BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Ideal Dental of Corinth

Phone: (940) 321-2088

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
11/26/2012Billing / Collection Issues
05/06/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I went to Cornerstone Dental back in November 15th 2014 (estimate date) for a filling but was told I had to have a crown. It was a very high pressured moment where I wasn't given any other options. I throughly explained to Cornerstone I am on a very tight budget because my husband is being treated for cancer. They explained to me that they wouldn't even be able to perform the procedure for 3 or more weeks because it takes that long to get my crown created, so I said Good that will give me time to save up, how much is my TOTAL cost?" She said, The total out of pocket expenses will be $800.00, but if you go on our website and give and good review we will give you a $50.00 discount."(BUYING REVIEWS-IS THAT LEGAL) Went home filled out review of the initial visit so I would get the discount and my total came out to $750.00(estimated- so long ago) total expense. NOW after a horrific experience getting the crown, my husband PAID THE TOTAL AMOUNT GIVEN BEFORE WE LEFT. But today 4/20/2015 I received a call from Cornerstone Dental stating my insurance "downgraded" the tooth because of the location and I now have to pay $160.00 or they are sending it to collection right now. I think they made the mistake on their coding and billing to my insurance company and want me to pay for their mistake. Cornerstone had 8 weeks to bill my dental plan or find out what was going to be covered. The billing department deals with all insurances so I dont know how they dont know how much the insurance is going to pay. I paid them in full on the day I received my crown. I need the BBB to look into this company and not back Cornerstone Dental or their practices. How are they allowed to bill you months later? This is not a good way or honest way to run a business. Also, on my bill there is not one single explanation of charges. Please help me NOT pay this bill or for this bill to be sent to collections. I am going to speak to the Federal Trade Commission and file a complaint with them also, this is wrong in every way
Product_Or_Service: Crown for Molar
Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
I need the BBB to look into this company and not back Cornerstone Dental or their practices. How are they allowed to bill you months later without an explanation on the bill for what I am being billed? This is not a good way or honest way to run a business. Please help me NOT pay this bill or for it to be sent to collections. Futhermore, I am filing with the Federal Trade Commission about this issue.

Business Response
CASE # XXXXXXXX

To Whom it May Concern:

At Cornerstone Dental, we send out dental claims electronically within 24 hours of services rendered. When estimates are given, we are sure to tell our patients that it is just an estimate from insurance when presenting a treatment plan. Unless a predetermination is sent to insurance, we are not able to give a 100% estimate of what insurance will cover.

Furthermore, after sending 3 statements, we contact the patient to try to resolve the balance before sending to collections.

In this case, insurance downgraded on a benefit, leaving the patient responsible for the remaining balance. After speaking with the patient multiple times, we were able to resolve this situation within 3 days and to date, the balance has been paid in full.

We would ask that you remove the complaint as I have been instructed in the past that the BBB only addresses complaints regarding poor quality of service and not financially motivated complaints.

Thank You.

07/23/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Cornerstone Dental in Hickory Creek, TX(which is not listed here) has not corrected a billing error for over 3 months since we visited.
On 12/28/2012, I went to Cornerstone Dental in Hickory Creek, TX for a scheduled cleaning. The insurance I have(Blue Cross Blue Shield) has ALWAYS covered the cleanings. They are scheduled for two times per year and there is a $500 deductible for each person. Kasey, the manager there, sent my husband and I two letters and asked us to come to the office for the cleanings because apparently we had money available, approximately $430 each so we can use it. We went and after the cleanings, I also paid $76.60 for two fillings for myself. She told me that everything is fine and gave me a customer copy of a couple papers that say that I don't owe a penny. Three months later on March 13, 2013, I received a statement from Cornerstone Dental that said I had to pay $348.40. I went BACK to the office talked to them. They said they'd make an adjustment from $348.40 to $215. I told them that I disagreed with that and called the insurance company, who then told me to call/go back to the office because even she didn't know what I was talking about. The people at the office said they'd call my insurance company to "resolve the problem". They said this at the beginning of May.

I received ANOTHER paper that said I had to pay the $356 from earlier. On May 21st, I talked to Sandra and she said the exact same thing; that she'd talk to Kasey and fix the error. One month later on June 19th, I got a 3rd copy of the $356 statement error. When I threatened to file a complaint, they removed the $215 from last year. They cleared that to add the $356 and I'm tired of putting up with it. I have a customer copy that they gave me that says "Amount due: $0.00" on hand.

Thanks for taking your time to read this and here is my contact info:

Senada Bukvic
2800 Gold Rush st.
Corinth, TX 76210
940-239-6475
bukvic06@hotmail.com

Desired Settlement
I would like for them to fix the error and to not change their story. I'd also like for them to stop putting me off about this issue. This is a lot of money that I shouldn't have been charged for. They say one thing, but do another.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: Mandy Office Manager
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***********@mycornerstonedentist.com
We are Cornerstone Dental in Flower Mound, and do not have the same owner as Cornerstone Dental of Hickory Creek. Please send this to the correct office. Thank You.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I won't not accept from the business because like I said in the previous it's not my fault either when I received two Cornerstone letters, why is it telling me that the money is available and it's also telling me 100% that the insurance will cover it when I paid 76.60 also there is three different amount which is asking me to pay. I am very frustrated about issue and if I know that it's going to be like that I would have never went there. Please try to resolve my problem. Thank you so much.

Business' Final Response
For over 3 months we have been telling Mrs. ****** that her insurance had denied her claims and that she would have to speak with them to get her balance resolved. her insurance company kept telling her it was our fault for not anticipating when she had reached her yearly max, so we called insurance ourselves. Insurance informed us that she was maxing out early because she was seeing another DDS. I called Mrs. ****** to let her know that we had no control over her insurance company and how they pay and that the balance would be her responsibility. I also informed her that we would be able to set up a payment arraignment, and she could still visit our office. Mrs. ****** understood what had happened with her insurance company and was grateful that we were willing to help her take care of her balance.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Dentists

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.