BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/06/2011

Dossett Dental

Find a Location

(972) 590-8832View Additional Phone Numbers4275 Legacy Dr, FriscoTX 75034-2229 Send email to Dossett Dental

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/06/2011

BBB has determined that Dossett Dental meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Dossett Dental's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues7
Problems with Product / Service4
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 13

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (13)BBB Closure Definitions
06/04/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
12/13 office visit. The office manager and staff gave wrong codes to ins Co. 6 months later, after never getting a bill, they demand payments.
procedure done in 12/13. After this, I was assured three (3) times by the staff that I don't owe money, and that they made mistakes billing the ins company. 6 months later, the collections person named ****** calls me and tells me I owe money. They never sent a bill, and 3 times I was told I did not owe any more money. I've been threatened with turning my name over to collections. Again, three times after the procedure, I was told I don't owe anything more. They should eat the cost.

Desired Settlement
They should eat the costs that they said I don't owe, but now I do. If lying to customers is their business practice, they should be sanctioned. No less than 3 (three) times, I have been assured by the staff that I don't owe any more money. Was I lied to?

Business Response
Mr. ********,

I apologize for any miscommunication regarding your account. The reason you did not receive a bill sooner is because we did not want to send you a statement until we had resolved your insurance claim. We again apologize for the length in time it took for you to receive the statement but we wanted to insure that your insurance paid their portion. We are only asking that you pay the remaining balance that you signed and agreed to on the date of service.


Thank you,
Dossett Dental

05/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Lack of assistance by dentist and associates, rude offered no alternative assistance, waste of my time
Went that prior Saturday for a tooth exam and possible extraction. Dentist stated that I would have to come back and they would have to sedate me to extract the wisdom teeth. Did not want to get sedated, offered referrals. I contact them back that Monday 2/24/14 to setup an appointment for a tooth extraction, advised I will go through with sedation. Associate was aware that I was coming in specifically to get teeth extracted, and stated doctor doesnt come in to the office until Wednesday. I scheduled my appointment for 2/26/14 at 2:45pm. When I arrived, the associates states that they referred me out. They were very rude and offered no assistance. I advised that when I called I specifically stated that I was coming in for the tooth extraction. The associate was rude and when I asked so this was a waste of my time the associate stated yes. She offered no assistance and no alternatives. The whole office was in the front and did nothing to assist.

Desired Settlement
This office charged my insurance for xrays and did nothing to help or assist me. I feel as if they were just seeking money from me and never really wanted to assist me. I would like a return on what ever they charged my insurance. Otherwise I would just like everyine to know how horrible the staff was there at that location

Business Response
Ms. ********* was seen in our office on February 22, 2014. Not all dentists in our practice perform oral surgery or teeth extractions at all. I'm sorry that she had a negative experience in our Plano location. Her insurance was charged for a limited exam and xrays. The total was $103 and insurance only paid $46. Our office already did a courtesy adjustment of $57. If she would like to be seen in another location with myself I can make sure she is taken care of or would be happy to give her a copy of her xrays.
Thank You,
Michelle Dossett

05/09/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was overcharged $890 for dental work and so contacted the Dental Office to resolve. After initial contact, they won't respond to my communication.
We asked for a final itemized bill on 9/28/2012 when we made the last payment on account. It shows total charges and paid credits, yet one clearly does not match the other. So I wrote ******* Dental to address the issue on 01/15/2014 when I noticed the discrepancy and received a reply stating they received my message through the web and will look into the matter promptly. Also said that she noticed there was a large discount on my account but didn't notice a discrepancy but to please forward the copy of the receipt and she will look into the matter.

I attached the receipt to my return email and replied, "Actually, the "Proposed Treatment Plan" that was printed and given to me before any work was done was totaled at $22,475.00. The total I was charged was $22,605. And yet I paid $23,495. Even if they claim they discounted me, why wouldn't the authorized charges match the paid credits? This is the finalized bill Christina printed for me and my dad immediately after we paid the final $4,175 payment on 9/28."

I never received another reply so I emailed again on 2/26/2014 asking for an update. Still no reply. Now it's over another month later... Here are the charges/credits on the final itemized bill.

CHARGES:
11/29/11 D5110 Complete Upper Tooth UA, $1,800.00
11/29/11 D5120 Complete Lower Tooth LA, $1,800.00
01/16/12 D5120 Complete Lower Tooth LA, $2,000.00
01/16/12 D6010 Surg.Place Implant #29, $3,000.00
01/16/12 D6010 Surg.Place Implant #23, $3,000.00
01/16/12 D6010 Surg.Place Implant #26, $3,000.00
01/16/12 D6010 Surg.Place Implant #20, $3,000.00
01/16/12 D9999 Implant Locators, $1,000.00
01/16/12 D7210 Surg.Removal of Tooth #20, $175.00
01/16/12 D7210 Surg.Removal of Tooth #21, $175.00
01/16/12 D7210 Surg.Removal of Tooth #22, $175.00
01/16/12 D7210 Surg.Removal of Tooth #23, $175.00
01/16/12 D7210 Surg.Removal of Tooth #24, $175.00
01/16/12 D7210 Surg.Removal of Tooth #25, $175.00
01/16/12 D7210 Surg.Removal of Tooth #26, $175.00
01/16/12 D7210 Surg.Removal of Tooth #27, $175.00
01/16/12 D7210 Surg.Removal of Tooth #28, $175.00
01/16/12 D7310 Alveoloplasty, $300.00
01/16/12 D7310 Alveoloplasty, $300.00
01/16/12 D9241 IV Sedation (30 min), $450.00
01/16/12 D9241 IV Sedation (30 min), $450.00
01/16/12 D9241 IV Sedation (30 min), $450.00
01/16/12 D9241 IV Sedation (30 min), $450.00
3/25/12 Billing Charge, $5.00
4/29/12 Billing Charge, $5.00
5/25/12 Billing Charge, $5.00
7/25/12 Billing Charge, $5.00
7/27/12 Billing Charge, $5.00
9/25/12 Billing Charge, $5.00
TOTAL CHARGES = $22,605.00

ACCOUNT PAYMENTS
11/29/11 Care Credit, $13,000.00
12/22/11 Mastercard, $1,500.00
12/29/11 Care Credit, $3,700.00
4/11/12 Mastercard, $20.00
5/15/12 Mastercard, $20.00
6/15/12 Mastercard, $20.00
6/23/12 Care Credit, $1,000.00
7/19/12 Mastercard, $20.00
8/16/12 Mastercard, $20.00
9/21/12 Mastercard, $20.00
9/28/12 Mastercard, $4,175.00
TOTAL PAID = $23,495.00

Desired Settlement
I would like the $890 I was overcharged refunded to me in a check.

Business Response
Issued a refund to patient and resolved dispute.

03/17/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was over charged on two different visits for services. I have both my EBO's from Cigna insurance, showing the over payment.
I was seen as a patient at Dossett Dental on 10/19/2013, claim number EXXXXXXXXXXX for a root canal and core build up. I was charged in the office on the day of service for $369.00. The amount billed to the insurance was $1,700.00, which Dossett Dental was discounted $908.00 for being in-network. Per EOB root canal was billed for was $1370.00, the contracted amount was $621.00 and Cigna paid $496.80 leaving me to pay $124.20. The core build up was billed for $330.00, amount contracted was $171.00 and Cigna covered $60.50, applied $50.00 to my deductible, leaving the amount I owe as $110.50. From the date of service 10/19/2013 my total amount owed was $234.70 and I paid the dentist $369.00. This leaves me over paying by $134.30, and Dossett Dental isn't giving me the money back for over payment.
I was seen again at Dossett Dental on 01/31/2014, claim number EXXXXXXXXXXX, to have my wisdom teeth extracted and I was told my payment after insurance would be $672.60, which I paid in two separate payments, one on 1/27/14 and the other on 1/31/14. I have my EOB from Cigna once again and I paid well over the amount. I was billed for surgical extraction for $380.00, amount contracted $196.00,Cigna paid $156.80 leaving me with a balance of $79.20.I was billed for extraction part-bony impacted for $684.00, amount contracted $290.00, Cigna paid $232.00, leaving me with a balance of $58.00. I was billed for surgical extraction $380.00, amount contracted $196.00, Cigna paid $156.80, leaving me with a balance of $39.20. I was billed for IV sedation $758.00,amount contracted $290.00, Cigna paid $149.60, leaving me with a balance of $37.40. This last billing for this visit was for comp-bony impacted extraction I was billed for $700.00,amount contracted $336.00, Cigna paid $268.80, leaving me with a balance of $67.20. Total amount due $281.00, but I paid the dentist $672.60.
Also at my visit for wisdom teeth removal, the dentist broke a tooth will taking out the tooth, which is now giving me pain, and I will need another root canal and the dentist stated it would cost the same amount as your other root canal without even running the enough through insurance. I refuse to make another payment to a tooth that was not broken when I went in to be seen.
I attempted to speak with someone in billing and she told me I just don't understand and that it is completely right, even though total from both visit I over paid by $525.90. My method of payment for visit visits was by debt card. I feel I should be giving back my money for over payment and this dentist should be investigated.

Desired Settlement
The settlement that I am seeking is refund for overpayment. I also feel that the tooth that the dentist broke should be fixed at no cost.

Business Response
Re: Case If 91280998: ***** ****
To Whom It may concern,
***** **** came to our office as a new patient on 7/24/10 for x-ray and exam. We took 7 -rays
and Dr. ****** did examination. ***** needed a lot of work to be done. She needed Root Canal #3 ,
build up and crown, extraction of all her wisdom teeth, Root planning and scaling full mouth, and root
canal ,crown, build up on #31, and fillings on 2,3,14,15,18,19, and 30. ***** did not get anything d ne
that day.
***** **** came back to our office on 10/19/2013 with a tooth ache. We did a xray and exrm
she still needed all the work done but the problem was #13 was infected and Dr. ****** did a Root Canal
and Build upon that tooth she paid $369.00. The charge was her 20% off the root canal and Clgna I,Jsually
doesn't pay for the Build Up. We got a check for $557.30 on 11/30/13 and we wrote off the balan e.
***** **** came back In to our office 1/17/14 with pain, she need her wisdom teeth to be
extracted. We scheduled her with Dr. Moore whom is out of network but he came to our office on
1/31/14 to perform the surgery. During the surgery tooth #31 due to a huge cavity that was dlagn sed
In 2010 chipped off. Dr Moore told her husband and he said that she would need to get that Fix# 1
soon.
***** **** came back to our on 2/7/14 for post op after the surgery and Dr. Kama II told he
again that she has to take care of #31 ASAP before the slze of the cavity is TOO BIG. When she wa
checking out we asked her if she wants to schedule for tooth n 31 she said not yet. But she asked f r
Insurance money and she said she was over charged. I, ******* told her we have not received th
Insurance check yet as soon as they pay if she has a credit we will refund that amount.
***** **** came back to our office on 2/8/14 the next day upset and lnfront of other patie
said the we had gotten the insurance check and she wants her refund, and again said we overchar ed
her. I tried to come her down she said she doesn't want to talk to me.
2/12/14 I got a call for Clgna, the reprehensive said we have to refund her $281.00 1 told er
we have not received the check yet she said, ***** Called Ctgna she Is just doing the followup and told
I
6009 W. Parl(er Road, Suite 199, Plano, Texas XXXXX XXX-XXX-XXX X * Fax XXX XXX-XXXX
I

her as soon as we get the Insurance check we will send her a check for $281.00. On 2/15/14 we rec lved
a check for $92.4.00 1 2./2.4/14 $2.4.00 1 & 3/1/14 $88.00.
***** **** paid a total of$ 1041.00 for Root Canal and Build Up #13 and Surgical Extraction
#1,16,17,32 With IV sudation. We are mailing her a check out today 3/5/13 for $525.90. We woul like
to finish this relationship with ***** **** due to her being so unprofessional.
We do have any documents you may need.
Thank you for your time & consideration,
*****************

02/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged $1k for services that I have not received on a credit card that was approved at the time of the appointment. Want credit haven't received.
I want credit towards the credit card that I received at the time of my appointment. Contacted office and spoke with ****** and she advised that the only way I can get a refund is if I cancel my card. I don't want to do that because I would like to still keep it to pay off services that I already received and use it at another dental office to get the work I need done completed at a cheaper rate. She said I needed to sign some papers and kept insisting that I cancel my card and I kept telling her to just please refund the card for the amount of services that I did not receive. I asked for the form to be emailed to me and so I can sign it and send it back and she said she couldn't do that and kept giving me a hard time. On top of the poor customer service that she provided they over charge for their services! They charged me $600 for a cleaning and that was AFTER my insurance paid!

Desired Settlement
I just want my credit card refunded for the amount of the services that I pre paid for and NEVER received.

Business' Initial Response
Ms. ****** was seen in our office and did have a credit on her account. Our front office staff member did attempt to refund the credit of $401.40
back to Ms. ****** account but had an issue with the refund posting on the care credit account. After contacting care credit the refund of $401.40
was posted to Ms. ****** account January 30th. We do apologize for any miscommunication and inconveinence this may have caused.

Page 1 of 2
08/08/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The Dossett Dental office told us our insurance was accepted at their office so I received a cleaning at their Frisco office.
2 months later I received a bill for the full amount. When I called they said that our insurance was no longer accepted at their office. After a number of calls into their office they told me they would reduce the bill by 50% due to my insurance no longer being accepted at the office. I even called their office after sending in the first 50% payment to make sure the other half would be taken care of which they confirmed by phone. Initially I didn't think I should have to pay anything since I was told by the DD office that my insurance was accepted at the time of visit but I decided to agree to their 50% payment. To my surprise I just received an invoice for the second 50% with an additional penalty fee on top of it. Again even though I didn't feel like I should have to pay another 55 dollars I have sent payment in as I feel their office would send me to collections and it would be quite a hassle to deal with at that point. I plan to let others know about our experience with this office and will not be returning for another visit. At the end I have paid for more than 100% of a cleaning charge when I was told my insurance was accepted at their office and shouldn't of had to pay for anything.

Desired Settlement
Full refund of amount paid.

Business Response
The bill that Mr. ***** is complaining about is from a date of service of 3/10/2014. After researching his insurance claim, on that date of service Mr. ***** had a full checkup of exam and xrays & cleaning. When I checked with ******* there is a $50 deductible and a 20% copay for xrays & only the cleaning and exam are covered at 100%. The insurance paid for the visit based on Mr. *****' benefits. The balance reaming is a $50 deductible and also 20% copay on the xrays. In the past with Mr. ***** we have made adjustments to lower any remaining balance that inaurance did not cover & if our office agreed to adjust any balance after he paid 50%, then we will stand by that and honor it. The amount I have is $55. Benefits are not very clear with insurance companies for patients sometimes, but our Company has been in business since 1982 and stand behind our word.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The business did not stand behind its promise to waive the fees. Despite numerous attempts/calls to Dossett Dental I still ended up paying the entire amount of $100 for the additional charges plus a $5 rebilling fee. During this exam/cleaning I questioned whether or not xrays would be covered as I didn't feel they were necessary. At the visit, I was told they were caovered but was still billed 100% with no fees waived even though I was told Dossett would waive 50% after initial calls with them due to the miscommunication at the exam.

Also, no fees have been waived in the past that I am aware of.


04/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Went to this dentist for a crown in August 2012. A temporary crown was inserted, and it has never came off. Paid for permanent crown in full.
Went to this dental office in August of 2012 to have a crown placed on a cracked rear molar. I made an appointment to have the permanent crown installed approx, two weeks later and paid for the permanent crown IN FULL at the time of the first visit. Went to the appointment to have the permanent crown placed and went to their office in McKinney. The dental assistant could not take off the temporary crown and asked for the dentist to assist. He could not take off the temporary crown either without causing severe pain and causing the feeling of the molar being pulled out as well as the temporary crown. They suggested I wait and see if the temporary crown would eventually come off on its own. They told me to phone their office since they had possession of the porcelain crown I had already paid for. After several months, it was quite obvious the temporary crown was not going to come off. My husband who carries the dental plan with his company, sent several emails requesting a refund and has NEVER had response from their office. It has now been 17 months and the temporary crown is still on the rear molar and shows no sign of coming off. We will not return to this dentist or it's affiliates. We would like a full refund of a crown that I have never received, but paid for.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund for the porcelain crown that I paid for, but NEVER received. We have tried so many times to email and contact their office to resolve this, but we have been ignored by ******** *******.

Business Response
Ms. ***** was seen in our office on 8/25/2012. At this time her treating dentist was Dr. ******** Because of her fear & anxiety Dr. ******* explained to her the best treatment was to have a crown under sedation. Ms. ***** AGREED to the treatment & Dr. ****** our anesthesiologist sedated her for the treatment. When it was time to seat the crown 2 weeks later she again had fear & anxiety and the crown could not be seated. I feel i have responded to Ms. ***** & also Mr. ***** regarding this issue. I am willing to resolve the situation with Mr & Ms *****. The total cost of the crown was 2 charges. Build up $300 and crown $1289. A courtesy adjustment was made that day of $278.10. Insurance paid $391.20 and again our office adjusted off $532.20. Ms.***** paid $1062 the day of treatment but $600 was for the iv sedation. So total she paid for the crown was $462. Half of the work was done, but the crown was not seated so our office would refund $231 to Ms. *****.
I have Doctors notes as well as a breakdown of her account history that i can forward over if needed. Again i feel like our office & myself have tried several times to help Ms. ***** & are still trying & willing to resolve the situation.
******** *******

Consumer Response
I still have not received any notification of my refund being sent as agreed. Please let me know if this has been done and any documentation to correspond. Thank you.


Consumer Response
We still have NOT received the amount agreed upon by this business. Please advise.

******** *****

11/05/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Bait N Switch
I bought a 99.00 Groupon and went in for the Teeth whitening. I feel as if I was bait and switched because they told me that I would have to come back for 2 more teeth cleanings and that it would be covered under my insurance...Well I go in for the first cleaning and a week later I get a call telling me that I owe them $500+ dollars and that they would settle for half. I told the lady that they misrepresented the services and insurance coverage to me and that I would not pay. Now I have debt collectors calling me asking for $675.00. I will submit this to my attorney if this is not removed immediately. I will also be all over the internet posting on sites like yelp and Google about your bait and switch tactics and subsequent collection harassment.

Desired Settlement
I want the debt collectors to earase my account and not file on my credit report and I want the bill from ******* taken to ZERO.

Business Response
This is **** ******* Collections Manager of Dossett Dental. At the time of service, the patient needed a deep periodontal cleaning due to indicators of periodontal disease. We verified that the patient had insurance coverage through his insurance company, performed the services and then filed the claim on the procedures and dental codes with his insurance company. The insurance did cover a portion of the claim $570.00 worth, but they denied partial coverage. We appealed with his insurance company to cover the entire claim, but they would not cover any more. Mr. **** signed a patient financial responsibility form at his patient intake on the date of service, stating that any portion that the insurance does not pay is the patient's responsibility. I spoke to Mr **** by telephone on 12/3/12 to try to resolve this balance with him. At that time, I had offered a 50% settlement agreement as a professional courtesy to resolve the situation and keep his account in good standing with us. He told me to send him an email detailing that information regarding the settlement, and he would agree to pay $285, and I would write off $285 as a professional courtesy. I never heard back from Mr ****, nor received any payment towards the SIF agreement. I attempted to contact Mr **** several more times over the next few months, sent letters in the mail, left phone messages. No response. Since there was no response, I assumed he had no interest in resolving this and sent his account to our 3rd party collections agency, as his account had been delinquent for over 120 days. It is only now he has chosen to respond since he has been turned over to collections. Dossett Dental, nor PRS Collections reports to the credit bureau, so there will be no negative reflection on his CBR. The balance on his account is valid and his responsibility to pay. I've already made an offer to settle for 50%. That offer is still on the table if Mr **** chooses to accept.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this response as I went to my regular dentist ( that I been goign to for 6 years) for a second opinion and they informed me that I did not have periodontal disease whatso ever and that I was being duped.

09/30/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service performed: Partial Cleaning and X-rays (x-rays are free on first visit) and was charged $7,100.00 for the above service(s).
The charged me for services scheduled but NOT performed. I was forced to cancel the appointment and they charged me the FULL amount of the services they "suggested" should be done. The employees have been the most uncooperative people I have ever had to deal with in my life. When I asked for copies of all the paperwork I signed when I was there, I noticed they had added notes to the forms AFTER the forms were signed. I should have gotten a copy of these forms prior to leaving but I did not.

Desired Settlement
$7,000.00 I will pay for the office visit and partial cleaning but I WILL NOT pay for services that were not performed that they are charging me. I am prepared to hire an attorney, if needed but I should NOT have to pay for something I did not receive.

Business Response
We saw Mrs. ******** on 07/17 and she asked for financing and signed all necessary paper work. She asked to have the scaling done on the same day. Since she asked for sedation for the other treatment proposed we had to schedule her in 2 days to get the anesthesiologist in. She called a few hours beford her appointment and said she is not coming. Even though we tried to explain the anesthesiologist is here only as her request. Even after all that situation we didnt charge her for cancellation. She paid only for the scaling and we gave back the balance the same day 07/19/2013.

We are sorry that she didn't realize how hard we worked to get her taken care of because she was anxious and we wanted to have a pleasant visit for her.
We also tried to call her the next day and left messages with no response back.

Thanks

Dossett Dental
Dallas

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I called them 36 hours in advance to advise them I could not make the appointment. Their response to me was, "YOU CANNOT cancel your appointment!" I have this phone call, with date and time, recorded on my phone, they are lying that I called them a few hours before my appointment. They DID NOT credit back the $7,100.00 balance on July 19, I have paperwork from them and CareCredit to prove this statement. This Dentist is taking advantage of me and probably have done the same in the past, this Dentist is a SCAM and I'm quite surprised there are not more complaints against them. I am in the process of filing a complaint with the Texas State Board of Dental Examiners as CareCredit sent me a letter on August 6, 2013 indicating I still owed them $1,433.00 and the credit amount applied to my account was in the amount of $1,433.00. Now I have to ask, since the documentation I have read states that a typical scaling is done 2 quadrants at a time, so why are they charging me for all 4 quadrants? I was only in that office for 2 hours max, there is no way they could have done 4 quadrants scaling in that short amount of time. In addition, a typical scaling costs $160-$260 per quadrant yet they are charging me $341 per quadrant? The Hygienist, Holly Chodyniecki, told me while I was there that she DID NOT finish the scaling as she wanted to finish while I was sedated so why am I being charged for treatments NOT performed? In addition to all of this, I never agreed to pre-pay for any of this work, they just told me to sign all of this paperwork, did NOT give me time to read it prior to signing yet I was charged $7,100.00 on July 17 for services that WERE NOT PERFORMED. Who would pre-pay for services that were not performed? Why would a Dentist charge somebody for services to be performed at a later date? I did not agree to this nor did they inform me that they were charging me this huge amount PRIOR to any services being performed. What if I died on July 18? Would my family or estate be responsible for these services that WERE NOT PERFROMED? I am outraged at their lack of customer service and how I they can legally charge me for services that WERE NOT PERFORMED.

08/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Dossett Dental in Frisco TX, lied to me about a medical procedure they claimed I needed.
I visited Dossett Dental to have cavities filled. While I was there they told me I needed to have an extensive cleaning done because I had periodontal disease. I was told they would not even work on the cavities until this procedure was completed. I agreed to let them do the procedure. I paid my portion that was not covered by my insurance. I later visited another dentist who told me that they lied to me and there is not even any indication that I have periodontal disease. I just let it go because I figured it was too late and didn't want to make a big deal of it. Several months later I received a bill from Dossett Dental for the portion that my insurance company was suppose to cover. They told me to call my insurance company to clear it up, which I did. However when I called my insurance company they informed me that their doctors looked over my charts and ALSO agreed that Dossett Dental lied to me and because of this it was an unnecessary procedure. They informed me because this was an unnecessary procedure they will not cover it. I was then put in contact with Jill Maddox at Dossett Dental because she was sending me collection letters. I spoke to Jill and explained what happened and she agreed with me that it was not right. She then informed me not to worry about the collection letters because it would not ever go on my credit. Another several months passed *** I now have received a letter that states that it is now in collections and WILL be reported on my credit. This should not be my problem because they lied to me and told me I had a disease that I never really had, Jill also lied about putting it on my credit.

Desired Settlement
I want this to be left off my credit and have the balanced taken down to zero because I already paid my unnecessary portion.

Business' Initial Response
**** ****** was seen in our office on X-XX-XX and received full mouth scaling and root planning "deep Cleaning". Mr. ******'s insurance company denied the charges for his scaling leaving him a balance of $595.00
At the time of his comprehensive exam all findings showed the need for the deep cleaning, Mr. ****** consented to the treatment. Unfortunately in the world of insurance companies there is always fine print and it is the patients responsibility to know their benefits. Our office appealed his claim 3 times and insurance still would not pay. **** accepted treatment and has only decided it did not need to be done because he received a bill after his insurance did not pay.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It had nothing to do with "knowing my benefits". My benefits DID cover the procedure that took place. And ******* Dental even CONFIRMED that they did. The problem is that I DID NOT "decide that I didn't need the procedure". The insurance company's own DOCTORS as well as a private doctor determined that I was LIED to and never needed the procedure. The whole problem here is that the insurance company will not cover a medical procedure for a condition that I DON'T EVEN HAVE. When I spoke to my insurance company they told me that if I really would have had periodontal disease they WOULD have covered the procedure but because ******* dental lied to me and did the procedure anyways that they will not cover it.

Business' Final Response
This is Jill Maddox, Collections Manager for Dossett Dental. I am responding to a secondary complaint from **** ******, regarding dental treatment and billing. On ****'s 7/10/13 response, he stated that another dentist and his insurance company's own doctors determined that he didn't have perio disease, therefore the deep cleaning was an "unnecessary procedure". If a patient has a deep cleaning performed at our office, then goes to another dentist for a second opinion, of course they are not going to see symptoms of perio disease, because we've already performed the procedure to remove any decay or buildup around the gums that signifies the disease. **** ****** signed a patient financial responsibility form at the time of service, with a disclaimer that states that the patient is responsible for all fees not covered by the insurance. I did speak to **** ****** several times on the phone, where he was extremely rude and belligerent, using vulgar language and arguing to the point that I couldn't even complete a sentence. I never agreed that it wasn't a just and valid debt. On the contrary; I validated the debt, and advised him he signed the patient financial responsibility form. He threatened legal action against us if we were to send his account to collections. I advised him again if he would not resolve the debt while it was in house with *******, then I would have no choice to forward it to collections for further pursuit. ******* Dental, nor PRS Collections, has reported this debt to Mr ******'s credit bureau report. We were never dishonest about Mr ******'s treatment or account balance. The balance is valid and having signed the patient financial responsibility form, he is responsible for this balance.

Jill Maddox
Collections Manager
Dossett Dental
XXX-XXX-XXXX
****@dossettdental.com

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Dentists

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/04/2001Business started: 03/11/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas State Board of Dental Examiners
William P. Hobby Building, 333 Guadalupe Street Tower 3, Suite 800
Austin, TX78701
(512) 463-6400
http://www.tsbde.state.tx.us

Contact Information
Principal: Fariba Dodgostar Customer Contact: Michelle Dossett Dr. Mike Dossett (Owner)Dr. David Dossett (Partner)
Business Category

Dentists

Industry Tips
Dentists

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Dossett Dental

4275 Legacy Dr

Frisco, TX 75034-2229

To | From

LocationsX

5 Locations

  • 6959 Arapaho Rd 

    Dallas, TX 75248-4061(972) 421-0931

  • 4275 Legacy Dr 

    Frisco, TX 75034-2229(214) 239-0955

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    618 W Harwood Rd 

    Hurst, TX 76054-3162(817) 918-4795

  • 4550 W Eldorado Pkwy 

    McKinney, TX 75070-2507(972) 265-8283

  • 6009 W Parker Rd 

    Plano, TX 75093-8131(972) 265-8285

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Dossett Dental is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (214) 239-0955
  • (972) 590-8831
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Dentists

Dentists
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.