BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/13/2010

Hear-Better.com

Phone: (877) 572-9428Fax: (610) 869-7105

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues8
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints14

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (14)
02/12/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
REQUEST FOR RETURN OF PRODUCT FOR REFUND
I purchased the first hearing aids approx. 3 years ago for my husband. On 12/02/2015 I ordered another pair. On arrival we realized I had ordered the wrong ones. My husband tried these anyway but was totally unhappy with them. On 12/13/15 he gave up & I ordered the correct ones. I noted the return policy stated FULL REFUND of purchase price. I tried to log on to my account & for some reason my password is wrong so I sent e-mail, received auto-response that someone will follow up within 24 hrs. no one has responded. called them 2 times left message for Ty to return my call as he was unavailable. Phone number & e-mail address left. No response.
Before the 21 day time frame was up we moved from ********** TN to ********, NE. My e-mail on record is still the same, also a new e-mail address has been given to them.
I have referred many people to them because we were so pleased with the first pair, but that was before all of this difficulty with the refund guarantee. I have fulfilled my part but they have not made any attempt to fulfill their part.
My husband is on Social Security and I am presently unemployed and we cannot afford to just write off this amount of money, especially considering the correct ones cost almost $600.00.











Desired Settlement
Have the business contact me with a (required)RETURN MERCHANDISE AUTHORIZATION (RMA) number in order to return my merchandise in order to receive FULL REFUND of purchase price of $384.02

Business Response
A full refund was not issed becase you cut all 5 tips into pices removing the lead needed to remove the hearing aid from your ear.

Also shipping is not refundable.

Since you are such a good customer we will refund the $20 tip cost and your shipping.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I received the refund in a timely manner once I received the authorization to return items. I appreciate the company fulfilling my request. I intend to continue using them in the future.

09/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I placed an order for a hearing aid with this company,and they canceled it
finish the sale

Desired Settlement
I want the hearing aid they were going to sell me.They took my order and canceled it the next day stating that I had purchased one before and returned it.I have never bought from this company before.

Business Response
We canceled Mr. ****'s order because he had all ready purchased the same hearing aid from us and returned it for a full refund. When he originally returned it he claimed it did not help him and he was going to purchase implants.

Because returns a very costly, our policy is that we will not resell a customer the same hearing aid they all ready returned because it did not help them.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
After realizing That 3 years ago I returned one.It was for my lf ear which is implanted now,this was for my right.I purchased this same hearing aid from another retailer.This is right to run his business his way.

08/19/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
False advertising was told 100% refund if at all unsatified w/i 20 days. tryed numerous times to get a return authoraztion was told on multiple times
I bought a hearing aid with the guarantee i was able to return however obtain a return authorization ty was never available until the window of 20 days was up!! False advertising and scamming a 87year senior. Ty was so rude he hung up o me as I tryed to explain i had tryed for 20 days to reach him he accused me of giving him the wrong telephone number and was yelling at me through the phone very unprofessional I just want my $ refunded as promised. ******* ****** XXXXXXXXXX thanks you

Desired Settlement
287.78 $

Business Response
Customer wanted to return a hearing aid after 120 days. We agreed to accept the return for a refund due to special circumstances as long a customer returns the hearing aid in as received condition with all accessories, packaging, and manual.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

07/10/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
05/02/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered a pair of hearing aids for my mother 3-28-15. She had a medical issue and could not use them. I tried by calling twice to get a return authorization number in May 2015. Got the run around. The dr. was to call me back both times, 1st time within the hr. second time by the end of day never heard back from co. then out of the blue I got an email with return authorization number on 6-1-2015. I didn't see it until 6-10-2015. So I packed them up and sent back around 6-12-2015. They received them on 6-18-2015. They are telling me that they were returned beyond the 60 day return policy. So for $10 shipping I could get them back or I could use the money as credit toward something else.
Product_Or_Service: hearing aids
Order_Number: XXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I feel that I in good faith tried to return within the 60 days but the co. would not respond to my request for the return authorization number. I feel that they purposely held me off until the 60 days. Bad business on their part and I would like a full refund of $297.96. They have the hearing aids and my money and I wouldn,t purchase another product from their company.

Business Response
We offer the longest return period in the industry of 60 days. Customer purchased aids over a year ago and returned them significantly beyond the 60 days. Customer was notified that we would be happy to return the hearing aids to her if she paid the return shipping. Customer had 60 days to send the $10 because after 60 days we donate the hearing aids. If customer sends us the $10 shipping we would be happy to send her two identical hearing aids.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I tried in May to get the return authorization number but they would not return my calls as promised. I don't trust the company and I don't want any of their products. I just want my money back. They got the hearing aids back in mint condition. They caused the problem by not calling me back with a return authorization number!

Final Business Response

You purchased your hearing aids over a yer ago.
You returned the hearing aids almost a year ago. Significantly beyond 60 days and you did not request a return until the 60 day mark. We will not issue a refund at this point. The best we can do is send you back your hearing aids.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I tried to get the return number but the co. would not respond nor did they return my calls as promised. In their emails to me they got the hearing aids, accepted them and promised me a refund within 10 business days. I waited patiently to see the refund on my credit card but never happened. After 2 months of waiting now they said it was past the 60 days. Why did they promise me a refund at that X-XX-XX email? I don't want anything to do with this co., I don't trust them.

06/12/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Advertising on the website stated a sales price which the company acknowledged was an error but would not honor the price.
I was going to order some Siemens Digital Hearing Aids for my mother. The website stated " Great Hearing Aids, Quality Digital hearing Aids, Low prices, New Siemens $148 Digital Hearing Aids $69.
So when reading this it appears that they are being offered at a sales price. When I called the sales person on Sunday he agreed with me and assured me that he would have someone call me back first thing on Monday morning.
Monday morning I received an e-mail as opposed to a call stating that it was a typo and they would correct it. However, there was no return e-mail, name or contact number.
I called the company back and spoke to I believe a man named Ty. He said they would not honor the price and was somewhat rude.

Desired Settlement
For the company to honor the price that was indicated on the website even though it was an error.

Business Response
The web page stated "Great Hearing Aids, Quality Digital Hearing Aids, Low Prices, New Siemens $148 Digital Hearing Aids $69". It clearly says that Siemens hearing aids are $148 and digital hearing aids are $69. Since this is so clear, we will not sell our Siemens hearing aid for $69! We would be happy to sell our digital hearing aid for $50.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The advertisement DID NOT READ as you stated. Even your own sales representative commented that it was misleading. I made a copy of it and will gladly provide it to both the company and BBB.

Final Consumer Response
The email I copied and pasted, in the last correspondence was from a customer service representative from the company.

Final Business Response
We are honoring the price at $69 per your original request "For the company to honor the price that was indicated on the website even though it was an error. ". Please send a money order for $69 plus $6.10 and we will send you a Siemens Touching.

Hear-Better.Com
321 Church ST
Avondale, PA 19311

05/13/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hear-Better says they mail a hearing aid to me.
1) I never got it 2) I would NOT buy a hearing aid by mail. 3) I go to local M.D.* & audiologists

I have phoned Hear-Better and have a terrible time just understanding what "she" says. (I am deaf.) Hear-Better says they mailed ONE(1) hearing aid to me. 1) Hearing aids need to be adjusted to the patient, thus you need to physically go there, 2) I need TWO(2) hearing aids. 3) NO hearing aid arrived by mail.
On 2/25/15 I bought Two(2) hearing aids locally. The first Hear-Better charge is 2/8/15
then deducted (on 2/8/15; and deducted (again) on 3/18/15 and then on 4/16/15 "posted" as 2/8/15 charge.. YES, it is a difficult "trail" to follow.
In a "nut shell", 1) I would NOT buy a "mail order" hearing aid 2) NO hearing aid has arrived by mail.

Desired Settlement
I want Hear-Better to deduct the charge of $249.98 from my Visa Credit card.

Business Response
Mr. ****** purchased a Phonak SP hearing aid on 2/8/15. Our credit card processor verified the transaction on Zip Code.

The Phonak hearing aids are unique as we cannot ship the hearing aid without them being programmed. We contacted Mr. ****** on 2/9/15 requesting his audiogram or programming information. Mr. ****** responded with the following: "1) The left ear - that aid is now 8 yrs. old so there should be some improvement in the technology. 2) Yes - in both ears. The left ear has a "mold" The right ear has the flexible tube with a flexible "ear piece" which does NOT "plug up" the ear channel. I want a flexible "ear piece" for my left ear. Send me a "picture" of such an ear piece that you use. 3) I'll FAX a chart from a 7/19/13 "test". Both ears are in the Severe range."

We received Mr. ******'* audiogram from Southwestern Medical Center (see attached documents) on 2/11/15. We programmed his hearing aid and shipped it on 2/12/15 USPS Priority Mail Tacking: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX.

Upon delivery, Mr. ****** did not properly try the hearing aid and immediately requested a return authorization on 2/18/15 which we sent him on 2/18/15.

We received his return on 3/2/15 and we issue his refund on 3/17/15.

Mr. ****** filed a charge back with his credit card company on 3/23 stating "Buyer claims that the received merchandise is unsatisfactory, defective, or damaged"

It is imposable that all the above happened without Mr. ****** knowledge.

Mr. ****** currently owes us significant bank chargers for his unfounded chargebacks.

02/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Purchased device on 11/29/14 received device on Dec 1, 2014. Called on 1/23/2015 to obtain RMA. Called agin on 1/26/15 to speak with rnt dept.
On nov 19, 2014, I purchased a hearing aid phonak quest 5sp two channel digital PHO5SP , order number XXXXXXXXX. Purchased with Amex card ending in 2003. I received the device on December 1, 2014.

I purchased it for my mother who is 91 years old and has profound hearing loss. We sent in her audio gram and the company programmed the hearing aid. Unfortunately the hearing aid did not work after several weeks of trying to adjust to the device.

I called on jan 23 to obtain a RMA to return the device, which was in the 60 day return window . I called again on Jan 26 still within the 60day return policy and I received an email stating that the time has elapsed. As of jan 26 the total amount of time calculated from time of delivery is 57 days.

The company will not allow me to speak with management nor will they provide a telephone number.

I want a refund since it is still within the 60 day return policy.

Desired Settlement
I want my refund of $262.06

Business Response
Hear-Better.Com offers one of the longest return periods in the industry. We have to cut returns off at some point and we chose 60 days from the date of purchase for the following reasons. After 60 days Hear-Better.Com is permanently obligated to pay its advertiser and credit card processor up to 20% of the purchase price.

Mrs. ********* purchased a hearing aid and batteries on 11/28. We programmed it and shipped it within one business day as promised. Mrs. ********* requested to return the hearing aid on 1/26 on day 60. We did not issue a RMA because our return policy in our terms and conditions (in paperwork sent to customer and online), agreed to by the customer, states returns must be in our possession within 60 days of the date of purchase.

Mrs. ********* had no intention of resolving this issue via the BBB. Before filling this BBB complaint she had already filed a charge back through her credit card issuer.

We are willing to resolve this issue by refunding Mrs. ********* 75% of the purchase price of the hearing aid because of the Advertising, Credit Card Processing fees, and the processing fees we must incur because of her tardiness. Minus a $20 fee that PayPal charges us on charge backs. Mrs. ********* must: 1. Return the hearing aid in as received condition with all accessories, manuals and packaging, 2. withdraw the charge back.

Once this is done we will refund 75% - $20 of the price of the hearing aid and we will not send her account to collections per our terms and conditions.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept their response because of the following reasons:

There were several attempts to contact the dept that handles the returns. I called on Thursday 1/22 (day 54 from date of delivery) spoke with Kelly, informed her that I needed to send back the hearing aid because it was not working. She stated that she will have to send a message to the dept that handles the return. Called on Friday Jan 23 (day 55 from date of delivery) spoke with Ashley, was told the same thing, she also stated that it takes 1 business day for them to respond. Called again on Monday 1/26 (day 57 from the date of delivery) spoke with Ashely again. And she told me again that she will send a message to the department that handles the return. I finally received an email stating that they will not send a RMA because the "return window expired 2 days ago". Every attempt was made to obtain the RMA and your department never responded until Monday Jan 26, the day of said expiration date.

You can not speak to what my intentions were. Your response stated that I contacted the BBB after I received the charge back. In fact I filed my compliant on Jan 26, 2015 before I was issued a charge back from American Express. I called American Express on Jan 28, 2015. All of my actions with several attempts of calling to receive the RMA, indicates that I, in good faith tried to return the product within the 60 day return period. I would not go through great lengths, in filing a complaint, If I had no intentions of resolving the issue. Had I received the RMA when I initially called on Jan 22, 2015, this will all be an issue.

I called on Jan 28 to better hearing and spoke with Kia to inform the company that I want to return the hearing aid and didn't understand why I was being charged $1310 for a device that cost $262. She informed me that she understands and that she will try to help me and she would refer me to the returns department. I was placed on hold and she came back on the line and told me that the person that could help me was not available and his name was Ty, and that he would call me ASAP and I never heard back from Ty.


I called American express when I received an email from you (hear-better) stating that I will be charged $1310 on Jan 28, 2015. Because the company representative was ineffective/non-responsiveness to my concern, I called American Express and they issued me a charge back of $262.00 on Jan 28, 2015

This is elder abuse and will be reported to my congress person and the dept of justice. If this was stated when the purchase was made, then this could have been avoided. And there was no terms and agreement sent with order. How can you start the 60 days from time of order? Let's say the item was not delivered until 2 weeks later, is it ethical for you to charge the time from time of order? I think not. None of these details were discussed at time of order.

American Express will be sending me a return label at my expense; you will receive your product soon. I will also forward a copy of all messages to my attorney and the Justice Department to formally file a complaint.

11/13/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hearing Aids & Assistive Devices

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.