BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 04/04/2003

Professional Doors and Windows

Find a Location

Phone: (817) 538-7668Fax: (817) 571-0999View Additional Phone NumbersPO Box 535271, Grand PrairieTX 75053-5271 Send email to Professional Doors and Windows

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 04/04/2003

BBB has determined that Professional Doors and Windows meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Professional Doors and Windows' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Professional Doors and Windows

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 2 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
11/18/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Contacted the company several times. The company is NOT providing a receipt.
Purchase Date: 11/6/2014. Garage Spring replacement for $360.

Desired Settlement
Need Receipt for the product and warranty purchased

03/11/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

Business owner failed to take responsibility for bad installation
Garage door opener was installed about six months ago. Safety sensors started having problems and the door wouldn't close. Owner said it would be covered by the warranty if it's due to bad installation. There is a wire that connects the garage door opener to the wire that goes to the sensors through the attic. The technician connected the wire himself during the installation. Technician came out and removed the black tape, disconnected the wire and just reconnected and immediately the sensor came on. It's very obvious that he did a poor job with the wire connection during installation. 5 minutes.

But instead of covering under warranty, the company claims that during the process of reconnecting the wire, the technician "pulled" the wire going into the attic and that fixed the house wire. Claims that the problem was with the wire going into the attic and he fixed it by giving it a "magic pull".

I left the owner several messages over several days, but he simply won't return the call. Service was made on the last week of December 2012. The company made a service call claim through my home warranty company for $59.

Desired Settlement
I expect the company to take responsibility for their mistake and refund the service call fee.

Business' Initial Response
see attachment

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Why did it work fine for 6 months? It didn't. I clearly explained that the problem was intermittent, but I thought the problem was with the rollers and alignment. But, it always closed when the button was pressed down, which I now know that is sensor problem. Any basic electrical DYI book will tell you that bad wire connection can lead to this type of problem. The black tape that wrapps the wire will contract and expand with the weather and can cause this.

Business owner REALLY needs to talk to his tech and ask if he did anything other than removing the tape over the wire he connected himself and re-wiring it. Sensor came on immediately after the tech re-connected the wire.

Business owner talks like I forced him to install the garage opener. The only reason he was called out was because the home warranty sent him out. I paid the $59 service call for the home warranty and the installation was done directly, not through home warranty. If he didn't want to install for the price, nobody forced him to. Not sure why business owner is even bringing that up at this point.

If the business owner truly cared for the reputation of his business, not only would he have taken responsibility for the obvious mistake, but he would have also returned my calls. I left the business owner 3 messages and waited few days before I contacted BBB. I guess lot of people just get tired of it and move on. Sounds like this business owner expected just that.

Business' Final Response
see pdf

03/05/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
09/24/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Garage Door Repair, Garage Doors & Openers, Windows - Vinyl, Windows - Wells & Covers, Windows, Windows - Installation & Service

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 04/03/2003Business started: 01/03/2003
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Shaun White (Owner)
Business Category

Garage Door Repair, Garage Doors & Openers, Windows - Vinyl, Windows - Wells & Covers, Windows, Windows - Installation & Service

Products & Services

This company offers We install, repair, service and sell parts for almost all makes and models of garage doors and openers. We specialize in 2 to 1 door conversions,(taking 2 little doors and turning it into one big door)
We also install residental and commercial flooring(hardwood,tile,stone,laminate).

Alternate Business Names
Professional Doors and Floors LLC

2 Locations

  • 2302 Sunnyvale Rd 

    Grand Prairie, TX 75050-1761

  • PO Box 535271 

    Grand Prairie, TX 75053-5271(817) 538-7668

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Professional Doors and Windows is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (214) 918-8703

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Garage Door Repair


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.