BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/08/2010

Forest Park Medical Center

Phone: (972) 234-1900Fax: (469) 624-5510View Additional Phone Numbers11990 N Central Expy, DallasTX 75243-3714 Send email to Forest Park Medical Center

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/08/2010

BBB has determined that Forest Park Medical Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Forest Park Medical Center's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Forest Park Medical Center

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
07/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My spirit was upset I'm a respectful person but demand to be treated the same not seeking for me but apologize would be nice for her behavior.

My appointment was schedule at June 18, 2013 at 10:00 am I arrived 19 minute later INSIDE THE BUILDING after parking the car and enter into the building they took my payment and asked me to have a seat. Then walked me into another waiting area where patients where and The nurse or PRACTITIONER came out and SHE HAS THAT RIGHT TO REFUSE ME SERVICE BECAUSE I WAS LATE SHE WAS RUDE AND VERY UNPROFESSIONAL IN THE WAY SHE WAS SPOKE TO ME saying I was late and she don't have to give me a fill because is in charged of that on this day she was so rude and angry and UNPROFESSIONAL the other people began to looked. She began to say that I needed to be there 15 minutes before I tried to explain WHAT HAD HAPPEN SHE DID NOT CARE I HAD TO DRIVE IN FROM HOUSTON TEXAS THAT MORNING AND THE TRAFFIC WAS BAD that its my second times nobody explain the rules she just went on and on. So she finally asked me to come go with her I thought things were going to be okay but when we made it to the fill areas SHE said once again complaining about me being late after she keep going to told her SHE COULD NEVER GIVE ME FILL WITH ATTITUDE THAT SHE DISPLAYED AND
SHE THEN ASKED THE BLACK MAN TO TAKE ME BACK UP FRONT. I EXPLAIN TO THEM WHAT HAD HAPPEN AND ASKED FOR HER MANAGER NUMBER AND INFORM THEN THAT PERSON SMEURF KASKI MY NURSE WAS VERY VERY AND UNPROFESSIONAL TO ME AND TO NOTE MY FILE SHE WOULD NEVER BE ABLE TO WORK ON ME.
WE I CONTACTED HER MANAGER SHARON HILGARTNER SHE WAS NOT APOLOGIZE AT ALL AFTER SPEAKING WITH HER SHE MADE BE FEEL LIKE MY OPINION DID NOT MATTER NEVER SAID I WILL SPEAK TO HER ABOUT THIS MATTER AND THAT NOT HOW WE TREAT OUR CUSTOMER HER I RECEIVED NON OF THAT FROM HER. AT THAT MOMENT I LOST ALL RESPECT FOR THAT INDIVIDUAL AND THE HOSPITAL DR. JAYSELEEN HAS BEEN MY DOCTOR FOR YEARS AND I HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCES THIS BEHAVIOR NEVER NEVER... I WAS SO OUT DONE I TOLD MY CHURCH ABOUT WHAT I HAD WENT THROUGH ON THAT DAY AND I SUGGESTED TO THEM TO GO BACK TO THERE FORMER DOCTOR. WHEN WE PAY FOR A SERVICE WE EXCEPT TO BE TREATED WITH RESPECT AND NOT TO FLOOR SHOWN OR GET ON A POWER TRIP. NOT WHO ALLOWED HER TO SPEAK TO CUSTOMER IN THIS MANNER BUT SHE WILL NEVER HELP ME AND I WILL TELL EVERY FRIEND THAT I KNOW ABOUT THE TREATMENT I RECEIVED AT YOU ALL LOCATIONS. EVERY WHERE I GO I WILL MENTION IT AND THE WORD WILL GET OUT I PROMISE THAT. WHEN MENTION THIS TO SHARON SHE GOT SMART AND SAID DO THAT SO I DECIDE TO WRITE A FORMAL COMPLAINT TO THE BOARD. WHATEVER HAPPEN TO CUSTOMER SERVICES AND TREAT THEM LIKE YOU WANT TO BE TREATED. THEY PERSONS SMEAURF KASK KAMI NEEDS TO WRITTEN UP AND MAYBE A FEW DAYS OFF HER BEHAVIOR WAS UNEXCUSEABLE.

Desired Settlement
I NEED A LETTER OF APOLOGIZE FROM THE HOSPITAL FROM THERE STAFF. ON HOW THEY TREATED ME THAT DAY ON JUNE 18, 2013.

Business' Initial Response
Following an internal investigation of the complaint received, Forest Park Medical Center ("FPMC") would like to offer our position of the circumstances and incidents surrounding the Complainant's ("Customer") visit to FPMC on June 18, 2013. Customer was scheduled for a Lap Band Adjustment at FPMC at 11:00am on June 18. FPMC's Scheduling Department advises all patients at the time of scheduling to arrive 15-20 minutes prior to their scheduled appointment times to prevent rescheduling. Lap Band Adjustments are done very quickly, and are scheduled every 10 minutes; therefore, it is imperative for patients to arrive on time to ensure the clinic's schedule remains on track for the remainder of the day, and other patients scheduled later in the day are not subjected to unreasonable delays.

Customer completed registration at 11:23am, 23 minutes past her scheduled appointment time. By the time she completed registration, the two patients scheduled after Customer had already been seen and had their bands adjusted. Though it is FPMC's policy, like most other medical clinics, that appointments are rescheduled when patients arrive more than 15 minutes past their scheduled times, our Nurse Practitioner ("Employee"), offered to fit Customer in, but advised Customer of FPMC's policy to reschedule when patients are more than 15 minutes late. Both Employee and all of the radiology staff present attest that no other patients were present in the waiting room when this conversation occurred.

Following this conversation, Customer refused to allow Employee to service her visit, and demanded a refund. To no avail, Employee attempted to explain that she was not trying to give Customer a hard time, but merely attempting to warn her that her appointment may be rescheduled in the future if she arrives more than 15 minutes late again. Customer's refund was issued and after she left, FPMC's Bariatric Coordinator ("Supervisor"), spoke with Customer on the phone regarding the incident, and repeatedly apologized for the patient's experience and offered to have another staff member or provider see Customer on a following visit.

Customer then returned to FPMC a week later on June 25, 2013 for her Lap Band Adjustment, arriving on time, and the appointment proceeded without incident.

Desired Resolution

FPMC maintains several company policies and cultivates a culture focused on customer service and respect. It is never FPMC's intention to make patients feel unwelcome or disrespected, and FPMC is very sorry that Customer did not have a good experience with our clinic; however, we were delighted to see that Customer decided to return for a follow-up visit, and hope that her most recent visit was a better experience. FPMC asks that Customer accept our sincere apology for her poor experience with FPMC.

04/08/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sent here by my doc for blood tests, but Forest park doesn't accept Cigna. They quoted me a self-pay price, which I paid. Now they are billing more.
To whom it may concern at Forest Park Medical Center,

I was surprised and disappointed to see your bill, along with another bill for Pathologist Bio-med arrive in my mailbox the other day.

When I was in your facilities for blood work in December I waited to be called into your offices for about 45 minutes, only to be told that you no longer accepted my insurance (Cigna). Obviously my doctor wasn't aware of this or she wouldn't have sent me to see you. Anyway, this was an urgent case and I needed the blood work ASAP, so I asked how much it would cost if I self paid? After being sent back to the waiting area for another half hour I was eventually called back and quoted the price, which you can see I paid on the enclosed invoice of $159.38.

While this was more than I wanted to pay, as I said it was urgent, and I also needed to get to work, having already spent an hour at my doctor's office and then over an hour just trying to get a price quote from your office, and then whatever time I'd have to wait getting the actual blood test done.

But, as it turns out, you weren't being honest with me. You and Pathologist Bio med are trying to collect another $482.12 +$123.00 = $605.12. This is unacceptable. The person I dealt with in your office never mentioned these additional amounts would be due, nor did she even mention there would be ANY additional amounts due. I was led to believe $159.38 was all I would be paying, and that seemed like a reasonable amount. Now you're trying to tell me the total amount is actually $764.50? That's nearly five times the amount you quoted me.

Had you quoted me the TRUE cost of this procedure I would have known to walk out of there, and gone back to my doctor to arrange bloodwork elsewhere. But you quoted me a price and I paid it. It is unethical that you didn't quote me the full price while I was there, and now come back 2 months later to try and collect nearly $500 more.

And I do not want to discuss a payment plan. $500 is $500 whether I paid today or stretched it out over the next year with interest. The point here is that I paid what you told me it would cost, and you cannot come back now to ask for more. Giving you the benfit of the doubt, I would say this was an oversight on the part of your staff. At the worst, it would appear to be unethical business practice.

Either way, I am not liable for the additional $482.12 you're billing me after the fact, and I believe it should be written off. I am contacting you through the BBB website so they will also have a record of my letter to you.

I will contact Pathologist Bio-med to discuss their subsequent billing separately.

Thanks for your promt attention to this matter,
Mike ******

Desired Settlement
Write off the "balance due" of $482.12. They told me nothing about any additional amounts they would be billing, after I paid them the price I was quoted on 12/17/12 of $159.38.

Business' Initial Response
After to speaking to our CFO, Jade Andrews and the Director of Business Services, Terry Lopez, it was noted that the patient called on 3/4/13 regarding the balance on his bill and what he was initially quoted regarding the lab work. The person receiving the complaint spoke to Terry Lopez who told the employee to adjust the balance due to this being a self-pay account. The account was adjusted to zero on 3/8/13.

According to Terry Lopez, the patient was notified that his balance was zero and this was reaffirmed with the patient today by Terry Lopez.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Health & Medical - General, Hospitals, Surgical Centers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/09/2009Business started: 01/01/2009Business started locally: 03/16/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of State Health Services
1100 W 49th St
Austin, TX78756-3101
(512) 834-6600
http://www.dshs.state.tx.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Ashley Philip (Director of Quality Manag) Archie Drake (COO)
Business Category

Health & Medical - General, Hospitals, Surgical Centers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Forest Park Medical Center

11990 N Central Expy

Dallas, TX 75243-3714

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 11990 N Central Expy 

    Dallas, TX 75243-3714(469) 624-5746

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Forest Park Medical Center is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (469) 624-5746
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Health & Medical - General

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.