BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1994

Up-Rite Foundation

Find a Location

(972) 285-47821380 Fm 1389 N, CombineTX 75159-5403 Send email to Up-Rite Foundation

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 08/01/1994

BBB has determined that Up-Rite Foundation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Up-Rite Foundation's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Up-Rite Foundation

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
05/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contractor will not complete foundation repairs agreed on signed contract. He is requesting additional fee(under-bid)before completing job.
Two different estaminets were conducted by this contractor on 5/31/13 & 9/9/13 I signed second contract. Work started 9/30/13, contractor returned on 10/12/13 to completion work. That afternoon contractor contacted me and waited for my arrival. He mentioned that a lot of work already been performed and he would need an additional fee to complete this job. I mentioned this was not on the contract agreement and I did not approve of any additional work to my house. They left that day without a final date of completion. I have contacted the contractor on many occasions to schedule a date of completion, will not commit to a date. On 11/19/13 I rec'd another contract that includes the additional fee($3840.00), and a request for half of the balance to start and final payment at completion. Contractor is not fulfill his obligations agreed on original contract. As of yet holes are exposed around the house with only wood board placed over them, this is a liability to me. They left shrubs removed piled in front of my house,large pile of dirt on my driveway, garbage scattered around my house (empty bottle, pieces of carpet, broken cement blocks, broken cement pieces. Damage to the entry of my driveway were the cement truck left deep tire holes in the yard which is now caused an erosion to front yard.

Desired Settlement
Completion of the job, replacement of shrubs removed. New sidewalk(damaged)in the back yard by patio, replace French drain with all new materials add new sub-pump. Replace damaged gutter with new gutters. Replacement of ivy (greenery) removed on west and south side of house. Replace damaged faucet and fill in holds left by cement truck in front yard.

Business Response
Up-Rite Foundation Repair Co.
XXXXX **** ***** ****
DALLAS,TEXAS.XXXXX
OFF: XXX-XXX-XXXX
FAX: XXX-XXX-XXXX
EMAIL:****************@YAHOO.COM
BBB
1601 ELM STREET, STE 3838
DALLAS, TX. XXXXX
ANSWER TO COMPLAINT: 12-31-2013
RE: CASE# ********* ******** ********
Up-Rite Foundation has a A + record with the BBB sense 1994.
We take great care on every job we are contracted to do. We do
over 100 jobs a year. ***** ******* the owner meet with home
owner ******** ******** on XX-XX-XXXX and went over (extra
charges).
Up-Rite Foundation had found there were plumbing leaking and
causing big voids under house that was unforeseen. I could not
do void fill for the original $ 1,800.00 dollars estimated on start
date of job. ******** and I talked and agreed that with the two
extra 2 holes added and some tunneling we had to do to install
piers that was not in contract. The labor and material on drain, I
explained to ******** that after plumbing repairs were done that
there would even be more voids under house were dirt was
going to be dug out. Also what dirt that has washed out do to
leaking pipes, that the extra drain work and piers. The void fill
was going to cost extra $ 2,750.00. This was the reason we meet
on the 10-12-2013. She owns the house and agreed to pay for
the extra work needed . At that time on the XX-XX-XXXX the job
total charges left for her to owe was $7,800.00 dollars. At the
time she paid half of which was $ 4,000.00 she owed. We
continued to work on leveling and patching back concrete to
make ready for void filling. We both agreed that after plumber
was finished repairing leaks under slab, ******** would call us
back when plumbing was fixed. To repair drain and finishlandscaping around drain pipes, an void fill under slab. The
drain repair for labor and material was not included in contract.
The contract states that it would be extra charge. We have not
been paid for drain work are the two extra piers, an extra sand
and Portland needed to complete job. I waited (6) weeks for
plumbers to complete there job. Up-Rite Foundation was
scheduled to return on XX-XX-XXXX and finish foundation repairs
on XX-XX-XXXX per conversation by email on 11-15-2013. ********
call on XX-XX-XXXX and cancelled work said she was not paying
for extra two piers and labor an material drain an for any extra
void fill needed to finish job. She also said she was going to get
another estimate on void filling then let me know what other
estimate was. Before she had done this she filled a complaint
.The contract started out at $ 10,210.00 plus extra for drain
replacement which came to the amount of $12,900.00 she has
paid only $9,120.00 of which the other owed is $3,800.00 to
complete job and finish paying for piers and drain and extra
sand, dirt for void filling around pipes and under house where
repairs were made after contract was signed. Also gutters
where not on contract for any repair. We have done over
$9,100.00 worth of work. Up- Rite was scheduled to do extra
work on 12-21-2013. ******** ******** is the one who canceled
the day before and stated she could get the work done at a
cheaper price. I told her no company could do it cheaper. I asked
her consult with another company. She filled complaint on 1222-
2013 the day after Up-Rite was to complete work.
Thank you,
***** *******



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Up-Rite Foundation Repair has not represent to be honest nor trustworthy as stated by advertisement Mission Statement.
On, May 31, 2013, Wes ******* visited my house, in order to evaluate the condition of the foundation and to provide a proposal for foundation repairs, if warranted. He conducted a complete floor elevation of my house, while using a Compu Level (zip level) equipment. Up-Rite recommended the installation of 16 interior piers throughout the central portion of the house, as well as the garage for a total of $9,700.00. On September 9, 2013, Up-Rite (Wes *******) re-visited my residence at my request, to provide an additional proposal for additional foundation repairs, for a total of $10,210.00, contract was signed and repairs commenced on September 30, 2013, and continued for four days. Up-Rite returned on October 12, 2013 for the final repairs and completion of the exterior of the house. I was notified that afternoon while at my grandson game, Up-Rite owner ***** ******* was at my residence waiting to talk to me, I left the game to meet with Mr. *******. When I arrived he introduced himself and said "I am at your mercy", can we talk in private. Mr. *******, quoted "we underestimated the bid and it's going to take more time and money to complete this job". He repeated multiple times that the equipment (Compu- Level) that Wes ******* used must be defected is why the number are way off. He mentioned Void-fill fees, additional piers. I do not posses any information as to the locations of these reported additional remedial piers. He requested an additional $3460.00 on which he hand scratched on the original contract. Original contract includes the void-fill fee for a total of $1,800.00. Original contract total $10,210.00, in which check for total of $5120.00 was paid, September 30,2013, second check for $4,000.00 was paid October 12,2013. On, October 17, 2013, Plumbing Services visited my residence to perform testing of the sanitary waste system following the recent foundation repairs conducted, breaks were located and repaired. ***** ******* initially mentioned that Up-Rite Foundation had found there were plumbing leaking and that was causing big voids under house that was unforeseen. I contacted my house insurance for an evaluation of the residence they hired a plumber and structural engineer to conduct an evaluation of my residence. November 13, 2013, I notified Up-Rite foundation that I wanted to schedule a completion date for the repairs at my residence. Up-Rite would not commit to a date until I talked to ***** *******. Up-Rite mailed me an additional contract for me to sign and include half of the amount for mud-jacking for a total of $3,840.00. After receiving contract in the mail I called and spoke to Mr. ******* about the original contract agreement, his respond was I can not come back out to your house and complete the work without the additional fee, I am losing money and can not complete it for the $1,800.00 on the original contract. I never cancelled the contract with Up-Rite foundation. Up-Rite foundation none respond to complete the foundation repairs is why I contacted BBB to file a complaint. Mr. ******* inconsistencies with the various reason the money is due, has me confused, first it's for the additional piers, then mud-jacking and now drain work and now he claims I cancelled work with Up-Rite when they were going to complete work (XX-XX-XX). This is not a true statement by Mr. *******. Instead, I waited for his respond to BBB, to reply after BBB made a second attempt is when he replied. Up-Rite has no loyalty to the customer, but I guess when you repair over 100 houses a year one unhappy customer is acceptable. Thanks Up-Rite foundation I had to cancel all of my family plans this holiday season due to the unfinished foundation work (holes, dirt piled on my driveway and entryway unfinished) at my residence.
unsatisfied customer

Final Consumer Response

06/26/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues
07/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
******** ** ******
*** ******* ******
***** ***** ** XXXXX
June 10,2015
Dear Better Business Bureau,
I am writing to you to lodge a complaint against the Up-Rite Foundation Repair
Company which is located at 1380 F.M. 1389 N. in Combine Tx XXXXX.
The owner's name is Tommy *******. The home and office phone number are XXX-XXX-
4 782. They have on their contract that they are listed with you and I thought that was a
good recommendation.
I contacted them because, I noticed some cracks beginning in my walls and I was not able
to open and close my doors with ease. Mr. Wes ******* came out to my home and wrote an
estimate for the work. The final total was $7,500.00
On 9-18-14 I paid $3,775.00 and the balance was paid on 9-26-14. My twin sister, *****
********* actually loaned me this money to help me with this problem. ,
Several months later, I wasn't able to open my back door so I called Wes ******* who
came over and sanded my back door and everything was fine. I took off work for bim to
do this for me and I believed everything was fixed. About two months later, all three
doors that were originally stuck were stuck again so this time I called the office p~one
number and spoke with the owners wife. She assured me that they would fix the doors as
soon as possible. I asked her for an approximate date, because I would have to take off
work or else wait for vacation time. She told me that she would have her husban4 Tommy
******* contact me. I
When Mr. ******* called me he was so rude even yelling at me to "read my contra~t" and
that "it was an act of God." I said, "here I am 72 years old and I paid you $7,500.00 and
you will not even fix my doors which is the reason I contacted you in the first place."
They also damaged 17 pieces of ceramic tile that I am having to replace, because of
drilling holes and taking up the tiles.
He was so rude I just had to hang up the phone or else just start crying. My neighbor,
***** **** has fixed two of my doors and is working on the third door.
So, I am writing to you for some help or advice with this company. I choose not to speak
with them again.
I
Thank you! ******** ** ******

Business Response
Please see attached.

10/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unfinished work! Non comunication. No lifetime transferable warranty to a new owner. If I die. Unsupervised work. No inspection after work by him.
On July 3, 2012, I talked with ***, the owner and signed the contract. I paid $7,000.00 in the beginning, and $6,690.00 later. He has never talked to me or come back for a final inspection. They never finished the job. He promised a lifetime transferable warranty, which to this date I have not seen. I have called his wife and daughter but he refuses to call or talk with me. The west side of my home is exactly like it was before his crew started the work. He promised he could fix it and that I would be able to contact him and talk with him at any time. That was not true. There was a work boss that would not or could not speak with me on the job. I am 70 years old now. He should finish work on my home. I Paid.

Desired Settlement
He needs to come out here and finish the job he promised. Leveling the west end of my home. Give me my lifetime transferable warranty. He needs to finish the job he started or give me back half of my money so I can have someone else finish the work. I am getting tired of not being able to paint inside my home for two years, because there may be more cracks in my walls. I am afraid he will be mad and do more bad work or hurt the house someway.

Business Response
view attachment

Industry Comparison| Chart

Foundation Repair & House Leveling, Foundation Inspection, Foundation Contractors, Drainage Contractors, Mud Jacking Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/28/1994Business started: 01/01/1979
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tommy Garrett (Owner)
Business Category

Foundation Repair & House Leveling, Foundation Inspection, Foundation Contractors, Drainage Contractors, Mud Jacking Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Up-Rite Foundation

1380 Fm 1389 N

Combine, TX 75159-5403

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 1380 Fm 1389 N 

    Combine, TX 75159-5403

  • 12511 C F Hawn Fwy 

    Dallas, TX 75253-5910

  • 504 S Bryan Belt Line Rd Ste 112 

    Mesquite, TX 75149-5067

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Up-Rite Foundation is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Foundation Repair & House Leveling

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.