BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/15/2008

Oncor Electric Delivery (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (888) 313-6862Fax: (214) 486-68801616 Woodall Rogers Freeway, Suite 6C-006, DallasTX 75202

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/15/2008

BBB has determined that Oncor Electric Delivery meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Oncor Electric Delivery's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 106 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

106 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 50 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues34
Delivery Issues11
Problems with Product / Service61
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 106

Additional Complaint Information

Complaints are regarding repair issues. Specifically, customers complained of the length of time the company took to repair power outages affecting their homes which in turn left the customers with out power for extended periods of time.

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (106)BBB Closure Definitions
09/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of repair

Complaint: On Aug 22, my power went out. Oncor sent someone out who then broke my meter. After 6 days, Oncor finally came out, while my power was out entirely.
My power went out on Aug 22. It was to be reconnected and was not. Oncor sent someone out, who broke my meter and said my apartments would have to fix it. My apartments fixed the issue the next day and Oncor then told me it would need to be inspected by the city. We had an emergency inspector come out Aug 24. However, someone was to come out aug 25 and reconnect, and no one came. Then on Aug 26, they claimed a technican came out, who supposedly told me that there were repairs that needed to be made to my meter. This never happened. We had ANOTHER electrician come out, and he replaced everything that had previously been replaced and inspected. We called again and after getting the run around for 7 hours, we were finally told that we would have to have yet another inspection done. I was without power for 6 days, in 100 degree weather. I have a small toddler and two pets. Finally on Aug 27, my service was repaired. Oncor doesn't feel as if any of this was their fault, when after NUMEROUS calls, I constantly was told someone was coming out, everything was fine, a technician was en route, etc. I was lied to by numerous agents, and that is unacceptable.

Initial Business Response
September 15, 2014


CUSTOMER NAME: ******** ******
SERVICE ADDRESS: **** ******* **** *** *** *** - ********* XXXXX
ESI ID: XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX
BBB CASE # XXXXXXX
REP: **********************

CUSTOMER INQUIRY
******** ****** wants compensation for her wasted time and energy dealing with a problem created by Oncor.

INVESTIGATIVE RESULTS
On 08/22/2014, at the request of the customer's Retail Electric Provider (REP), Oncor disconnected the service, at the meter, due to non pay. The work order was completed at 2:25pm. At 4:11pm the same day, Oncor received a request from the REP to reconnect the customer's service after the disconnection for non pay was completed earlier. Oncor rejected the request at 6:43pm because the customer's electrician would need to make repairs to the customer's meter base, replace load side frayed/cracked wires in the meter base (the meter base belongs to the customer), mark the meter base and secure the meter base to the wall. The customer was also advised an Arlington City Inspection would be required before Oncor could install a new meter and restore service to her residence.

Once all the appropriate repairs were completed and the City Inspection release was received, Oncor installed a new meter and restored the customer's service on 08/27/2014.

Oncor is unable to reimburse the customer for any of her time or energy spent in attempting to resolve this issue.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On approximately 7/13/2014 I requested new resident service on a new home property. It was to be on by Aug 1,2014 and it still not on.
On approximately 7/13/2014 I called Reliant energy regarding new service for a brand new construction on a home. I informed them at the time it was raw land the only thing there was was a green box for electric. They had to create am EISN number and they would have to get an outside agency for the area to install the line which is Oncore. When the technician went to the residence on Aug 1,2014 he found there was an error in the address said he couldn't do the work and all I had to do was get the address fixed and Prolly sometime next week we could have the electric. I immediately called Reliant energy they called oncore and we resolved the address issue. They said they reissue the work order and we will have power on and the technician would call me. Well being as I am patient I waited till approximately 8/13/14 to call and got told by I think her name was kathy in new construction that there is a new line and that it took a little time but they have 7 to 10 business days to set power that they needed to have a cement pad up and pole and the electric from the house ran but they were still in there grace period that I should call when the house builder gets there side done I would have electric. I called like 2 days later informed them the line was ready they said the tech went out again and there is a gas line so they have to send someone to flag the line. Ok I told you all that the first call. They said the field supervisor would call and nothing on 8/18/2014 I called and asked where or when is the electric going to be on got told there still in the grace period. Cale ed on 8/20/14 got told yet again we are still in our grace period talked to ***** the manager at Oncore she stated she sent an email to the district manager and if the electric was not on by 8/21/14 by noon to call her directly. I did and it still was not on she said oh well they have till midnight today to get it on. I said ok I will call on 8/22/14 I gave them the Benifit of the doubt. And waited till 1.29 pm to give them time to call me or something and when I called no service but my excuse now is we need conduit for the line cause its under ground and it's a brand new residence. Ok this is a new residence yes. But it's also a new subdivision in this area and they have put in about 15 homes in the last month now but just down from this location. So wouldn't you think they would know where and what they need. I don't have electric and got told 7 to 10 business days. I can not even get my air conditioning installed cause of the electric, the water well can't be finished cause of the electric not being installed, we can't have the inspection done from the FHA inspection cause we have to have electric. So please do something.

Initial Business Response
August 28, 2014

BBB Case: XXXXXXXX
****** *****
**** * ****** **** ***** ******** ** XXXXX
ESI ID XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Consumer's Complaint:
Customer needs service to her new, residential premise, in a new sub-division.


Oncor's Response:
Construction (installation of transformer and service lines) was necessary before the service could be connected.
The meter was set, and the service was connected, on August 28, 2014, at 12:17pm.
Oncor called Ms. ***** to inform her the meter was set, and the customer seemed satisfied.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 8/19/XXXX -X:XX pm My electricity goes out from winds8/19/XXXX- X:XX pm I contact Oncor Electric company at XXX-XXX-XXXX. I am told the power would be restored by 9:00pm that day.8/19/XXXX- X:XX pm electricity not restored I contact Oncor Electric company at XXX-XXX-XXXX. I am told 9pm means within the 9pm hour, meaning 9:59.Sa8/19/XXXX- XX:XX pm I contact Oncor Electric company at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Now the automated system tells me all representatives busy, I enter my phone number to have representative call me, an option Oncor provides. Nobody calls back.8/19/XXXX- XX:XX pm I contact Oncor Electric company at XXX-XXX-XXXX. I am now told they have no new information the technicians working on it have not checked in.8/20/XXXX Xam,2am,3am,4am I repeat the process of : automated system tells me all representatives busy, I enter my phone number to have representative call me, an option Oncor provides. Nobody calls back.8/20/XXXX X:XXam I contact Oncor Electric company at XXX-XXX-XXXX. I reach a ***** he tells me they are working on it, I request to speak to a supervisor am told one will call me back. Nobody calls back.8/20/XXXX X:XXam I contact Oncor Electric company at XXX-XXX-XXXX. I am told there is a down tree they are working on it. Told again I cannot speak to a supervisor.8/20/XXXX X:XXam a Oncor truck drives by my house. My neighbor jumps in his car follows him. He goes to the corner of **** and ****** ******* 1 mile from my house. MY NEIGHBOR VIDOTAPES THE Oncor employee get out of his truck removes ONE BRANCH from the power line, all residents electricity goes back on. WE HAVE IT ON VIDEO.8/20/XXXX X:XXam An Oncor supervisor calls me to tell me the power has been restored acting as if she is a hero.An entire apartment complex was without electricity from 6:15pm to 9:15 am the next day(15 hours) for a branch on a power line, The Oncor employee removed a single branch and tripped a breaker all of 2 minutes, again we have it on video tape. Nobody from Oncor came out the night it was reported, myself and two neighbors sat on our porch from 6:15pm until 11pm, not a single truck came into our complex or down our street.Saturday 8/16/14 I spent $168 for food at ******** all of that was lost in my refrigerator. I am disabled and live on a fixed income. That doesnt allow for me to pay for replacing items lost caused by corporations mistakes.***** ********************* **** ************ tx XXXXXXXX-XXX-XXXX

Initial Business Response
***** *****
BBB COMPLAINT CASE #XXXXXXXX

CONSUMER INQUIRY:
Mr. ***** experienced an outage on 8/19/14 and feels the restoration time was excessive.

INVESTIGATIVE RESULTS:
Below is a copy of an email sent to Mr. ***** on 8/25/14 regarding the outage and the events that occurred during the restoration. Also attached is a picture of the tree that fell on the main circuit at **** ** **** which caused the outage.

From: ******, *******
Sent: Monday, August 25, XXXX X:XX PM
To: '***** *****'
Subject: RE: Oncor Electric Delivery Service Interruption **** ** **** *** ***** ***** TX XXXXX
Mr. *****,
Thank you for calling me this morning. Please do not hesitate to call me again if you have further questions. An email response is welcomed as well. The salient events of the August 19 - 20 outage affecting your home are summarized below.
Oncor received notice of multiple outages on Tyler GE Feeder 1306 at 6:19 PM Tuesday August 19. Straight line winds in excess of 50 miles per hour resulted in numerous outages due primarily to trees contacting or damaging the distribution circuits in the area south of Tyler. Several distribution feeders were involved in the outage events, and approximately 2,000 customers were without power.
The troubleman that first received the ticket to investigate outages on Tyler GE Feeder 1306 (including your residence) was interrupted three times in route to the area of the Stone Country Apartments. The troubleman was routed to emergency fire calls where a wire was down on the ground and first responder personnel were on site waiting for Oncor to respond. Additional troublemen and tree trimming personnel were simultaneously dispatched to the area after the assessment of damages became more defined late in the evening and night of August 19.
After responding to the fire calls, the troubleman began working the outage to your residence. He found a large tree on the main circuit a half mile down stream ***** ** ***** from your residence at 12:18 AM August 20. Tree trimming personnel were dispatched, responded and removed the off right of way tree (not normally maintained by Oncor) and other involved trees. The tree trimming personnel completed the clearing after daybreak August 20. This clearing enabled the re-energizing of the main feeder circuit serving your residence. A troubleman was subsequently dispatched at 8:41 AM to restore power to remaining customers on circuit laterals fed from the main circuit.
Electric service was restored to the 107 customers in the ***** ******* ********** at 9:15 AM. As you explained, the troubleman observed a branch making contact with the circuit lateral serving your apartment community when he arrived to restore power. He was able to remove the branch safely with his insulated stick before replacing the fuse and restoring the power to your community.
During the outage, you expressed concern in your phone calls about personal damages (food loss) that occurred due to the outage. Mr. ********* letter to you dated August 20 is Oncor's standard response to personal damage claims that are the result of storms (acts of nature). I understand your concern about the timing of the letter, but it is Oncor's practice to share the result of decisions we make with our customers as quickly as possible. We knew the answer to your concern once we knew the damages were storm related, so we responded accordingly.
We sincerely regret the experience you had. Oncor takes all customer outage events seriously, and we fully understand the unpleasant experience of a service disruption.
Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have further questions.
Sincerely,
******* ******

******* ******
Director of Consumer Affairs
see attachment

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Credit, Billing or Collection Complaint Issue

Complaint: Smart meters are reading power not used at a residence (a friend checks the mail and rotates lights) vacant since 2011.
Cirro Energy account number XXXXXX. House vacant since 2011. A/C is not working or on at any time. Prior 4 mos: Apr 310, May 512, Jun 541, Jul 495. I pay large amounts online to avoid paying every month since I live in another state and pay utilities here also. It is reasonable the use would fluctuate some, but this increase is unreasonable for a vacant home with a refrigerator and one light on in the house.

I attempted to resolve a previous issue with ONCOR when the power was off to the entire home for five months because a burglar stole the copper wire and ONCOR was reading usage for a full month. ONCOR denied the claim and refused to refund any money. I have since found ONCOR self-certifies its meters and responds to its own disputes so I see how a claim would always be denied for small customers like me. I filed a complaint with the PUC and the PUC replied with a letter stating if my case was as I claimed I was entitled to a refund, yet the Commission had no ability to enforce.

I am willing to provide any additional information you require. Thank you.

Initial Business Response
August 25, 2014

BBB Case: XXXXXXXX
****** ******
*** ********* *** Dallas XXXXX
ESI ID XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

Consumer's Complaint:
Ms. ****** believes she has been overcharged for usage during the last three months, and states the house has been vacant since 2011.

Oncor's Response:
****** ****** has had service in her name at 833 Keeneland Ct, in Dallas, for many years.
Ms. ******'s account with Direct Energy was closed on 02/20/13. When Oncor arrived at the premise to disconnect the service, at Direct Energy's request, Oncor found the property vacant and the meter XXXXXXXXXLG missing. Oncor disconnected the service at the pole. Oncor billed Direct Energy for zero consumption from 12/07/12 to 02/20/13. The usage decreased between the 11/05/12 and 12/07/14 meter reading cycle dates (see attachment).
The service was not in anyone's name, and no one was billed for any service between 02/20/14 - 05/16/13.
Cirro Energy requested reconnection of Ms. ******'s service on 05/16/14. Oncor set meter XXXXXXXXXLG. This meter was tested on 04/21/13 and the test confirmed an average registration accuracy of 100.00 percent, which is within the industry standards of 98 to 102 percent average registration accuracy. Oncor has not received a request from Cirro Energy to retest the meter.
Included with this response is a spreadsheet with information obtained from this website. There are separate tabs for the following:

daily usage for the 05/06/14 bill
daily usage for the 06/06/14 bill
daily usage for the 07/08/14 bill
daily usage for the 08/06/14 bill
the 15 minute interval readings for 06/03/14 (a randomly selected day, so the customer can see the usage pattern at the premise)
the monthly usage from 10/05/12 to 08/06/14, with the usage for January and February 2011 included for comparison purposes)

There is no way for Oncor to determine what is using the service at Ms. ******'s property. If a refrigerator is plugged in, and is in an un-air-conditioned space, it will likely cycle on more frequently on hotter days.

Based on the readings obtained at this premise and confirmation of the meter's accuracy, Oncor appropriately billed the REP for registered energy consumption at this premise. No adjustments are warranted at this time.

see attachment

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

09/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Defective, damaged, or incorrect product received

Complaint: Without power for over 16 hours hot summer and no end in sight
The power went out in our neighborhood due to an early thunderstorm. It was out from 8am on 8/17 and as of 12 am 8/18 the power has not been restored. The estimate is sometime 7 am on 8/18. Consequently we have had to pay $120 to stay in a hotel overnight because it is too hot for our young children and newborn. This has been very inconvenient and ridiculously long time to get power restored. All of our neighbors had power back within hours.

Initial Business Response
CUSTOMER INQUIRY
****** ***** states her service at **** ****** ***** ***** in Carrollton, Texas was interrupted for over 16 hours on 08/17/2014. She states her neighbor's power was restored within hours. Ms ***** would like credit for the service Oncor did not provide. She is also requesting reimbursement for an overnight stay at a hotel.

INVESTIGATIVE RESULTS
On 08/17/2014, there was a service interruption affecting Ms *****'s service at **** ****** ***** ***** in Carrollton, Texas. The service was interrupted from 9:29am on 08/17/2014 until 3:20pm on 08/18/2014 while Oncor crews replaced an underground transformer.

Some neighbors may have electric service when another neighbor does not because their home is on a different set of lines or circuit. If the customer can envision the electric grid as an immense version of their house, they may be able to understand what's happening. When a circuit breaker trips in their home, power may be on in the bathroom but not in the kitchen. That's because their house has more than one circuit. One circuit is off while the others are on. Circuits in neighborhoods work much the same way. As Oncor works through the restoration process, some areas may have less damage than others. Once major lines serving a neighborhood are repaired, power may be on at some houses and off at others because of additional damage to lines and equipment serving those homes. Until the power is turned back on, Oncor won't know exactly where additional repairs are needed.

Oncor understands the frustration and inconvenience often associated with a service related problem. Our goal is to provide the most reliable service possible; however, the very nature of electric service is such that no guarantees are made that interruptions or other irregularities will not occur.

A representative from the Oncor Claim Department will contact Ms ***** in regard to her request for reimbursement of hotel costs.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 14
07/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to correct billing errors

Complaint: I became a customer of **** ****** through Current Utilities in September of 2013. I was instructed to pay a $75 deposit at any *** **** ******** I re
requested to start service on or about 9/13/13 at *** ************, mesquite, TX XXXXX. I began receiving monthly bills and in late March of 2014 I paid a bill in the amount of $100 through by bank via check by phone, I was never notified that the payment did not clear until it appeared on my bill in April of 2014, but on April 25, I paid a past due bill in the amount of $133.78 around 11 am in the morning. when I arrived home about 11:30 my electricity was off. I contacted **** ****** and inquired if they had received my payment and they told me they did and the electricity should be on in about 1 to 2 hours because I have a smart meter. after 2 hours had passed * called again and was told that the signal that they sent to the meter failed and they would have to send out a technician. the tech arrived around 5:30 that evening and immediately. I then received a letter from Oncor dated 4/28/2014 titled Notice of meter tampering in which I will forward to your office on Monday 6/16/14 via us mail. in the letter it stated that after review the tampering began before I became a customer of record at this location therefore I would not be billed fees relating to the repair of replacement of facilities, the letter then stated that because I benefited from the tampered meter, I would be billed for the consumption used but not registered during the time I have been a customer up to six months. I contacted Oncor who instructed me to contact **** ******. I spoke with a representative who stated the she would email me a document titled new occupancy on may 15, 2014. I was told to complete the document and mail to the PO Box on my bill along with a copy of my residential lease in which I did. I called **** about a week and a half later and was told that they did not receive it, so I was given a different PO Box to resend the information in which I did again. I received a phone call on thursday june 12 stating that I needed to pay the amount or my lights would be disconnected by Monday june 16, I contacted tara again on Friday and spoke with someone that stated they requested a utility bill and my lease back in September because there was a switch hold , and I told them that was a lie because the only time they requested my lease is when the meter tampering situation came up. I spoke with a supervisor named ****** at **** on Friday june 13,and he stated that they came to a resolution that I have to pay the amount. so I said ok if I have to pay it can you split out over three months, he blantly told me no. I feel that I should not be held liable for someone else's negligence I even told him that my landlord would provide them with the last tenant information to go after him to mitigate their loss, he refused that information. very very displeased consumer.

Initial Business Response
June 26, 2014


****** ******
*** ******* **
Mesquite, XXXXX
BBBXXXXXXXX
ESI ID #XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX

CUSTOMER INQUIRY

****** ****** contacted the Better Business Bureau (BBB) to dispute the tampering charges.

INVESTIGATIVE RESULTS

****** ****** has resided at this address since 09/16/2013.

On 04/21/2014 Oncor received a disconnect for non-payment order from **** ****** for 04/21/2014. Service was disconnected remotely on 04/21/2013 at 12:48 PM.

On 04/24/2014 Oncor created an order based on an alert received the previous day to check for illegal reconnect (possible tampering). The meter was registering voltage on the load side which the service should have been disconnected for non-payment since 04/21/2014. On 04/25/2014 at 10:05 AM the technician found the outer meter base seal or lock broken; the inner seal broken and a jumper was installed which caused electricity to bypass the meter. The technician removed the jumper and installed a new meter # XXXXXXXXXLG and installed a lock after the meter tampering investigation was completed. The meter was installed with a 00000 meter reading. A tampering switch hold was placed on the account.

On 04/25/2013 Oncor received a reconnect from non-payment order from Tara Energy for 04/25/2013. Service was reconnected by a technician on 04/25/2013 at 4:29 PM.

Below is the meter reading history below:
XXX XXXX XX
*** ******* **
MESQUITE, XXXXX
******,******

REP ID METER NUMBER TYPE DATE READING KWH/KW NOTES
XXXXXXXXX XXXXXXXXXLG 01 AA XXXXXX XXXXX XXXX
01 AR XXXXXX XXXXX XXX
01 E M XXXXXX XXXXX Reconnect after non-payment
XXXXXXXXXLG 01 AE I XXXXXX XXXXX Install new AMS meter
XXXXXXXXXLG 01 RERO XXXXXX XXXXX XXX
XXXXXXXXXLG 01 RMXO XXXXXX XXXXX Tampering found
01 A M XXXXXX XXXXX Disconnect
01 MR XXXXXX XXXXX XXX Re-bill
01 AX XXXXXX XXXXX XXX Cancel
01 MR XXXXXX XXXXX XXXX Re-bill
01 AX XXXXXX XXXXX XXXX Cancel
01 A M XXXXXX XXXXX Reconnect after non-payment
01 A M XXXXXX XXXXX Disconnect for non-payment
01 MR XXXXXX XXXXX XXXX Re-bill
01 AX XXXXXX XXXXX XXXX Cancel
01 A M XXXXXX XXXXX Reconnect after non-payment
01 A M XXXXXX XXXXX Disconnect for non-payment
01 MR XXXXXX XXXXX XXXX Re-bill
01 AX XXXXXX XXXXX XXXX Cancel
01 MR XXXXXX XXXXX XXXX Re-bill original
01 AX XXXXXX XXXXX XXXX Cancel
01 MR XXXXXX XXXXX XXX Re-bill
01 AX XXXXXX XXXXX XXX Cancel
01 A XXXXXX XXXXX XXX
XXXXXXXXXLG 01 RA I XXXXXX XXXXX Move in

During the meter investigation, which tampering was found, it was determined the meter tampering occurred prior to the move in of ****** ******. The discretionary tampering charges were not charged; however; ****** ****** was billed for the consumption. Oncor has no means to know who actually tampered with the meter and can only report the condition found at the premise. In accordance with Oncor's Tariff for Retail Delivery Service, consumption charges were submitted to the retail electric provider of record who then billed its retail customer.

The tampering documentation is attached.

***** ********
Oncor Electric Delivery
Consumer Affairs


see attachment

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
I am still not satisfied, first of all per the letter response from the BBB, Oncor stated that my electricity was disconnected on 4/21/14, this is not true because i had electricity through the morning of 4/25/14 and i paid my bill around the 11:00 o'clock hour and when i arrived home around XX:XX -XX:XX noon my electricity was off and that is when i called in and a technician arrived later that evening and reconnected my electricity. This technician did not take pictures because i was outside with him the whole time which only took him about 3 minutes. My electricity has been disconnected in the previous months and i have not been informed of any alert of meter tampering. If a technician came out on 4/25/14 at 10:05 am, in which i was not at home, so how did the technician get in my locked gate where my meter was located to make the repairs and install a new meter unless the technician entered my property by jumping over my gate which i do believe is trespassing. As the photos clearly show the technician hand hold the Oncor tag and further shots only could have been taken inside of the backyard property. So now do i have to file trespassing charges???? Again, my electricity was not disconnected until 4/25/14 and not 4/21/14. I still want the consumption charges removed. Also i would like information that gives Oncor the right to enter my property without my permission.

07/12/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Repairs resulted in additional damage

Complaint: I am having trouble getting the power lines taken off my roof after bad storms more than a week ago
During a bad storm, a tree fell and tore out power lines from my house and they were hot and sparking on my roof. Technicians came and did temporary repairs leaving the power lines laying on my roof. I have repeatedly requested that this dangerous situation be rectified and several attempts to get a technician here have failed including various unacceptable claims on their reports that they are cable lines, which come in on the other side of the house, this remark was also made at 11pm in the dark from behind a locked privacy fence and the lines are on my roof behind a tree. Several others came and said they didn't have the equipment to make the repair and they were sending another tech but never did.

Initial Business Response
***** *****
BBB COMPLAINT XXXXXXXX

CONSUMER INQUIRY:
Ms. ***** states her service line came down in April 2014 during a storm and was lying on the roof and as of 5/21/14 no repairs had been made.

INVESTIGATIVE RESULTS:
On 5/8/14, Oncor received an outage report stating a large tree had fallen on the service line and that the wire was down in the backyard but was not arching or sparking at that time. This was reported during a storm that was in the area. On 5/9/14, Oncor received another outage report stating there were lines down pole to pole. Crews working in the area did find 2 spans of primary down in the area causing an outage. Repairs were made to the primary lines and service was restored to the customer's affected.

On 5/19/14, Oncor received an order stating the customer's lights were on but there was a wire down pole to house. A troubleman was dispatched checked the service line and saw Oncor's line was up and the customer's lights were on but did see where the phone line was hanging down low.

On 5/20/14, Oncor received an order stating the lights were on but there was a wire down pole to house. Another order was received stating the customer was experiencing flickering lights. A troubleman was dispatched to check on the downed line and resagged the service line to lift the service off the roof of the customer's garage - voltage was good.

On 5/21/14, Oncor received an emergency outage report reporting a wire down pole to house. When the troubleman arrived he found the customer's lights on and no wire down. He resagged the service line again to try to lift the line a little more. The troubleman explained to Mr. ***** that if he wanted the service line to be raised higher than what it is now, he would have to have electrician extend his mast / weatherhead up through his roof.

Oncor had not received any notification from Ms. ***** regarding the low hanging line prior to 5/8/14.


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This is exactly what my complaint was. These reports are completely untrue. No one came out here to remove the power line from my roof which is why I called everyday. My phone line was never down, that is also untrue. I never stated my power was out, so all these reports about seeing the lights on and not looking at the order that stated the power line was laying on the roof.
Lastly, the repairmans report about speaking to Mr ***** is untrue. Mr ***** was in *** **** ****** during this time and there was no conversation concerning getting an electrician or raising my mast. I don't even know what that is.
I also would like to state that since we are fenced in here, all orders require repairman to call first so I can open the gate. While working at my desk, I see a strange man messing with the window in back of the house, I very nearly called 911 and held him there with a gun. It is extremely unsafe to climb over someones fence and start doing things to the window without ringing the doorbell to alert them they will be working.
Every day I called and got a report from customer service and every day it was completely untrue. Falsifying reports from a public utility service is very distressing.

06/04/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Delivery Complaint Issue

Complaint: They will not fix electricity to neighborhood
For the last 2 to 3 years the electricity is constantly going off to about 15 or 20 homes on 3 different streets when we have bad weather.. I complained last june 2013 about lights going off during Thunderstorm..Someone checked and said trees need to be trimmed. Trees were trimmed 03/2014. The electricity has gone off now 3 time in the last 2 weeks. April 1 to april 11.. Our neighbors all around never lose power..last I heard, squirrels were the cause. But it the same 20 houses losing power & no one else.

Initial Business Response
April 30, 2014

***********************************************************************************************
CUSTOMER INQUIRY

******* ********** contacted the BBB complaining of frequent power interruptions.

INVESTIGATIVE RESULTS

Below is the list of interruptions affecting the address of ******* ********** in the past 12 months:

04/11/2014 Nature - Tree in ROW (2 hours 21 minutes)
04/10/2014 Nature - Tree in ROW (3 hours 50 minutes)*
04/07/2014 Nature - Wildlife (2 hours 52 minutes)
01/22/2014 Nature - Wildlife (1 hour 24 minutes)*
12/06/2013 Adverse weather - Ice storm (33 hours and 15 minutes)*
05/21/2013 Nature - Tree in ROW (58 minutes)
05/21/2013 Found on upon arrival (1 hour 31 minutes)
* = customer contact to report outage


Mr. ********** has also filed a PUC (Public Utilities Commission) complaint for the same issue in regards to the electric power outages.

The Distribution Operations Tech (DOT) has investigated the area serving this customer and additional tree trimming is currently planned. We have completed some tree trimming, re-coordinated fuses along with adding more fuses. With these actions, it should reduce the number of outages the customer is having.

Oncor's goal is to provide the most reliable service possible; however, the electric service is such that no guarantees are made that interruptions or other irregularities will not occur. We regret the power interruptions occurred and apologize for the inconvenience.


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have been told in the past that trees were the problem and almost a year passed ****** they were trimmed in March 2014. As you can see the power went off 3 times in April after the trees were trimmed. It is hard to tell if anything they have done works until we have some kind of weather event, or a squirrel gets on the line. Again squirrels do not seem to be getting on other lines in the neighborhood just the lines that feed 97 homes that are constantly going off.

04/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Delayed completion of service

Complaint: Oncor shut off my power without notifying me and I had three children in the house. It was 18 degrees outside
Due to a winter storm, tree branches fell on top of our house and damaged one of our power lines. Luckily we still had power. I contacted my service provider, Ambit Energy which put in touch with Oncor. I was told that the "down wire" had already been reported so I assumed my neighbors had reported it. After my landlord came by we determined that there was an issue that would need to be repaired by an electrician. Ultimately I knew that meant that our power would need to be disconnected for a period of time. The next morning at 7:30 am we still had power. Within 30 minutes there was a truck parked in front of my house doing what I thought was fixing the problem. My power immediately went out and I thought once again they were correcting the problem. Much to my surprise 10 minutes later I looked out there and the wire was rolled up and placed by the electrical pole and the truck was gone. Noone came to my door or informed me they were shutting of my power. I immediately called them and I was told that it would be fixed by 9:30AM and if it wasn't to call back. I explained to the lady I had three children in the house including a 10 week old baby and we had no heat or lights and noone even told us they were cutting off our power. She said they normally won't come to the door especially if there isn't a vehicle in the driveway. I told her there was a vehicle in the driveway. She just said she was sorry and it should be fixed soon. I had to go outside and get into my husband's truck to charge my phone due to no power and found a note on the door showing that Oncor had come out at 1:55AM the night before and said we would have to repair the electrical issue before they could restore service. The funny thing is they didn't disconnect me at 1:55AM they came by the next morning and did it without any notice or explanation. Around 11am, the electrician came and fixed the problem and told me to contact Oncor to get my power back on. I made a second call to Oncor and got told the same story and she would put a service request in again. I waited and waited and called again. This time I got a gentleman that told me the last lady didn't even put in a service order. I explained to him that I had small children in the home and the temperature in the house was dropping rapidly. Once again I waited and waited. My husband then called and got told they could not speak to him because he was not on my account. However, I pulled up my account and he is shown as an authorized user and it says he has FULL access to the account. So then I put in a fourth call, yes a fourth call and I was almost in tears and pretty much lost my cool with the lady. She explained to me due to the devastation of the storm they had no idea when they would reconnect me but it would be the same day. I explained to her that they had NO problem making it a priority to come shut it off that morning and not tell me but they couldn't make it a priority to get it back on for me due to the kids and myself being in the home with no heat. My power did not get turned back on until almost 7pm that evening. I was without power and heat for almost 12 hours. I do realize that it was a hazard so they had to disconnect power however noone came to my door and warned me. Noone told me that I would need to have a repair done before power could be restored. I had to see it on a note on the door that was left at 2am. Noone cared that I had small kids in the home for nearly 12 hours without power. My husband had taken our SUV to work due to the roads so I had no way to leave the house. He finally came home an hour early just to try to get a generator to get some heat going in the house. Right when he was leaving to get the generator, they showed up to restore power. I am appalled at the lack of customer service displayed by Oncor and the sheer negligence. To not have the common courtesy to knock on my door and tell me the power was getting shut off when there was clearly a vehicle in the driveway.

Initial Business Response
March 18, 2014


****** ******
**** ******** **
Tyler, XXXXX
BBB# XXXXXXXX
ESI ID# XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX


Oncor Electric Delivery is a regulated utility company providing electr
ic delivery service to 3417 McDonald Rd in Tyler, Texas XXXXX.

Oncor Consumer Affairs rep has spoken to ****** ****** regarding the service she received during the winter storm that occurred on 03/02/2014 and 03/03/2014.

Ms. ****** stated she was frustrated the technician did not notify her when the power was going to be turned off and the time frame to have service restored after the necessary repairs were completed on the customer's electrical equipment.

Oncor has apologized to Ms ******. Oncor has denied the request for any compensation or reimbursement when the power outage occurred. The outage was storm related.

Oncor's goal is to provide the most reliable service possible; however, the electric service is such that no guarantees are made that interruptions or other irregularities will not occur. We regret the power interruptions occurred and apologize for the inconvenience.



***** ********
Oncor Electric Delivery
Consumer Affairs


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was told that the representative that failed to put in my service request, which further delayed my service being turned on, would be addressed. I do not see that included in the response. Clearly she did not do her job and I want that taken care of. I want to know why she did not put in the service request.

04/09/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Delivery Complaint Issue

Complaint: There is a switch hold on my apt that i had nothing to do with but Oncor has taken their time reviewing this and in the meantime i have no electricity
Problem Date: 3/5/2014 - ongoing

Oncor has acted unprofessionally in this matter regarding an issue i was never apart of but is the fault of the previous resident of my new apt. There is a switch hold on my electricity bill which my energy company (APNA Energy) was not made aware of or my apartment complex (The Orchard APTS). My apts have been very accommodating in giving APNA energy all the information that is needed to resolve this switch hold. APNA Energy has also ran and jumped through hoops to accommodate the demands of Oncor only to be rejected again and again. Even with all this going on i am still left without energy on a new apartment i am paying on but cannot live in. All of this because Oncor energy can't expedite the service review on a situation that doesn't happen very often. I have called Oncor on many occasion only to be given different answers each time i have called. APNA and my apartment complex has also called only to be given different answers altogether. I am very unhappy with the fact that Oncor has not made an attempt to fix this issue in a timely matter. I have been without power for days now and because of Oncor very slow review process i could be without power for even longer. I was not involved in the previous tenants refusal to pay his bill but for some reason i am being treated as him. I have never been treated so foully by a company whose sole purpose is to just to activate and deliver electricity.

Initial Business Response
March 12, 2014

Consumer's Complaint:
The complainant states that Oncor did not attempt to connect the service at his apartment in a timely manner, causing him to be without power for days.

Oncor's Response:
The service at the complainant's address was disconnected for non-payment on 03/05/14, at the request of the prior customer's retail electric provider (REP). The REP had a switch-hold on the account, due to a deferred payment arrangement with the prior customer.
Please note, per the electric market rules, Oncor is unable to connect service for a new REP, when a switch-hold exists, until the current REP agrees to remove the switch hold.
On 03/06/14, at 9:37am, a move-in request from the complainant's selected REP was automatically rejected due to the switch hold.
On 03/07/14, at 1:59pm, Oncor received an order from the prior customer's REP to remove the switch-hold. At 3:44pm, Oncor received a move-in order from the complainant's selected REP, and the service was connected by an Oncor employee at 4:28pm.


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I accept the response from Oncor and I believe they are being truthful. With all that being said please look at the dates that Oncor provided. On 3/5 my electricity was turned off and stayed that way until 3/7. That is almost 48 hrs without electricity and it could've been even longer as 3/7 was a Friday and if the switch hold issue wasn't resolved, i would've been without electricty for the rest of the weekend. The fact is Oncor made no attempts to inform my apartment complex or any of the other electricity companies that their was a switch hold on the specific apt. I was not aware the electricity was turned off until i got home from work after 6pm. Because of that i had no one to contact until the next day and even then it still took over 16 hrs to get that switch hold off my apt. Oncor uses a 3rd party company to determine if the switch hold should be taken off the apt. Because of the 3rd party this process takes even longer and according to Oncor there is no way to expedite. Let us all not forget that this switch hold had absolutely nothing to do with me yet i was being treated like someone who didn't pay their electric bill. Oncor needs to seriously retrain their customer service personal on courtesy and how to provide correct answers to a situation. Their customer service was a joke and no help in trying to get my situation taken care of quickly. There was no manager or no one in charge to help my matter in a timely fashion. Let us all not forget that once again this switch hold had absolutely nothing to do me yet i had no electricity in apt for days. I am not seeking monetary justice but i am seeking a way for Oncor to make everyone aware that if a switch hold exists to properly notify everyone involved from the Apt complex to the energy providers. This is all i'm seeking.

Page 1 of 8

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electric Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/07/2001Business started: 10/09/2007New Owner Date: 10/09/2007
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Sorell (Director)
Business Category

Electric Companies

Products & Services

Electric delivery company.

Alternate Business Names
Oncore Electric Delivery Company, LLC

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Oncor Electric Delivery

1616 Woodall Rogers Freeway

Dallas, TX 75202

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1616 Woodall Rogers Freeway
    Suite 6C-006 

    Dallas, TX 75202(888) 313-6862

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1900 Old Jacksboro Hwy 

    Wichita Falls, TX 76301-5809

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Oncor Electric Delivery is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Electric Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.