BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Eric Japan Auto Engines, Inc.

Phone: (972) 272-4186Fax: (972) 272-7730209 S Kirby St STE 303, GarlandTX 75042-7400http://www.ericjapanautoengines.com

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Eric Japan Auto Engines, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

This business has a history of violating BBB name and logo policy and has falsely stated BBB Accreditation or referenced the BBB name or logo in an unauthorized manner, despite BBB's efforts to get the business to cease using BBB trademarks. This use of BBB trademarks constitutes trademark infringement and is a violation of trademark rights of the Council of Better Business Bureaus, Inc.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Eric Japan Auto Engines, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Failure to respond to 3 complaints filed against business.
  • Unauthorized use of BBB name or trademarks

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Eric Japan Auto Engines, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
10/09/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The engine placed in my car was defective...had a piece if metal embedded in the head which allowed water in and subsequent engine failure.
I was told I was having a re-manufactured engine put in my 1998 Subaru Legacy Outback. 14,000 miles later I took this same engine in because of a blown head gasket. The mechanic here in Oak Harbor, WA...said that "whatever" I was sold is not what I got. According to Jacks Auto here in Oak Harbor, WA...not only was the engine defective ( a piece of metal was embedded in the head) which cause water to leak in fouling two valves. Along with this the mechanic told me that the labor was inferior...sealants used instead of gaskets. I am now without a since I would have to have yet another engine and the car is not worth the cost.

The Garage Repair Order I have has no number on it...I paid by credit card in a timely fashion. The person I dealt with was "*****" and now that I have a complaint...no one will take my calls. I did speak with someone named "****" who said he was *****'s nephew who said numerous times he would return my calls.

My calls have NEVER been returned...and now I guess they have caller id and the only person I can speak to is Ming who says he is just a messenger.

I am open to a settlement on the price of the engine which was $1900.00

Desired Settlement
I am open to a settlement on the cost of the engine. I was told I would be getting a re-manufactured engine and all I got was a shoddily replaced used engine.

Business Response
I understand Mrs. ***** ****** concern and I am sorry this happened to her car. Her car broke down all the way to Washington. She says we promised her a rebuilt engine. I cant find anywhere where we gave her a rebuilt engine. Also it was already over warranty when her car broke down and it was totaled. She told me she drove XXXXX miles. we don't give XXXXX mile warranties. On the receipt it says all warranties must be donw inhouse only. WE cant warranty a car in Washington. How will we get it back. If you buy a tv at walmart and it dies after warranty is it wal marts fault no it isn't. You have to bring it back to wal mart to get it fixed.I am sorry it happenend but if she looks on her receipt we didn't give her a XXXXX mile warranty. There is no way to a resolution if I don see the receipt. I am sorry it happened to her but that wasn't our intention for that to happen. we also didn't know she was going to drive the car to Washington. we have many times when people but engines from us and drive far away and it works out fine.

09/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Eric's of Japan was to supply and install a completely rebuilt Toyota 3VZ-FE engine into my 1992 Camry. When finished it needed constant repairs.
Eric's of Japan was to supply and install a completely rebuilt Toyota 3VZ-FE engine into my 1992 Camry.
1)Upon return to me the car smoked badly and I returned it the next day. Two weeks later I was told that the piston rings had not set properly or were improperly installed....... but it was now fixed.
2)Three months later the head gasket blew out causing water to leak out and again caused the engine to malfunction. One month later I was told that the head gasket was faulty....... but it was now fixed.
3)Almost immediately the engine started to consume oil. After two months of losing approximately 1 quart a week I returned to Eric's who advised that he could not take it in and return it in a timely fashion.
4)In December 2012 the engine head appeared to have broken a valve or valve lifter. Returning the car to Eric's; they never went into the engine to fix the oil leak or discover the damage in the head cover. For three weeks they never touched it.
Eric's of Japan never took responsibility for the rings not seating, the head gasket leaking, the oil consumption, or the faulty lifter.
Eric's of Japan offered to start over and completely rebuild a new engine for $2600. The original engine that he obtained and rebuilt may have been defective..... but he was the expert professional that purchased it. From the first day I received the car back the engine was defective and I do not feel that I should have to repay for an engine I already contracted and paid for. Manny and Stephen at Wolston Goodyear can verify the problems of the rebuild from day one(XXX-XXXXXXX).

Desired Settlement
I want the return of my $3200.00 or a rebuilt engine that will not be junk when it is installed.

Business Response
To the Better Business Bureau.

I am sorry that happened to your car. this is the first time I am hearing about this. My uncle ***** was the one the customer talked with and he has been sick the past couple of months with liver cancer. I asked him about what happened and he honestly doesn't remember. My point is I have to see the receipt to make judgment. I don't know what kind of warranty or anything this customer got. It doesn't matter what another shop says is wrong with the car. You can go to 3 different doctors and get different answers about what is wrong with you when you are sick. My main point is why wait till now to file a complaint. If it is under warranty we will take care of it. How do I know the customer didn't overheat the engine. how many miles did the customer drive the car and did he do oil change every 3000 miles like he is supposed too. If the engine was bad I am sorry. It isn't our intention to put a bad motor in the customers car. Its like if you buy a TV at walmart and it has problems right after warranty expires, there is nothing you can do. The customer can wait till my uncle ***** gets better from radaitation treatment at the hospital and deal with him. my bottom line is if its under warranty I will take care of it but I want to see the receipt not what other shops say. thank u

08/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Given funds to purchase reconditioned engine; did not deliver engine as promised; when purchase cancelled, did not refund money as verbally promised.
June 24, 2015 verbally agreed to purchase reconditioned motor from Eric Japan for 2008 Honda Pilot for $1,795.00. Paid with personal check and temporary receipt given when vehicle delivered to shop at 109 S. Kirby, Suite 303, Garland, Texas. Completion of repair promised within 5 business days. Check cashed same day at convenience store. Contacted Carlos at shop on July 1, and he said he was unaware of repairs to vehicle, and engine had not been delivered. Attempted contact with Eric by text to (XXX) XXX-XXXX same day, and did not receive answer until July 2 that engine would be delivered next day. Picked up vehicle from shop on July 1. Were given the option via text by Eric to either receive the engine or full refund. Cancelled the purchase via text, and was told he would return the engine and refund our money the following Friday, July 10. He agreed to the cancellation. When contacted on July 10 to receive funds, he did not respond to either phone calls or text. Have notified him via text hat we will be pursuing legal restitution. Even gave him option to mail cashiers check rather than face us personally but still no response.

Desired Settlement
Full refund of $1,795.00 in cashiers check

10/13/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
4 hours late on delivery. No communication from business
Cash

Desired Settlement
None

10/13/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I contacted Eric's Japan engines about a part. He said he had it and would have someone call me back. No one has called and will not answer my calls.
I needed a timing belt cover and I was told they had one and someone would be calling me to get payment and address to send it to. No one called and now my calls are being ignored. I have been leaving messages for over 3 weeks.

Desired Settlement
To be contacted to buy the part.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Engines - Rebuild & Exchange, Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt, Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/01/1986Business started: 01/01/1986
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: December 1990, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jack Lee (Owner)Mr. Jimmy Lee (General Manager)
Business Category

Engines - Rebuild & Exchange, Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt, Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

We Rebuild and Install Japanese, Korean, American engines and transmissions. We rebuild on site in our state of the art building. We have been in the same location for over 20 years and we back up our work.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Eric Japan Auto Engines, Inc.

209 S Kirby St STE 303

Garland, TX 75042-7400

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 209 S Kirby St STE 303 

    Garland, TX 75042-7400

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Eric Japan Auto Engines, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Engines - Rebuild & Exchange

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

This business has a history of violating BBB name and logo policy and has falsely stated BBB Accreditation. BBB unsuccessfully attempted to contact this business to request that it refrain from using the BBB logo. This matter has been referred to the Council of Better Business Bureaus for further action.

This business has a history of violating BBB name and logo policy and has falsely stated BBB Accreditation or referenced the BBB name or logo in an unauthorized manner, despite BBB's efforts to get the business to cease using BBB trademarks. This use of BBB trademarks constitutes trademark infringement and is a violation of trademark rights of the Council of Better Business Bureaus, Inc.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.