BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/2004

Milestone Electric, Inc (Headquarters)

Phone: (214) 348-5100Fax: (972) 526-5900

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
08/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
1st tech did not find problem after being here 4 hours. He put freon in system.charged me $182.00.The 2nd tech came out discovered problem in no time
The freon thw 1st tech put in leaked out all over bottom of outside unit. They wanted to much to fix so I said wanted to get 2nd opinion. I feel I should receive my money back on the $182.00 freon bill. As the 1st tech just put in to get some type of payment from me.

Desired Settlement
I seek refund on the freon from company.

Business Response
We have been in contact with the customer and we are resolving the issue.

Consumer Response
**E-mail response**
They have cleared up this matter by refunding me the money I paid out. Thank you, ****** ******

04/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lack of response to multiple requests for documentation.
On February 2, 2015 Milestone Electric had to replace an entire breaker panel/box due to it catching on fire. Our insurance company requested an Electricians Report to complete our claim. We have called Milestone headquarters several times with NO response or documentation. I have personally gone to the location on Highway 10 to request this documentation to which I was given an email address to send the manager *** an email to request this documentation. *** has been sent 3 emails to which I have yet to receive any sort of response or the documentation I am needing.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting the Electricians Report or a refund. This had to be paid out of pocket and now our insurance company will not approve our claim.

Business Response
We have been in contact with the customer and we will be handling the request.

06/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
had final inspection of the home and was told the GFCI outlets in the hall bath (2) and those in the kitchen (3) and two in garage (2) are not working
Work was done 3/31/15; they returned a few times to add a few more outlets outside the scope of work. They were argumentative, seemed confused by the work that needed to be done or didn't know how to do it. I was berated because I didn't pay them to run entire new service when I told them it was beyond my budget. While in the attic they misstepped and nearly broke thru the ceiling, causing cracking which my contractor had to remove and re-sheetrock, re-texture and re-paint. Also in one bedroom I believe when they brought a ladder in to add a smoke alarm, they hit the ceiling fan which is now out of balance, possibly damaged and not repairable. I won't have these people back in my home. They are like bulls in a china shop.

Desired Settlement
$1698 since the scope of work was completed and not approved by the city. If the cost to hire another electrician to repair this exceed $1698, they need to pay the difference

Business Response
We are currently working on a resolution with the customer.

04/14/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The work they did caused outlets and lights to no longer work, they will not answer or return my phone calls.
On March 2nd job #XXXXXX Milestone Electric came to my home and told me that I needed two new breakers and an outlet replaced. After 45 minutes of work they said the work was complete. I paid $918.75 on a credit card. The next morning March 3rd I realized several outlets and an outside light were no longer working. I called them and left a voicemail. I called several other times and got no answer. My husband called with the same results.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund of all charges since they caused more electrical problems and did not bother to stand behind their work and fix the issues that they caused.

Business Response
We have come to a resolution with the customer. We will stand behind our 100% satisfaction guarantee and our warranty with the new home owner.

02/09/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Price of service was excessive for work provided
Milestone Electric replaced an electrical distribution box at my residence. The total retail cost of comparable materials is less than $100. The total ti me for two electricians (work could have been performed by one) was less than 2 hours. The charges were over $1400.

Milestone Electric took advantage of my desperate predicament and grossly overcharged for their services.

Desired Settlement
$1000

Business Response
We are in contact with the customer and are discussing a resolution to the matter.

05/27/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
#1 this company states if you are not 100% satisfied they'll refund you 100%, and that is not the case.
#1 I did not receive same day service when I was told I would. I had a back-up electrician (tutor) who could've gotten the job done that same day for $1200. Instead, I went with Milestone based off their guarantee and did not get service till the next day. They came and installed power but that's it, they tore up my rose bed and didn't even have the decency to lay the siding into the ground, nor place the panels back onto the hot tub that they were wiring electric for. Leaving my hot exposed to the elements the entire day, and I had to hand screw the nails into place, which took over an hour because I don't have a power drill. I called to talk with management and they seriously tried to haggle me. NOW, I can't get my bill setup online and Wells Fargo has no record online, so I can't get setup with account access. I wish I would've never called Milestone, it's been a complete nightmare and not what they advertise at all!

Desired Settlement
I am asking at this point that Milestone stand by their guarantee of 100$ sanctification or a 100% REFUND guarantee. like it states on their materials. And, I don't want be hassled by some jerk that minimizes me and then offers to take off $200 bucks! If you would've done the job 100% and as advertised, I wouldn't be here. Instead, I spend my time complaining to anyone looking for an electrician and making darn sure none of them use Milestone, especially single women!!

Business Response
We are currently working out a resolution for the customer.

11/27/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Please get a second and third quote. Miles Electric wanted to charge me 4770.00 for a 400.00 dollar job. Left with bad attitude because I wanted 2nd.
Milestone electric told me that my breaker box and outside box was in very bad shape and that my wiring was very bad. Told me that my appliances should be unplugged before they got damaged. Was told that my breaker box and a-lot of things needed to be fixed asap. All was good until he showed me a 6000.00 quote then dropped down to 4770.00 dollars. When I told the electrician that I wanted to get another quote he had bad attitude, Saying I didn't trust him. He never gave me a quote for fixing the problem at hand. Just said I needed a complete re-due of wiring. I told him that if other electric company"s tell me the same thing That I would call them back. Once they ( MilesStone ) left I noticed in the garage that my Freezer was left unplugged and the cover plate was not on the outlet. Then I noticed the breaker was still tripped in the breaker box. I called Milestone back to get the guys back over to correct the problem which they did. But they did not say a word to me and left again with a bad attitude. All i wanted was to have 3 outlets checked and a power issued looked at. Thank God I got a second and third opinion from other electric company;s. I did not tell them that Miles Stone had been to my house. I told them my issues and got a quote from both within 60.00 dollars of each other. Cost me 400.00 for repairs. Wow. Then after the job was done I asked them about my Breaker box and other outside boxes. They ( Both Electric Company's) said my equipment was in great shape considering my house was almost 30 years old. When I asked them if everything needed to be replaced they both laughed.One of the electricians said ,and I quote . Only Miles Stone Electric Would charge that much. I promise I did not tell them that MilesStone Electric had been to my house. I feel sorry for the older people out there that go through these sales tactics and used car sales line's to ripe people off. It makes me sick to think I could have paid 11 times the amount it actually cost to fix the problem. I will never use or recommend Mile Stone Electric to anyone. Get 2nd and 3rd opinions and quotes.

Desired Settlement
Word of mouth is the best advertising money can buy! My new electrician is going to be very busy. If I see a Miles Stone Electric truck in my neighbor hood. I will go to that person's house and tell them to please get another opinion. Sorry Miles Stone Electric! But when you try to get 4770.00 dollars out of some one for a 400.00 job !

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** *******
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ***@milestoneelectricdfw.com
We discussed the situation with the customer. When we were made aware of workmanship issues, we sent representatives over to the home to fix the issues. We did not charge Mr ******* for any part of his service that day. After our technician did his investigation of his equipment, our technician gave Mr ******* and option for upgrades and repairs to his system. Mr ******* declined the option and we left his home.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First off. I had to call Milestone Electric to come back to my house because the electricians left a breaker that had tripped. Plus they left the freezer unplugged and the electrical plate to the freezer uncovered. They came back and fixed those items which should have been done the first time they were here. After they left the second time they still forgot to plug the freezer back in. The freezer wasn't an issue to begin with. Why they were jack'in with the freezer in the first place I don't know. Second, I offered to pay the call charge and any other charges, but he refused and said he would pay for it after I said i was going to get another opinion. Above all, the technician as stated above DID NOT give ANY options for upgrades, or fixing the problem i had.The technician made it clear that my electrical box needed to be replaced and some box outside needed to be replaced. The technician also said if i didn't replace these, that my appliances would be damaged. He actually told me to unplug all of them. Everything in the house was working when they came over. I have lived in this house for 21 years with no electrical issues.
I told Milestone that I had 3 plugs not working and a line of electricity not pulling through. They never gave me a fix your problem answer. Just that they wanted 6000.00 dollars to replace my electrical box and 20 different items I didn't need. I still have the paperwork with his quote. It's a joke. Also when I told the technician about getting a second and third opinion he copped a big attitude saying I didn't believe him and I better unplug my appliances and I better call the other electricians now. Wouldn't you get another opinion if you were told it was going to cost 6000.00 to fix your problem? This bring's me to the second and third electrician's that came by the next day. They both were within 60.00 of each other to fix my problem. They both said that my equipment , both the electrical box and the box outside were in great shape for the age of my house. That all I needed was to replace 2 old breakers and an outlet. It cost 400.00. I promise I did not tell either one that MIlestone electric had been out the day before and what they wanted to fix the problem. There were NO OPTION's by Milestone electric. Just 6,000.00 dollars to basically rewire my whole house which I didn't need and the technician copped an attitude when i wouldn't except his offer. It was pressure selling and ripping off at it's finest ,period! Options , are you kidding me. I feel sorry for all the people , especially the older people who get pressured into this sales technique and attitude. Milestone Electric should pay me the 377.00 a month they wanted for stuff i didn't need. Think that will happen? Because that's what I would of been out each month for 12 months for stuff I didn't need. Plus the attitude. Makes me mad just typing this. Everybody get a second and third opinion for anything that sounds or is expensive. Thank God I did , saved 5,600.00. Would never use or recommend Milestone Electric to anyone. Beware!

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electricians, Lighting Systems & Equipment, Engineers - Electrical, Electricians - Commercial, Contractor - Electrical

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.