BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/05/2007

Mr. Handyman of Dallas, Plano and Rockwall

Phone: (972) 866-7777Fax: (972) 767-0958View Additional Phone Numbers5930 Lbj Fwy STE 250, DallasTX 75240-6375 Send email to Mr. Handyman of Dallas, Plano and Rockwall

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Mr. Handyman is a professional handyman service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/05/2007

BBB has determined that Mr. Handyman of Dallas, Plano and Rockwall meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Mr. Handyman of Dallas, Plano and Rockwall's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Mr. Handyman of Dallas, Plano and Rockwall

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I would like reimbursement for poor work and damages caused while working in my property.
In April I hired Mr. Handyman for some home repairs (About 3 days worth of work). Staining a cabinet and a vanity were on my repair list. We purchased 2 different colors because I wanted to "sample" each color on MY pieces (I've heard that different types of wood stain differently). The cabinet ended up the color I chose but the vanity ended up the color I rejected.
The handyman left a note telling me the paint bubbled up when he pulled off some tape he placed on the bathroom wall. His note also stated he would fix it later. When I looked at the bathroom wall I saw the blue tape (taped on the wall) with writing on it "This is from pulling tape off Will fix next time". He wrote on there so hard that I can still see the writing on the wall after removing the tape.
I contacted the company to complain about the cabinets being different colors. I expressed I wasn't happy about having to pay $95 an hour to restain a vanity they stained the wrong color. Another coat of stain was not going to change the color. After several conversations I was told to find another contractor. I paid $682.94 for services provided on 4/9/15 and I ended up having to do repairs as a result of this.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a $300 refund to cover the cost to fix the damages and unsatisfactory services.

Business Response
Company Overview

My name is ***** ***** and I am the Owner and General Manager of the Mr. Handyman office in Dallas, Texas. In October 2014, we celebrated two critical milestones in our business. First, we celebrated our 8-year anniversary as a small business. Second, we passed ****** "lifetime" customers, most of which use our business multiple times each year and regularly refer friends and family because of the extraordinary service they receive from the team at Mr. Handyman.

In February 2007, we were accredited by the Dallas BBB and we received our A+ rating from the Dallas BBB over 3 years ago. In the 8+ years we have been operating in the DFW Metroplex, we have received a total of 3 complaints via the Dallas BBB. The last complaint was filed and resolved in September 2009; nearly 6 years ago!

With that in mind, I would like to address the complaint filed by Ms. ******* ******* on *** 6, 2015.

Case Description

Our initial contact with Ms. ******* occurred on March 4, 2015. Ms. ******* had been displaced from her residence as a result of a fire and the subsequent water damage from putting out the fire and needed a maintenance/repair company to complete several projects to allow her to move back into her residence as soon as possible.

At that time, we confirmed the initial appointment which was scheduled for April 3, 2015. Because of the complexity and variety of the repairs that were needed, per Ms. *******'s comments in the initial phone call, we assigned one of our Senior Technicians, ******* Waggoner, to handle Ms. *******'s job. ******* has 15+ years of hands-on construction, maintenance and handyman experience and has been an employee of Mr. Handyman since *** 2011; 4+ years. He has hundreds of satisfied customers and frequently receives positive customer satisfaction reviews which is why we selected him for Ms. *******'s job. ******* was the perfect Technician to get this job completed quickly and professionally.

The estimate ******* created during the initial appointment encompassed ******* projects including installing cabinets in the kitchen and bathroom, painting baseboards and doors, among other things. Ms. ******* approved the hand-written estimate while the Technician was in her home and requested that we begin work immediately. Unfortunately, we could not reserve four consecutive days on *******'s schedule until April 9th and the project was scheduled to be completed on April 14th, excluding Saturday, April 11th and Sunday, April 12th.

On April 9th, the first day of the job, Ms. ******* met ******* at Home Depot at 9:30 to select the stain needed for the project. While at Home Depot, Ms. ******* selected two different stains and agreed to test each stain in a hidden area of the cabinet(s) to see which one she liked best. After completing the "test" stain, Ms. ******* chose the stain that she liked best and instructed ******* to proceed with the project. (Note: stain and paint selection is quite often "personal" for customers and we encourage each customer to select the color and finish to ensure that they are completely satisfied with the product.)

Mr. Handyman Technicians are required to obtain payment from residential customers every day and as a result Ms. ******* provided us with her credit card to allow us to charge for *******'s work at the end of the day. Soon thereafter, Ms. ******* departed for work and left ******* at her home all day to continue with the work. Later that same day, Ms. ******* arrived back at her home and immediately became enraged and hysterical about the work that ******* had completed that day. She called the office and spoke to Sheri ******, Director of Operations and *******'s Manager, and exclaimed that the cabinet work was terrible and the stain color was all wrong, even though she had selected the stain color after seeing the "test" stain in a hidden spot on the cabinet. In addition, she was very upset that ******* had included his time (30 minutes) at Home Depot on the work order before he started working at her home. (Note: it is standard practice for our Technicians to charge for their time when shopping with customers at hardware stores because they are providing professional advice via their knowledge and experience.)

After ******* completed his work the first day, Ms. ******* called the office 5 additional times to "vent" about her dissatisfaction with *******'s work. In each of the 5 subsequent phone calls, Ms. ******* was hysterical even though ***** attempted to explain that the process of staining woodwork and cabinetry was a multi-day process, not something that would necessarily be completed on the first day. Ms. ******* instructed ***** not to send ******* back on April 10th. As a result, Sheri cancelled the project scheduled for the next day.

Prior to departing from Ms. *******'s home, ******* called the office to obtain instruction(s) from ***** about the next phase of the project. At that time, Sheri informed ******* that the remaining three days of the project had been cancelled at Ms. *******'s request. ******* replied that ... "Ms. ******* told me that she has been out of her home for 6+ months because the contractors she has selected will not show up to work on the project(s) and that she admitted that she is quite 'picky' about the work that needs to be completed."

The final call from Ms. ******* occurred on April 11th and Sheri handled the conversation. Ms. ******* called the office and was again enraged and hysterical. ***** attempted to explain to Ms. ******* that the job wasn't complete and was instructed to "shut-up". Sheri also offered to have *******, another Senior Technician and/or herself come back to her house to inspect the work and each time Ms. ******* rejected her suggestions.

Sheri then told Ms. ******* that we needed to part ways and she agreed. Ms. ******* called the office again that same day and spoke to ***** regarding the key that ******* had for her home. Ms. ******* wanted to come to the office to pickup the key and ***** agreed. Ms. ******* arrived at our office at 8 AM on April 13th and picked up the key. Sheri thanked her for her time and wished her good luck on the project.

Desired Resolution

Ms. ******* is requesting a $300 refund to cover the cost to fix the damages and unsatisfactory services.

Company Decision

As outlined in the paragraphs above, Ms. ******* was fully involved with the planning and execution of this project with our Technician and was emphatic that it needed to be completed as quickly as possible because she had been displaced from her home for 6+ months. Also, while at Home Depot with our Technician, Ms. ******* selected the stain that was to be used on both the cabinet and vanity, but did not like the color after it was applied by the Technician (per her instructions).

Had Ms. ******* not selected the stain while at Home Depot with our Technician, I would have arrived at a different decision in this matter. Also, had Ms. ******* given anyone at our Company, including *******, another Senior Technician and/or our ***** Operations Manager who is responsible for quality control and customer satisfaction, the opportunity to inspect *******'s work, I would have arrived at a different decision.

Unfortunately, Ms. *******, who openly admitted that she was "picky" and that "many other contractors would not or could not satisfy her requirements for this project", was unwilling and/or unable to work with our team members to create a plan to inspect and rectify the issues she identified on day #1. Therefore, after a thorough review of the situation with this customer, her willingness to pay our fees to have the work completed as quickly as possible, and her selection of the stain used on the cabinet and vanity, it is my decision to reject her request for a $300 refund.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am not satisfied with the response. I did not request a 100% refund. I requested a $300 refund specifically for work done wrong and damages.

The vanity was stained a different color. My guess is he accidentally used the color I rejected to stain the vanity because the cabinet mounted on the wall was the exact color I wanted and the vanity was a different color. The cabinets were custom made for me using the same wood type. I am attaching multiple files.

1. A note the handyman left stating that some paint came off when he pulled the blue tape from the wall (I did NOT have tape on the wall - he placed the tape there not sure why) and a receipt showing the stain I chose and purchased.
2. A picture of the blue tape mentioned on the note with writing on it.
3. A picture of the Vanity door (not the color I chose)
4. Picture of the Stains clearly showing there were 2 colors in the property and both cans opened.
5. Picture of the cabinet mounted on the wall (color I liked).
6. A side Picture of the cabinet mounted on the wall with a measuring tape to show the thin layer of material at the back of the cabinet. This is important because that is what the handyman nailed to the wall.
7. Side picture of cabinet mounted on the wall with a piece of cardboard next to it.
8&9. Inside of the cabinet (left and right sides) to show how the cabinet was nailed to the wall. Again, this shows the cabinet was not secure. According to another company, this was dangerous and could have falled on the toilet or on the person using the toilet.
10. Picture of writing on sheetrock - this is not with ink - if you zoom in you can see the writing is 'carved' into the sheetrock.

Mr Handyman's response implies that I chose a color and then was not satisfied. That is NOT the case. Also, I was upset about Mr Handyman billing me for 1/2 hour (from 9:30 to 10:00am) because I requested that the Technician meet me at 10am at Home Depot on Forest and Hwy 75 to pick up a toilet I needed that did not fit in my car. I refused to pay for him showing up 1/2 an hour early and I think it was removed from the final charge so I did not include that in my original complaint.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Handyman Services, Windows - Repairing, Lighting Fixtures - Repair & Maintenance, Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Fence Staining, Cabinets, Woodworking, Bathtubs & Sinks - Repair & Refinish, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Painting - Faux Finishing, Home Improvements, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Drywall Contractors, Contractors - General

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 01/30/2007Business started: 09/29/2006
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Scott (Owner & General Manager)Customer Contact: Mr. Sheri Tisdel (Director)Ms. Jeanie Morgan (Manager)Mr. Josh Peeples (Manager)Mr. Ryan Stephens (Manager)
Business Category

Handyman Services, Windows - Repairing, Lighting Fixtures - Repair & Maintenance, Tile - Non-Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Fence Staining, Cabinets, Woodworking, Bathtubs & Sinks - Repair & Refinish, Windows - Installation & Service, Siding Contractors, Painting - Faux Finishing, Home Improvements, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Drywall Contractors, Contractors - General

Products & Services

Mr. Handyman provides residential and commercial property maintenance and repair services across the DFW Metroplex.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 05:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

100% customer satisfaction guarantee and will redo a project - at no charge to the customer - if they are not completely satisfied.

Service Area

Greater Dallas and Plano.

Alternate Business Names
Dallas Home Improvement Services, LLC

Photos & Videos


Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

8 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Mr. Handyman of Dallas, Plano and Rockwall

5930 Lbj Fwy STE 250

Dallas, TX 75240-6375

To | From


1 Locations

  • 5930 Lbj Fwy STE 250 

    Dallas, TX 75240-6375(972) 866-7777
    (972) 866-7787
    (972) 866-7797
    (972) 866-7780
    (972) 771-8000
    Fax: (972) 767-0958
    Fax: (972) 767-0958
    Fax: (972) 767-0958
    Fax: (972) 767-0958
    Fax: (972) 767-0958

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Mr. Handyman of Dallas, Plano and Rockwall is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (972) 866-7787
  • (972) 866-7797
  • (972) 866-7780
  • (972) 771-8000

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Handyman Services


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.