BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 03/26/2013

Four Brothers Ford Tractor, Inc.

Phone: (972) 636-2963Fax: (972) 635-9874

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
09/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not provide service as requested and charged
I tried to work out a resolution by calling the store manager on the 8/19/15 and explained I submitted a negative "review" (see 8/18/15 review) and not a complaint on BBB's website. He said he will pull my ticket and talk to the people involved and call me back. I also told him that when I got home I noticed the 2 front wheels had not been greased and on the mower deck there were large purple grease balls where they did grease. Therefore they didn't not fully grease the mower as I requested and where they did grease they didn't not properly connect the grease gun and the grease smeared around the fitting instead of going inside and they didn't clean the large grease ball.

It's 8 PM on 8/24/15, 6 days later, and the manager did not do what he said he would and call me back, which is consistent with the lack/poor service I noted on the review.

In summary, I was charged for service (the main service it was there for) that they did not provide. I caught that after the mower had been loaded on my trailer and was about to leave. I could have chosen to leave with the mower and take other costly action against them but rather I gave them a chance to correct what I hoped was an honest mistake, so they sold me blades at a slight discount and quickly installed them. And upon further inspection when I got my mower home, I see more service that was not done and what was done was done wrong.

I thought the manager would realize the seriousness of this and that I had already posted a review with BBB and would want to quickly quiet all this.

Desired Settlement
A reasonable refund relative to the incidents

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Russell Kelly owner
Contact Phone: 2144370326
Contact Email: Rk99@live.com
I spoke with Mr. **** on the phone. I realized that our service department had made a mistake. We offered him a refund. He was very nice and accepted our offer saying he would do business with us again.

The situation is now resolved.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I have been doing business here for years and they have always had great service and prices. Things happen but what is most important is how a company responds. The owner took full ownership and immediately wanted to know what would make me happy. So this event is evidence this company is one that's worth the long drive.

03/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Attempted to charge $225 S&H
When I looked for a snow blade for my mower, many sites listed the Mowpart.com site as having free shipping. When I completed the form and on the front of thier web page listed for $60.01 and above $10.95 for shipping and handling. This was on the invoice. Due to the good price and free shipping, I sent the order anyway on 2/120/14 for order number XXXXXXXXX.

On 2/24/14, I recieved an email from them stating that there is a $225 charge for this item due to the size. There was no place on the order or the web page that easily listed the addtional charges. You had a series of buttons that looked like if you pressed them to learn about products, but nothing distinguished the addtional shipping information from any other product. According to the leagal review I had of this proctice constitutes fraud. Their sadditioanl shipping andf handling charges appeasr to be well hidden.

Desired Settlement
To have this product shipped to me free as advertised or I will accept the $10.95 that I was origianally charged.

Business Response
Our freight policy clearly states that larger items may require additional freight. A large banner link to our freight policy is prominently displayed on our home page. We make every effort to make this policy known by restating it at check out in bold red and require the customer to check the box confirming they have read the policy. We also called and emailed the customer prior to shipping in order to make sure the customer was aware of the issue.The customer canceled the order and was issued a full refund. https://www.mowpart.com/shipping policy

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No, to have to have to search out the additional shipping charges is misleading. The banner may be displayed, but is not labeled that would make me want to search the link up front.

I have worked with many other companies that have the warning of additional charges not only well displayed on the home page, but on each item sold that this applied to. You had to search to find the information on additional charges and not readily displayed. The other companies also have it well displayed on the order form and final invoice displayed and emailed to me.

To me, this is a deceptive business practice and misleading to customer.

If they want to have a clear indication of additional charges, I as a customer should not have to search for it. It needs to be displayed on the home page, order form, and final invoice to avoid deceptive practices.

I am still not accepting the explanation of a banner link to find out these charges. They still have a deceptive business practice by not providing the information on the home page, order form or final invoice.

My only acceptable resolution is still to ship the item for the originally provided shipping and handling charge on the invoice and not an additional charge added later.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Farm Equipment, Tractor Equipment & Parts, Tractor Dealers, Farm Equipment - Repair & Parts, Engines - Supplies, Equipment & Parts, Recreational Vehicles - Storage, Boat Storage, Saws - Sharpen & Repair, Lawn Mowers - Sharpen & Repair, Saws, Lawn Mowers, Lawn & Garden Equipment & Supplies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.