BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 12/14/2009

Engine Rebuilders, LLC.

Phone: (214) 237-4415Fax: (214) 624-7514

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service12
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints12

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
09/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I paid for new engine in 02/2014, since then I have taken my SUV into this location 4 times to fix issues I already paid for. also they broke items.
02/2014 put SUV into shop for new engine. Within two days of getting SUCV back it broke down on Highway. Had to return to shop added new parts(spark plug) which I just changed. next time we take from shop all electronics do not work and now transmission is going bad. But I just had transmission serviced. They checked and found they did not connect main wiring correctly. This last time SUV making noise and dying at lights, found that the gasket set they installed with engine was not any good. Most of the part they put on are rebuilds or just yard parts but charging brand new prices. Which is a little fact not known until the bill is settled. Plus there customer service is bad. After me taking my car to them those four times I asked if they could extend the warranty. They replied a flat no......

Desired Settlement
I would seek half of the money back for the service and to recoup my expenses for having to continuously bring the same problems back for them to fix. Everytime they find the problem but after so many times we would like our money partially returned

Business Response


Consumer Info
NAME: ***** ****
DAY PHONE: -
ADDRESS: 3540 Irving BLVD XXXXX
Dallas, TX
EVE PHONE: -
CELL PHONE: -
EMAIL: ***************@gmail.com



Dear Mr. *** *********
We are responding to the letter received concerning Mr. ***** ****. We did Install a remanufactured long block in Mr. ***** vehicle. Mr. **** did call and say he had a problem with an intake gasket that was leaking and causing the engine to not idle properly. We advised Mr. **** to bring the vehicle back so that we may give the vehicle an inspection. Mr. **** agreed and said he would bring the vehicle in as soon as he could. Mr. **** arrived a few days later and we (Engine Rebuilders) did inspect the vehicle and found that the intake gasket was leaking and defective. We advised Mr. **** to make an arrangement to leave the vehicle so that we may replace the gasket under warranty. He agreed to leave the vehicle. We called Mr. **** to notify him his vehicle was ready for pick up. Mr. **** showed up the next day to pick up his vehicle. We have never installed junk yard parts on any customer's cars nor will we ever. However we would like to invite Mr. **** back as he was issued a 12 month unlimited mileage warranty that will fix, repair, or replace any item or items that fall within the warranty contracted issued to Mr. ****.

Respectfully Yours,

***** *******
Owner/President

08/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I took my truck to Engine Rebuilder in January of 2012 because of a blown motor since January the motor has blown up again 2
I took my truck to ENGINE REBUILDERS 3540 Irving Blvd Dallas, TX 75247 (214)237-4415
in January 2012. They rebuilt my motor for $4,597.01, I picked up the truck on Feb 16, 2012 and on May 27, 2012 the motor blew up again.
I brought my truck back to Engine Rebuilders because they gave me a 6 month warranty on the work they did. They told me that the reason it blew up again is because 2 injectors went bad and washed out the rings in those two cylinders... Engine Rebuilders replaced two injectors back in January, I took all 6 injectors to a specialist and paid $234.00 out of pocket to get them tested and all 6 were bad. My problem is that Engine Rebuilders didn't mark which two injectors they replaced, so therefore, I don't know if the two cylinders that the rings washed out are the two they changed or not. Did they even put in two new injectors in? They told me it wasn't their fault; therefore their warranty wasn't going to cover anything but the two injectors they had changed. When they said that I asked them to put everything in the back of my truck and I would pick it up, their answer was that they couldn't do that. I told me Icould get my truck back but they would keep my motor. I filed a claim with the BBB, and when they found out, they told me they would give me a discount , and we're only going to charge me $2,500.00 but I had to pull the complaint from the BBB, David Silva asked me to call BBB right in front of him to make sure I pulled the complaint.From my perspective I was cohered into doing this. After I called to try and pull the complaint. Engine Rebuilders fixed my truck again. When I went to pick up my truck on July 24, 2012 they now charged me $4,120.00 and David Silva told me I had to sign the invoice saying everything was taken care of so his BBB rating wouldn't go down.

On July 26, 2012 I took my truck back to Engine Rebuilders because they forgot to charge the A\C. The A\C wouldn't charge so they figured out that the fan clutch was bad, so they put a new one on.

On July 27, 2012 I noticed antifreeze leaking out of the radiator, I got under the truck to look and the bracket that holds the wiring for the fan clutch was zip tied to the fan shroud since it was not put on correctly, it rubbed a hole in the radiator, I took it back to Engine Rebuilders and they fixed it at no cost.

On July 28, 2012 The turbo went out so I called David Silva at Engine Rebuilders he told me that it had nothing to do with them. So I decided to take my truck and have it fixed somewhere else. The new turbo was put on Aug 24, 2012, when they took the truck for a test drive the mechanic got 100 yards out of his parking lot and the fan clutch came off the pulley, destroying the radiator, serpentine belt, fan shroud, and broke the pulley off the power steering pump. Once again I brought it back to Engine Rebuilders because you could tell the fan clutch was not put on properly, the nut on the fan clutch was stripped out and they had just changed it out and it was only driven for two days with the new fan clutch. Engine Rebuilders pulled the truck apart to figure out what happened. They came to the conclusion that it wasn't their fault. They said it was due to a bad power steering pump. Engine Rebuilders came to the conclusion that they would pay for labor and I had to pay parts. I brought David the new power steering pump and they were going to provide the rest of the parts for $543.00.

On September 28, 2012 I called Engine Rebuilders to see when my truck would be ready the gentlemen I spoke with, Angel, told me it should be ready on Saturday September 29, 2012 On October 1, 2012 I called to see it was ready and David Silva told me they were still waiting on the fan shroud.

On October 3, 2012 I called again and David Silva said it was running great and ready to be picked up. I was out of town so. On October 5, 2012 I went into Engine Rebuilders to pick up my truck and David said it. Continue next page

Desired Settlement
wasn't ready yet and they were waiting on a fan clutch. I told David I need the truck so I went and bought a new fan clutch brought it to Engine rebuilders, when I dropped it off David Silva told me to come back at 4:00 PM. When I got there at 4:00PM David Silva said they were almost done fixing it and it would be a little bit longer, I went to the back of the shop where they were working on my truck, the gentlemen working on my truck, was pouring antifreeze into the radiator I thought that was strange because David Silva had told me they had it running all ready. So I asked him if they had started the truck yet and he said NO. All of a sudden the antifreeze was pouring out of the block of the motor the gentlemen working on it looked and the freeze plugs weren't in the motor they had fallen out. I went back into the office and David Silva said the truck wasn't going to be ready that day but he would try to have it by October 6, 2012.

I called David Silva on October 6, 2012 around 12:00PM and he said that now there was a crack in between the transmission and the motor block, at that point I told David not to do anymore work on my truck because he said he needed to pull the motor out. I didn't speak with David or anyone else from Engine Rebuilders until Wednesday October 24, 2012 David Silva told me he had pulled the motor and that the pressure plate on the clutch had broken off and cracked the housing in between the motor and transmission and that now I need a clutch kit. I Got them the clutch kit and when they went to start the truck they couldn't get it to start so they tore the motor down without asking me and the motor is blown up again they want to charge me again for the motor cause they say it isn't their fault, its due to a bad turbo when I have talk to 5 different certified diesel Mechanics and they said it's not possible what David and Angle are saying these guys don't want to take responsibility for their actions they have damaged the cab of my truck.... The bell housing on the transmission they forgot to take the top two bolts out so the housing on the transmission is cracked we have taken the truck out of engine rebuilders shop and it is now being fixed by another company what we feel is fair here is that they pay the bill at the other shop where it is being fixed now and the $861.00 that I paid them for work I did nit authorize. The estimate for this 3rd repair is $6,530.28..

Business' Initial Response
Dear Mr. Lee Stallings,

Engine Rebuilders tried to help Mr.******* as much as we could. Mr. ******* insisted bringing in his own parts because did not want to pay our price. He delayed us on the repairs for more than 2 months. He said him and his wife had there baby and thats what took him so long to bring the parts. Mr. ******* drove his vehicle with with bad injectors and he melted the pistons the 1st time. The second time he drove his truch with a bad turbo unit which intern caused severe engine damage. We offered to Mr. ******* to fix the vehicle at cost as the 6 month warranty had already expired. He chose not to fix the vehicle with us and told us to box the engine up and he would pay us for what had been done so far.

Respectfully Yours,
Angel Delgado

Consumer's Final Response
Hello I have not heard anything on this complaint since March. I would like to know what the status is on it... I am completely Dissatisfied with the customers response. Engine Rebuilder say they offered me a solution which is to pay them more money. I have paid them twice to rebuild my motor and it is blown up again and they say it's not their fault. when I have had 3 Certified Diesel Mechanic look at my blown up motor and they all have said that its due to bad injectors and faulty valve adjustment done by Engine Rebuilders. Engine Rebuilders replaced all 6 of the injectors back in July of 2012. Frankly ,this is ridiculous, I know that we can go back and forth tit for tat but come on ,if this was Mr. David Silva's Truck or Mr. Angel Delgado Truck and I rebuilder there motor twice and it blows up for the third time and I keep saying its not my fault you need to pay me to rebuild it again I am pretty sure they would not be happy.. I would really like to get this resolved ASAP I would like to take it to Arbitration. When can sit down like grown men and get this worked out once and for all.

Sincerely
****** *******.

Business' Final Response
Dear Mr. Stallings 3/13/13

We are responding to the letter we received concerning Mr. *******. We have offered Mr. ******* a solution to repair his vehicle but he refused. This is not a warranty claim as Mr. ******* 6 month warranty has expired. This is the second time that we have helped Mr. ******* repair his vehicle, the 1st time the injectors damaged the engine. The 2nd time his turbo was damaged which intern damaged the engine. We don't understand why Mr. ******* would say he never approved authorization for parts when clearly he provided almost all the parts. We only provide fan shroud, radiator, & antifreeze. We also don't understand why Mr. ******* would say we refuse to pay for damage he claims we did to the back of cab. It is clearly written on the invoice # 216 in writing that we would fix the cab if he provided the truck back. We are willing to help customer, just pick up the phone and give us a call (214) 237-4415.

Respectfully Yours,

Angel Delgado
President/CEO

12/12/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/07/2012Problems with Product / Service
07/02/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
11/10/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They always add an upcharge to service in edition to the estimate. They failed to accept responsibility of damage to my vehicle.
My vehicle was picked up with a tow truck on 08/15/14. I was able to take pictures of my vehicle beforehand. Engine rebuilders kept the vehicle for almost two weeks. My original total estimate for the repairs was $3,450. The final bill was $3,975.21. They would not take a check they said it had to be cash. That means they upcharged me $525.21. This is not the first time they have upcharged me. The first time was $1700 and that was on top of my $500 deductible. When I went to pick up my vehicle on 09/02/14, the driver's side door and quarter panel was dented. I approached ***** at the shop about fixing it and they said that it was not their fault but they would take care of it. They were unwilling to use new parts and were also unwilling to pay for a rental car. I have since filed a claim with my insurance company for the damages. This is a perfect example of a lack of customer service and a lack of responsibility by Engine Rebuilders. Please refer to ************ dated 08/29/14.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a refund for the upcharges and the inconvenience to me for having to deal with these issues.

Business Response

BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX
NAME: ******* ******
DAY PHONE: XXX XXX-XXXX
ADDRESS: 1531 Flores Dr XXXXX
Garland, TX


Dear John Fife
We are responding to the letter we received concerning Mr. ******* ******. We did install a remanufactured long block for Mr. ****** back on 08/29/2014. Mr. ****** is claiming that we up charged his ticket which is not true. We gave Mr. ****** a firm price to rebuild his existing engine. Upon removing his engine we found the block to damage beyond repair. We called Mr. ****** and advised him that we could not do the repairs needed without changing the block. Mr. ****** came in to view the damaged block and seen with his own eyes that the block clearly couldn't be repaired. We advised Mr. ****** that we would need to use another block which would increase the price that we originally quoted. Mr. ****** was also advised that if he could provide another block that we would be able to keep his price that same. Mr. ****** said he had no way of providing another block and gave us the okay to purchase another block that was buildable. Had we (Engine Rebuilders) known ahead of time that his block was not rebuildable we could've been more accurate on estimating the price. Mr. ****** is also claiming that during the time of the repairs that we damaged his door. We advised Mr. ****** that this damage was not done at our facility. However, to satisfy our customer to the fullest we offered to repair the door at no cost to him under one condition. That he would make an appointment so that we may have his truck for two days to make the repairs to the door. He kindly agreed and said he would make an appointment as soon as he got back from out of town. A few weeks later a woman called claiming to be Mr. ********** daughter and said she needed a rent a car while we were making the repairs. We advised Mr. ********** daughter that we did not make this arrangement with Mr. ****** and to have him give us a call. We have still not heard from Mr. ****** to this day. Please advise our customer to give us a call and make the necessary arrangements that we agreed upon, the offer still stands.

Respectfully Yours,
***** *******
Owner/President


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is the second time I have had service with engine rebuilders. I would like to say there service on my trucks are ok. The reason I have made a complaint is the service I have received. First I had no dents in my truck when there tow truck pick it up.when I went to pick it up there was a dent in the door.So when I address it with *****, he said it was already there when they pick it up.Till I show pictures of it, which I had taking, cause I thought the tow truck was to small to carry my truck.Then an only then did he talk to ***** about it. Mr.******* agree to fix's it.So I agree to pay the amount due.I paid the balance on invoice in cash.$3,900.00 n change.The truck broke down at the bank.so I was able to get it back to the shop .left it over the weekend.When I put the truck in the shop ***** had assured me I would have it back for labor day weekend for my family reunion.. So that didn't happen.4 days late.then had a dent in the side door.I run a roofing company.our motto is striving for quality and customer satisfaction.The first time I put my truck in his shop the quote ***** gave me was $3,2500.00. at the end it was $5,300 and some change.This time it was $3,450.00 ended up being $3,900.00 and some change.The fact speaks for it self.Not to mention the threats of the maintenance agreement of being charges for daily storage fee if I didn't pay.I feel by asking for a rent car for the time they would fix's my truck was not asking to much since I was willing to let them fix's the dent. All this drama gave me a feeling of insecurity in his company.So I seek help from my insurance company. who according to them , Mr ******* refused to give his insurance information too.This case is pending.just want to be treated as a customer. Not to be kick and act like I have no rights.After they have my truck in possession.

Final Business Response
BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX
Consumer Info
NAME: ******* ******
DAY PHONE: XXX XXX-XXXX
ADDRESS: **** ****** Dr XXXXX
******** TX
EVE PHONE: -
CELL PHONE: -
EMAIL: **************@yahoo.com
FAX: XXX XXX-XXXX

Dear John Fife,
We have already explained that we did not up charge Mr. ********** ticket. We have a signed invoice showing he agreed to any additional expense that would require us to finish the job. The original signed contract was to build Mr. ****** engine in his truck. This was not possibly because his engine was severely damaged. Mr. ******* had the option to cancel the entire agreement or provide us with a block that was buildable. He chose neither and asked us to find him one. This would incur an additional expense. He agreed and understood that he would need to pay for this block. If he did not agree then why he did move forward with the repairs and request for us to find him one. We have never threatened Mr. ****** about storage a fee, that's just not true. Mr. ****** did call us from the bank saying his truck would not start. He managed to get it started and brought the truck back. After checking the vehicle we found the fuel filter needing to be changed. We (Engine Rebuilders) changed the fuel filter for Mr. ******* which he still hasn't paid us for. The fuel filter was not part of the original agreement. Mr. ******* has taken it upon himself to change the agreement we made to repair the dent he claims we did, Engine Rebuilders did not damage his truck but offered to repair for him to satisfy our customer to the fullest. Our offer still stands to repair the truck.

Respectfully Yours,
***** *******
Owner/President


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There something wrong with this company. The point I made was this.they pick up my truck with no dents on the driver door.when it was released it had a big dent in it.then he wouldn't accept responsibility for it.when the truck left my possession, I trust him with the truck.after proving it was done while in there possession. He said he would fixs it.I was willing to let him do it till he said n two weeks. I said ok if he would let me have a rent of car .he said no.then I decided to go with my insurance company.they have a judgment on engine rebuillters.I just want my 500. Deductible which I had . To pay above and beyond the cost for my engine.I just had it with this company. Don't won't look at the inconvenience that has cause me.not to mention the extra cost.

09/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was given a quote over the phone during the of $1,100 dollars. After car was repaired I was invoiced $1,500. Was also billed $75 for towing.
Contacted Engine Rebuilders June of 2013 for quote on repairing the engine in 2000 Honda Accord. Given a quote of $1,100 and an offer to tow the car to the shop. I agreed to have it repaired at Engine Rebuilders; I was never told about cost me $75 for tow. Thought the tow was a courtesy for doing business with Engine Rebuilders; however I was invoiced $75 for the tow. I would never have agreed to tow if I was aware of the cost; I had AAA and towing through my car insurance. I disputed the towing charge and ***** removed the charge.

After weeks of waiting on the repair, my son and I went to get the car. I was prepared to pay $1,100. To my surprise the price had gone up to $1,769 dollars. I inquired of the difference and was told that the engine cost them more than what they originally expected. I did not have a written quote as one was never given, I only received the quote over the phone. After debating the charges, I was told I had to pay or they would not release my car and I would be charged for storage cost each day. ***** offered to make repair of my other car after he saw how upset I was about the way he talked to me and the cost.
After getting the car, my son was on his way home and saw that the engine light was on. We took it back and was told that the light should go off after a driving about 20 miles. Well, in a week we had to take the car back because it was running hot and oil was leaking. That cost $120. I was told the problem had nothing to do with the engine repair. I was told that the fan on the radiator was not working and needed to be replaced and they could do the job if we brought the part.
I picked the car up. On the way home I stopped for something to eat. It would not start and was running hot. Had to take it back.
Okay, took the car back for the repair and told them that the engine light was still on. Now, we were told that the osensors needed to be replaced. We were told that the o-sensors were not part of the job, but that they probably needed to be replaced. They could replace if we bought the part, so we bought the o-sensors and had a mechanic put them on the car. After sensors put on, the engine light was still on.
Another problem, months later. After several months my son went to start the car and it would not start. A friend mechanic tried to get it started, but told him that something was wrong with the engine after ruling everything else out. Had the car towed back to Engine Rebuilders. After a week, my son called and was told that they had not even looked at it yet. They promised to get back to him in a couple of days. After a couple of days, they called to say that the car started and they did not do anything to it. It just started, there was nothing wrong with the car. I found that hard to believe.

The engine light is still on as of June 2014. I called Engine Rebuilders and spoke with ***** ***** at Engine Rebuilders. I informed him of the problem. He immediately became defensive. He talked down to me over the phone, each time I tried to explain the problem, he would just say that it was not Engine Rebuilders fault. He stated that the company was not responsible and could not do the repair. He called me crazy and said he would take me to court if I filed a complaint or posted a review on the Internet. Again, the problem was not Engine Rebuilders fault, this was the 8th time I had to take the car back.
Well, I had to pay to get the knock censor put on and the engine light went off. The mechanic who did the work informed me that the old censor appeared to have been knocked off when the engine was replaced. The knock censor cost $120 and $75 to put it on. Thought all my problems were over, nope not at all. Now the horn on the car doesn't work. I decided to post this complaint with BBB instead of calling Engine Rebuilders.
I never had so many problems with the car until Engine Rebuilders did the engine repair.

Desired Settlement
I would like refund for difference between quote ($600) and what I was charged and all of the other cost of repairs after the engine was put in ($450) for total of $1,050). Also, I would like an apology from ***** for the way he talked to me in person and over the phone. ***** is very rude person and as a woman I feel Engine Rebuilders invoiced me higher cost and was dishonest with repairs.

Business Response
BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX
RE: ******* ******
We are responding to letter we received regarding Mrs. ******* ******. We did install a remanufactured long block in Mrs. ******* ****** Honda back on 06/03/2013. We Engine Rebuilders have done everything to try and satisfy our customer by giving discounts on her repairs, installing parts for free, & waiving a tow fee which was clearly explained from the beginning. Mrs. ******* ****** is making a big deal over a knock sensor that needs to be replaced. We never sold her a knock sensor (we sold the LONG BLOCK installed). She must replace this part to clear the check engine light. We are currently in the process of putting together a law suit against Mrs. ****** for defamation of character of a business as Mr. ******* ****** has not been honest about this entire story and has deterred the general public from using Engine Rebuilders. Mrs. ******* ****** claims she has been back 8 times to Engine Rebuilders but has no paper work to collaborate her story. *******'s review posted online in Google she has returned 5 times Engine Rebuilders, which one is it? 5 or 8 times? Each time a customer returns to Engine Rebuilders paper work is issued in the form of an invoice. Our records show that the amount of claims Mrs. ******* ****** is claiming does not collaborate with her story. Please advise our customer that we issued them a 12 month unlimited mileage warranty on parts and labor listed on the work order and that Engine Rebuilders will fix, repair, or replace any item or items that fall within the warranty contract issued.

Respectfully Yours,

***** *******/Owner CEO

05/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ENGINE REBUILDERS LLC DID NOT PROVIDE ME A WORKABLE RE-BUILT ENGINE IN A TIMELY MANNER THEY INDICATED THEY WOULD REFUND MY MONEY.
ON oct 01 2013 I GAVE ***** ******* of engine rebuilders llc a cashers check for $1 895 for aFord 4.0 engine. THE ENGINE provided broke a chain right away. The second time installed another chain associated with the cam-shaft broke within 300 miles of use. This occurred over a period of three months. I could nolonger wait for a good engine from them as the engine is for a truck used in day to day business. ***** ******* said they would return my money. I Told





***** ***** I WOULD accept a loss of approxameantly of $200 to cover their parts costs.

Desired Settlement
$1,895 minus $200 parts costs.

Business Response
BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX

Dear Mr. *** Stallings:
Mr. ******* did purchase a carry out long block back in October 2013 from us (Engine Rebuilders). Mr. ******* did return the engine back due to a broken timing chain. Engine Rebuilders did repair the engine under warranty and notified our customer his engine was ready for pick up. He picked the engine up a few days later. Mr. ******* notified us again about 2 months later saying he thinks he still has a problem. We did advise Mr. ******* to bring the engine back if there was a problem as it was under warranty. We also offered to have the entire vehicle brought in so that we may make an inspection and find out the problem. Mr. ******* refused and demanded a full refund. We advised Mr. ******* that he had a 12 month unlimited mileage warranty and invited him back so that we may fix, repair or replace any item or items that fall within the warranty contract.

Respectfully Yours
***** *******


Consumer Response
view attachment


Business Response
NAME: ****** *******
DAY PHONE: XXX XXX-XXXX
ADDRESS: *** *** XXXX XXXXX-XXXX
Blum, TX
EVE PHONE: -
CELL PHONE: -
EMAIL: ******************
FAX: -


Dear Mr. Lee Stallings:

We are responding to the letter we received regarding Mr. ****** *******. Mr. ******* was issued a 12 month warranty on the long block he purchased from us. We have invited Mr. ******* back so that we may fix, repair, or replace any item or items that fall within the warranty contract issued to our customer. Our warranty contract clearly states that our customer must return back to claim warranty and that we do not give any refunds but reserve the right to fix, repair, or replace any item or items that fall within the warranty contract issued. We understand that there can be an inconvenience for our customers who have to return. We do our best to get the repairs made as fast as possible so that our customer can have their vehicle back asap.


***** *******
Owner/President

10/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I took my suv 2001 suzuki vitara to engine rebuilder in july 22,2010 at 3540 Irving blvd in Dallas,tx. XXXXX (XXX)XXX-XXXX because my engine was blown
In July 20,2010 I call engine rebuilder to get an estimation to replacement engine for an 2001 Suzuki Vitara 2.0. I talk with ***** ***** and he said they could rebuild the motor for $2,391.84, at the time my car was at another shop in Ft. Worth, they took so long to repair my motor that is why I call engine Rebuilder. ***** picked up the car July 22, 2010 to rebuild the motor. I paid $600.00 down and the balance left was $1191.84. ***** call and said some parts was missing after behaving my car for 6 mo., he said I needed an oil pan, oxygen sensor, valve cover, oil dipstick, battery, balancer, intake manifold, exhaust manifold, and radiator. These items I purchase at a salvage yard and auto part store. ***** called me and said the car is ready and the balance was $1700, $500.00 more than previous balance. I paid $850.00 on December 14, 2012, and paid balance of $850.00 February 8, 2013. After paying the full balance and picking up the car with a 1 year warranty I notice an exhaust leak and radiator leak. Then I notice Radiator was not the new one I brought to them. The car kept stopping, had to but a new starter, the engine made noise when I accelerate, the fly wheel grind against the starter until it grind down the starter down. The engine does not idle smooth. I call back to engine rebuilder and explained to ***** about the problem. He told me to bring the car back in and make a list of the problems. I took the car back in around July 8, 2013. I then talked with ***** ******* and told him about the problem concerning the engine and ask him about my new radiator I brought in. He said that he seen it in a box and that he will fix the entire problem concerning the motor. I call back after 10 days and he said he hasn't had a change to look at it. After 3 weeks I call again and he said he haven't look at it yet, so I told ***** that I will pick the car up, because I needed to get to work. So I pick it up on October 8, 2013. This is not a rebuilt engine I was a mechanic years ago and I know what a rebuilt engine sound like and look like. The transmission fluid was so low it didn't show on the stick. This is the worst job I seen as far as engine rebuilding concern. I lost all trust in them and would like a refund of my money. I paid to engine rebuilder for a service they did not deliver.

Desired Settlement
I paid 2400.00 for this service. I believe a fair refund of 1500.00 for the half service i receive and parts that i bought to engine rebuilders.

Business Response
Engine Rebuilders LLC
3540 Irving Blvd
Dallas, TX 75247

BBB CASE#: XXXXXXXX
**** *******

Dear Mr. Lee Stallings,
We (Engine Rebuilders) did install a reman long in Mr. *******'s 2001 Suzuki Vitara. Another shop had already pulled the engine out prior to us receiving the vehicle. Not only was the engine already pulled out but all the parts were just thrown in buckets all over the front and back seats of Mr. *******'s Suzuki. Upon starting the process of replacing the engine did we notice that Mr. *******'s vehicle was in a basket case condition, parts were placed in 5 gallon buckets that weren't even his parts. The parts that were provided by Mr. ******* in the vehicle were the wrong parts, they belonged to a Honda and Mr. ******* has a Suzuki. We called Mr. ******* to come in and take a look. He finally showed up a week later to view the parts. After explaining and showing the parts to Mr. ******* he said he would go back to the shop and try to see if they still had his parts. After a week passed ** called Mr. ******* to try and find out where the parts were. He said the shop had accidently put the wrong parts from another car in his vehicle. More than 3 weeks passed *** Mr. ******* has still not provided us with an engine or parts to continue the work. We called Mr. ******* and asked him where were the parts so we could get the job done. Mr. ******* said the shop found some parts and that he would be bringing them in. Mr. ******* showed up with more parts that didn't belong to his Suzuki. He said his vehicle had been at that shop for more than a year and that they had lost most of the parts to his car. Mr. ******* asked us what he needed to get the job done and if we could make him a list of all the parts he needed. We put the parts list together for him and gave him this list. Mr. ******* said he would get us what we needed. Several days went by and still Mr. ******* hasn't provided nothing. We called several times and left several messages with no return call. Mr. ******* finally came in 3 months later with very few parts, still missing almost everything he needed to complete this job. We asked Mr. ******* if he would like for us to get him these parts he refused saying the parts were too high and that he would provide to us what we needed. Several months go by and still no answer from Mr. *******. Finally Mr. ******* answers the phone & says he does not have the money to buy what we need right now. This went on for about 6 more months. Finally Mr. ******* calls us saying he has been very sick & apologizes about delaying us. He finally provides us what we need a year later to complete the job. Take into mind we never charged him storage fees to keep his vehicle here. Mr. ******* picked his vehicle up once we were done. Mr. ******* called about 3 weeks later saying he had a few issues he wanted us to look at. We advised Mr. ******* to make a list so that we may address any problem he may have. He showed up with his list and left the vehicle with us. We advised Mr. ******* that it may take several days as we are busy with both new work and warranty work but would get to his vehicle in the order it came in as. A week passed *** Mr. ******* said he could no longer wait on us (even though we waited on him for over a year without charging a storage fee). Mr. ******* came in and picked us vehicle up. We asked Mr. ******* to give us a little more time so that we may take care of him he refused. Mr. ******* has a 12 month warranty with us on parts & labor listed on the work order. We would like to invite Mr. ******* back so that we may fix or repair any item or items that fall within the warranty contract issued.

Respectfully Yours

***** *******/Owner


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
engine rebuilders did such a bad job the first time I dare not take it back there. they did'nt say any thing about the new parts I brough to them. the bottom line is however long I took or engine rebuilders took at the end of the day engine rebuilder did a bad bad job on my car. I would like an part refund.

10/29/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failed to repair car as should be after rebuilding the engine.
Failed to repair car as should be after rebuilding the engine. the enigine light is still on ,performance restricted light is on, several codes were indicated the day car was picked up, Company failed to take a look at the engine components and made several asumptions which may be the problem, another engine rebuilder recommend relook at engine.

Desired Settlement
Recommend having another company fix problem since they refuse to complete and have them pay for the repair

Business Response
Dear Mr. Lee Stallings 3/29/2013

We did install a Remanufactured Long Block in Mrs. ****** 2000 Jaguar. We did advise Mrs. ***** of a VVT solenoid that needed to be replaced. We also advised Mrs. ***** not to provide a used part as it may not be any good. Mrs. ***** refused to buy a new one, instead provided us with one that was used. Mrs. ***** has currently returned the vehicle back with engine problems due to the used part she provided. We are currently working on Mrs. *****'s vehicle. We will fix, repair or replace any item or items that fall within the warranty.

Respectfully Yours,
***** *******


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I don't accept there response, because they should be held accountable for any and all damages, even the towing, due to them not going back and looking at the engine, even when the check engine light was still on and prior to the car stopping and burning out all the oil, in which my car ran out of motor oil and had to be towed to the Engine Rebuilders on March 25, 2013. The part that they referenced, it was a used part, as most of the other parts that they reused for the car, it doesn't have anything to do with the engine problem according to Jag Mac Jaguar Texas Inc, (Russell).and would not fix my problem, so that would not be the reason my car is back in the shop. Also they punched a hole in one the hoses for my A/C they say they fixed it from blowing hot air; however it is still blowing hot air. The day I picked up my car it had several codes, which were review by Auto Zone, codes that were there prior to my car first in the shop, still there!! If my car is to have a new rebuild engine it should run like new. I would like for them to fix my car and refund the oil that I had to buy for the car and the towing, also ,if they use up my car gaS to replace it the tank was full again, and repair my A/C so it doesn't blow hot air.

****** *****

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Engines - Rebuild & Exchange, Auto Repair & Service - Equipment & Supplies, Truck Repair & Service, Transmissions - Automobile, Radiators - Automotive, Brake Service, Auto Inspection Stations

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.