BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/23/2009

Farmers Electric Cooperative

Find a Location

Phone: (903) 455-1715Fax: (903) 455-81252000 Interstate Highway 30 E, GreenvilleTX 75402-9084 Send email to Farmers Electric Cooperative

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/23/2009

BBB has determined that Farmers Electric Cooperative meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Farmers Electric Cooperative's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Farmers Electric Cooperative

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
03/19/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The billed amount is 40% higher than our normal bill. This is happening to many of FEC's customers.
FEC Electric's billed amounts for a large majority of people has increased from last month to this month by 30-50%, including me. Our bill is typically about $400; however, this month it was $559. I complained through Facebook only to find that several other people had the same issue. FEC says it's because of the increased cold (it hasn't been that cold), but a homeowner who has propane to heat their home and water heater should not have an increased bill by that amount, which is exactly what's happening. The next day a friend I teach with came to me and showed me a grassroots movement on Facebook called Fight-Against-FEC, and I was shocked to see that within less than 24 hours, over 600 people had joined with complaints of the exact same nature as mine. The site is: https://www.facebook.com/groups/XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX/ SOMETHING IS WRONG with FEC's billing. Software for the meters maybe? But they should be aware of an issue if their profits jump 30-50% in one month. We need someone to look into the issue who has the power to pull their financial reports, as well as individual bills, especially of those who use propane to heat their homes, so they can see what's going on. FEC MUST fix this issue. It's not going away. My next step is to contact government officials at the state level to see how cooperatives can be better regulated since the Public Utility Commission does not regulate them.

Desired Settlement
I want to be billed for what we actually used last month, not what FEC says I used, because it's not correct.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ************** Sup
Contact Phone: 903.453.0792
Contact Email: ******@farmerselectric.coop
Your service at this location began in June 2014, this is your first bill for a February billing. The usage at this location for February billing of January usage since 2012 averages 5231 kWh, with the highest usage month being 9220 kWh for 2014, your usage was 4829 kWh. Your usage period for this billing is 1/01-2/01/2015, the average low was 36 degrees and the average high was 56 degrees. There were 24 days where the low temperature was in the 30's or below. When our members' consumption history goes up it does not result in bigger profits for us. Farmers Electric Cooperative is a not-for-profit company. When you look at your bill, you will see one line item for wholesale power cost and one line item for distribution costs. The distribution portion of your bill goes toward what it costs to bring you the electricity-maintenance and administrative processes necessary to support the coop's operations. That cost is determined by a cost of service study, which examines all of the costs of running the cooperative and arrives at a per-kWh charge necessary to ensure that the cooperative has adequate revenues to maintain its business. The other line item, the wholesale power cost, is a pass-through to the customer of what the coop pays for power. The amount may change slightly from month to month because we have to pay our suppliers before we can collect the money back from our customers. The standard adjustment is called the Power Cost Recovery Factor and is calculated each month before our bills go out.

Please feel free to contact me at XXX-XXX-XXXX or XXX-XXX-XXXX if you have additional questions.

02/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Farmers Electric Cooperative will not provide me with the ESID number of the house at which their service is provided.
The ESID for the home is not on the monthly statement that Farmers Electric Cooperative sends out. When I call the assistance phone numbers on the statement, I reach their customer service. They claim to not know what an ESID number is. They have repeatedly told me that only the billing department might have that information, but they will not connect me with the billing department. There is no choice for the billing department on their automated menu.

Desired Settlement
I just want the ESID number for the house at **** **** **** ****** ***** XXXXX so that I can change electric service. By not giving me the ESID number they are preventing me from changing the electric service. Their rates are outrageous ($680 for a single month of service on a small one story dwelling!!!!) so it is costing me money when they won't tell me the ESID and thus block my attempt to change service.

Business Response
In researching this complaint, ****** ***** is not the member of record or authorized on the account. We will not be able to correspond with Mr. ***** regarding information on the account at this time.

****** *****
District Office Services Supervisor

06/25/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
FEC failed to notify me of the Deposit required on the account until AFTER we had moved in. They refused to let me remove my spouse from my account.
The sign up process for FEC service was very poorly handled to begin with. But I was told my deposit required would be one of only two options. EITHER 30 bucks OR 1020 bucks based on a soft credit check. I was told I would be notified prior to moving into the house which amount it would be. I was never notified. I called FEC just before move-in day to find out and was told that my account was open and on file but that they could see nothing about the deposit amount so "it must be all okay" quoted the woman who helped me. I rec'd a cryptic letter regarding our Experian number, but again no explanation of what the deposit would be. Finally, three days AFTER we moved into the house, I rec'd a call at 4pm that we failed their credit check and required the 1k+ deposit...and that they needed it within 24 hours in order to maintain our electricity being turned on. I was very upset and began to inquire as to what was going on. I was told, quote, that the score we failed was by a mere 5 points and that it was because of a bankruptcy on my husbands account. That bankruptcy was over 8 years ago and should NOT NOT NOT have been used against him. Further more, the next day, I spoke with a supervisor and was informed that really my credit was perfect but it was just HIS that was the problem and that's why they required so much money. I asked if we could just remove my husband from the account since I was the primary anyway and I was flat told, "No...we don't do that...we don't let people alter their original application and pick and choose who gets to be on their accounts."

I was given so much mixed information during the application process, and they took no responsiblity for that. FURTHERMORE their poor lack of communication put me and my family into a HUGE financial burden and by not allowing me to just remove the problem, I feel as if they essentially held us hostage to pay their huge fee NOW or have no power.

They did agree to lower my deposit amount, and allow me to pay it out over three months, but the damage has been done. I feel VIOLATED that they would use a bankruptcy that was on my husband's credit report from over 8 years ago before we were married as the basis for their decision for a fricking utility deposity. I am outraged that I was flat told that I didn't have the ability to choose who was or wasn't a joint on my own account, and I an utterly offended that after all their blunders, they have the audacity to threaten my family to pay up within 24 hours or have the power turned off. If I had ANY choice in the matter, I would choose another electric provider but as such this complaint is my only recourse.

SHAME on FEC for being so brazen as to take a family of five with three small children and subject them to such highway robbery. What kind of utility requires such a steep deposit but doesn't take more care to communicate it better. And what kind of person can call at one hour from closing time and ask, "oops we screwed up and you shouldn't have power, can you give us 1k now so we can keep you on". I. Am. Outraged. and plan to vocalize this predicament to anyone who will listen.

Desired Settlement
I want that bankruptcy of 8 years ago disregarded and or I want my husband off my account so that the exhorbinant deposit is rendered unnecessary. I want to pay the standard 30 dollar deposit fee and the additional monies given so far refunded as a credit on my account. I WOULD not have had to pay that under any other circumstance and I want an apology - IN WRITING - from FEC for the stress of forcing my husband to try and come up with so much extra money just DAYS after a massive move wtih our family that included the medical bills for our 3 year old diabetic child. They were mismanaged, irresponsible, cold, and unprofessional with the manner in which this was handled. THEIR ERRORS in the application process are what started this and I simply will not stand for it.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: Sheryl Paden
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@farmerselectric.coop
******* ****** contacted us on April 12th regarding fees to secure electric service at **** ********** ***** ***** ****** We quoted our standard fees of $10 application fee, $20 membership fee and if required the deposit would be $1020 based on 4020 square foot home for a total of $1050.

On April 17th after we had received and entered ******* and ***** ******'s application information it was determined that a deposit did need to be collected and we called the contact phone number on the application and had to leave a voice mail that we needed additional information on Kevin and that a deposit of $985 would be required, to please call back so arrangements could be made.

On April 22nd when ******* called in we advised her deposit was required based on our policy guidelines. When she stated no one had advised her of deposit requirement we told her that we had left a voice mail on April 17th.

On April 22nd, we advised ******* we could reduce the deposit to $500 as a courtesy with a partial payment of $230 required. We advised her that we would have to have her application process completed by 4/26 since the previous member had requested us to disconnect the service Monday 4/29. She chose to pay the $500 in installments. We informed her that her deposit would be refunded with interest earned after 12 payments on time.

Please contact me if you have additional questions regarding this case.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The fact that "They advised me that they would have to have my application process completed by 4/26 since the previous member had requested them to disconnect the service Monday 4/29" is irrelevant since the previous "owner" was the home builder. My complaint was about them using an 8+ year old piece of information on the SECONDARY member on my account as their reasoning for this exhorbinant deposit fee. I was very clear in my request. I am the primary on the account, I alwys have been, if removing my husband is necessary then fine, but I want that 8 year old piece of information REMOVED from consideration and I don't want to have to pay ANYMORE than the 30 dollar fee that I was TOLD would be owed if ONLY my information was considered. I was clearly told that MY credit was perfect and I scored fine. And as such i want to remain the primary on the account - AS I APPLIED - and just remove my husband and all extra fees refunded to my account immediately.

It is absolutely unethical to dig back into the public records for over 8 years ago on the co-signer on the account to try and find a reason for this dollar about. Especiually when that reason has ROLLED OFF the credit reports and is no longer under consideration by the IRS OR the Mortgage industry. If you have to dig THAT FAR BACK to get some money, then you are digging too hard.

I was told by YOUR OFFICE that my credit was perfect and I am the primary on the account. I wish to remain the primary and just remove my husband and refund the ridiculous fees.

06/15/2015Problems with Product / Service
04/30/2015Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electric Companies, Energy Service Companies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/01/2001Business started: 09/08/1937
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Stubbs (General Manager)Mr. Brian Green (Director of Operations)Mr. Mark Lyles (Director of Administratio)Ms. Kathy Scroggins (Director of Finance)
Business Category

Electric Companies, Energy Service Companies

Products & Services

Electric utility company.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Farmers Electric Cooperative

2000 Interstate Highway 30 E

Greenville, TX 75402-9084

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 2000 Interstate Highway 30 E 

    Greenville, TX 75402-9084(903) 455-1715
    Fax: (903) 455-8125

  • 301 N Hillcrest Dr 

    Sulphur Springs, TX 75482-2340

  • 108 W. Marble Street 

    Wylie, TX 75098

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Farmers Electric Cooperative is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Electric Companies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.