BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Burke Stripling Company

Find a Location

Phone: (817) 400-0274Fax: (817) 993-0337View Additional Phone Numbers2205 W Division St STE G5, ArlingtonTX 76012-3655 Send email to Burke Stripling Company

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

On 11/09/2015 this company's accreditation in BBB was revoked by BBB's Board of Directors due to failure to respond to one or more customer complaints filed with the BBB.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Burke Stripling Company include:

  • One complaint filed against business that was not resolved.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service10
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Burke Stripling Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 4 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
11/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

work performed on my home in 2012 failed in May, 2015. Have been unable to have the work completed as of yet. Work was to start Oct 5, 2014.
I made frequent contact with the business starting in May of 2015 once it was determined repair work had failed. contacted the office staff continuously until **** ********* finally managed to come to the house to view the damage. We were told then to wait until the ground dried after all the rain before determining what needed to be done per an engineer's recommendation. Told to contact office in July 2015 and the calls began with no response from **** ********* with various excuses, i.e. on vacation, in a meeting, etc. Finally spoke with **** the end of July, we decided to get an engineer's evaluation prior to repair which I paid $525.00 in August. The engineer sent the report which they state they never received, spoke with the engineer to no avail (****'s office staff). We sent the engineer an email requesting report be resent and received it promptly. That was the second week of September. Finally spoke with the office staff once again, was told I will call you right back with no response EVER!. After threatening litigation a contract and an estimate was sent to me which I promptly returned. This was the third week of September. Received a call upon receipt of the contract and was informed **** would need half of the amount for repair for $2,300.00 before they could place the work on the calendar. That was the last week of September. I was told at that time the date was Oct. 5. I took a day off from work twice to be home for the supposedly scheduled repairs and no call ever came, no one ever showed up to perform the work. finally got a call someone would be here on October 10 to demo the garage floor to enable repair which was done by the subcontractor. Then there was no one here on Monday. received an email apologizing but no one would be here until Wednesday, today Oct 14 first thing in the morning. It is now 1030, calls to the office have yielded no answers and no one is here. Can you please advise on what I can do next besides going to court. I just want my home fixed and my life back to a semblance of order.

Desired Settlement
I am looking for mediation from the BBB to accomplish what I haven't been able to do as of yet.

Final Consumer Response
I have fired the company from the repair and I have requested a refund and now they are having their attorney contact me. This company does not have any customer service skills in the least. I thank you for trying, and I wish others the best of luck in their dealings with this company.
****** ** ****

10/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

A one day job started Sept. X XXXX. It is now Oct. X XXXX and the job is not finished but is paid in full!!
I contacted HOME ADVISORS they provided contacts for the service (concrete slab leveling), of these I chose ***** ********* & Co. A sales rep came and looked over the job site. He quoted me 2400 for poly or 1600 for mud jacking, he told me that they would fill the void between the foundation and the slab and also lift the sagging walk in front of my house. I chose poly. I received a copy of the estimate dated Aug.4 I called the company for a start date and was told I wouldn't be on their schedule until they received a 1200 dollar deposite. I received a copy of the deposite dated Aug. 19 It said I would be contacted on Mon. Aug. 24. A schedule was set but not kept! After excuses and delays the owner came to my house to discuss the situation, he said that they could do mud rightaway but poly was several weeks out. I switched to mud. thc crew showed up on Sept.4, the sunroom/patio work was done except for filling the void. Holes were drilled on my front walk the pumping started and the walk broke. work stopped the company was called and I was told that they would be back on Tues. Sept.8. The company asked if I would pay the remaining 1200 balance, I reminded them that the quote for mud was only 1600 and I should only owe a 400 balance. the owner checked with the sales rep and agreed, then I was asked to pay the 400$. LIKE A FOOL I PAYED. I was told again that the crew would be back on Tues. Sept.8. No one came on the agreed upon date and I have been trying ever since to get a completion date.
I called 9/8 @4:07pm left message
I called 9/9 @10:22am left message
I called 9/11 @9:26am-2:32pm left message
I called 9/16 @8:37am-10:57am left message
I called 9/17 @8:53am the other# @8:55 left message
I called 9/18 @10:34am the other # @10:36 left message
I called 9/21 @9:08am left message
I called 9/22 @3:37pm I was told they would be out on Wed.23 or Sat.26, no show either day, that is the last communication I have attempted with the company.

Desired Settlement

Final Consumer Response
**E-mail response**

11/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I was told I would receive full refund over three months ago.
I hired Burks Stripling X-XX-XXXX to fix my foundation. I paid half of $4,100 up front. At the end of April they still had not showed up. I asked for refund. Was told I would get a full refund on 5-29-2015.On 7-30-2015, I was told the check is in the mail. I have made three attempts to contact them since. It is now 8-18-2015. I still have not received my refund.

Desired Settlement
I just want Burks ********* to refund my money.

Business Response
When I spoke to Mr. ******, I told him that we would return his deposit, however that we were in a cash crisis. To date, we still have a cash shortage, but will have his full deposit on or before 12/31/2015.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The last conversation I had with ****, I was told I would have a check by the end of the week. Two weeks later. I called his Office and was told the check was in the mail. Now it's on or before the last day of the year. The only thing I will accept is a cleared check in the bank.

05/06/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

After months of poor communication, delays in starting the project, and 2 failed inspections I cancelled my contract with them and am seeking refund.
I signed a contract with them on 10/26/2015 and was instructed by Courtney that the only way to move forward and be put on the calendar was to pay 50% down. I mailed check number 0201 in the amount of $2,540 that same week. Courtney scheduled me for a day around mid-November. We were at risk for cancelling that date because in order to get a town permit Burke ********* had to include approval from the Home Owner's Association. I completed the necessary paperwork and received HOA approval and forwarded Courtney the approval on November 9th. When I did not hear back from her after a few days I called the office to find out she had been fired and that there was no record of me being scheduled anywhere. Keith and Christi ***** were trying to fix the scheduling problems. However, this began weeks of me e-mailing and calling for updates on when I could be scheduled because no one from the office was taking the initiative to call me.They didn't obtain the permit until 12/07/2015 and I was finally scheduled for mid-December. Keith called me the morning of the day of demolition saying the project foreman was sick and they did not know when they could reschedule me. I became frustrated and angry because I had put down such a large deposit and all I had gotten up to this point was poor communication, delays in scheduling, and excuse after excuse. Christi and I had a number of discussions where I voiced my concerns and I even messaged Mark on 12/14/2015 outlining my complaints about Keith and the company. I messaged him again later that afternoon (12/14/2015) because at this point I wanted as little to do with the company and I was tired of the delays. This message was regarding cancelling the mudjacking portion of our agreement. I signed a revised agreement with them on 12/15/2015 which was for driveway work only at this point since I had cancelled the mudjacking and the city did not approve the 2 other small concrete projects I had wanted. This put the balance I would have owed at $1,670 instead of another $2,540. Christi e-mailed me on 12/16/2015 offering to schedule me for demolition the first week in January; we settled on Tuesday 01/05/2016. They began demolition of my driveway that day. The digging tractor was left blocking the sidewalk and lots of mud was left in the street in front of my home. The inspector came the next day and it failed inspection on multiple points. Mark spoke with the inspector directly on my cell phone and the inspector told him the mud and tractor were a problem and if they weren't moved/fixed the next day he would be fined. He didn't and the company was fined. They came out later that week to add things to pass inspection, but they failed a second time. I was 3 weeks without a driveway. On 01/22/2016 I called Mark and cancelled the contract. I was tired of their delays and 2 failed inspections was a huge red flag. He verbalized he would call me on Monday to discuss refund. He and I never spoke, but Christi contacted me only after I had to initiate contact with her. Mark never e-mailed or called me throughout all this. Christi said a $600 refund was being offered. I felt it low and that he did not do $2,000 worth of work. When I requested an accounting of what the exact charges were to justify their refund amount they stopped contact altogether. I showed up at the office, unannounced, on 02/03/2016 to get an answer. Mark offered no accounting, told me he or a lawyer would contact me. After 2 weeks and no contact I sent him a certified letter which he received 02/24/2016. It was regarding a refund around $1,000 with details as to how and why I came to that amount. He has not replied, nor has a lawyer, to my certified letter. I began making preparations to take him to small claims court. I contacted the state comptroller's office (XXX-XXX-XXXX) and was told that they have not updated their paperwork since 2009 and they are currently "non-compliant" and should not be practicing business in the state.

Desired Settlement
I would like BBB to help facilitate communication with **** ********* in order to get a $1,000 refund. **** and his office manager, Christi Frick, have stopped responding to calls or e-mails, and I even sent **** a certified letter which was signed for on 2/24/2016. He never replied to my letter. I am wanting **** to show some accounting as to why he was only willing to refund $600. I believe **** is dishonest and that he is either overcharging me on supplies or the demolition (or both), or is even trying to make me pay for the fines he incurred from the Town of Little Elm while working on my project. Those are the only things that help explain why he would refund such a small amount of a $2,540 deposit. I am prepared to take this to small claims court if this matter cannot be resolved through the BBB.

Business Response
We have spoken with ******* ******* and worked out a settlement. A check will be issued to her in the amount of $800 per our agreement. I emailed her today and a document outlining the agreement will be issued to her, followed by the check.

Consumer Response
I called the office on April 7th to inquire about the absolute lack of contact on their part when I have sent e-mails, a certified letter, and filed a BBB complaint. Christi told me she would tell **** to contact me. No contact came, so on 4/13 I e-mailed **** directly. This sparked a series of e-mail exchanges between **** and myself to resolve the refund issue. He offered $800 now instead of the previous $600 from months ago. After speaking with my husband we agreed to take the $800 offer. Our family is making major decisions right now and we have decided to move. If our family weren't in crisis mode right now I strongly feel I would have taken this to small claims court (I had already begun the research and spoken with a lawyer) to receive the full $1,000. In our recent exchanges I still asked for an accounting and he still did not provide one. His lack of offering information is suspicious and I still feel he is lying and is being dishonest. His website still advertises that they are BBB accredited even though they are NOT. He is also non-compliant with the state comptrollers office. The registered agent with the state is a man named BJ Butcher and ****'s parents, Earl and Thomasine *********, are listed as the Board Members. It currently states on ****'s website that he took over as President in 1990 and yet the state's paperwork does not reflect this change, which by law he was supposed to update. I strongly hope BBB will take action against a company who claims to be connected with your agency when he is absolutely no longer accredited. As of today, Monday 04/18 I have not received a confirmation e-mail from **** acknowledging my acceptance of his amount. It is my hope it can be resolved this week and that the check will be mailed promptly.

11/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Concrete immediately sank following mudjacking. The business is not honoring their warranty.
I had work done by this company on 3/16/15. About 3 months later I began contacting them because my sidewalk had began to sink again. The work they did previously was an eye sore, they used bright white concrete on top of a regular looking sidewalk. I called several times and eventually over the course of a month I got a hold of someone. They scheduled me far out until September 4th. On September 3rd they called and canceled saying they were having equipment problems. They re-scheduled for 9/19/15. They no call-no showed on that date. I called and left messages on numerous numbers for them. No response. I attempted to call today and all phones either go to voicemail or to voicemails that are full.

Desired Settlement
I want them to either fix my sidewalk correctly or give me my money back. My sidewalk looks worse than when they came out originally.

Business Response
We would like to schedule with the customer to re-do their work. Attempted to call to day 11/19/2015 to schedule, but have not connected with the customer.

When we patch the drill holes on any mudjacking job, we make no warranty regarding "matching" concrete color. In fact, our paper work states that the patched concrete will "NOT" match.

We can have a crew service the work the week of Nov. 30-Dec. 4.

10/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Service performed caused damage and seeking remediation of damaged property.
I signed a contract in April 2015 to have ***** ********* mud jack a patio to it's original level. It took multiple trips and phone calls before the job was performed correctly.

I was not notified before their crews arrived and only found out work had been done when I inspected the patio and noticed that holes had been drilled as I had been told that they would be. The patio was not raised and the washed out area was not even filled in completely.

I called them and they came out again, also without notification of when the crew would be there. This time they did fill in the entire void but did not raise the level of the patio as the contract stated.

I called again and this time they did raise the patio to a level position. The process damaged a retaining wall which I was told that it would not.

I have been in contact with the company multiple times via email and phone since May of 2015. I have spoken to multiple people and the owner has even been out to inspect the damage. He told me that he or the office manager would be out with a crew to repair it early the next week (July 27-31). On the 29th, I still had not heard from them so I called. I was told that the owner would call me back. I never received a call back so I called again on the 30th. I called daily through August 7th but wasn't able to speak to anyone on the 6th or 7th of August (no answer, no voicemail). I have not received any communication from the company via email or phone and am trying to get the retaining wall remediated as I was told they would.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the company to either send someone out to repair the damage that they caused or I would like a refund so that I can hire another company to fix the damage.

Business Response
We contracted to mudjack a slab, patio for the customer. After mudjacking the area, the customer was not satisfied with the result, so we serviced the area twice. The area in question is a railroad tie that is serving as a small retaining wall which was pushed out from mudjacking. We have no control over this due to the nature of what we do. Our job is to fill concrete voids, and or lift the concrete which is exactly what we did. Our contract states that we are not responsible for damage that occurs during lifting. Also, the railroad ties were not damaged by us, just moved outward during the lifting and void filling.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The retaining wall in question is not railroad ties. It is a wooden retaining wall that is held in place by four foot metal fence posts, cemented two feet into the ground. I offered to move the retaining wall before they began work but was told that it wasn't necessary as their work would not have any impact on the retaining wall.
The process shifted the retaining wall and placed pressure on both sides. After more than two months of trying to get it repaired, the owner finally came out to look at it. He mentioned that he could have an unskilled crew come out and dig out the retaining wall but would be out of town for the rest of the week. He said that when he returned, he would get it on the schedule to be done. I waited until the middle of the next week to contact him as I had not heard when it would be scheduled for. I got a different story every time that I called. After a week of daily phone calls, no one answered when I called so I sent an email. When that went unanswered, I assumed that the business had no interest in resolving the issue so I filed the complaint.

09/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Did not complete the job as promised by Owner and Sales Rep.
Originally met with ***** *****, sales rep, and walked the property 3 full times in order to make sure that every need was addressed. With all things agreed upon we gave a deposit of $3,100.00 with the balance to be paid upon completion and holding a signed contract.

The work has not been completed and Mr. **** Stipling, came out to meet with myself and the President of our Association. We walked the property together and Mr. ********* agreed that the work was not completed and that the very next day, workers would be out to complete the job. This did not happen and have left several messages with the office and Mr. ********* for a return call and have not yet received a return call nor has the job been completed. We paid the balance of $3,100.00 in good faith trusting Mr. *********'s word to be true. The contract was signed in May 23, 2015 it has now been more than 3 months and are still awaiting completion of this job.

Desired Settlement
We just want them to finish the job they started and were paid in full for.

Business Response
We contracted with ********/Arlington ***** ***** and mudjacked sidewalks/walkways for them. We went back on two occasions to take care of a couple of areas that apparently were either missed or miscommunicated. We have an appointment again to see ******** on 09/14/2015 to resolve the issue and will update after the meeting.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
An appointment was scheduled for September 14th however, Mr. ********* was not able to make the appointment, I returned his call to see when we could reschedule and never received a call back from him to reschedule. I contacted his office on September 15, to speak with the young lady there and she has rescheduled. Will see if we connect on this next appointment Monday, September 21.

08/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Work not completed properly. Warranty not honored
I contracted to have my driveway and front sidewalk to be repaired in may 2014. The work has been completed. The driveway repair has been completed. The sidewalk repair has not been completed properly. I raised a concern on the sidewalk repair via email on 5.24.14. I was told by company that repair would work and if it did not they would re-repair. The repair did not work. I have contacted **** and company numerous times. Sent photos to the office manager, called **** multiple times. **** even came to inspect repair in December of 2014 and acknowledged repair did not work. He promised to not leave me hanging multiple times. I have been more than patient to get repair completed properly to no resolution. Please honor your commitments and take care of your business. I have been way more than patient. I would be happy to provide photos if necessary.

Desired Settlement
I wish to have the 1000 I paid for sidewalk repair refunded immediately.

Business Response
This is in response to the complaint filed by **** ****. Our company poured concrete for Mr. **** did some sealing and repaired a small section of decorative concrete that is located between his driveway and front porch. After some time, the decorative repair did not hold due to continual shifting of the soil. My company came and repaired it again. I still could not make the repair hold as the area is constantly shifting. We do not warranty any time of decorative concrete of even new concrete. I feel that we did everything that we could for the customer.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is completely false. They have never returned to repair a second time after they initially completed the job. They agreed to repair and have never shown up. I have called repeatedly and get no return call. I actually know the sub-contractor who did the work for **** and have contacted him and he tells me he does not work for this company any longer due to issues like this. If you do business with this company beware. They do not follow thru on commitments. I posted this complaint 4/27/2015 and they responded on 8/6/15. That should tell you all you need to know.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Foundation Repair & House Leveling, Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair, Foundation Inspection, Foundation Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Mud Jacking Contractors, Concrete Repair/Leveling, Concrete Contractors, Concrete Pumping Service

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 05/19/2008Business started: 11/18/2010
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Stripling (President)Mr. Keith Brown (Office Manager)
Related Businesses

Business Category

Foundation Repair & House Leveling, Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair, Foundation Inspection, Foundation Contractors, Roofing Contractors, Mud Jacking Contractors, Concrete Repair/Leveling, Concrete Contractors, Concrete Pumping Service

Products & Services

Our services include: foundation repair, concrete raising, pressure grouting/void filling, mud-jacking, concrete replacement, and drainage correction.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:30 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:30 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:30 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:30 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 05:30 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 12:00 PM
Service Area

DFW and surrounding areas.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Burke Stripling Company

2205 W Division St STE G5

Arlington, TX 76012-3655

To | From


2 Locations

  • 2205 W Division St STE G5 

    Arlington, TX 76012-3655

  • 409 Lillard Rd STE B 

    Arlington, TX 76012-3697

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in North Central Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Burke Stripling Company is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (817) 228-0437
  • (817) 993-0337

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (817) 386-0777

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Foundation Repair & House Leveling


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.