BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/20/2012

Metroplex Foundation Repair

Phone: (214) 800-2328Fax: (877) 630-84826060 N Central Expy STE 500, DallasTX 75206-5317 Send email to Metroplex Foundation Repair

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/20/2012

BBB has determined that Metroplex Foundation Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Metroplex Foundation Repair's rating include:

  • 21 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Metroplex Foundation Repair's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 21 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

21 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues7
Problems with Product / Service14
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 21

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (21)BBB Closure Definitions
12/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company started work on our house with no signed contract.
We called this company to get a quote. It took multiple calls to get them to call me back to get someone to come out. They came out on Saturday November 8th. They did the measurements and gave us a quote. I let them know that we needed a couple of days to make our final decision because we had quotes from other companies. He said he would reach back out to me next week. Tuesday November 11th they showed up and began work on our home. They knocked once they had already pulled up a flower bed and dug a whole large enough for a man to stand in. At this time my husband told them that we had not told them we were going with them or signed a contract. They called the manager and she disagreed and then noticed her error. They threw the dirt back in the whole left our side flower a mess and left. I tried the remainder of the day to reach them. After multiple messages and 4 different I finally got a response from the sales guy who blamed the office manager. The office manager called me later and blamed the sales guy but offered no solution and was rude and could care less about the error. She said the owner could not call me due to hospitalization but then said she would try to see what she could do at the end. For the rest of the week she said she would get back to me with more information, and nothing has happened. After speaking with another foundation repair company they informed me that engineers come out to the house to complete an engineer report, which this company did not do. The verbally told me that the engineer did not come out, but the engineer just signed off on the drawings.

Desired Settlement
At the least the cost of landscape repair and for this company to be liable for working on a house with no signed contract.

Business Response
Company and Homeowner couldn't come to an agreement and contract was never signed and no money was ever put down for the foundation repair work that was needed.

11/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Performed work on foundation on 10/8/12 that was sub-par. Came out on 9/6/14 to solve the issue but the problem is still there.
We had our initial foundation work completed on 10/8/12 for $3000.00. Foundation work seemed fine until we started having issues in early September 2014 (we have a lifetime warranty). We placed a call to have them come back out to fix the issue and someone showed up on 9/6/14 and dug around our back and side parts of the foundation. Problem was still there. We called the company back again and they sent someone out again on 9/20/14 but they did not have the necessary tools to fix the foundation. On 9/27/14 they showed up again and said they could not get the house to rise because there was too much pressure and that they would have to come out yet again to drill in our garage floor to replace the peer. I contacted Nicki on 10/1/14 to let her know how frustrated we were and she assured us that David would be sent to our house on 10/4/14 at 11 AM to replace the peer in the garage. They were scheduled to come back out YET AGAIN on 10/4/14 at 11 AM to perform the work needed in our garage. After about 45 minutes with no one showing up I called their number and received voice-mail that was full and I could not leave a message. I next called David who had called me before and he was the person to have shown up and he did not know anything about coming to our house to repair the foundation and had no knowledge of what needed to be done. We have been given the run-around with this company and we want half of our money ($1500.00) back due to poor work.

Desired Settlement
We feel that asking for at least half ($1500.00) of our money back is fair and just. We have been taken by this company and I see there have been other consumers who feel the same way. We have been patient as long ans possible and we are in a house that has not been repaired correctly and have been robbed of our money. I will tell all of my co-workers, friends and family to stay away from this company. If they do not agree to this settlement, we will have no other choice but to take this company (Mark Torres, owner) to small claims court.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@gmail.com
Customer needs 2 additional piers in garage area. Told her we would be there on Saturday never gave her an accurate time but when foreman was on his way that same exact day she called and told him not to come that she did not want the piers anymore that needed to be added. We can come out and add the two additional piers at her cost for $700.00 but the warranty only covers work that has already been done as stated in the contract and warranty not any additional work needed.

10/30/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Metroplex Foundation Repair is refusing to honor their "Lifetime Foundation Warranty" given after foundation work was performed at my home in 2009.
Metroplex Foundation Repair performed foundation repair work on my home in July 2009. At the time of the work, a lifetime foundation warranty was given to make adjustments due to settling of the foundation.

I recently noticed that my kitchen sink would not drain so I contacted a plumber who indicated the problem was related to a foundation issue, which resulted in a blockage between the house line and the City water main. Additionally, there is evidence of settling and a crack on the archway to the
porch leading to the front door, which is the area where the original foundation work had been performed. Then I met with two independent foundation repair companies to evaluate the situation. Each indicated the problem extended to the work done in July 2009. Their assessment was that there were not enough piers installed or the existing piers were not deep enough.

I then contacted Metroplex Foundation Repair regarding this matter and a representative came to the property and indicated that foundation work was necessary. Their cost estimate was $8,000. I then indicated that I had a warranty on the work previously done. I have not heard back from Metroplex Foundation Repair since that time. I am also without water to my kitchen sink until this matter is resolved.

Desired Settlement
I would like for Metroplex Foundation Repair to honor their Lifetime Foundation Warranty and fix the foundation issues I am currently experiencing.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@gmail.com
At the end of September 2014 Metroplex Foundation Repair ("Metroplex") received a letter dated September 24, 2014 that was sent to Metroplex on behalf of this customer (the "Customer") regarding this matter (the "Customer Letter").
Metroplex responded to the Customer Letter on October 3, 2014 ("Metroplex's Response") by requesting several alternative dates and times that will be convenient for the Customer for Metroplex service representatives to inspect the outside and inside of the Customer's residence to determine facts regarding foundation repairs.
In Metroplex's Response, Metroplex further requested that copies of the following documents be provided to Metroplex prior to such inspection of the Customer's residence: a copy of the Customer's Work Agreement with Metroplex and the drawing regarding the foundation repairs performed on or about July 2009 and a copy of the reports and information provided to the Customer by the plumber and the two foundation companies referred to in the Customer Letter.
Metroplex's Response further stated that the Customer's call to Metroplex referred to in the Customer Letter was not understood to be regarding foundation repairs previously performed by Metroplex, so the Metroplex representative who responded to that call was not a service representative.
The Metroplex representative who responded to the Customer's call and met with the Customer requested that the Customer provide a copy of the Customer's Work Agreement with Metroplex and the drawing regarding the foundation repairs performed on or about July 2009 and the Metroplex representative did not provide the Customer a proposal for foundation repairs or a cost estimate.
Metroplex's Response further stated that upon review of the requested documents and information and completion of the requested inspection, Metroplex will respond regarding resolution of this matter.
Metroplex has received no response to its requests for the inspection and copies of the documents requested in Metroplex's Response.
Therefore, Metroplex restates its requests for the inspection and copies of the documents requested in Metroplex's Response set forth above so that Metroplex can respond regarding resolution of this matter.

10/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We hired them to do foundation work on our home, services began, not completed.
We chose Metroplex foundation repair for our home. They arrived late and began digging in our yard. When all the holes were dug, the city showed up asking for a permit. They had not obtained one. They left to do so, only to return to say it would not be here until Monday. They then left my shrubs and landscaping completely exposed without dirt or water. When we called to complain that we would now have to take another day off of work and would like our shrubs to be replaced if they did not make it for 3 more days, the owner abruptly said to us "I am not making any money on this deal, I will give you a refund". There was no working with us, just told to take our business elsewhere when the issue was with his team not doing what they were supposed to. I would not recommend this company to anyone.

Desired Settlement
We were told we would be refunded our deposit and we are hoping that will occur.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: **********@gmail.com
Permit coordinator missed the permit as soon as the city came out I myself ***** ****** called the engineer to get the permit. It would be Monday before I could even get the report over from the engineer so I called Mr. ******** to let him know that I would not be able to do anything til Monday. He became very upset and I told him there was nothing I can do. We go thru a third party engineer and he was out of town at the moment that Monday morning when I had the report and permit we could start. He told me he wanted to be reimbursed for time off that he took. I told him I could not do that and he said that he just wanted his money back and would take his business somewhere else. I told him let me make a call and get right back to you in 5 minutes. After trying to find a way to get a report from the engineer I called him back and told him that I was just have his money refunded. Within 15 minutes of speaking with Mr ******** his money was put back on his Credit Card. We have the receipt to show it was paid back to him.

08/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
During the digging for the piers, the hired help cracked and split my sprinkler system pipe in two different locations(two different pier holes)
The work was done on Monday July 21, 2014. I was not aware of the pipe being cut or split until after the laborers had left. I called the salesman ******* ***** and he assured me that the company would fix and repair the pipes. I called the number for the company and a lady said that the company would fix the problem. That was on the day of the pier installation. I have not heard from them since. I sent a USPS Certified Mail Letter on 8/2/2014 asking for the repairs to be done. The letter was not accepted as the mail service says that the company moved and left no address. I just want to be reimbursed for the sprinkler pipe repair that Metroplex caused.

Desired Settlement
I just want a refund of the $132 that it took for me to have the sprinkler system repaired by a qualified sprinkler repair company.

Business Response
Everything was taken care what the homeowner and the crew. They gave them the amount of $132.00

Page 1 of 4
03/12/2015Problems with Product / Service
04/28/2014Problems with Product / Service
01/18/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/18/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Foundation Contractors, Handyman Services, Foundation Inspection, Mud Jacking Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/17/2006Business started: 02/01/1992
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: January 2012, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Nikki Murphy (Cew Manager)Customer Contact: Christine Pennington
Business Category

Foundation Contractors, Handyman Services, Foundation Inspection, Mud Jacking Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Metroplex Foundation Repair

6060 N Central Expy STE 500

Dallas, TX 75206-5317

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6060 N Central Expy STE 500 

    Dallas, TX 75206-5317

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Metroplex Foundation Repair is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Foundation Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.