BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/21/2011

Granite Design Center

Phone: (972) 744-0600Fax: (972) 744-0877506 N Central Expy, RichardsonTX 75080-5314 Send email to Granite Design Center

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/21/2011

BBB has determined that Granite Design Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Granite Design Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Granite Design Center

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
06/01/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We hired Granite Design Center to place new countertops in both bathrooms and kitchen as well as backsplash in the kitchen. They left leaving a mess.
Granite Design Center came into my home on May 20, 2016 and caused a flood by leaving the pipes in my master bathroom open so when we turned on the water to be able to use the restroom within two minutes a water flowed in my master bathroom, bedroom, hallway, laundry room and into my garage. A hole in wall in my den. Broke pipes under the master bathroom and in the kitchen sinks and bent and left the faucet outside in the front yard on. We paid the company in full $6,000 upfront. The company came back out when we called them and brought three men (one was our Salesman ****** which the one said "Why did you turn on the water"? We responded back saying "You never told us not to and how was we going to use the restroom and take showers"? He just stood their looking at us. They used a shop vacuum and mop to soak up the water and used the floor fans we had to air out the carpet. Left that night and said they will came back the next morning and pulled the mat under the carpet up and fixed the hole in the wall. Woke up on Saturday to the worst smell I have ever smelt in my life. We have left windows and doors open as much as possible. But nothing is helping. I presume with all the water and the dried out carpet which is on our floor in our bedroom and closet is molding. I was told by Blake that they would offer us $150.00 credit towards anything in their showroom towards new flooring. I have never heard from the owner ***** ***** at all. We went over on Sunday May 22nd to look at flooring and at that time we also took a drawer of bathroom cabinet to show ***** how it was now swollen and would not go into the cabinet which the bottom of the cabinet was ruined as well. ***** honestly did not know how to answer our questions. On Monday May, 23rd, I came home and walked out side to check on a flowerbed in my front yard and noticed the water faucet attached to our house was bent down and was leaking water. The mulch was soak as I stepped on it trying to turn the water off my foot just sunk. Luckily had a Plummer at my house fixing the pipes they broke and he was able to replace the broken faucet as well. I have called ***** seeking answers many times. Finally on May 24th while I reached out to ***** once again seeking answers and asking him to and the owner to come out to my house so the owner could see the damage in person. ***** informed me that I could have them come out and place new carpet that they have in their warehouse that a customer refused. I told him to send me a picture of the carpet. But I still wanted him and ***** ***** the owner to come and see the damage. And let me know what will be done about the Mold, laminate flooring, cabinets and Plummer cost that has been occurred do to the flood that the installers have caused.

Desired Settlement
We are seeking the carpet, mold, laminate flooring, cabinets and Pluming cost that has been occurred do to the flood that the installers have caused to be fixed to the way it was when they came to our home to install the countertops and backsplash.

Final Consumer Response
The owner has reached back to us and has offered to cover the cost of the entire master bedroom and closet with the flooring of our choosing. And giving us deal on the flooring on the rest of the house.

05/06/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The product that was sold to me isn't a product that is meant for a kitchen. The owner said that he fix or replace the product, but is unresponsive.
When we purchased the countertops, we asked ***** the owner if they were meant for and hold up to the kitchen. He assured us that they would, said that they were quartzite and that it was one of the best. The countertops were installed in November 2015. Early on we noticed that water spots and rings were all over the place because they weren't properly sealed by the installers. Soon after that, January, an employee came out to fix and seal the product. Soon after we noticed that there was still water spots, dulling, etching and cracks in the countertops. Then another employee of the company came out and said "these countertops are not meant for a kitchen. you will never be happy with this product these issues will keep happening. You need to have ***** replace them with something else." After that I had a different company who fixes countertops come out to look at the countertops to see what they could do. They that the same thing, that the countertops were not meant to be in a kitchen, they even polished up an area and said that they could do this to all the tops, but that you will still see the issues again later, because of the product. In Feburary, we contacted the owner about the countertops and our concerns the findings of his employee and other company. He came out a couple of weeks later, while there he tested the product with water to see if it wasn't sealed properly, looked at the etchings, which were in multiple areas at this point, the cracks, and areas that his employee colored on with a black sharpie that were dull from the last time he came out. While ***** was there, he said that "we","would work on these countertops until we get it right, pay the guy who polished them in that area to do all of them, or replace the whole thing if he has to." Then he talked about how he doesn't understand why it keeps happening and he will go back to the shop and try to figure some thing out that will fix the issues. 3/20, we texted ***** again, with no response. 4/2, I texted him again and he responded saying that Harold would come out to polish and seal the countertops today, which he did. 5/23, we texted ***** again showing him pictures of the countertops. Where they were etching (due to seltzer water) and water from the faucet, rings, dulling due to steam, scuff and polish markings from his employee. He texted back and said "are these old pictures, did you mean to send them to me?" We said yes, these are new and the issues are happening all over again and worse in some spots. After that we texted and called on 6/1, 6/29 with no response. In August, ***** sent a guy over to our house, Bruce, who finishes and repairs countertops, has his own company and does some work for *****. He stated that the countertops are not meant to be in a kitchen. He dropped a drop of lemon juice on the countertops and after a few seconds wiped it away and they etched. He said that was the acid test, and that proves this product isn't meant for a kitchen. And that it was unusual that it etched up so quickly and that he doesn't understand why the product was even sold knowing that it was going to be put in the kitchen. He also said that he could make the countertops look nice again, but that over time, they will look like this again, sorry. On 8/8, I texted ***** letting him know what Bruce said and and found, with no contact from him. My wife and I have contacted him and Harold numerous times (8/8, 8/21, 8/26, 8/26, 8/29) and even in October and November and have not gotten a response from them at all. The frustrating part of the is that the owner said that they were durable and could hold up to anything and is a perfect product for a kitchen. Even after the issues came up and keep coming up and the owner saying that he stands by his product and will make it right, he is unresponsive. Even when other companies and his employees say that the product shouldn't have been put in the kitchen setting, the owner refuses to contact his customers.

Desired Settlement
Replacement of the product that is meant for the kitchen or a refund of the product so that we can purchase proper countertops from a different company.

Business Response
As an initial matter, the facts as described are inaccurate. We have responded to all of the customer's complaints and have been out to her home multiple times to attempt to fix the issues. The damage to the surface of the stone appeared to us to be caused by spills and the use of harsh chemical cleaners.

We dealt with this customer through their general contractor, Richardson Residential (Justin McMillan). Mr. McMillan selected the product Quartzite is an appropriate surface for kitchens. It is actually harder and less porous than marble or granite. However, it is still a natural stone that requires care and maintenance. We explained that the stone would need to be treated with a silicon based chemical ager AND then sealed. The Customer declined the chemical ager step, and it was explained to her that without that step, the stone would require very frequent applications of sealant (every 3 to 6 months). We also explained that the use of harsh chemicals present in a lot of household cleaners (like bleach and ammonia) would damage the surface over time and effect the sealant. We have repeatedly gone to the customer's home to repair the stains caused by spills and the loss of polish from the use of inappropriate cleaners, but the customer remains dissatisfied. We have responded to all of the customers requests. The only action that we are willing to take would be for the customer to allow us to apply the silicone based chemical ager and then reseal the stone one last time. The customer must also understand that harsh chemicals CANNOT be used on the stone surface. To complete these steps we will need the kitchen available to us for one full business day and for it not to be used for 24 hours. We can schedule this within 14 business days.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The events that I described in my original complaint are all accurate. When my wife and I first went to the Granite Design Company looking for countertops, we met ***** (the owner) and Aaron (an employee). Originally we were looking at quartz countertops, but didn't really find one that we liked. Then we looked around the showroom (with ***** and Aaron) and came across a slab that were really liked the look and color of (which is the product that we ended up purchasing). When we saw the product we started asking specific questions about it. What type of material is this? Is this product suitable for a kitchen? Will it withstand the environment and a family who cook all the time? Will it hold up to heat? Will it withstand a house with 3 kids? How much is this product? Is it easy to clean and upkeep? ***** answered our questions and said that the product was new, it was Quartzite, it was a natural stone that was harder and less porous than marble or granite. He said that it was extremely hard and would hold up to heat very well and that it would easily hold up to kids and the kitchen environment. He also said that for us he would give us the product at his cost and that it doesn't require much upkeep because it is such a strong stone and not very porous and that all we need to clean it with was a mild cleaner and water. (At NO POINT where we (my wife or I) EVER told about the need or process of applying a silicone based chemical ager before sealing the countertops. I feel that if the product being installed needs something that the professional company recommends, should be done regardless or explained when picking out the stone or purchasing it, so that issues don't arise in the future.) After learning about the quartzite from *****, we continued walking with him around the showroom and looking at other materials that he had to show us or that we picked out. When we got home, we called our contractor (Justin McMillan from Richardson Residential) and told him about the material that we found and for him to go ahead and purchase the slabs for our kitchen. When the countertops were installed I was told to leave them alone for at least 48 hours, which we did. Soon after that the issues started to occur. That is when we started contacting ***** about the issues that we were having. He sent an employee over to the house (who also was one of the installers) to check out the countertops. He said, "look this product is not meant to be in a kitchen. It is meant to go around fire places or on the walls or ground. It shouldn't be in a kitchen, it just won't work." He also told my wife and I that they never sealed the product during installation, they just wiped it down with a penetrating cleaner, which is why we started seeing water spots very early on. I agree that at first ***** did respond to the issues that were having. He did send people out 3-4 times through the year to try and work on the issues or at least look at them. I also want to point out that the only thing that we HAVE EVER used to clean the countertops is water. Partly because we have been so worried about messing them up because, not only did they cost us a lot of money, but from the get go we have had issues with them. Since the installation of the product, 3 separate individuals have stated that this product is not meant to be in the kitchen environment. 1 works for the Granite Supply Company, 1 works for a stone cleaning and polishing company and 1 (Bruce) does work for ***** and owns Bruce's Stone Solutions. Whom I called on 1/6/16 about the countertops and ***** stating that he wants to put a silicone based chemical ager on and then seal them. I specifically asked him if this process would fix our issues or if we would notice them again? He said, "I don't think that it would hurt to have him try it, but to be honest you WILL STILL have issues in the future. That particular material just won't last in the kitchen, it's not meant for it." So to clarify, it is the purity of the slab and the material sold to us was not up to par for the purpose of a kitchen. Even when we asked ***** about the product and told him that it was going into a highly used kitchen, he told us that it would be a perfect product for that environment and would withstand its use, which has not been the case at all. ***** was deceptive in selling us the product and negligent by not testing the purity of the product for the intended purposes and use. Again within 5 seconds of Bruce (from Bruce's Stone Solution) performing the acid test himself, he stated that the product was not suitable for the kitchen. All of the issues have could have been avoided, if ***** would have done the pre-work on the stone prior to selling it to us and even offering it to us. The remedy that he has currently offered has failed to fix the problems and issues (through multiple attempts) that have been occurring since the countertops were installed. Also, to reiterate at NO POINT, was my wife or I EVER told about or did we EVER decline the silicone based chemical ager and sealing process. Nor, have we ever used ANYTHING other than water to clean our countertops, especially not harsh chemicals, we are afraid to even leave cups of water on them because of all of the issues that have occurred since we got them. When ***** came to my home to look at the countertops and the spots, cracks and stains all over the countertops, he told my wife and I, "I don't know why this is happening. We haven't worked with this stone much, but we will keep working on it until we get it right. If I have to replace the whole thing I will, but I want to keep working with it first." Since that conversation, he has had Harold out once to put a bandaid on the situation and then has been unresponsive to any of our attempted contacts or requests, which is unacceptable from a customer stand point, especially when this all could have been avoided from the beginning if ***** would have just been honest about the product in question, not deceptive or negligent. At this point, I am willing to offer 2 solutions. First, the Granite Design Company should install new countertops (crediting us the cost of the old material and fabrication) made of another material (for example granite, soap stone or quartz) that are suitable to withstand the kitchen environment or second, a full refund of $4,450, minus 5%. ($4,227.50).


Final Consumer Response
Per customer's email:

Good morning Rua'a this is T.J. As of right now we are working with ***** and the Granite Design Center on fixing or resolving our counter top dilemma. They are working with us to find new counter tops that would be a better fit for our kitchen and then replace the old ones with the new ones that we are picking out. So as of now we are working on the resolution to the the case together. If anything changes, I will let you know. Thank you for all of your help. It is greatly appreciated.

Sincerely,

T.J. *****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Granite, Countertops, Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/14/2011Business started: 03/08/2011
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shadi Murad (Owner)Mr. Sam Al-Bazian (Owner)
Business Category

Granite, Countertops, Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Granite Design Center

506 N Central Expy

Richardson, TX 75080-5314

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 506 N Central Expy 

    Richardson, TX 75080-5314(972) 744-0600
    Fax: (972) 744-0877

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Central Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Granite Design Center is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Granite

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.