2100
  • (214) 414-1002
  • (972) 543-6530
  • (972) 961-3962
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.