BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/08/2007

Weir's Furniture Village (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (214) 522-3780Fax: (972) 980-9336View Additional Phone Numbers4800 Spring Valley Rd, Farmers BranchTX 75244-3905 Send email to Weir's Furniture Village

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/08/2007

BBB has determined that Weir's Furniture Village meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Weir's Furniture Village's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Weir's Furniture Village

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
05/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bought a sofa, it developed a defect in eight months, they were called and sent someone to spray paint it and the paint fell off.
After eight or so months a defect on the leather developed and they had someone paint it and when it fell off they had made it past their in house 12 month warranty period so they refused to do anything about the defect on an expensive sofa. We replaced it at our cost.

Desired Settlement
We wanted it replaced but when they refused we bought a replacement. They should have replaced and at the very least should now offer a store credit. I tried to get them to take it back to the store when they delivered the sofa and they refused.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** Cust Serv Sup
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ******@weirs.net
I contacted the customer and discussed his issue. I told him I was surprised when he said we would not help him, because we serviced his sectional in October 2014 and we warranty our work for 1 year. In reference to how the customer's sectional was repaired, I explained to the customer, according to our shop supervisor, the proper method was used; the dye was re-applied with a topical application (sprayed on). The sectional was only damaged in one area (Head rest) and the customer was told the damage was due to body and hair chemicals. We were willing to come out and service the sectional a second time, as our previous work was still under warranty, but the customer said he no longer had the sectional. I asked the customer if he had photos of the damaged area and he did send a single photo of the area needing repair. After receiving the photo I spoke with our shop supervisor and asked him what would it have cost Weir's to do the repairs; he said it would have cost us a trip fee of $69.00. I then asked him what is the absolute most we would have done on this piece and what would the additional service cost. Our shop supervisor said at the most he would have replaced the padding in the head rest which would have cost an additional $100. I called the customer back and told him because he no longer has the sectional, I would like to offer him a gift card in the amount of $200. He replied, I didn't do this to get something out of it, I just wanted to bring it to someone's attention how I was treated. I told the customer I was sure that he had pure motives because he went to another one our location and purchased another sectional soon there after. The customer said he would think about the offer and I gave him my name and asked him to contact me (customer service supervisor) if he decided to accept the offer. I assured the customer we would check our operations to insure something like this would not happen in the future.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1958Business started: 03/19/1948Business started locally: 03/01/1948
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Moore (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Shaun Pitts (Customer Service Mgr)Ms. Beth Tillotson (Director of Marketing)
Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Hours of Operation
Mon: 10:00 AM to 09:00 PMTue: 10:00 AM to 09:00 PMWed: 10:00 AM to 09:00 PMThu: 10:00 AM to 09:00 PMFri: 10:00 AM to 09:00 PMSat: 10:00 AM to 06:00 PM

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Weir's Furniture Village

4800 Spring Valley Rd

Farmers Branch, TX 75244-3905

To | From

LocationsX

4 Locations

  • 3219 Knox St 

    Dallas, TX 75205-4031(214) 528-0321

  • 4800 Spring Valley Rd 

    Farmers Branch, TX 75244-3905(214) 522-3780

  • 5801 Preston Rd 

    Plano, TX 75093-7353(972) 403-7878

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    201 N Nolen Dr 

    Southlake, TX 76092-8003

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Weir's Furniture Village is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 889-3477
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Furniture - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.