BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/16/2012

Granite and Tile Outlet II

Phone: (972) 317-5618Fax: (972) 317-54623180 Fm 407 Ste 505, Highland VillageTX 75077-3267 Send email to Granite and Tile Outlet II

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/16/2012

BBB has determined that Granite and Tile Outlet II meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Granite and Tile Outlet II's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
09/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: Poor customer service. Installed granite with big defect. Job has not been completed. They have given me the run around for the past week.
On July 11 went to the Highland Village store and ordered granite for kitchen. i was told that they would install in 2 weeks, which would've been 7/25. They called and said they couldn't install that day but would be out the following morning. I waited around all morning and they didn't show. When I called they said they had a problem with my granite and had to reject it. They didn't know when they would be able to install because they were so busy. They said they would call. i called on Monday 7/29 and asked if they had an install date yet because I was leaving town on 8/1 and wanted it complete before I left. They sent someone out on 7/30. He installed granite and there isma big defect. I called

Business' Initial Response
This is in response to the customer complaint case #XXXXXXXX


Customer (********** ****) purchased a granite countertop and stone backsplash with installation from us on 07/11/2013. Our company policy is to receive half down of the total invoice to be added to the installation schedule and then pay the final half upon completion of the work.


Ms **** was explained the process. In addition to this being explained she was also advised that natural stone has variations in it (thus why it is natural stone) and she was offered the opportunity to hand select her granite that would then be fabricated into her countertop. She declined hand selecting the granite slab and ok'd us to select for her and proceed with cutting the granite per her kitchen specs.


The countertops were then brought to her home and installed. She noted that there was vein in the granite that she did not like but she ok'd the installer to go ahead and install the countertops.


She then informed our store manager that she did not like the vein in the granite and we needed to do something. We again reminded her that she was given the opportunity to select her granite and she declined. She also authorized the granite to be installed in her home and after the fact has now decided that it will not work. We offered to replace the piece she did not like at no cost to her (but at a lose for our company since the piece removed would now not be usable on another job, and the new piece would cost us for material and labor to recut and re-install).


She went out of town and did not give us her decision. When she did return she called to say that she did want a new piece cut and installed. She called on Thursday and said that the only day we would be allowed to do this was the following day. We explained that it would take a couple days to work this into the schedule and that she would need to hand select the piece and then it would have to be cut and polished and then installed. She said that the only day she would allow this to happen was the next day. We also had offered for her to keep the granite that was installed and not pay the final half of her invoice. She agreed that would be fine and accepted that offer.

After accepting that she has now filed this complaint and within it says she has filed a dispute for the $1500 deposit.

Her original invoice was for $2917.94. She only paid $1500 and has received a completed job. We lost money on this job due to her not "Liking" the granite (which she could have selected). We are a small business that prides itself in outstanding customer service since the majority of our business is based on referrals. This is a person who is trying to get a $3000 granite countertop install for free and give our business a bad complaint. I have not received anything from the credit card company regarding a dispute but will respond to that as well if we receive. I would ask that the BBB remove this complaint from our file since this is clearly someone trying to get something for free.

Consumer's Final Response
That I wanted this matter resolved by Friday. David emailed the following morning and said he spoke with the owner and since I had waited so long to respond I had 2 options. They could rip it out and refund my $1500 deposit, Or I could keep the existing granite and we would call it even. They would keep the deposit. I agreed to call it even because I certainly didn't want them back in my home at this point. The additional work was never done. So, I don't see how he says the work was complete. They never did the backsplash.
Once again, Im not trying to get anything free just want the public to be aware of their terrible business practice and lack of customer care.

Business' Final Response
She states that she has filed a complaint with her credit card company disputing the 1/2 that she paid. I would have to ask who is entitled to receive a free granite countertop and backsplash because they changed their mind or did not like the stone after the fact. She received material and labor and should be expected to pay for what she contracted for. As a good faith measure we gave her the option to keep the material and installation and only pay the 1/2 down. She accepted since this is an amazing deal. The stone is not defective. It is natural stone and has coloring in it that she personally does not like. Other people have chosen that stone and paid full price. This is a matter of personal choice and had she hand picked her stone as was offered then she would not be changing her mind after the fact (or maybe she still would). We are not mind readers. We tell customers that we are happy to pick the stone for them if they do not want to be involved and those that go that route are always pleased. They know what the stone looks like from other peoples homes or going to stone yards. If she was so unhappy and the granite was unacceptable then she would have taken the option to have us replace the stone (at no cost to her - but a cost of buying replacement material and labor) and then she would have exactly what she thinks she wanted. She was not responsive and expected us to stop all other work to accommodate her changes. Small businesses thrive on referrals and it is a shame when individuals try to hurt businesses with false claims.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Granite, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Countertops, Contractors - Flooring

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/03/2012Business started: 07/01/2004
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2007, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. James Brede (Owner)Ms. Dana Pendergraft (Office Manager)
Business Category

Granite, Floor Laying, Refinishing & Resurfacing, Tile - Ceramic - Contractors & Dealers, Hardwood Floor Contractors, Countertops, Contractors - Flooring

Alternate Business Names
B & W, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Granite and Tile Outlet II

3180 Fm 407 Ste 505

Highland Village, TX 75077-3267

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3180 Fm 407 Ste 505 

    Highland Village, TX 75077-3267(972) 317-5618

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Granite and Tile Outlet II is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Granite

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.