BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/22/2005

Cornerstone Foundation Repair, Inc

Phone: (214) 724-7641Fax: (972) 437-4662738 Greenhaven Dr, RichardsonTX 75080-3102 Send email to Cornerstone Foundation Repair, Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/22/2005

BBB has determined that Cornerstone Foundation Repair, Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Cornerstone Foundation Repair, Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
05/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Repair Complaint Issue

Complaint: Purchased house <1 year ago based on Cornerstone Foundation statements & inspection that they will honor standbehind recent work. Issues..no support
Prior to purchasing house at **** ******* in Plano the previous owner discloused that they had a lot of foundation work done by Corunstone Foundation. This was a big issue in the purchase of the home in June of last year. The previous owner and real estate agent contacted Locke of Cornerstone and he can out to house and said all looked good and he and his compeny would honor the previous work (believe done June of 2012) but also suggested addtional piers may want to consider adding. So we purchased the house based on the commitment from Locke of Corestone. We are doing remodeling and contacted Locke and other companies for bids. During review found that most of the work Cornerstone completed is more than one inch lower then the rest of the house and other contractors said it needed to be raised and you can see cracks. Locke said he would adjust some of the piers with new purchaes of seven other piers. Now is saying he is not doing anything.

Initial Business Response
Cornerstone installed 15 piers in a section in the front of the house. At the time of completion the original owner was completely satisfied and paid in full. The piers that have been installed have not moved whatsoever since installation. At that time the piers were installed and the house was raised to the best possible level. Anything more will cause flooring, sheet rock, and other items to be damaged. We offer a limited lifetime warranty with all work performed. Free adjustment within the first 24 months. This warranty is good for the original owner. We do however offer a warranty transfer for $100. Our policy is that this transfer needs to be done within 90 days of owner transfer. It is now almost a year later. This was all explained to the homeowner on multiple occasions. But the homeowner continues to contact several other foundation repair companies after I have explained his specific situation and how it pertains to the work we have competed. To be clear, our warranty guarantees that the piers we install will not move or shift. If they do, then we will adjust them for free within the first 24 months. After 24 months there is a $100 per pier adjustment fee. The home owner continues to insist that we raise the piers an additional one inch from where they are now. The warranty does not cover this request. In addition, if we do so, there will be damage to the house. The compromise that Cornerstone is willing to make is this. If the homeowner hires an independent structural engineer of his choice that indicates we can lift the house an additional one inch we will do so at no charge. A representative from Cornerstone must be present to consult with the engineer at that time to discuss previous work done, additional work requested, and any questions that the engineer may have. In addition, we will transfer the warranty for $100 regardless of if the piers are adjusted or not. Regardless of what the engineer reports, we will not be responsible for any damage caused by the adjustment of these piers.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Foundation Repair & House Leveling, Construction & Remodeling Services, Foundation Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/22/2005Business started: 01/01/2003
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lokie Perez (Owner)
Business Category

Foundation Repair & House Leveling, Construction & Remodeling Services, Foundation Contractors

Industry Tips
BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Home Improvements

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cornerstone Foundation Repair, Inc

738 Greenhaven Dr

Richardson, TX 75080-3102

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 738 Greenhaven Dr 

    Richardson, TX 75080-3102(214) 724-7641

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cornerstone Foundation Repair, Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Foundation Repair & House Leveling

BBB Warns Spring Time Brings Home Improvement Scams
Home Improvements
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.