BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/28/2011

Longhorn Heating & A/C, Inc.

Phone: (972) 475-0009Fax: (972) 475-1524

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
04/23/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Please repaired my AC once and for all.
We have been without AC for over 3 weeks, the technicians have come and gone saying that something else needed to be ordered, but I'm still without AC.

Last time a technician came was 04/02/2015 and said he needed to order a compressor, he said he will see if they could put rush order.

I called last Thursday to inquiry on this and a lady told me that she saw the order in the system, but she couldn't tell me this was going to be repaired. At this point I was fed-up and demanded from her the exact date, to which she replied that was ********'s fault who wasn't longer there, this lady said (not friendly at all) she was going to call me, today is Monday and no phone call yet.

My children have been sleeping in the lower part of the house because is just uncomfortable for them up stairs. This has been happening for 3 weeks! I has already had to ask for 3 days off because you guys don't even give windows for repairs.

Please your assistance is greatly appreciated.

Desired Settlement
Please fix my AC as soon as possible.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@longhornhvac.com
We have this customer' repair scheduled for Tuesday 4/21/15. We went against our normal office procedures and scheduled him before his parts are in hand. We cannot get him in any earlier due to weather forecast. With the repair the customer needs if there is any moisture in the air, it is not advisable to open up his system. The customer does have another system in his home so he has not been totally without air. And it has been 7 business days since the diagnosis was made and his repair date was scheduled.

11/27/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service agreement requires emergency on-call service. Heater broke in freezing temperature and the on-call service rep didnt respond to messages left.
My heater is broken and it is the weekend. My service agreement with longhorn says that they will provide emergency on-call service, but when i called the number, no one picked up or responded to my messages. I want my heater fixed and the cost of my service agreement refunded.

Desired Settlement
I would like my heater fixed, the cost of my warranty/service agreement refunded, and compensation for the time i have missed work as a result of the cold i now have.

07/20/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
BRAND NEW HOME Longhorn Heating & Air will not either come out on a Friday afternoon or the weekend
BRAND NEW HOME Longhorn Heating & Air will not either come out on a Friday afternoon or the weekend (SO WE DON'T HAVE TO MISS WORK ON SOMETHING THAT SHOULD BE WORKING NEED TO PAY FOR THE HOUSE STILL AND ALSO ALL THE HAIL DAMAGE ITEMS) well they would come out on the weekend but said they would charge over $100 an hour to work on the unit or some sort of charge. So now I am going to contact my builder to get another AC company to come out on our time so we don't miss work to pay for the unit that should already be working if you bought a new car and paid even $20K for the car had a warranty issue and the dealership said we don't work the weekends or well we can but need to charge you a $100 fee to work on the weekend would you be happy or okay with that?

Desired Settlement
Come out check and repair the unit if needed during our time not for us to miss work and or to charge us some sort of fee on the weekend to come out and work. We need to work and can't miss work either. I tried telling the secretary my wife is off on Friday afternoons to schedule a time then so we don't have to miss work and they can come during their working hours this was not good enough for her. She basically said i need to call my builder to take care of this issue.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ***** Office Mgr
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****@longhornhvac.com
Mr. ******* failed to inform the BBB that there was nothing MECHANICALLY wrong with his system. He was reporting AIR FLOW issues(which means some rooms were not as cool as others). We cannot correct an air flow issue until window coverings and furniture is moved into the home, per our engineer. We handle all warranty calls Monday- Friday 8am-5pm, and that is stated in their paper work from the builder when they buy their house. Our company policy is and has been for 38 years to call the homeowner when we are 30-40 minutes out. The only call we can set a specific time is 1st call in the morning. With the nature of our business it is impossible to give a window or set times. We are unable to even guessitmate the time of a calls. Some calls can take 1 hour some 3 hours or more, therefore it is not possible for us to know when we are going to be in the area and we route out technicians the most efficiently.
Also please note that we went to 505 Landing and handled the air flow issues on July 1, 2016.

04/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Longhorn installed a 16X25 combo return instead of the needed 16X20. Now we are growing brown mold around the vents because of improper air flow.
We initially contacted Longhorn about this issue. They blamed us for not changing filters frequently enough. Since their visit we have changed them every 6 months like clock work. The mold has gotten worse. After consulting a reputable heating/ac service company we have learned that the combo return plenum is the wrong size (too small) for the units longhorn installed when the house was built. Air does not flow properly and that provided the ideal circumstances for mold to form. It will cost us $1500 to have the problem corrected, plus we will have to pay to have the air ducts professionally cleaned. Longhorn should be held accountable for improperly installing this equipment and should fix it free of charge AND pay to have the ducts properly cleaned since it is their error that has lead to the mold growing.

Desired Settlement
I want Longhorn to come install a 20X25 combo return plenum to both air conditioning units free of charge. I also want them to pay the professional duct cleaning service provider of our choice to clean the mold from the air ducts.

Business Response
The systems at the above address were started up on 07/28/2008, we were called to the house on 6/25/2010 for "customer reports mold in the duct" We found mold inside the boot on the insulation. We recommended that the boot get changed out. Informed customer that Longhorn would supply the materials but they were responsible for Labor @ 75.00 hr, the job would have taken about 1.5 hrs. Office tried to schedule the job many times. By 8/5/2010 Customer never scheduled call so the office closed out the ticket. We were called and scheduled to return to the home on 10/12/2011. We Changed out the 10x8 boot and grille for the upstairs guest room. 2 other boots in living room were wrapped properly. Found both of the 16x25 filters very dirty. Longhorn charged the customer $0.00 for this. Longhorn recommends the homeowners change that filters every 3 months, they can possible get longer use out of them if they do not have animals or children in the home. The 16x25 filter bases/boxes are standard and have been installed in many houses without any issues. We can offer the customer 20x25 filter boxes and we will change them out for a nominal fee. But duct cleaning is up the the homeowner to have them periodically checked and cleaned if it is deemed necessary. The homeowner states that they feel like a 16x20 should have been installed, we feel the 16x25 box the is installed fits the best. Also Longhorn has not heard from the client since our visit in 2011.
Thank you,
Longhorn Heating and Air

Consumer Response
This complaint has not been resolved. I need to reopen the case!


Consumer Response
We have tried numerous times since filing the complaint to speak with the vendor to sort out this issue and we are left on hold for more than ten minutes at a time while being told "***" will help us. He NEVER comes to the phone. This company insists on blaming us as homeowners for a bad installation.


Consumer Response
Dear BBB,

We have been asking for Longhorn to resolve this issue for over 2 years. They have sent a technician to our house multiple times, and were either unwilling or unable to properly diagnose the problem. Instead they pointed fingers at us, the consumer, and claimed we were not properly cleaning our air filters. We had no choice but to find a 3rd party company to come in and diagnose the real problem. It took them less than 10 minutes to see that the problem was indeed air flow, but it was not caused by a dirty filter, it was caused by a faulty installation of the AC units. The units need to have air intake to properly function, and in our case these large units needed a lot of air. Longhorn for some reason shrunk the duct work going into the air intake, so that instead of getting the air it needed the system was being choked. I have pictures of the installation. It is easy to see that the installation is incorrect. There are 4 inches of air intake that were not being utilized because of the bad install. So Longhorn was correct that air flow caused the mold problem, but they caused the airflow problem, not us.

I would expect the BBB to actually hold companies accountable for their mistakes. We all make them. As a consumer I need a way to know if a company is credible or not. When we open an issue like this, and it is simply closed, I question the validity of the BBB.

The fact is Longhorn made a mistake. We reached out to them to fix the mistake multiple times. The last time I called them they left me on hold for 15 minutes before I finally hung up. Clearly this is not an issue they have any interest in resolving as a credible company. So, if the BBB is doing it's job consumers should know that Longhorn at least on one occasion has done poor work, they were unable or unwilling to resolve the issue, and their lack of response caused us the consumer to have to resolve the issue on our own, and it also caused us additional issues that we now have to deal with. In particular getting mold cleaned out of our air ducts, off our our ceilings, and out of the boots which since they have insulation on the inside means the boots will probably have to be replaced.

All of this because Longhorn did a bad installation of our AC units.

The only satisfactory way to resolve this issue is for Longhorn to own up to the mistake, and properly reimburse us for the cost of the repairs to the unit, as well as the cleanup of the issues it has caused.

If the claim by Longhorn is that their installation could not have caused the mold I have 2 questions for them.

1) Your technician claimed that airflow being restricted by a dirty filter caused the mold. Would't the fact that the intake was the wrong size have a pretty huge impact on the airflow, and wouldn't that restrict airflow more then a dirty filter? The other companies we have talked to lead me to believe it would.

2) If a company like Trane designs a unit with a certain opening size for the air intake, wouldn't it make sense that your installation would actually fit that size, instead of making the intake smaller? .

We have already noticed a significant difference in the amount of cool air that is being pumped into our house now that the units have the airflow they were designed to have. So it's no longer a question of did the installation restrict airflow, we know it did. So we know the installation was incorrect.

The only question now is does Longhorn stand behind their work, and fix their mistakes, or are they a company that customers should be warned about. Based on our experience they are a company that consumers should be warned about, and I was under the impression that was the purpose the of BBB. Which is why we opened the case to begin with.

This is not a closed issue as far as we are concerned. This company did wrong, and they either properly deal with it, or their BBB rating should be effected.

Regards,
**** *********

Home Owner
XXXXX ******* *****
Frisco, TX XXXXX
e-mail: **************@gmail.com
cell: XXX-XXX-XXXX

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.