BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

C Brothers Home Service

Phone: (408) 757-7660

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
03/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After several attempts to contact ****** to resolve issues unfinished in my project I have received no response.

1. Basic lack of communication on a regular basis. Failure to return calls. Did not communicate when/who would be here.

2. Sent STRANGERS to my home without telling me. Did not check up on said individuals, some of whom did not show up and work was not done.

3. Poor quality of work. Toilet not attached securely. Missing areas of grout and excess grout on the tub, tile and floor tiles. Tub fixtures not sealed or secured. Poor job trimming (using pieces that don't fit in order to not buy more trim.

4. Length of project was much longer then projected and is still not finished.

5. Did not clean up after the project was "done" and there is still residue left behind which I am unable to remove. Let the floors and surface ares a mess.

6. unreliable work schedule and failure to communicate accurate times which he would be here.

Desired Settlement
I'd really just like the job finished and cleaned up.

Business Response
T have no problem going back and looking at her issues. This complaint was filed after the husband and I agreed last night 8/18/2014. that I would come back and look at her issues more than three months later. She needs to reduce her tone as to I don't want to get into an agreement with her. As I told her husband yesterday before this complaint was filed. I got one question. Why did it take her so long to notice the issues. I have pictures of the job the day I left. I have several subs I use to help on projects( in reference to strangers in her home). As far as y customer service its hard to deal with someone with an attitude. I have references to back my customer service. I pride myself keeping my A+ status. Bottom line is my customers are always going to get the best that c brothers can give.
She didn't mention any of this over three months ago when we where done. She was satisfied enough to issue final payment. I ungraded her vanity at no extra cost to her. We also gave her a repaint which was not part of the deal. As far as the trim we only trimmed the mirror( which she bought the trim and we installed it). It was to small to fit and we installed a larger one at no charge( which is extra labor). I believe I gave them 90 day warranty on this job. The husband and I agreed that I would go back and see what is the issues. I believe the chalking wasn't allowed the 24 hour drying time. no big deal to chalk it again. If the issues she has are not covered on her warranty advise her she will be charged a minimum of a trip charge $145.00.I will address the toilet and trim statements.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1. This complaint was filed prior to your conversation with my husband, but was not published by the BBB until a few days later.
2. I noticed several problems of poor construction during the project and addressed them. Some of them were addressed during the project (I.e. the toilet TWICE) and others (i. e. The trim behind the toilet) I was told would be addressed and were not.
3. During this project I gave birth to a baby, my mother was in town and then we left for three weeks. I called the owner when we returned and he said he would be by that evening. He never showed up then ignored my calls for two weeks. I gave him a one week notice that I would file a BBB complaint and still never received any response.
3. I submitted the final payment as a gesture of friendship against my better judgment with the assurance that I would have a one year warranty. I had not, at that point used the room, as it was occupied by my mother and I was in the hospital. I was not aware that the grout was not sealed and was even missing in places. I, too, have pictures of the project.
4. The owner tried to charge me for upgrades that he said would be of no charge and I refused to pay for them.
5. While I enjoy the owner as an individual, I would never hire this company again, which is too bad, as we had wanted a lot more projects done.

05/30/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
C Brothers was paid $525 on 11/15/13 to construct shelves. He did not deliver the product/service so we are seeking a refund of the money.
On Nov 15, 2013 we paid C Brothers $525(check #1028) to build 8 shelves. He came to the house in Nov and measured the unit for shelf sizes to build. Several phone calls were made between Nov and Feb to schedule the installation of the shelves. No appointment was confirmed during that time period, he would either not call us back or he would delay. Starting Feb 7th communication was via email and phone. He confirmed that he would be at the house on Mar 5, 2014 to install the shelves, he emailed and cancelled the appt and said he would come to install the shelves Mar 6th, but he never came by. He has not responded to emails or phone calls since Mar 5.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking a settlement of $525 which is the amount that we paid C Brother on 11/15 since the job was never completed.

Business Response
The product is ready. Both sides have had some scheduling issues. They so so much construction going on and u can't get it and when they are open I'm busy. I was hired to build basic shelves, which we did and installed once. They also changed scope of work without wanting to pay for extra labor or material. We ate it to build a relationship. I just want to deliver the shelves and be done. The cabinet that was built bit by us was not square. Per the lady and a cabinet specialist. And the customer has been burnt for 18k and I'm taking the blunt for 8 shelves. I will gladly give them back the moneies given if they withdraw thiso complaint. Or drop off the shelves for there handyman to install. There are several other contractors that quit because its over bearing work there. I explained to ****** that I had an family emergency. Had to leave for two weeks. So tell them I stand behind my reptutation and will honor any agreement within reason. Because they will change things on you. They have also rescheduled me several times. I run a business and can't just stop what I'm doing when they say jump. Let's get this resolved so I keep my ratings. Ask them what they want please.

Consumer Response
When ****** ******* returns the shelfs we will drop the case


Consumer Response
The above listed case needs to be reopened. The case was filed on 3/12/14, a response from the business was received on 3/14/14 and the response was forwarded on the myself on 3/17. I have has several phone conversations, left several voicemails and sent several emails to ****** ******* from C Brothers Home Services. He has promised to bring back the shelves several times. I have told him that someone will be at the house when ever he is available to drop off the shelves. I have given him several opportunities to drop off the shelves. It is my feeling that he has lost the shelves and needs to return the $525 that he was paid for the job.

Please let me know what we need to do to get the shelves back or the money back from ******.

Thank you

******
XXX-XXX-XXXX


Business Response
The shelves have been delivered. These people have had multiple contracts/handyman on this project. I have a witness to the unprofessionalness of the ladies handling the work orders. Bottom line is they received more than they paid. C brothers made 3 service trips and provided a,service that was agreed to be sufficient . We made several attempts to get shelves back to them and due to conflicting schedules and family deaths and no answeres from both sides it was done. So what more do they want.


Consumer Response
A response email was sent with photos on June 12. I have not heard A response. Please let me know the next step.

Thank you

12/19/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Handyman Services, Floors - Hardwood, Floor Materials - Retail, Countertops, Granite, Bathroom Remodeling, Construction & Remodeling Services, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Painting Contractors, Home Improvements, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Contractors - General, Outdoor Kitchens, Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.