BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/23/2009

Burke Stripling Company

Phone: (817) 400-0274Fax: (817) 993-0337View Additional Phone Numbers409 Lillard Rd STE B, ArlingtonTX 76012-3697 Send email to Burke Stripling Company

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/23/2009

BBB has determined that Burke Stripling Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Burke Stripling Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Burke Stripling Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
01/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Concrete repairs to driveway & garage entrance. Home walkway was raised too excessive and uneven level by mud-jacking 4/18/14 and not acceptable.
I have been very patient with the owner after several delays for scheduling and apologies. I travel weekly and my time at home is very limited. The Work was performed without my presence. The job was completed before my return home as no ETA was given until they had started, I find this to be very unprofessional. Payment of $945.00 for the work was made by credit card transaction on 4/21/14 by wire with a 2.5% fee. I have made several phone calls to the company for resolution of repairs and correcting the walkway repairs which the owner acknowledged that they would correct per my request. I have offered to pay additional expense for materials for correctly leveling my side walk entrance to my home. The walkway was raised to the entrance like a handicap ramp (was not request) and slanted on one side and cracked and raised at the bottom. Pictures can be uploaded for viewing details of the damage. I understand the contractor accepts no liability for any damage that may occur during the raising but they do have a commitment to perform the work in a satisfactory manner as advertised.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that the company make good on its warranty as stated on the agreement. Repair or replacement of damaged concrete walkway is needed to restore the walkway to the original level for safe entrance to the home without having a hazardous obstacle. I have offered to pay for additional work and owner has stated that he would absorb some of the cost? No contact communications from this company has been received to date after phone calls for responsive action or commitment.

Business Response
RE: ***** ******.

We did concrete raising on Mr. ******'s home to level the driveway, walkway, and garage apron. The work was completed in March 2014. The slab has experienced some sinking again especially at the apron. We have communicated with Mr. ****** and have retuned to inspect and take pictures of the area. We have offered to re-raise the area's, honoring the warranty even though Mr. ****** did not properly seal the joints/cracks as required by our warranty.
We are still willing to re-raise the area's to resolve any dissatisfaction from the customer.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The drive way has sunken again after a second service visit to level it in August. I respectfully disagree that the joints were not sealed even though it was not a requirement in the written agreement as stated. I have sealed the cracks as much as possible but the concrete drive continues to sink at the apron and sealing the joints is hopeless as the driveway keeps dropping.
Secondly, the Walkway was never fixed as I requested on their second visit to raise the driveway in August. It is a hazard as it was over-raised (over-compensated) and now resembles a wheelchair ramp (Which I did not request) and left at a slant.
I specifically tried to discuss the issue with the workers and asked the owner on their mobile phone while his work crew was on site. The work crew did not speak English well enough to understand what I requested to be repaired. At this point the owner stated that "he would take care of it". I offered to share some of the cost to have the damaged walkway section (approximately 4 feet square) removed and replaced with new concrete.
I can furnish photos of the walkway and drive to visually show what was done. I have not received any verbal or written communication from this contractor other than the owner's business card that was left on my front door last month without a message. There is no mention of repairs for the walkway in their response to repair the driveway.

I am requesting that the company submit a written work plan for an amicable solution and that they provide an English speaking supervisor or crew member on site in order to have the work done correctly as originally requested.


Final Consumer Response
12/11/2014,

Even though the BBB organization has closed this complaint the business company has not responded in a timely manner by email or phone call to repair may driveway as agreed and written in the warranty contract.

***** D ******
************
*******@msn.com

Final Business Response
I answered the initial complaint with Mr. ****** agreeing for us to come back, and re-raise the concrete to correct area's that had dropped. He called and left a message I then called him to schedule, but never heard back. Time went by and we're now back to an "unresolved" status.

I am still willing to send out a crew to resolve the issue. I'd like to point out that we require that all raised concrete must be "sealed" to prevent the warranty from being voided as stated in our agreement. When I last inspected the work, the concrete was unsealed. I'd like to get him scheduled, and completed/resolved. I will require that the concrete be sealed once the service is completed.

10/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A promised refund of deposit for poor quality work to replace our driveway that was made July 7, 2014 has not been received.
On 3/20/14, we contracted with ***** ********* Co. to replace our driveway and gave them a $4762.57 deposit. The work was performed 4/9-11/14. The work was very poor quality.

On 4/12/14 we informed Mr. ********* of the inferior quality. He promised to make it right. In fact, up until the time he promised a refund he agreed to make it right and we took confidence in his promises. Mr. ********* agreed after seeing the finished product that "we should expect better" and agreed to rework and replace the driveway at his cost. Also note that the men who actually poured the concrete agreed "we should better" when they came to see the finished product on 4/13/14 after being directed by Mr. ********* to inspect the product.

We insisted on seeing similar work he had performed prior to start of the rework. Mr. ********* made available to us a residence where we could inspect the work quality and this inspection was performed 6/11/14.

On 6/16/14 even though the concrete finish was not exactly what we wanted we agreed to accept the level of quality presented to us. Mr. ********* was informed on many occasions of the concrete finish we desired. Quality here refers primarily to the density of the exposed aggregate visible. We desired a very dense aggregate to match existing concrete work at our home. There were delays in scheduling the rework caused by us and weather and perhaps even Mr. ********* but I cannot recall exactly.

On 7/6/14, an email was sent to Mr. ********* asking him to agree that the finish of the reworked concrete would be equal to or better than the work we were shown on 6/11/14. Also we asked he agree to leave property clean and in a condition equal that at the time the rework started. The initial work left the property extremely dirty and in bad shape requiring over 5 hours of work by 3 people to clean. Mr. ********* responded on 7/7/14 to say he could not agree to the new terms asked for and "Because of the way the first job turned out, I know that I am under micro-supervision and I am not going to put myself under that pressure." In tehe same email he later said, "I will refund your deposit check of $4762.57."

On 7/7/14 I responded to Mr. ********* accepting his decision to refund our deposit and I asked at that time for him tell us when to expect the refund.

On 7/20/14, I informed Mr. ********* by email that we cannot proceed forward with a new contractor until the refund promised was received. I ask he tell me when he would send the refund. An Outlook email read receipt form Mr. Mr. ********* was received 7/20/14.

On 7/30/14, we asked Mr. ********* to deliver the promised refund or inform us when to expect the refund no later than 8/8/14. No Response from Mr. *********.

It is 8/12/14. I still have no response from Mr. *********.

We have throughout the ordeal relied on the promises of Mr. ********* to make it right and failing that the promise of a full refund. He failed to keep both promises.

The resolution to this problem is the refund of our full deposit of $4762.57.

Thank you.

******* *********
8/12/14

Desired Settlement
Settlement sought is the promised refund of our entire deposit of $4762.57.

Business Response
My company poured a driveway for ******* ********. It was a washed aggregate, (pea gravel) finish that had some discoloration on the top layer of the concrete. I looked at the job afterwards and agreed that this was the case. Structurally, the concrete was sound. I sent a crew over to power-wash the concrete, but the customer was not satisfied with the result. I suggested that we put sealer on the concrete to bring out the colors of the aggregate and to provide luster to the concrete, however, this was also unacceptable to the customer.
At some point I agreed to refund the deposit that the customer had paid, however after additional consideration, I feel that this is not fair since the concrete is sound and usable. The customer wanted me to re-pour the concrete, guaranteeing the spacing and size of the aggregate. I began to feel that their expectations were not possible and I didn't want to repeat the process again.

I do want to resolve the complaint and would be willing to apply sealer as described at no additional cost to the homeowner.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Foundation Repair & House Leveling, Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair, Roofing Contractors, Foundation Inspection, Foundation Contractors, Concrete Pumping Service, Concrete Repair/Leveling, Concrete Contractors, Mud Jacking Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/19/2008Business started: 01/01/1960Business started locally: 01/01/1962
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Stripling (President)Mr. Keith Brown (Office Manager)
Related Businesses

Business Category

Foundation Repair & House Leveling, Driveway Installation, Paving & Repair, Roofing Contractors, Foundation Inspection, Foundation Contractors, Concrete Pumping Service, Concrete Repair/Leveling, Concrete Contractors, Mud Jacking Contractors

Products & Services

Our services include: foundation repair, concrete raising, pressure grouting/void filling, mud-jacking, concrete replacement, and drainage correction.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 05:30 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 05:30 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 05:30 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 05:30 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 05:30 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 12:00 PM
Service Area

DFW and surrounding areas.

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

12 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Burke Stripling Company

409 Lillard Rd STE B

Arlington, TX 76012-3697

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 409 Lillard Rd STE B 

    Arlington, TX 76012-3697

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Burke Stripling Company is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (817) 993-0337
  • (817) 228-0437

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (817) 386-0777
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Foundation Repair & House Leveling

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.