BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/08/2010

Alliance Foundation Repair

(214) 331-21744333 W Jefferson Blvd, DallasTX 75211-4622 Send email to Alliance Foundation Repair

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/08/2010

BBB has determined that Alliance Foundation Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Alliance Foundation Repair's rating include:

  • 5 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Alliance Foundation Repair's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Alliance Foundation Repair

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
01/20/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have tried for two months to get the company to honor my warranty. two months and no one ever shows up and now not answering mycalls.Broken promises
I have tried to two months to get the company to come out to my home and honor my warranty. I have called many times and they make an appointment to come to my home and they never show up. I have called for two months and they will not return my calls and now no answer. The company is avoiding the problem.

Desired Settlement
I would like the company to honor the warranty and do the work that needs to be done. If not then refund my money.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ********, Owner
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************************@gmail.com
Alliance Foundation Repair takes pride in all of our work and customer satisfaction is a priority. Our schedule is dependent upon weather and materials delivery. This customer had one appointment scheduled for an inspection to see what type of problems they were having and determine if an adjustment is necessary and if it is covered under their warranty. The appointment that was scheduled was missed due to a delay in concrete that was scheduled for 11:00am delivery but not received until 4:00pm on the day their appointment was scheduled for. Our customer was having someone else meet us there and I called the number that they left for us when the appointment was scheduled to let them know we would not be able to keep the appointment. After several attempts with no answer I left a voice mail and did not receive a return call. Our phone lines are answered daily, in the evening, and on the weekends. Occasionally if it is forwarded to my cell phone the voice mail may be reached if the phone does not have signal. If a message is left I return the calls promptly. If the customer called from December 29, 2013 through January 06, 2014 there is a possibility that the phone was not answered. There was a death in our immediate family on December 29, 2013, a young person and very unexpected. I did not answer our phones during many of those days, however if someone called and left a message I did return their call the same day. If our customer called on one of these days there was not a message left. In no way was Alliance Foundation Repair avoiding any calls or customers during this time. We are a family owned company. There were arrangements that had to be made and things that had to be taken care of at that time that took priority, however, every call that was missed was returned the same day if a message was left.
In the complaint the customer stated they want us to honor the warranty. Alliance Foundation Repair will make any adjustment that is covered under warranty. For us to address their needs or concerns we need to know that they are. If the customer could please list what problems or issues they are wanting us to honor under warranty it would allow us to meet all of their needs and make sure they are satisfied. If they could please communicate either through the BBB website or our email with the items of concern we will schedule an appointment within 7 days (weather permitting) of receiving the information. We will require the customer to be home. This is important to insure her satisfaction and make certain our company meets all of her needs.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I called company on Feb 3rd 2014 and again Feb 4th and the company returned my call and said they would come out to inspect the home on Feb 7th and they did come to my home. The company said they would come back out and re level the home per our warranty and discussion the week of Feb 17 through the 21st of Feb. Waiting to see if the company is going to do the work as promised. Please leave the complaint open until the work is completed.

12/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failed to hold to agreement. Work was performed and payment was made but Alliance has failed to return to repair what it agreed to do.
Foundation Type: Pier & Beam
1. Add approximately 25 block and pads as necessary for repairs.
2. Remove sill plate at front porch and replace.
3. Lift and shim to raise back as close as possible to a bench position.
4. Create positive drainage to flow away from foundation.

Work will be performed in a professional manner and carries a limited 10 year warranty on work performed by Alliance Foundation Repair. Warranty covers labor and materials for two years. After two years the amount for any necessary adjustment is not to exceed $1,500.00. Alliance's agreement:
Warranty is effective for materials installed by Alliance Foundation Repair and covers any natural settling. Warranty does not cover movement due to plumbing leaks, upheaval, or side movement. Minimal settling should be expected and warranty work will be performed if structural damage is imminent (movement of 1" or greater in 10'). We hereby purpose to furnish all materials and perform all labor for completion of this contract. All materials are guaranteed to be as specified.

Problem:
House is in need of additional adjustments. House has additional movement and settlement resulting in doors not closing, weak spots in flooring resulting in furniture moving when walking thru home. rooms in house out of level 1" within 4 foot. I have called Alliance on several occasions requesting that they return to make adjustments. Adjustments need to be made in re-leveling along with blocking that would stop the (bounce) in the flooring from simply walking thru home.

Desired Settlement
Company to return and repair problems as agreed

Business Response
An adjustment was made on the property on Saturday, December 14, 2013. I spoke with him before and after the adjustment was completed. I emailed Mr. ********* a copy of the his original contract and the items he had concerns with for him to initial and sign. He was going to fax that to me today. I have attached a copy of what he received and the items addressed.
We made an adjustment raising the house back as close as possible to a bench position. The doors were functioning properly with the exception of a new one he had installed and the bounce in the floor was corrected as much as possible at the time the adjustment was performed. We did not install or repair any flooring on this job.
Mr. ********* was advised that we may have to return to make another adjustment at a later date. The ground was wet when the adjustment was made. Ideally, it should be as dry. After the soil drys he may need to have another adjustment made to keep doors functioning properly and prevent movement in the floor.
I spoke with Mr. ********* before and after the adjustment was made and believe he is satisfied at this time.
As of the time of this email I have not received the fax, however, I think he was faxing it from work or another location and he may not have had time to send it.
I did not want to delay in answering the complaint. I believe it has been resolved. If we have not met Mr. *********'s concerns I will work with him to ensure they are met and he is satisfied.

Thank you,
****** ********
Alliance Foundation Repair


See attachment

02/29/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They never return calls, never honored warranty work.
Alliance came highly recommended to us by close friends who had a great experience. We purchased a property via a rehab loan but paid half=12,500 in cash up front to Alliance for foundation repair. The lender paid the other half to close the loan. An inspector sent by the lender came to inspect Alliance's work and gave approval in June of 2013. We realize the lender wasn't very motivated to get the other half of the bill paid but Alliance should know by now that is the nature of the business at no fault of our own and gives them no excuse for their lack of return calls and warranty work, especially when they overcharged us in the first place. We actually began calling them within months of closing as settling issues were already noticed. They became so bad that we called the friends who recommended them who told us to continue calling so we did. Alliance eventually called back and sent the owner out who said yes, you need adjustments so we we'll get you on the schedule. Never did they call. Again, a slew of outgoing calls from us throughout the last 2 years which got us nowhere. We just learned we could report to BBB even if they arent members, otherwise we would have reported long ago. We even considered going to the media. We believe these folks have a grave problem which we will spare them the shame as we are nice people and serve a Mighty God. But indeed they have ruined us by about 75k as we could not sell the property via a realtor and even had several investors back out of sales contracts (as they are allowed to do per contract verbiage) all while dealing w losses of jobs, family illnesses and death. We finally found an investor to buy "as is" for nothing as with no warranty on foundation repair caused it's value to drop 75k. Obviously, Alliance's warranty is only as good as the paper it's written on. Prayer is all we could rely on to get us through this nightmare and hopefully a resolution, albeit too late but we are hopeful being good stewards will pay it forward.

Desired Settlement
Since Alliance caused us to sell "as is", bringing down the value of the home by 75k as the foundation has caused so many other problems, we are seeking monetary restitution as its too late for warranty repair to be done and make repairs to list on the market. We were forced to sell "as is" for 45% below market value. If the foundation warranty was honored, we could have fixed up the rest of the house to get top dollar to sell but Alliance ruined our investment.

Business Response
We were contacted by the homeowner shortly after the repairs were completed, The property was inspected and it had minimal settling not requiring an adjustment. Our contract states general settling should be expected. The homeowner called again in September. The homeowner left a message. I returned his call myself. Our company went out, inspected his foundation and determined an adjustment was needed. The homeowner was told that it would be several weeks before he could be scheduled. Jobs that had been started had to be completed and the ground needed to be dry to complete those jobs as well as make his adjustment. The homeowner was contacted and told we could not do the adjustment with the ground as wet as it was. This area received record breaking rains during this time. We currently have a drain in progress that has started in November that is still under construction due to the ground water. We have jobs that were scheduled in August that have not been started due to ground water. This customer was not overcharged. Our prices are extremely competitive for this industry. We are not the cheapest nor the most expensive. This customer could have declined our proposal if they felt they were being overcharged. This customer did have a warranty from our company. They did not have a transferable warranty which we do offer. Alliance never refused to make the adjustment. We complete jobs that are in progress before moving to another property. Most of our work is scheduled dependent upon the weather which is out of our control. Alliance Foundation Repair in no way forced them to sell the property at a discounted price. The homeowner did have a warranty on the property and it was their choice to sell at that point "as is". Alliance Foundation Repair offers a tranaferable lifetime warranty, however, not all
homeowners choose this. We are sorry for their losses of jobs and offer our condolences for their loss. We do u understand how difficult those life challenges are. Alliance has no control over a customers property or their choice of when to sell. We did not cause them to sell the home nor de we make them take a loss on it. Those where choices made at the homeowner disgression and we would not pay monetary restitution.

01/06/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Alliance failed to honor warranty on faulty repair to foundation
In October of 2005 Alliance Foundation completed foundation repair to property at *** ******** ******** ********** Tx and issued a warranty. One or two years later, problems arouse with foundation repair. I contacted Alliance and ***** ****** from the company met me at the property with his machine and ran some tests. He stated that there was a problem with the repair and that the house needed to be mud jacked and stated that him or the owner, ******* ********, would contact me. I never heard back from either of them so I started calling them. I never could reach a live person so I left many messages. No one ever called me back. In January of 2014, my attorney wrote Alliance a letter requesting that they honor the warranty and fix the problem. Shortly thereafter, I was contacted by Alliance and an engineer and the owner met me at the property. After running their tests, the engineer told the owner there still was a problem. Mr. ******** said before he could start doing the repairs on the foundation he needed to get with a plumbing company and run some tests on the plumbing and he would get with me to set a date for plumber to come to property. Again, no one ever contacted me from Alliance and again no one would ever return my calls and repairs were never made

Desired Settlement
I would prefer that the foundation is repaired properly.

Business Response
The customer called our company for warranty repair and Mr. ****** met the owner at the property for inspection. At the time of the inspection the owner was informed that there were plumbing leaks that needed to be repaired and it would need to be mudjacked after the repairs were made. Movement due to plumbing leaks is not covered under warranty. The owner called again threatening our company with a teemster lawyer. When we received a letter from his attorney we made an appointment with an independent engineer and met the owner at the property. The tenants in the property showed us and the owner where the plumbing was running out of the back of the house. The home owner was informed again that the plumbing needed to be repaired and it would need to be mudjacked and it is not covered under warranty.
Once the plumbing is repaired we are willing to make an adjustment and mudjack where the leaks washed the soil from under the foundation, however, it is not covered under warranty.

07/28/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to honor warranty; will not return phone calls; left 3 large holes beside our foundation.
In 2009, The Alliance Foundation Repair Company told us they repaired our foundation issues. We called them back within approximately 6 months because cracks outside the home reappeared. We have been trying to get them to honor their 'lifetime warranty' for 5 years now. The finally came back in November, 2013 and dug 3 large holes by the foundation and left. We have not heard from them since. My husband has called them almost daily for the last 5 years and leaves a message requesting that they come and complete the work. No one ever calls him back. A few times someone answers and lets him know the date they will be back. No one ever shows up. Our house looks the same if not worse since they 'repaired' our foundation issues.

Desired Settlement
We would like for them to come and honor the warranty and completed the needed repairs or give us a refund so that we can move on and get someone else to make the repairs.

Business Response
This job was completed in 2009. We repaired the foundation after the home owner having plumbing problems and after it being repaired by another foundation company that they said would not come back out. Our company made an adjustment on the property in 2011 and informed the home owner that we believed they had a plumbing leak. There were visible signs of a leak and our pier holes filled with water when we opened them up to make the adjustment. The home owner was advised to have the leak repaired. Our warranty does not cover movement caused from plumbing leaks, however, we did make the adjustment. The home owner called us back in 2013 and said they needed an adjustment. When asked if they leak had been repaired they said they didn't have a leak. We went out to make an adjustment, opened three pier holes which filled with water again. The property also showed other signs of a plumbing leak. We called a plumber, we paid for the test and it showed there was a leak. They called there insurance company and a plumber. The insurance company and the plumber had different locations on where they said the leak was. They repaired a leak where the plumber said it was. We returned to the property on Saturday, July, 12, 2014. They said the leak had been repaired although the open pier holes still had water seeping into them and when we started opening other holes, they had water seeping into them also. We paid again, to have a plumbing company come out and show them that there was a leak. We have already made one adjustment, not covered under warranty for the home owner. We have paid for not one, but TWO plumbing tests showing that they have a leak. They are now getting the leak repaired and we agreed to make an adjustment after the soil dried from the leak. Movement due to plumbing leaks is not covered under our warranty and we had continued to service this customer despite their negative and false statements made to Angie's List and the BBB. We have made one adjustment, paid for two plumbing test in which both showed they had a leak, and made another trip to there house for and adjusment with no charge to this customer. I have told the customer that we would make an adjustment after the soiled dried. I have also explained to them that it is not covered under warranty and that as long as they have plumbing leaks they will continue to have foundation movement. I have also explained to them they will be receiving statement from our company that due to the continuous plumbing leaks our company will not make ANY further adjustments on the foundation and asked them to refer to their warranty. It is very simply stated, it is not in fine print and it is extremely short, but plainly states that movement due to plumbing leaks is not covered under warranty. We have honored the warranty even though there problem is plumbing, not the foundation repair, however, this will not continue.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Foundation Repair & House Leveling, Contractors - Retaining Wall, Foundation Inspection, Foundation Contractors, Drainage Contractors, Concrete Repair/Leveling, Concrete Contractors, Soil Solidification, Mud Jacking Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/05/1997Business started: 03/04/1954
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Darrell Williams (Owner)
Business Category

Foundation Repair & House Leveling, Contractors - Retaining Wall, Foundation Inspection, Foundation Contractors, Drainage Contractors, Concrete Repair/Leveling, Concrete Contractors, Soil Solidification, Mud Jacking Contractors

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PM
Service Area

DFW/Metroplex and East Texas.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Alliance Foundation Repair

4333 W Jefferson Blvd

Dallas, TX 75211-4622

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4333 W Jefferson Blvd 

    Dallas, TX 75211-4622(214) 331-2174

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Alliance Foundation Repair is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Foundation Repair & House Leveling

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.