BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

AC Wizard

Phone: (214) 342-2665Fax: (214) 347-4321

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
08/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company came to my house 7 times in three weeks, doing work to an AC unit that needed to be replaced. They stated that AHS home warranty will replace
They wrote a false report about my AC unit and stated it was painted and had hail damage but would not acknowledge in WRITING that unit needs to be replaced. They caused me to loose 7 days from work, had kids and elderly that had to be moved because of breathing problems. They would come and replace things that didn't need to be replaced and their report about hail damage and paint on unit are completely false. I have pictures to document along with another insurance companies report (Travelers Insurance) to verify this. Owner told me it was too bad and I need a new AC unit and I am just a little person - good luck he said. He then threatened to put pictures of another persons AC unit on the internet and say it was mine and I was out of luck. Owner also said he has a contract with AHS to keep them happy and if my claim was denied due to their report even though it was false - too bad.

Desired Settlement
Refund of at least $75.00 for fee. I lost several days work due to their incompetence leaving my family In an emergency situation.

Business Response
Ms.******* is is completely fabricating a story. I am the owner and I did talk to her to try to explain what her problem was. Her unit had been spray painted and we do have the pictures of the unit at her home because we are required to provide proof to her home warranty company. Furthermore, all of our company phone calls are recorded and every word that Ms. ******* alleged that I said is a complete lie. I will turn over a copy of the phone call at the BBC request and I will be forwarding a copy,of her knowingly false complaint, along with the phone call to my lawyer and will be looking at my options for suit against her for defamation. As the phone call recording will show, Ms. ******* is knowingly making false claims and I will not stand for it.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
A total lie by AHS. I also have in writing by that a replacement unit would be installed. I then called their subcontractor to let them know that if they were working to keep cost down for AHS why did they come to my home 7 times??? I called and finally after 3 weeks SPoke to Owner Jimmy at AC wizard who threatened to put up on his website and the Internet pictures of my ac unit that I supposedly painted. I informed him I have a new ac unit supplied by another company and he then stated GOOD LUCK with that.., Is this some kind of a threat ??? I will be happy to supply my inspectors report from Travelers insurance that AC wizards claim about spray paint is false but they refuse to acknowledge this... We can even go back to last year 2015 For repairs to said ac unit that doesn't state ANYTHING about spray paint. They need to check YELP and Facebook about fabricated claims from their subcontractors that their subs send false reports to have claims denied... I have so many questions and no answered by AHS with now answers and have CANCELLED service agreement and refuse to do business with dishonest businesses..

Final Business Response
We did what we could for this cuwstomer. We are obviously not in the business of saving your warranty company money, or you are right, we wouldn't have come out multiple times. So, that claim makes zero sense. As far as threatening to put pictures on my website, that is another lie, yet again. I would not use my website to discredit a lying customer. As far as your painted unit, here I have attached pics of the unit we looked at with the painted top which you can clearly see compared to the stock photo which shows the manufacturer's color of these units and you can clearly see the remaining unit at Ms. *******' home after she replaced the one we worked on. And just so there is no confusion as to whose unit it is, you can clearly see the brick pattern of both pictures is from Ms. ******* house. Your traveler's insurance is not an HVAC expert as I am and his opinion means nothing in this matter. If you think everyone is out to rip you off, you should start with him. What do you think, its in his best interest to pay for your new unit, or say, it's fine. Come on, honestly... The only dishonest person in this conversation is the homeowner. By the way, this "reputable" company you used to install your new outdoor unit, they did not pull a permit with the City of Plano which is illegal according to the State of Texas.
In closing, I have given what I feel is more than enough information regarding these claims. We have been in business for 15 years now and that doesn't happen by lying or cheating people. This will be my last response to this issue. Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This company hires unskilled and incompetent employees to perform work on their behalf. This results in unsatisfactory customer service and causing the homeowner unnecessary loss of revenue due to their incompetence.
They will be on notice from my ATTORNEY along with the media and need to stay away from my property as they are a liability. I am one very disappointed customer and will be happy to share my unfavorable opinion as there is no sense of CUSTOMER SERVICE from AC wizard. They are the worst ever!!!

08/02/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
AC Wizard was dispatched by AHS to fix my AC compressor 3 times. They have failed to fix properly .

As contractor for AHS , AC Wizard fixed compressor in August 2015 and charged cost of service call and Freon ($720) . In May 2016 compressor failed again. They blamed coil restriction. Charged to fix coil/compressor beyond AHS warranty ($1500). Told by technician I practically have a new unit should last years. Unit has failed again in July 2016 . AHS called AC Wizard under recall. AC wizard now has reported to AHS that there is not enough air flow. AHS refused to take care of under warranty.

AC wizard incorrectly blamed bad coil and did not mention air flow in previous visit. Either they did not diagnose problem or are making excuses.

Desired Settlement
Full Refund followed by no further contact

Business Response
Like always, the owner conveniently left out the fact that we inherited this problem from a prior company. His compressor was changed somewhere around 6/15 by another company. We did replace the compressor in August of 2015 through his warranty company and then again less than a year later the compressor had failed again. When we installed the new compressor and tried to charge it with refrigerant, we found the restricted evaporator coil and replaced it too. Yes, it is an additional charge for the evaporator coil because its a completely different piece of equipment. The compressor has since failed again which caused our technician to look deeper into this situation because it is indeed very odd for a compressor to fail so many times. He did note that the system is close to 50% percent short on return airflow and we stated that could be a contributing factor to these compressor failures and it would be pointless to install another compressor until this was addressed. His warranty company denied the compressor replacement until the return duct issue was resolved as far as I knew. And if they won't cover it, then I will be more than happy to warranty the compressor for the owner after the return air deficiency is rectified. We want the problem to be resolved once and for all as does the owner. I will not refund any money for work that we have already completed and it was indeed needed. I will however offer to credit $1615 that was spent on the last compressor and the evaporator coil toward the replacement of the matched system with the additional return. This will ensure that the system is completely matched and will have a 10 year parts warranty from the manufacturer. This will include the Lennox 5 ton condenser and furnace that the technician quoted plus the additional return air $6868 -$1615=$5253. Any questions, feel free to ask.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The contractor response is unacceptable

They were hired to fix an AC unit. Apparently they blindly replaced the compressor without regard to checking the system.

After the second failure , they claim to have thoroughly checked system , recommended repairs that were to correct problem and represented that I had a fully functional unit.

The unit failed shortly thereafter and now they claim its another issue. Which apparently they did not check in either prior visit.

Leaving aside that the AC unit worked almost 10 years without issues and there is no change to the ducting and air path , with filters changed regularly . The contractor appears to employ an incremental approach to fixing AC units which is very inconvenient and expensive for the customer.

There service and the proposed remedy is inadequate. It would be illogical not to seek repairs elsewhere after 2 failures and the above contractor response.





Final Business Response
I understand if the customer wants to use another contractor and that is by all means his right. The money he was charged was for work that was necessary and has already been completed therefore there is no money to be refunded. The compressor failed again and we offered to replace it which the customer does not want. So, there is nothing left for me to say on this matter. We have done everything we can to resolve this issue.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
They have made no new offer. They did not do an acceptable job and apparently don't stand by there work

The complaint stands

09/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged at original visit less that 30 days ago, stated that will not charge again, but charging a second time $200.00
This company is a contractor for American Home Shield. Came in to diagnose AC problems, filled refrigerant and changed #180.00 (Paid by Check); Tech stated will not have to pay again if they fix it. I called American Home Shield and got them to forward the work to this company, and now they want to charge another $200.00 for additional refrigerant. Contract states that they cannot charge a second time, especially when they are coming back to do the work that was incomplete.

Desired Settlement
They have to fix the problem and honor the money that was paid by check.

Business Response
This seems to be a case of a miscommunication between the customers home warranty company and our office. We do generally offer to add refrigerant to help get the customer through till we can get back with the equipment for the repair. If we do this then we usually will not charge again for the refrigerant as long as the repair is done with in a reasonable amount of time. In this case it seems that the delay in service was due to the warranty company. We will honor the original agreement and not charge the homeowner for the additional refrigerant.

09/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
failure to repair AC after numerous attempts
On Sunday, we called AHS to report a broken air conditioning unit. AHS assigned A/C Wizards ("AC"). AC came out Monday. The tech failed to diagnois the issue and blindly changed the fan. On Monday late/Tues early, the A/C broke again. AC came out again late Tues (after 8 PM). On Wed (today), we came home at 3:30 and the A/C was broken again. AC said they would try to send someone but did not give a time. So, AC has been here 3 times and failed to fix the A/C. They have one job - fix the A/C. We paid $500 via AMEX for freon and we have been forced to eat dinner out everynight due to the heat. I have a3 and 6 year old and a dog. Everyone is suffering due to the extreme negligence and incompetence of AC.

Desired Settlement
I want $1000, a new A/C unit and lifetime warranty.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@acwizard.com
This work order was sent to us via Mr. *********'s home warranty company, AHS. Our technician diagnosed a bad condenser fan motor. We ordered the part and returned the next day and installed it. Upon start up of the unit he found the compressor unable to start and that it would need to be replaced too. We informed AHS of the situation and had them expedite the compressor order through their supplier so we could return the following day to install it. Keep in mind that this process normally takes 2-4 business days. My office staff bent over backwards to help Mr. ********* even amid the barrage of insults. We returned on Wednesday and installed the compressor and as the ********* states, it cooled fine for a few hours and then stopped. We returned to find the fan motor running backwards and switched the reversible leads which temporarily worked but it turned out that the new motor that we installed had failed. We changed the motor a second time and checked the system again to find that the evaporator coil had a restriction in it. There is no way of knowing for sure what caused the restriction, but the condenser fan motor failed, which caused the compressor to fail, which can then deposit debris into the system and cause a restriction is a possible scenario and one that sometimes will take a day or two for the debris to make its way into the coil and cause a restriction. We have since changed the evaporator coil, AHS paid for $300 of his out of pocket cost which was $900, and we gave him a 25%($225) discount for his troubles. This is the extent to which I will give back to Mr. *********. I feel that we have done everything within reason to resolve the issues.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
As Mr. ******* states, the evaporater coil was in working order prior to ** *** starting the process. Somewhere along the way, *** did something to cause the restriction. The restriction was not present or diagnosed by the first tech nor by the installer (who came several times). In fact, on Saturday, the installer clearly told me that when he left prior to Friday, the coil did NOT have a restriction. Therefore, *** caused the restriction. This cost me $375 out of pocket, which I am requesting refunded. Furthermore, I find it ironic that Mr. ******* brought up a "barrage of insults". On Saturday, Mr. *******'s employee yelled at me over the phone when she did not agree with my analysis of the cost. She went so far as to tell me that *** will never do work for us again. While AHS had already put *** on our "do not use list", her behavior and unprofessional actions reflects what occurred over the entire week. With air here and there, we went Sun-Sat w/o AC in the home. Dallas is around XX-XXX degrees. I have 2 small children and a dog. We had to eat out every night. We slept at other places. We are the customers. We did not choose **** AHS appointed this company to us, and as much as I tried, AHS would not bring in a second company. Also, Mr. ******* failed to mention that the first tech (on Monday) failed to conduct any diagnosis whatsoever. Instead, my wife mentioned that it may be the fan motor. He went ahead and changed the fan motor, had to go to and from a store for screws he broke, and he started the flurry of errors. The other tech and installers that came after him had to fix what he started. The installer was very upfront with me, and clearly stated that mistakes were made prior to him and that there was no restriction. ***** actions caused the restriction. Instead of owning its mistake, it shifted the responsibility to AHS and me, the homeowner, charging me an extra $375 (on top of the $500 for fluids). I paid $875, out of pocket, for a nightmare week for my family. Yes, I have and will continue to provide consumer reviews on this company, as nobody should have to go through what we went through. I am requesting full compensation from **** We are not happy with their work, attitude (front office) and defense of its actions (despite their on the ground contractors saying just the opposite). In conclusion, I do not accept the response.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning, Air Purifying & Cleaning Systems & Equipment, Air Conditioning Equipment - Room Units, Heating Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems, Air Conditioning Supplies & Parts, Thermostats, Air Conditioning Repair, Heating Equipment & Systems Cleaning & Repair

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.