BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Publishing Concepts, LP

Phone: (214) 530-0335Fax: (972) 774-3284

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)BBB Closure Definitions
07/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: PCI continues to solicit me even though the college that has contracted with them has asked them to stop numerous times
I am a graduate of Ferrum College in Virginia. Ferrum entered into a contract with Publishing Concepts (AKA PCI) to "update" alumni records. I do not know the specifics of the contracts, but it seems PCI would do this work for free and then try to sell directories. Although I feel the solicitation materials are misleading, that isn't my biggest issue. Over just a few months time, I was sent so many emails and post cards that I felt completely harassed and reached out to the alumni and development offices at he college and asked them to stop (April 3rd) which they assured me would happen. A few weeks later, on April 18th, I received another batch of emails from PCI. Again, I reached out to the college representatives. They were very embarrassed that this was still happening. I was told that they were were were in contact with PCI and had been assured I would not hear from them again. On May 2nd, I received more solicitations from PCI. Yet once again, I wrote to the college and they informed me that not only had they talked to PCI about this, The PCI representative named Katie Hueffner assured them it would not happen again and that I had been removed from the system. Despite all of this, yesterday, I received another solicitation from PCI through the US mail service. I have informed the college that this was a problem and informed them that I was filing a formal complaint.

Business' Initial Response
Good Evening,
First, I want to apologize for the frustration and conern that we have caused Mr. ********.
At Publishing Concepts, we strive to achieve excellence, every day with every client and we are truly disappointed in ourselves for failing to do so with Mr. ********'s issue.
We were appropriately notified and while certain marketing outreaches were immediately stopped,there was a failure in our procedural training that prevented a newly hired associate from completing her task correctly. We have since corrected and I can assure all concerned that we will no longer reach out to Mr. ********.
Publishing Concepts is a family-owned company that traces its origins back to the nation's first alumni directory publisher, the Rockwell F. ****** Company, established in 1921. Over the years, three generations of Clancys have remained true to a single goal: not to be the biggest but to be the best. All PCI associates are fiercely committed to doing whatever it takes to make our clients happy.
We wish all concerned to note that we chosen by and contracted by Ferrum College to contact all alumni by phone, email, mail to have alumni update their current information to be used by the school only for their own purposes. This information is confidential and is not sold or distributed to any other entities by Publishing Concepts. We have been proud to partner with leading institutions all over this country for many, many years including Stanford, Princeton, University of Iowa, SMU, and Notre Dame to name just a very few.
Again, please be advised that Mr. Ferrum has been removed from all data update efforts and will not be contacted again by Publishing Concepts, LP.
Thank you,
Deborah Dale

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

06/17/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: Misrepresenting the sale of airline tickets as a 2 for 1 deal.
This promotional company is selling airline tickets as promotional incentives to purchase another product. They sell the airline tickets as "two tickets for one low price." This implies that it's a buy one get one free deal on the tickets. However, the tickets are the same price any airline, and in some cases, more expensive. The only thing this company does is adds the normal price of airline tickets together. There is no special low price offered.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: Deborah Dale, VP
Contact Phone: 214.530.0345
Contact Email: *****@publishingconcepts.com
Dear BBB,
My name is Deborah Dale and I partner with the Client Services Team here at Publishing Concepts.
Thank you for giving us the opportunity to respond to Mr. *******'s concerns.
I have checked our records and while we have spoken to Mr. ******* regarding the receipt of his voucher in the spring of this year, we have not had a request to cancel.
I want to first apologize for the frustration and concern that we have caused Mr. *******.
The airline voucher that Mr. ******* received was a free gift for the purchase of the 1. 2013 Kappa Sigma Membership Directory, 2. the same directory in CD-Rom version, and 3. an X-large logo T-shirt and X-large logo sweatshirt for Kappa Sigma for $189.95 plus $19.95 shipping and handling for a total of $209.90. There was NO charge for the voucher-it is a free gift for purchasing this special package.
We are very sorry to learn that he did not find the free voucher satisfactory.
I have processed the cancellation - today - for Mr. ******* and have sent, by UPS, check # XXXXX in the amount of $209.90 for delivery tomorrow 6.12.13. The UPS Tracking Number is 1Z XXX XXX XX XXXX XXXX.
Publishing Concepts would also like to gift the entire order to Mr. ******* on behalf of the Kappa Sigma Fraternity.
Please do not hesitate to contact me at 214.530.0345 if you have any further questions or concerns.
Many Thanks,
Deborah Dale
I am happy to make available a copy the recorded call which clearly states that the voucher is a free gift for purchasing the Kappa Sigma Package.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/08/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a graduate of the 1961 class. Last July someone from some college related business sent me some forms to order an alumni directory; cost $77.95. I don't remember whether it was for a directory from ***** or some other institution. I thought it was legitimate and I went ahead an ordered it. It must have been a form that I filled out and put my Citi card information on it and it was charged to me on July 28, 2012. I dismissed it from my mind, but when looking over my statements from 2012, I discovered the charge, but I don't remember ever receiving an alumni directory.I contacted Citi Card and raised a question about it. I got their response today. It was a charge of $77.95 posted on July 28, 2012. I don't know where, if at all, are any papers in my files related to this. All I have is the information that I got from Citi today. I have tried to contact someone at the number from the record I received today from Dallas TX and this is the information that I read from that Citi mailed to me:Alumni Directory; (214)XXX-XXXX, Dallas, TX XXXXXXXXX, Trans date: 07/28/12; MCC: 2741, Card number and Exp date deleted; with caption at the bottom of the statement reading the words: "Thank you for shopping at Alumni Directory. I have called about a half dozen times today. I have left 3 messages to a Tom Lyons, who hasn't called me back. Once the line was busy when a dialed about fifteen times.Would you let me know if you have any information relative to a new alumni directory from ***** that ties in with the information above? I am beginning to sense a scam if you do not know anything about it. Thank you for responding. My cell phone number is (706) XXX-XXXX, email address: *****@ec.edu
Product_Or_Service: Alumni Directory
Order_Number: not known
Account_Number: not known

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

07/14/2014Problems with Product / Service
06/12/2014Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fund Raising Counselors & Orgs, Publishers - Directory & Guide

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.