BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/30/2012

Texas Strong Fence

Phone: (972) 395-5741

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues3
Problems with Product / Service11
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints14

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (14)BBB Closure Definitions
04/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Have contacted them not once not twice more than a dozen times,very apologetic always say they have had problems but now it's all fixed. Never showed.
Have set several appointments,with owner,maintanance men,salesperson *** they showed one time for hour said they had to get parts
never returned,kept calling month later repair crew returned with wrong material ,took my stain that they provided to make sure it matched boards they were going to replace,after calling for 2 months they never returned with boards or stain this has went on now for 7 month's they are all Liars,and now thieves BUYERS BEWARE DO NOT BELIEVE ANYTHING THEY SAY,BAD ,BAD BUSINESS

Desired Settlement
Fix fence all that I ask.

Business Response
To whom it may concern,
I do for the delays on fixing Mr. ******* fence we have been out and returned his stain and to my knowledge fixed his fence and again we apologize about the delays.
thank you sincerely,
Texas Strong Fence.

03/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Texas Strong Fence has not been out to make repairs since the job was completed on 9/19/2014 and is not returning calls, texts or email.
*** ******* was the sales rep for our fence and arbor job. Told us we need not worry about a thing that the crew would do an excellent job and we would not be disappointed. We never saw *** again after the job was completed and paid for. The crew cut an irrigation line so we've had the water turned off since the job was completed on 9/19/2014. Both gates were hung to open out from the wrong side. They were supposed to set 3 posts on each side of gate for stability. The fence is an 8' fence. Gates have already become difficult to open and fence is wobbly. There are nails sticking through the gate by an inch that are dangerous. They missed areas to be stained. There is inserts in both gates that didn't get painted and now they are completely rusted with no way to get around them to paint without painting the fence. Have learned through the City of Frisco that there was no permit pulled for the arbor which is also needs staining where missed. They only paid $20 dollars for a fence permit. Shame on us for paying the job in full ($4161) upon completion which was 9/19/2014 but *** truly had us convinced that they would be back out to make repairs. We last heard from *** on October 8 and he said he going to turn this into our repair dept to get someone out there faster it should be next week ,, sorry about the delay. Nothing since then. All we've heard when he was responding is excuses. He did not show up to inspect the job when it was completed nor did the crew member in charge. Neither were present on 9/19/2014 (the second and final day of the job). *** also knew that my husband was unable to inspect their work since he is handicapped and a senior which has made it that much more disappointing and frustrating. Their office number of XXX-XXX-XXXX has not returned calls since the job was completed either. They also advertise the BBB affiliation on their valpak coupon which had us originally feeling that was a good thing. The Texas Strong Fence Invoice number is 6108 and the City of Frisco Permit number is FXX-XXXX for fence only in the amount of $20. They charged us $75 to include the arbor but never pulled the arbor permit as I mentioned above.

Desired Settlement
We are presently seeking a complete refund in the amount of $4161.00 since we don't have any reason to believe that repairs will be made, much less within in a timely manner or with quality. Also, the City of Frisco is going to come out to inspect the arbor and we won't know until then if the arbor will even meet inspection. For example; the depth of the posts for the arbor and placement.

Business Response
Texas Strong Fence completed the job to the satisfaction of the customer so they paid us in full.
After the install any issues becomes warranty issues which has to be made as an email.
The permit is a office error that we are taken care of.
It is ridiculous that anyone would want or expect a full refund after services has been rendered..
*** ******* walked the job with the customer and the Forman that completed the job also walked it too.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
1. Yes, regretfully, we did pay in full. Had we known issues were not going to be addressed we would not have done so.
2. When no one would respond to phone calls then I started sending emails on September 24. So emails were sent referencing the issues.
3. Permit error has not yet been taken care of.
4. Yes, it is ridiculous that anyone would expect a full refund. Just as ridiculous that we had to reach out to the BBB to get any kind of response from Texas Strong Fence.
5. It is a false statement that *** ******* or ***** (the guy we understood to be the job foreman) walked the job upon completion. Better stated; we never saw either one of them upon completion of the job and have not seen anyone to date.
6. If Texas Strong Fence would like to make the corrections/repairs we would expect the details and deadline agreed upon and signed by both parties to include a reasonable date of completion.
7. If Texas Strong Fence would prefer we hire someone else to make the corrections/repairs then we are presently seeking a reasonable refund of $1,000 to cover the costs.

Have also attached a file with email trail.

Final Consumer Response

03/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid just under $8,000 for 210 linear feet of board on board fence with decorative topper and two automatic closing gates since we have a pool. The fence was anchored to old rotting wood, several boards are broken, the "decorative" topper broken boards, splits, missing boards, gaps. The gates do not automatically close. There are numerous sections of the fence that are not board on board - you can see light though it. You can see through the gates. Boards are not stained or stain is missing. Numerous knot holes that are open in boards. I have called and emailed over 50 times to get this fence fixed. One person came out for a few hours and made some minor repairs, but the fence is still not sound. I have continued to call and email, following their protocol and have not received satisfactory results.
Product_Or_Service: 210 linear feet of fence

Desired Settlement
I want the fence I paid for. I want the current fence removed and a properly constructed fence installed.

Business Response
After receiving a request for some repairs, a repair crew was scheduled to do the work, but being in the middle of the busiest time of the year they got to the repair as soon as possible. Some repairs was done but a second request was received from the customer. This request was different because the customer was insisting we reconstruct the entire fence. The operation director and salesman on this job, *** ******** was sent out to meet with the customer and after examining the fence he and the customer agreed that about 10 pickets need to be replaced and springs installed on the gates. This task has already been scheduled for 9/15/2014.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Work is not done as of September 16, 2014. Customer did not agree as *********** stated most of the problem was due to a "bad run of wood" and not their fault. We just have to live with it. There are several areas of the fence that still need attention, but *********** doesn't agree. Additionally we have incurred $500 in repairs to the irrigation system, and ***********'s response was we should have called them, they have an irrigation company they work with. Well they never answered our calls so we had to fix it ourselves. ***'s response was, call the owner, "I am an independent party" We are still waiting for repairs and still want a new fence.

We also have incurred expenses associated with the lack of permit to replace the fence. The city of Carrollton requires a permit and we in good faith trusted Texas Strong Fence to know what they are doing. They did not have permit and now we are dealing with the ramifications.

This issue is not resolved.

Final Consumer Response

12/02/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company is not providing the warranty service for fence which has many posts bent during recent bad weather.
Hi,

I got a new fence installed by Texas Strong Fence in Aug. 2013. When I got fence installed, I was given a five year warranty. During recent bad weather, several of the fence posts got slanted and fence got tilted. I sent an email requesting warranty service on Oct. 16 to Texas Strong Fence on email addresses: ******@texasstrongfence.com and ******@texasstrongfence.com. Texas Strong Fence has still not sent repair crew to fix the fence. I have also tried contacting them by calling their number (XXX-XXX-XXXX) which most of the time goes to answering machine and no one returns the call. When I got to talk to someone at Texas Strong Fence (*****), I was told that "we will definitely take care of your fence. We always provide warranty service to our customers and take care of any issues". In fact, I was given days when the repair crew would come to my home and fix the fence. It has been over a month and fence is still not repaired. I am truly disappointed by the company's attitude and handling of my warranty service request. When I chose them for replacing my fence, I was given many assurances about their service and fence fence quality. I hope Texas Strong Fence honors their warranty and fix the fence on high priority as it has been over a month since I initially notified them of the issue.

Desired Settlement
Texas Strong Fence to repair the fence and replace faulty posts and pickets on high priority.

11/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Texas Strong Fence put a new fence up at my residence in July. It is already falling apart and I have tried to contact them 4 times.

Texas Strong Fence came to my residence and gave us an estimate of how much it would be to replace our 12 year old fence. They were not the most expensive nor the cheapest estimate. WE decided to hire them to construct our new fence based on the salesman's knowledge and promise of a good job. Derek Serpa -the estimator, came out on June 18, 2014, and gave us an estimate of $8210. Work was competed as promised on the week of July 4th. I was pleased with the work and happy that my neighbors were also asking who did the work and that it was a job well done. My next door neighbor asked for the name of the company so he could get a matching fence. About a month later, I'm guessing mid September, I noticed slats on this board on board fence were pulling away and warping. I found this strange since I am expecting this fence to last at least 10 years! I called repeatedly and did get one response from a Mersedes, stating that their repairman would be out last Tuesday (SEPT 30, 2014) and they would let me know what plans they had to rectify the situation. No one called and it has been another week. I phoned today and left a message that I would be contacting the BBB if I did not hear from them by noon today. It is now 7:13pm and I am holding up with my word. IF you cannot get this matter settled, please let me know and I will file legal action. We have never had to resort to this type of action in our 24 years of marriage and am simply wondering why a business would have this kind of customer service policy. Is this the "normal" way they operate? Have there been other complaints? Please advise.

Thank you for you time. This has been frustrating to say the least.

******* ****

Desired Settlement
I just want the fence fixed and a written guaranty that it will last at least 10 years. IF there are any other issues, I want them to take care of them promptly.

Business Response
After a very buzy summer seasom we give our empoyees a well deserve time off in September.
We regret the fact that we could not resond in the clients time frame but we have fixed his fence tree day later.
He - ******** is now very happy and sattisfid

Thank you.

Page 1 of 2
09/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
New patio cover built by Texas Strong Fence is leaking in multiple places, sent repairing request since 7/17 and got no response.
Hired Texas Strong Fence to build my fence, patio with cover in earlier July, found big issue in both material and installation.
Fence board showed lots pop up, twist and broken, called for repair and replaced more than 18 boards.
Patio cover is leaking in several places right after it was built during a t-storm. Repair request was emailed on 7/17, called and text many time to follow up, but only being told that they are aware of this and repair schedule has never been made since then.

Desired Settlement
Come to fix the cover leakage immediately.

Business Response
We received a repair request and contacted **** on 7/22/14 to get more details. A repairman went to his house on 7/30/14 and completed repairs on his fence, but a different crew that specializes in roof repair was assigned to that portion of the request. Due to the busy season, the roof repair foreman notified Mr. *** on Friday, 8/22/14, that he'd be out within the week to complete the roof repair. Mr. *** seemed satisfied with that timeline. He was even happier when the crew arrived the next day (Saturday, 8/23/14) and repaired the roof, and told the foreman he was satisfied with the repairs. We spoke and texted with Mr. *** numerous times to keep him aware of the status of his repair, in spite of his use of inappropriate language, and were surprised to receive notification of his complaint three days after the repairs were done.

We request that the BBB not list Mr. ***'s complaint as it contains many misrepresentations of the truth.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, I have to say that all my statements were right and correct, I filed the complain on Friday (8/22) morning after being told several times that somebody will come to fix the roof and no showing, not 3 days after the repair was done.
Here is the timeline for all:
1. Repair request was sent on 7/17 for both fence and roof.
2. On 7/25, repair was scheduled for 8:30 am on 7/29, after waited the whole morning for nothing, then was told the appointment was cancelled.
3. Rescheduled on 7/30, fence was repaired. I did text to express my appreciation for good job did in fence repair.
4. On 8/4, text to check the schedule for roof repair and was told to wait.
5. On 8/15, checked again for repair and was told it would be done in the weekend of 8/16.
6. On 8/18, text again to complain about receiving no call for scheduling from repair crew and no showing during the weekend. But this text went out with no response from business.
7. On 8/22 morning, wrote a complain to BBB after losing patient and being ignored.
8. Same day on 8/22, repair came over in the dark around 8:30 pm, He was doing the job with a little head light. I can't verified the result until next raining.
So for now, repair were done, and I'm waiting to see the result from roof repair. I'll be very happy if no leaking in next rain.

06/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Phoning for weeks to get a repair scheduled. Multiple promises and no return call/scheduled repair.
Patio cover built 06/2013 with lifetime warranty. Cost for cover was approximately $6000 and included altering downspout for gutters. I have Texas Strong and spoken with *** multiple times beginning 04/14 and always ends with a promise to call me back after he checks with the repair guy. I have never received a return phone call nor follow up. First phone call stated I would have it repaired within a week.

Desired Settlement
Downspout was altered during construction of patio cover. This piece became unattached after storm and I would like it replaced and repaired properly.

Business Response
Texas Strong Fence was hired to build a patio cover. The customer wanted gutter work done to install additional gutters on the new patio cover, which we do not do. All along, we told her that we do not do gutters. She insisted that we help her with this gutter work, which we attempted to do. She was not happy with the gutter work we did, although we stressed to her that we don't do gutters, we're a fence company. We have since hired a gutter company and addressed all of her issues at our expense. We feel this should not remain as a complaint because, at our expense, we corrected everything she wasn't happy with.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While the response is logical, once Texas Strong did the work they were now responsible under the agreed upon warranty. I did not insist work or assistance to be done regarding the gutter work and this is a complete fabrication of the truth. I appreciate the work done and after this compliant as well as multiple phone calls the gutters were repaired. It got to the point where I was phoning daily regarding a response after multiple promises to have someone come out and repair. The biggest issue was the dodging of my phone calls and lack of return phone calls. I appreciate the repair which took less time than I spent phoning and speaking to the company via phone. A warranty on work done is a warranty on work done, period.

04/04/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have some broken slats on the fence and stain issues.I contacted the company 2 weeks ago and it hasn't been resolved.
I called my sales rep *** and he advise me to send an email to the schedule department under warranty to fix some broken slats and stain issues.I emailed the company at **@strongfenceanddeck.com 2 weeks ago.I only got a email back about a week later that said ok taken.I called there main number at XXX XXX XXXX.They said they were an answering service that only handled new customers.This didn't make me happy they should have a main number for all issues.I still gave the lady my information and she said somebody would call me.It never happened.I have called this number twice without any help.Finally my sales rep sent me a text saying somebody would be in my area last Saturday 11/2/13 to repair my fence and it never happened.I didn't get any call backs either.This company seems ok to take money from me and build a fence,but there is no service from them.I have a contract signed from me and the sales rep stating I have 5 years of coverage on the fence and 3 years on the stain.They are not living up to there part.Please help me out.I need this resolved.My contract number is 4307.Thank You

Desired Settlement
I want the fence fixed that's all Im asking and in the future a number to reach to take care of me.Thank You

Business Response
This is in response to the complaint we talked about on Friday. After repairing *****'s computer and giving you the new address to contact us, I'm sure we won't have anymore communication errors. Thanks for your patience.

As for *** *****, who sent the complaint, we will quickly take care of the minor repairs he is seeking.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The reason I don't accept this is I haven't gotten one call back from them and I have emailed and called there main number several times.Please have somembody from Texas strong fence call me at XXX XXX XXXX to apologize to me and get this resolved.I also need a number to reach them for service.The number on my fence only helps with New installs.That makes no sense I need a contact number I can reach fir service.They have put me off for over 3 months and I need an explanation.

09/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have been calling and emailing Rod Johnson about repairing fence and gate since July9, 2013. No word on when or if he will fix our fence and gate.
Board on board fence with cap and patio cover was intalled July 3, 2013. Total amount paid was $8, 115.00. Noticed after that week that a couple of boards on the fence were coming loose and not centered. One of the gates rubs wood on wood when opened, causing the wood to chip and gate to moan. There is also a cap on the top of the fence that is an eyesore, not a good piece of wood and not trimmed at end. The patio cover beam has a crack and was oozing sap onto patio. The sales rep is Rod Johnson and all he says is have patience they are busy.

Desired Settlement
We would like the company to give us a specific date and time and come and repair the work that was done badly.

Business' Initial Response
In response to the repair complaint, We have been out to do cosmetic repairs in the middle of June. Then they called again the following week about more repairs that was not mentioned while we were there. We told them we would be back out but it would take a little time for scheduling.We ask in all contracts to give us 30 days for repairs which they did not give us. We are happy to return and do any repair but at times we do need a little time do to scheduling conflicts but always within the 30 day period stated in the contracts..
I really don't feel like this should be viewed as a complaint because we did go out to do the work and will return again but was not given the amount of time allowed in our agreements.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The fence and patio cover wasn't installed in JUNE. It was installed JULY 3. We have not seen anyone from that company since they left on that day. There is not a place on the agreement we signed regarding a 30 day wait for repair.However,30 days has past and we have not been contacted by the company as of today, Aug.9 for any scheduling of repairs.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fence Contractors, Fence - Sales, Service & Contractors, Gates, Fence Posts & Fittings, Exterior Structures - Gazebos, Arbors, Pergolas, Siding Contractors, Roof Decks, Patio, Porch & Deck Enclosures, Patio & Deck Builders, Outdoor Kitchens

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.