BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Metroplex Furniture Show, Inc.

Phone: (972) 576-0033Fax: (972) 576-3081

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
02/18/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: purchased mattress set, and in less then a month had problems with mattress. warranty claim took over a month. now have 2nd matress with same problem. want to return for refund and they say absolutly not - out of the question and hung up. Owner is very rude and yells at you. They treat their customers like dirt. This company should not be in business. This product is no good and we want a refund. After the owner realized what he had done and said....owner called and refunded the total amount.

Initial Business Response
The customer admits we gave them a refund. The customer did not have a valid warranty since the mattress was soiled therefore it should not have been replaced. We would not have refunded the mattress had we know it was soiled it could not be replaced or sold.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

07/16/2012Problems with Product / Service
04/23/2012Problems with Product / Service
04/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Refund or Exchange Complaint Issue

Complaint: Went to store to purchase mattresses, paid for the mattresses, went to pick them up and they weren't there. Store won't refund money. Very rude!
I went into this store around 5:30pm on Tuesday 3-4-14 to purchase mattresses for my kids. At 7:30pm on 3-4-14, my mother went into the store to purchase the mattresses and was told that the mattresses were in stock and that we could come back on 3-5-14 at 10am when the store opened. My father went at 10am the following morning on 3-5-14 to pick up the furniture and we were notified our mattresses were not at the store. I tried to contact *****, the lady who sold me the furniture, however, she was not at the store until 12pm that day and it was about 10:30 when I started calling trying to figure out what was going on. I then proceeded to ask for a manager, and was placed on hold for 10 minutes with no response. I proceeded to hang up and call back and the phone went to voice mail. I hung up again and called back and finally got ******, the manager, to pick up the phone. I told her that I was on hold for 10 minutes and she stated that she was waiting on a customer, but could not pick up the phone to let me know what was going on and I told her it was very unprofessional. I began to explain to her the situation and she began to get very defensive and started yelling, so I asked for the owner's information. She put me on hold and about 3 minutes later picked up the phone and gave me the owners direct cell phone #. I contacted the owner Karl, who was also very defensive and began yelling at me. I hung up on him. About 30 minutes later he called back and told me that my furniture was sold out from underneath me and that there was nothing he was going to do to fix this issue and he was not going to offer me a refund. *****, called me around 1:00pm and offered me a $100 credit to come back and purchase more furniture, as if that is an option. I told her I was calling the bank to cancel my transaction and filing a complaint. I have heard horror stories since about this company and how Karl does this all the time, and cusses his customers out and has even fist faught others in his parking lot. **** is a horrible human being and says he never charged my mothers credit card, but he did and now he is holding money for a purchase that was never made. This company should be put out of business. The complaints I have received from others on his lack of customer service and refund policy is absolutely horrible. The way he treats his customers, lies to them and charges them for products they either never received or did not purchase is beyond me, how this man is still in business.

Initial Business Response
During tax season we schedule pick up & deliveries out 2 weeks because suppliers have lower inventories.

We told the customer we thought the it was in our warehouse but warehousemen were out on delivery and we had to wait until the next morning to verify if they were in stock.

The mattress purchased unfortunately were out of stock at the time of purchase. The customer was very rude and fowl mouthed toward our staff.

The customer accused ****** who is very soft spoken of yelling when it was her that was verbally abusive to everyone she spoke with including myself.

She yelled and cursed at three people including myself.

I told her to call her credit company and cancel the card, we did not want to try to work it out based on her demeanor.


THIS VERIOFIED BY THIS EXCERPT FROM HER COMPLAINT
"I told her I was calling the bank to cancel my transaction and filing a complaint"


She charged back her card through the her CC provider. He card was refunded through out merchant account as we did not object to the refund.

The customer a week later called cursing and yelling again stating we had charged the card a second time.

We deliberately do not keep credit card info on file and therefore this would have been impossible.

The allegations I am not going to dignify by responding to fighting and customer dissatisfaction.

We have complaints & have made mistakes like anyone else but seriously a 62yr old man fighting in the parking lot is absurd.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It amazes me how the owner of this store can not own up to his actions and can not take blame for how he yelled and acted. His whole staff is unimaginably rude and they are all criminals. I have had 15 complaints personally on how this store operates, how rude and conniving they are. I am not their first victim of fraud and he does have my cc on file and he did charge it a week after all this occurred. Whether the refund was made or not at this point, the company has no point being in business. They are absolutely horrible people and from the personal complaints I've received from others who have walked on his store and even people who used to work there, it absolutely amazes me they can even be in business anymore.

05/03/2013Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delivery of unordered products

Complaint: After ordering furniture and acquiring funding for the furniture, the company decided to give me what they wanted and not what I ordered.
On 12/29/12, I signed a contract with a finance company to purchase one (1) queen bed that came with a free mattress, one (1) king bed and one (1) king mattress at a total of $1,702.62 from a furniture company by the name of Metroplex Furniture Show in Red Oak, Tx. I received everything other than the queen bed I ordered, but the General Manager by the name of ****** decided to provide me with a different queen bed and not the one I ordered. After that attempt, ****** decided to send me another queen bed and that queen bed was the wrong one again. I spoke to ****** on the phone and he assured me that he was going to get it right on the 3rd attempt. Well, today (1/31/13 @ 1:36 pm) I received a call from ****** and he stated that he was not going to provide me with the bed I ordered. After ordering furniture and acquiring funding for the furniture, the company decided to give me what they wanted and not what I ordered.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *****@metrofurnitureshow.com
Mr ****** was given a loaner bed as a courtesy. He then was delivered the bed that he ordered and signed for on the contract. A week later he called stating the bed he ordered was not the one he wanted but he would keep it. As a courtesy I offered on January 28th to replace the bed he ordered with another that he had changed his mind according to the salesperson and decided he now wanted. I told Mr ****** it would be Saturday before I could deliver that 3rd bed. ON 1/30/13 he called the store and was very unpleasant with our staff he also called the finance company and complained with them. I called and he was insistant with me that the purpose of his calls were to get a time on his Saturday Delivery. I told Mr ****** that I had offered to help him in the name of good service but I was rescending that offert since he was being uncooperative and did not appreciate all we were doing to make him happy. Ultimately Saturday I tried to get a bed like he wanted and they were discontinued. I plan to look around and still may find somethiung like he wants as a courtesy not an obligation we delivered what he ordered.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
At the time I ordered the bed, I ordered a XXXXX Rochester black bed made by Standard furniture. I have not received the be I ordered, instead Metro Furniture Show keeps sending me XXXXX New York bed made by Standard furniture. The first bed was brown and the second bed is black. To date, I have not received the XXXXX Rochester bed. I only signed for the loaner in good faith of the honor system that Metro Funiture Show would do right by the customer and deliver what has been ordered.

Business' Final Response
Mr ****** financed amount was $ 1497 not $ 1700 as he stated. The bed in question was $ 288 w a free mattresses.

Complaint Resolution: Company agreed to arbitration in accordance with their BBB agreement, but the consumer declined.

10/11/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail, Internet Selling Services, Appliances - Installation, Appliances - Small - Dealers, House Furnishings & Services, Electronic Equipment & Suppliers - Service & Repair

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.