BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 01/05/2006

Force Home Services

Phone: (940) 323-1051Fax: (940) 323-1053

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
09/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
No cleaning of outdoor AC units at tune up. Misleading coil leak detection leading into extra costs when calling home warranty to fix it.
Force Home Services performed a tune up on two residential AC units on 05/28/14. During the tune up they said they found a coil leak and it needed replacement. The tune up included the cleaning of the systems.

I called the home warranty company to fix the coil leak on 05/30/14 just days after Force Home Services did the tune up on both systems.

It turned out that 1) there was no leak 2) the outdoor units were not cleaned. These were noted in their report that I sent to Force Home Services.

I paid $75 service fee by calling the home warranty HVAC based on that report.

Then the motor in the 4ton outdoor unit broke. I called the home warranty company again and they told me that they would not be able to replace the motor unless someone first cleans the unit. This is documented in the second report dated 08/04/14 (sent to Force Home Services).

I had to pay them $50 (not covered by the home warranty) just to clean the unit that Force Home Service should have cleaned back in May.

The other 2ton unit is still dirty. The amount of dirt accumulated there is the same as was on the 4ton unit that is now cleaned (by the home warranty company). It looks to me at least the amount that units accumulate over years.

Force Home Services claimed that the outdoor units could have become dirty between May 28 and August 4 (within 2 months), but I have a report only days after they performed the cleaning that they were dirty on 05/30/14. I also know for a fact that their technician did not use water to clean any of those units.

Force Home Service did not come out to check the units, nor did they respond to my email after 08/07/14.

Based on the incorrect leak report I paid $75 to the home warranty company (in May).

Due to the units not cleaned I had to pay another $50 to the home warranty company to clean the 4ton unit (in August).

The 2ton unit is still not cleaned. It will cost me another $50 to get somebody out and clean it. It should have been part of the service Force Home Services performed on 05/28/14.

Desired Settlement
I would like to ask for reimbursing the amount I paid to the home warranty company ($75+$50) due to the incorrect information and bad service and also I would like to get the second 2ton unit cleaned ($50) or get reimbursed for that.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***@airforcem.com
We will honor the desired resolution proposed by the customer and refund them $175.00

08/22/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cancelled montly plan in June 2013. Billed on Credit Card for July.
Called in mid June to cancel monthly plan. Billed on credit card for July. Called July 2nd spoke to Terri who passed msg to an Randi never rec a call back. called again on July 10th and spoke to Terri again, still have not received a call back. They promise to get this cancelled and get me back my money but as of today July 15th they have not done anything.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking $16.95 back for July and cancell montly payment plan immediatly

Business' Initial Response
Mrs. ***** contacted us on June 24, 2013 at 9:55 am to cancel their club membership - in writing we let our customers know to give us at LEAST 3 weeks notice to cancel their memberships as it is on an automated debit program. I was unaware that Mr. ***** was looking for the return of their July dues until I received notice in the mail from the BBB. I have since gone in and credited that amount back to his account - his account was cancelled, but there was not enough time permitted to cancel the re-occurring payment given they did not phone in until the 24th of June. Regardless we have issued a credit to Mr. *****.

05/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Was overcharged for services that were done, paid in advance for work that was never completed, the work that was done was not done correctly.
Force Home Services came out to my house to seal air ducts in attic area & to also access other areas where there was air loss in order to reduce energy costs. I was told that after their work was done, the heating/cooling distribution in my house would be even & that the air quality in my home would be improved, my electric bills would be lower. I was told there were several ducts in the attic that needed to be mastic sealed, return air grill in hallway & bedroom needed to be mastic sealed from the inside, a hole in the attic that was for the old return air grill needed to be sealed, as well as 3 can lights that needed to be replaced. The first time they came out only half of this work was done & I was told that everything had been completed. I noticed there had been no change in my issues & called the company back. ****, the owner, came out & saw that not all leaks in aird ducts had been sealed. I also pointed out that 2 of the 3 can lights had not been done nor the return air grills. After 3 times of coming out to my house all but the 2 can lights had supposeably been repaired. I was told by **** that I would receive a refund of $105 for the unfinished can lights that were never completed & it is 3 months later & I still don't have the refund for that. I recently had Home Depot come out & look in my attic & tell me that the work that was done by Force Home Services was definitely not almost $1700 worth of work & that none of what they did has any effect on air quality and energy costs. I feel that Force Home Services took advantage of me & was not honest with the work that was done.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a settlement of $845 which is half the amount of $1690. I was overcharged, I had to call this company to come to my house multiple times to do work that I still don't even know was ever done completely. The promises made to me by the salesman, ******, were not upheld.

Business Response
The work was completed with the exception of the two can lights that were not installed on the original visit. We did in fact fail to refund the $105 for the two can lights.
The services performed were just a few recommendations from a home performance test (blower door negative pressure test and infrared scan) that revealed numerous air leaks in ductwork and between the attic and living space.The customer chose not to invest in all the recommendations and focus on those that would most affect air quality.We did not meet the customers expectations and we are willing to refund the requested $845.00

Consumer Response
Paid for services that were not done
Force Home Services came out to my house to seal air ducts in attic area and to also access other areas where there was air loss in order to reduce energy costs. Part of their assessment included sealing 3 can lights with air tight trim rings. The fee of $105 was included in the total cost that I paid them for all of the above services, which was $1745.00. One can light was replaced, however, it was not sealed with an air tight trim. The other 2 were not done because we were told they had to order the lights. This was in January 2013. I had to constantly call this company multiple times month after month to see if they would ever come back out & do the work that I had alredy paid them to do. This never happened and I was told over and over I would get a refund for the 3 can lights and it has been over 3 months and I still do not have a refund.
I want my refund of $105.


Business Response
I responded to the original complaint on 4/15/2014 and in my response I clearly stated I would be willing to meet the customers request of a refund for $845. On April 24th I received an email from BBB complaint resolution that the case had been closed due to no response from the Pools.
Now I receive an email from the BBB on 5/9/2014 that the customer is not accepting my response. I do not get it. Clearly I offered to meet their demand and now that is not good enough. I would like a call from the BBB to clarify what is going on. *** *******, XXX-XXX-XXXX

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Humidifying Apparatus, Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Mold & Mildew Inspection/Removal/Remediation, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Conditioning Repair, Energy Conservation Products & Services, Thermostats, Dehumidifying Equipment, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Commercial, Air Conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential, Plumbers, Heating Contractors, Heat Pumps, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.