BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Fiberglass Pool Coatings, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (972) 278-9394Fax: (972) 278-66369090 Skillman St STE 182A, DallasTX 75243-8278http://www.fiberglasspoolcoatings.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Fiberglass Pool Coatings, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Fiberglass Pool Coatings, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Failure to respond to 3 complaints filed against business.

Factors that raised Fiberglass Pool Coatings, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Fiberglass Pool Coatings, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
07/25/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
FPCI will not honor warranty repairs. Have been calling since May but they never show up to perform work or call back.
Pool was fiber-glassed by this company, after 2.5 years there is cracking/tearing in the fiberglass. I contacted the company back in May, they responded that the work will be covered under my warranty. However since then, they have not showed up to perform the repairs and have not called back or tried to contact me in any way.

Desired Settlement
At this point I want a complete refund of 4846.42.

10/21/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dangerous electrical installation. Did not fully complete work instead told me to do it. Ignored detailed written list sub standard work.
Frberglass pool was hired to repair a pipe. They eventually did this. THey suggested that our pool needed acid washing and we approved it. During the acid wash they ruined the pool surface. They did the right thing and agreed to replaster the pool. It took them weeks to do this in the process they damage many of the tiles around the pool. This cased us to have to pay for new tile. Hey installed the tile wrong. When they replatered the pool they scrubbed of the surface to expose the agregate then proceeded to use a high power pressure washer and introduced lines all over the pool which they have not removed.
They also spread plaster up the wall tiles and although told them in e-mail have not repaire it. They put plaster in the water over flows, I documented that with them, they still have not fixed it.
It also appears that they may have introduced plaster and "dirt" into the main pool and spa drains. THis appears to be blocking water full water flow.
Accepting that the damage to the surface was a mistake and recogizing the expense of resurfacing the pool I made the offer for them to install a new water heater.
They came on Saturday to replace the heater. They plumbed it using 6 90 degree elbows where 1 would do. I noticed and pointed out to them that they did not install the large copper grounding wire. They stated that it was grounded internally and they did not need to do it. I later checked internally and found they had not even grounded it internally.
They also could not get the heater to work and told me that my pool controller heater relay was faulty. They told me to replace the board (web priced at about $1000) and then conect up the wire myself and it would all work.
I spent hours investigating this, found out that both external and internal ground is REQUIRED by code. I checked the relay with a simple ohm meter and found it fully operational.
I have informed FGP of all issues at all timer, with pictures and in writing. Getting them to do anything takes for ever and then they only do half.
I sent mutiple e-mails today and left multiple voice mails. THey new I was not a happy. No response. This is standard operating procedure for them. They seem to think that ignoring the issue will make it go away.
Because of the lack of management, quality and concern I have lost use of my pool for the whole summer. I with no grounding on the heater I could have endangerd my family.
This comany need to be shut down as if my experience with them is anything like what they do to other they are a rip off.

Desired Settlement
I want a 100% operational pool. I will not pay them any more money until the pool is correct to industry standards and city code.
I have already informed them that I am billing against any monies owed to them for my time and any contractor I employ to fix thier shoddy work.
I expect all the pipes to be cleaned out and inspected with a fiber scope.
I expect the pool heater to be wired in and fully operational from the pool controller.
I expect the pool heater to be plumbed in according to best industry practices.
I expect all the plaster to be removed from where it should not be.
I expect this all to be resolved immediatly or I will be filing against them for everything including loss of pool,sleepless night and stress.
Every communication has been documented in writing and pictures taken

12/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Will not respond to contacts regarding warranty work.
My pool was re-coated by this company. We have had continual leaks, and had the company out to repair the leaks but the issue was never resolved. The company told us that we needed to hire a leak detection company, which we did, paying several hundred dollars. The leaks discovered were at the places on the pool which the company had installed. When I forwarded the results of the leak detection company, I was given an estimate of repairs needed of almost $4000. When I asked for the company to make the repairs as warranty since they had done the work, the company refused to communicate. They will not respond to my emails.

Desired Settlement
I would like the company to make the repairs to my pool for which they are responsible, since they did the work.

11/12/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had an extended warranty on our pool. They quite coming out quarterly and checking chemicals. Would not return call or come out
Would not honor warranty or come look at the pool and see why it was turning colors. been trying to get them out for 4 months and the keep making up reasons why they cant come out and cancelling at the last minute. will not return call or answer phone now. been going on for 4 months. our pool is still under warranty.

Desired Settlement
fix problem with pool changing colors

03/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
FPCI agrees that needed repairs are under "warranty" but has not scheduled work. FPCI claims insufficient funds available to schedule crew.
We have had continual leaks in a waterfall feature, installed by FPCI back in January of 2012. The latest repair on the same region of the water feature was made in Oct . 2013 but the leaks are still excessive. A complete leak detection review, from an independent company (Leak Professionals, used and recommended by FPCI), noted several other leaks to this same water feature; all of which FPCI agreed, was their responsibility to repair. Additionally, Leak Professionals noted that there was one plumbing leak, not associated with the waterfall feature, that also was in need of repair. Although FPCI agreed, back in Oct. 2013, that the water feature repairs are under "warranty", (and they had, on several occasions, made and cancelled appointments to discuss and correct the issue)---they no longer will engage in any conversations either by phone or email on the subject. The last communication we received, made claims that their business currently has insufficient funds available to send a crew-even though we have offered to PAY for the related "warranty work", just to have problems with our leaking pool, resolved.

We engaged in a contract (12/5/11 Job number XXXXX) for Fiberglass coating resurfacing of our grunite pool, and demolition of our existing water features with alternative Rico Rock water features to be provided by FPCI, following leak detection via Leak Professionals 11/2011
Several issues throughout the 2 years.
The work was MOSTLY completed by end of Jan 2012.
(Paid in full Jan 2012 also took extended 5 year warranty in March 2012) However:
Staining of waterfall construction not completed at time of full payment in Jan 2012. Had to wait 5 months until staining was completed (with several promises that it would be done sooner).
Middle waterfall and exterior plumbing were leaking and repairs had to be made, already, in April 2012.
In Oct of 2012, informed FPCI that 2 of the LED lights they installed in the waterfalls were no longer working. It took 6 months to get this replaced. Of course this involved taking the stones off and resetting them. You would think that they would have constructed the light features in the rocks in such a way as they could be easily changed out.
In June of 2013 there was another leak in the waterfall rock mortar that had to be repaired.
In October 2013, we noticed again, that the same waterfall was leaking. This time, there seemed to be substantially more water loss so we had Leak Professionals come out. Oct 21 and Oct 30. Assessment was that there were several leaks in Waterfall mortar as well as one underground pipe. Also the pool drain C should have been plugged at time of pool work in 2012 since that pump was put out of commission. Some water is leaking as a result of this not having been plugged. Leak Professionals exchanged this information with ******, FPCI owner.

It is mid January and they has ceased communications with us. We have to add water constantly, at a cost of $100 per month extra in water bills. The Calcium levels (for which our warranty hinges on for the Fiberglass coating), has not even been checked by FPCI, as contracted. The waterfalls need to run as an anti-freeze protection. We have a salt pool and this excessive leakage of salt water to our landscape vegetation, has killed off many of our plants.
We paid $20K for the pool re-surface (fiberglass coating) and waterfall rebuild. $9k of this was the waterfall rebuild itself, and this has been suboptimal since it's construction. I think it not too much to ask for FPCI to live up to it's reputation and provide good service to it's customers. Having only 50% of the job successful, it not a good rate on return. The fact that they appear to have terminated any conversations with us, even after we offered to PAY FOR ALL THE WORK JUST TO HAVE THE REPAIRS DONE and not further jeopardize our pool, seems outrageous, irresponsible and certainly not a company that should be rated an A+ by BBB.

Desired Settlement
We want FPCI to honor their work and make the repairs to our pool, permanent. If they do not have the existing funds to send a crew to do these repairs, we will pay for whatever is needed and hope, that when they regain financial stability, they will reimburse us for the portion of the warranty work that we will have paid. We just want our pool functioning properly. The suboptimal construction of this water feature needs to be addressed and proper repairs need to be made for a long term solution to the problem.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fiberglass - Fabrication & Repair, Swimming Pool Service & Repair

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/02/1995Business started: 06/10/2002
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Terri Sutton Corbello (VP)
Business Category

Fiberglass - Fabrication & Repair, Swimming Pool Service & Repair

Products & Services

This company offers Swimming Pool Resurfacing, Remodeling, Structural Crack Repair, Leak Detection, and Tile & Coping.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Fiberglass Pool Coatings, Inc.

9090 Skillman St STE 182A

Dallas, TX 75243-8278

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 9090 Skillman St STE 182A 

    Dallas, TX 75243-8278

  • 2955 Wood Dr 

    Garland, TX 75041-2348(972) 278-9394

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Fiberglass Pool Coatings, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Fiberglass - Fabrication & Repair

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.