BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/10/2012

FenceMAX Texas

Phone: (972) 200-9841

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
10/29/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Workmanship is very poor, had to take off work a few times to have work not complete or in poor quality. Still work not complete as promised.
Requeste a complete fence replacement. Poor and skimpy stain coating, nails sticky through boards on top rails, damage boards used in constructiion, poor alignment of gate latches where the gate is stuck shut or does not close, and had to take of many hours off work to have supervised and still a battle to get what was promised. Workers drove over boards that were to be installed, left alot of debris and nails on the yard in which I had to pick up and unfortunately one was stuck in my tire. Numerous request to ask for an itemize estimate of material, labor etc., and was going to and later refused, over twenty poles where deliver to house with four bags of cemenet and on two poles used and half of bag of cement. Quality of repairs, on a new fence, time it took, much aggravation, money and time lost and now new safety concerns due to latches on gate doors not working makes this experience a nightmare. Buyers bewars and never make the mistake I did by using this company. My wife is has been saying I told you so and should never have gone with this company. Over promise and much under deliver.

Desired Settlement
They need to refund a portion of the money paid due to the lost of time, earning potential, aggravation and frustration of this entire experience. There is still more needs to be done to this fence.

Business Response
We have bend over backwards with Mr. ****** in order to accommodate his work schedule as well as his vacation schedule (which he did not tell us he was going on vacation until we were about to complete the project) .
We started installation on July 16th, we needed to finish trim and additional corbels requested by Mr. ****** on July 21st, but he told us at the last minute that he was going on vacation and wanted us to wait until he came back from Alaska on 8-6
Throughout the project he texted our sales manager that he was very happy with the work several times during the installation.
We waited for him for 17 days! to come back to schedule completion (trim and additional corbels he requested), approval of the additional corbels and final payment of a project which was 60 days late.
Mr. ****** contacted us back on 8-6 that he was back from vacationWe Coordinated to come back when he was available from work to complete the trim and additional corbels on 8-11, but again, he was not home to walk the fence and provide final payment. Therefore, we scheduled Armando (our crew supervisor) to come out AGAIN on 8-12 to walk the fence with Mr. ****** and receive the final payment representing full satisfaction as our contract states.
Mr. ****** stopped payment on the final check, which he did not inform us.
On 8-15 we emailed him yet AGAIN asking for his availability. He said there was still some punch list to complete (after he walked the fence with Armando). Mr. ****** told us that on Wednesday 8-20 would be best for him. We arranged to meet him at his home between 12pm-3pm, which he agreed.
Mr. ****** asked for an itemized cost breakdown, of labor, materials, overhead and profit. We advised him that he has a detailed contract and that we do a turnkey project therefore it is not possible for us to give him this granular information. That granular level of detail is competitive information that we cannot share as any other business.
He also asked for credit on material that he said we did not use. We explained to him that we always bring extra material to a job site as it is more efficient to have extra than to have the crew have to go back to out warehouse in Garland. The customer was NOT charged for this material!
Armando went out on 8-20 as agreed and took care of the punch list that was communicated to us. Armando waited and waited for Mr. ****** yet AGAIN; he never answered us until late afternoon and told us that he will not be home until 6pm.
Mr. ****** contacted us again on 8-25 that there was still punch list that needed to be completed, we advised him that we are happy to send Armando out AGAIN, but that he must be present as this will need to be the last time and we need to collect the final payment.

We asked for him to give us a time when he can be present and we agreed that on 9-3 he will be there. On 9-3 Mr. ****** and Armando met, and we took care of the punch list (which is not uncommon in our line of business) Mr. ****** emailed (ON RECORD!) us that the fence looks nice and that he was giving the check to Armando.
On 10-3 Mr. ****** contacted us that his latches on 2 gates where not aligned and that he wanted us to come out and change the latches.
We immediately responded to him that most likely the latches just need to be adjusted as the Texas soil shifts.
He insisted that the latches needed to be changed.
He called our call center saying that he called 2 months ago regarding the latches.
We advised him that the first time we heard of this was 10-3 and we immediately answered him back on 10-3.
On 10-7 Armando went out to check all 4 gates, he adjusted the latches on 2 gates. There was no need to replace the latches and they are operating very well.
Please note that these latches have been operational since for 2 months and normally last a lifetime.
If any landscaping, pool or other workers are not gentle with the gates, they can become misaligned.
Additionally with the Texas heat and weather changes this can happens as the ground shifts.
We have all the emails and text messages to support the above.
Mr. ****** has also been advised that a fence is an outdoor structure and as such he cannot expect it to have the perfection a piano. Cedar wood is made from a tree trunk and therefore no picket looks the same as all others, and that is the beauty of cedar!
Our contract, paragraph 4.0 is calling for $250 a day charge for project delays that are caused by the customer. Clearly we have the legal right to demand more than $5,000! And we reserve this right!
We are very proud of the amazing fence! we built and the incredible service! provided to our customer and totally object to this complaint!!!

08/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They came to fix our roof but didn't call the city to come for an inspection as they should have, this has now affected our insurance and how they pay
This business came to fix our roof and before they came to fix it, they should have paid the city to come and do an inspection, but they did not as this was their responsiblity. Then this will affect our insurance as they will not accept reimbursement due to no inspection. They are required to pay someone to do an inspection and specialist for roofing before doing the job. So when we realized this we called them and no one returned our calls, and left several messages and text a guy ******* ******* who was in charge of everything and didn't return any of our calls. And still after a week, we have left several message and have not received a return call about our concern.

Desired Settlement
We want them to pay for an inspection either by the city or some other inspector to come and inspect our roof as they should have prior to touching it. Also, for them to practice better service and return our calls to address our concerns.

Business Response
1. We have informed the customer via email PLUS text that the office is on a 2 weeks vacation and will return late on 07-18-14.

2. Permit or inspection have absolutely no bearing on insurances.

3. FMT contract with its customers governs this ans all obligations.

As stated in our contract:

"5.0 Property lines. Customer accepts all responsibility for property line identification & management prior to construction. A property survey plat is to be provided to FMT upon the execution of this Contract. Customer is responsible for obtaining all City's Permits."

4. For an additional fee FMT may be willing to dispatch a resource to obtain the permit and call for inspection.

5. People vacation MUST be respected!!!

Consumer Response
The address is not right there is no office two address I had. I want ther one was emty the anoder was the bank was closed and I have big problem with wood it has big craket and I need the B.B do something , thank's

08/26/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
After the fence was installed, the company and sales person was contacted about some of the wood on the fence warping, protuding nails, cracked wood.
Several pieces of fence the wood has warped, nails not properly placed, cracked wood,lose wood panels. Calls to the sales person and main office went unanswered. In other words, they do not stand behind their product or workmanship. They also DO NOT stand behind their warranty, I guess ignoring the customer is best. The fence is less than a year old!! Would NOT recommend this company. Buyer beware!!

Desired Settlement
Warped wood replaced, loose wood panels fixed, cracked wood replaced. nails protruding out fixed, uneven panels replaced.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: Abe larson
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@FenceMAXTexas.com
We spoke to our customer yesterday (08-15-2013) and informed him: (1) FMT office never got a call or an email about any issue (2) He needs to email to us pictures and explanation of the issues so we can determine what needs to be done. The customer agreed to send the photos next week.
(3) we are happy to address any concerns, provided we are notified thru the office phone number or email address, which appear on our contract.

(4) FMT will address all issues in accordance with our contract terms and conditions.

(5) FMT is disappointed to hear about this issue from the BBB instead of being contacted thru the simple, common channel - thru our office phone or email, which were used by the customer in the past.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fence Contractors, Gates, Door & Gate Operating Devices

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.