BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/22/2008

Fry's Electronics

(214) 242-49002488 Market Place Blvd, IrvingTX 75063-8036 Send email to Fry's Electronicshttp://www.frys.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/22/2008

BBB has determined that Fry's Electronics meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Fry's Electronics' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service10
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 16

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (16)BBB Closure Definitions
01/20/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation did not disclose key conditions of the offer

Complaint: Required 2-year warranty purchase for Xbox One
I called this location the day before release of the Xbox One game system and asked if they are selling the Xbox One to customers who did not pre-order. They only answered yes we are and we will open our doors at 11 pm to start the process. Upon arriving at this Fry's Electronics store, they gave me a flyer stating that they require a 2-year warranty to customers who did not pre-order. Therefore, I was required to purchase this warranty or I could not get the game system. I expressed my dislike to the store and they did not budge on this requirement, mind you that no other company i.e. Best Buy did not practice this sales scheme. If I had known this requirement prior to spending 2 hours in the line, I would not have wasted my time at the store but since it was too late to go to another retailer since they would be sold out they had that against me. I would like to understand why they are allowed to force customers to purchase this extra warranty since Microsoft offers a warranty that I am happy with.

Initial Business Response
Called the customer and left a message. I informed the customer that I have returned the warranty and $24.09 has been refunded to his Visa card, but the remainder of $125.90 is with me as a gift certificate due to the media he used to purchase the items. He used $100 cash, $75 gift card and the remainder was a Visa. I informed the customer that if he wanted to come to the store to pick up his gift certificate I could credit his credit card but needed him to swipe his card to do so.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

10/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: I purchased a Barbecue Grill and paid an "Assembly Charge" of $24,99. Unit was returned and refund of "Assembly Charge" was refused contrary to policy
On Saturday, September 21, 2013, I Went to Fry's Store #37, Irving, Texas, to purchase a gas barbecue grill. There was a Char Broil Unit (#463722313) assembled on the floor. I offered to buy the floor sample, but was told that they could not sell the floor sample; and that this one had not been assembled properly. I checked the unit, they were correct. I was then advised that there was a new unit in a box and it could be assembled in short time. There was an assembly charge of $24,99 + Tax. I stated that no competitor, Wal-Mart, Home Depot, Lowes, Sears, etc. charged to assemble a barbecue grill. I was informed that it was a non-negotiable charge. I needed the grill immediately; and reluctantly I agreed to the assembly charge. I asked who would assemble the unit and was told there ewas an employee in the store who did that. I was to told to return in 1 ½ hours. When I returned, I found the Department Supervisor and an employee attempting to assemble the grill. I was told that the employee who ordinarily assembled grills was not there that day. When the grill was assembled and I went to pay, I again asked for the assembly charge to be removed and was refused. I paid and took the grill home.
When I attempted to use the grill, it would not start. I called Char Broil and explained the situation and was told that a critical part had failed from inception. They offered to replace the part. It would take 7 to 10 business days. I asked if I was expected to perform repairs on a new, defective grill.. The Customer Service agent suggested that I return it. Smart girl!
I brought the grill back to Fry's on Wednesday, September 25. The grill was in brand new condition, never having been used. I was offered a refund of $140.71. When I asked about the refund for the $24.99 Assemble Charge, I was told it was policy that assembly charges were never refunded, even if the unit was defective and failed out of the box. I asked to see where this "policy" was stated in Fry's published Refund Policy, or where it was stated in any of the literature I was provided at time of sale. The answer was, "Well, it's policy". Since it is not specifically stated in Fry's published Refund Policy, I believe that I am entitled to a complete refund of the $167.77 that I originally paid (including the assembly charge). There was nothing in wring from Fry's to support the policy that the Assembly Charge would not be refunded. The withholding of the refund, notwithstanding Fry's published policy to the contrary, in my opinion constitutes deceptive advertising and fraud. I am entitled to a full refund, and I want it.

****** ******
**** N. ********* *****
Apt. ****
Irving, TX XXXXX
(XXX) XXX-XXXX
**********@yahoo.com

Initial Business Response
Spoke to the customer and informed him that the charge had already been refunded back to him for the assembly charge.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/27/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to provide promised written warranty or guarantee

Complaint: Will only offer store credit for sale price of tv instead of honoring warranty by replacing TV with like kind as warranty states.
Purchased TV in September of 2011 have had to have motherboard replaced twice. Second time to shiva maker of TV directed frys that replacement motherboard no longer available and TV should be replaced. Frys is offering in store credit for the TV purchase price which was a sale price, this will not replace the TV. Warranty should reflect value of TV not sale price a it is a replacement warranty. Have tried to contact store manager without a response. We have waited two months for this to be resolved. They will not even respond to our requests they only say they will give store credit.

Business' Initial Response
Offered a replacement tv in which was an LG 55LM7600 that much better features than their Toshiba. Mr. ****** came in on Saturday the 23 and picked up the replacement tv. The matter is closed.

Consumer's Final Response
This complaint has been satisfied by both parties. I would like to withdraw my complaint as it was resolved prior to BBB contacting them.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/19/2012Advertising / Sales Issues
09/10/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 3
10/10/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of repair

Complaint: I dropped off my iMac computer almost 4 weeks ago for a power source replacement. They still don't know when it will be fixed.
I took my iMac computer into Fry's Electronics in Irving, TX on July 1st to have the power source replaced. I had taken it to the Apple Store and they told me what was wrong with it. When I got to Fry's they told me that I would have to pay $75 for a diagnostic on the computer, even though I told them what was wrong. 2 weeks later, I still hadn't heard from them so I called and was told they would look into it and call me back. They never did. So I called back and was told again that someone would call me back. I got sick of not having anyone call me back so I went into the store on July 21st, 3 weeks after my computer was dropped off, and asked what was going on. A manager in training looked at their systems and couldn't believe what he was reading. He told me it took 10 days just for Fry's Corp to respond with a Part Number. He told me that it looks like they had received a confirmation number and it should be in Monday or Tuesday so I should have the computer within the day that the part came in. After I hadn't heard back from them by Thursday I decided to go into the store again. Eric told me he wasn't sure what was going on but his Dept Manager had emailed Fry's Corp to find out what was happening the day before, Wednesday. Seeing as how they are having a long wait time with emails I asked why they couldn't call someone. He told me he would get with is Manager and have someone call me back with an update. I never heard from him. So I called AGAIN Friday, July 26th, almost 4 weeks later, and spoke with James. James apologized and told me he would speak with his manager and call me back that day. He did call me back at 8:30 Friday night. He said he emailed and spoke to his Dept Manager, Richard Hearrean, but that he left without doing anything about it. To my surprise James also mentions that they had a District Department Manager out of California in the store and told him about it too. Needless to say, it's almost 4 weeks now with my computer sitting in pieces on an open shelf at Fry's in Irving TX and THEY still don't know when it's going to be fixed. I have NEVER been treated this poorly by any retailer. I want my computer fixed or my money, $283.58, refunded in full with my computer put back together the way it was so I can have it repaired elsewhere. I know that the only issue with the computer was the Power Supply, according to Fry's own diagnostic, and according to Apple. I have also written to Apple concerning this issue and how disappointed I am with them referring me to Fry's

Initial Business Response
The customers computer was repaired and the customer has been contacted and has also picked up their unit.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My computer was far from repaired. I picked it up because I couldn't get a response from your "experts" for 4 weeks as to why it was still sitting on the shelf in pieces. So I made them put it back together, which I found out was done incorrectly after I took it to a reputable place that had it fixed within 2 weeks and called me with updates 5 times during the process. No, I do NOT accept the response from FRYS as they are not being truthful. Furthermore, your team didn't "contact" me at all until I placed this complaint with the BBB. In fact, when I went in they had NO CLUE as to why your company couldn't get back with them after emails repeatedly to their warehouses and parts center. I have also contacted Apple about my utter disappointment at having been sent to your store.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

02/14/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/21/2012Problems with Product / Service
04/13/2012Problems with Product / Service
11/23/2011Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/05/2007Business started: 01/01/1985Business started locally: 01/01/1990
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Adrian Ortiz (Store Manager)Mr. Brandon Barnes (Assistant Store Manager)Mr. Ben Garrido (Store Manager)
Related Businesses
Fry's Electronics - 12710 Executive Dr, Dallas, TX
Fry's Electronics - Plano - 700 E Plano Pkwy, Plano, TX
Business Category

Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Fry's Electronics

2488 Market Place Blvd

Irving, TX 75063-8036

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2488 Market Place Blvd 

    Irving, TX 75063-8036(214) 242-4900

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Fry's Electronics is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Electronic Equipment & Supplies - Dealers

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.