BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 10/01/1957

City Motor Supply, Inc. (Headquarters)

Phone: (972) 484-2611Fax: (972) 484-7267

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
08/20/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: Told to purchase a replacement part because their supplier couldnt get it. Ended up with disassembled motor and new crank I couldnt use or return.
Motor dropped off at business on 2/14 for repairs, deposit paid. Was originally told motor would be ready in a week depending on delivery of parts. Had to call myself a few times for follow-up. When I called on 2/21, I was told they would call in about 30 mins. No phone call recieved. When I called back an hour and a half later, I was told everything was "ok". Then about 20 mins later I was called back to tell me I would need to purchase, on my own, a crank for my motor because their supplier did not have one, nor could get one. I purchased the crank from GM and delivered it to City Motor on 2/28. I was told to call back Friday, 3/1 to get an estimated completetion date. I actually called them on Monday, 3/4 and was told they would call back in 30 mins. Recieved a phone call from **** stating that there is nothing they could do b/c there were other issues of the motor they could not repair. They did offer a refund of our deposit, however, would not do anything about the $500 I had to spend on a crank that I was told to purchase by them, b/c they couldnt get one. I was told the crank needed to be purchased as it was the only thing delaying the completion of my motor being repaired and everything else looked "good". When I went to pick up my completely disassembled motor, and my deposit, I was given the brand new crank I purchased but in a completely different box than the one it came in b/c I was told they couldnt find it and had no idea what happend to it. When I discussed this with **** and asked to be refunded for the crank, I was told I had to buy, he told me that they could not do anything with the crank b/c they had no use for it. I even tried returning the crank to GM where I purchased it from, however, b/c it was no longer in the box it came in, they were unable to take it back. I called City Motor to ask if they have found the box as this is what was keeping me from returning the crank and trying to recover my money. I was told that they would look around and call me if they found it. I I have not recieved a phone call to this day and have a crank that I am unable to return, or be refunded my money for.

Business' Initial Response
We did not ask Mr. ****** to go to a dealer to purchase a new crank. Sometimes engine parts can be found at junkyards. Also, we didn't know the block was twisted until we tried laying the crankshaft in the block and the block turned out to be junk. At that point, we refunded the deposit back to Mr. ******.

Consumer's Final Response
Mr Stallings,

Thank you so much in advance for your time. I just wanted to follow up on the complaint I submitted on April 4th, 2013 against City Motor Supply, Complaint ID#: XXXXXXXX. I have been keeping up on the status of this case as best I can throught the online system. According to the online system, these are the latest notes entered on the case:

05/01/2013 OttO MAIL Customer Dissat Notice to Company
05/01/2013 OttO BBB BBB Review Consumers Response

It has been a week and a half since this last note was entered and unsure of where I go from here. I am not sure if anything further is needed from me at this point, or if this is still under review. I am just trying to do as best I know how, to reach my desired resolution as this took a huge hit on myself and my family. I still have the brand new crank as well as the reciept of purchase. I look forward to hearing from you. Thanks again.



Sincerely,
****** ******

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

06/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: 2ND FAILURE OF ENGINE PURCHASED IN MARCH. NO LABOR COVERAGE DESPITE 20 YEARS OF SERVICE. 5 OUT OF LAST 7 PRODUCTS HAVE ONE PROBLEM OR ANOTHER.
ENGINE PURCHASED 3/14/2013, INVOICE XXXXXXX-IN. FIRST PROBLEM NOISEY LIFTER/ FAULTY PART. REPLACED LIFTERS PER CITY MOTORS INSTRUCTION. CITY SUPPLIED PARTS, NO LABOR ALLOWANCE. ENGINE STLL TICKING AND NO OIL PRESSURE. FRONT CAM BEARING SPUN, BLOCKING OIL PASSAGE. REMOVED ENGINE AND WAS GIVEN ANOTHER ENGINE, AGAIN W/ NO LABOR ALLOWANCE. I HAVE DELT W/ COMPANY FOR THE BETTER PART OF 20 YEARS, AND 5 OUT OF LAST 7 PURCHASES HAVE HAD ONE PROBLEM OR ANOTHER. ALL CLAIMS HAVE BEEN DOCUMENTED. ISSUES FROM CRACKS IN CYLINDER HEAD NOT SEEN BY COMPANY, OR IN THIS CASE BLOCK WAS NOT CHECKED CORRECTLY. COMPANY OFFERED 300.00 OFF NEXT PURCHASE, BUT AT THIS POINT I'LL NEVER USE OR RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY AGAIN. LOST 3 DIFFERENT CUSTOMER'S FROM FAILED ENGINES/ PARTS FROM THIS COMPANY, THEIR LACK OF UNDERSTANDING AND COMMITMENT TO THEIR PRODUCT IS WITHOUT EXPLAINATION.

Business' Initial Response
We offer a Labor Warranty at the time of the initial purchase, which pays up to $400, and Mr. ****** declined to purchase the Labor Warranty.

We replaced the motor after the initial complaint and offered the customer $200.00 discount off of his next purchase. He declined that offer and we then offered $300.00 discount off of his next purchase.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/09/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues
08/17/2011Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Engines - Rebuild & Exchange, Engines - Supplies, Equipment & Parts, Auto Perform, Race & Sport Equipment, Auto Parts & Supplies - Used & Rebuilt, Auto Services, Auto Service - Specialty Parts, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Pistons, Piston Rings, Machine Shops, Gaskets, Crankshaft Grinding

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.