BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Match.com (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (214) 576-9388Fax: (214) 594-9020View Additional Phone Numbers8300 Douglas Ave STE 800, DallasTX 75225-5826 Send email to Match.comhttp://www.match.comView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Match.com is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Match.com's rating include:

  • Failure to respond to 1467 complaints filed against business.
  • Business has failed to resolve underlying cause(s) of a pattern of complaints.

Complaints from customers are regarding the company's automatic renewal program. The Bureau recommends that you read and understand the company's policies on automatic renewal and cancelation.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2866 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1173 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues245
Billing / Collection Issues1153
Delivery Issues11
Guarantee / Warranty Issues41
Problems with Product / Service1416
Total Closed Complaints 2866

Additional Complaint Information

On November 16, 2015, BBB requested Match.com's voluntary cooperation in eliminating identified patterns of consumer complaints.

Specifically, BBB has received a significant number of complaints from consumers that allege Match.com LLC has failed to provide refunds as promised.

As well, many consumer complaints allege Match.com LLC has continued to bill them for services although they had cancelled their memberships.

On November 30, 2015, BBB received a response from Match.com stating, "We review and take every consumer complaint seriously. We deal with each consumer complaint we receive in a way that we believe fully complies with the user agreement between us and our members."

On December 7, 2015, BBB notified Match.com that there were now 589 unanswered complaints against the company and again requested Match.com's voluntary cooperation in eliminating the identified patterns of consumer complaints.

As of January 7, 2016, Match.com has failed to respond to this request.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

29 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Match.com

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 28
Total Customer Reviews 29 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2866)
05/08/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Website did not disclose amount being charged. On the website I selected one month of service for $29.99.
I made an error with my entering my credit card information. The transaction declined. When I went back and corrected it went back to the payment screen no indication of amount being charged and it charge me $111.09. This is very deceptive billing practices. Must be addressed on a global level. When I went into research the website there have been numerous complaints of the same concern.

Desired Settlement
I was charged $111.93. Originally when I went into select my option to select in 30 days for $29.99. The original card information that I put it declined. I went back to change it and updated it to payment button and it charge me $111.93. This is Deceptive billing practices. We were not given an opportunity to view the total. Before it charges your credit card. When I researched it online. I found that several other consumers had the same issue. I have sent the company two emails requesting that my credit card be refunded for the difference between a 30 day charge and the $111.93 that I was charged. They replied with Auto response with there policy and I am following up with a complaint with the better Better Business Bureau. If not it's best I will submit a complaint with the Federal Trade Commission for a Nother federal agency .

Final Consumer Response
This has been resolved

01/22/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
unethical and unsolicited advertising
I keep getting e-mails from "Match.com" and I do not nor have I ever had a profile or anything to do with Match.com. As my wife has access to my e-mail, you can imagine how sketch this looks. It is impossible to block on Hotmail because it is always from a different e-mail address. "Free to look" it says with links to click on. It is unethical and in Ontario, where I live, illegal. Why am I receiving these? Please stop sending them. Most importantly, send a letter or e-mail confirming that I do not and have never had a profile with you. This will only take a moment of your time and cost you nothing but I am willing to contact my Minister of Consumer Affairs if you do not do the right thing here. Thank you.

Desired Settlement
Send a letter or e-mail confirming that I do not and have never had a profile with you.

Business Response
Match.com, L.L.C.
PO Box 25458
Dallas, TX 75225

January 15, 2015
VIA ONLINE RESPONSE

Better Business Bureau of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc.
**** ******* ******* Suite ****
Dallas, Texas 75201

Re: *** ********** - Comp_ID: XXXXXXXX

We have received your letter dated December 29, 2014 related to a complaint filed by *** *********. We appreciate the opportunity to address Mr. *********'s concerns.

We have added the one email address listed in Mr. *********'s complaint (**************@hotmail.com) to the suppression list of Match.com and other related companies. This should stop any third-party email acquisition efforts by affiliates who may promote Match.com and related companies through email. Provided the email address above is the email address at which Mr. ********* is receiving the emails, he should not receive any more emails from Match.com (although it may take up to 10 days for the change to take effect). If he does, please have him contact me directly and I will get to the bottom of it. My direct email address is listed below.

If Mr. ********* has other email addresses at which he is receiving emails promoting Match.com, we cannot investigate and/or take action on those emails until he provides them to us. Also, it would be very helpful if Mr. ********* could forward some of the emails he is receiving directly to my email address below so we can identify the source and ensure the emails do not continue.

Mr. *********'s email address of ************@hotmail.com does not appear to be in our database and is not associated with a Match.com account. We are not aware of any account Mr. ********* has with Match.com.

I believe this letter satisfies the issue brought forth and I look forward to assisting Mr. ********* further with this matter.

Sincerely,

Mark ********
Manager, Legal Affairs
Match.com
*************@match.com

01/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They close my account and denial return money
I used the service for 3 months and I cancel it because I was not satisfied with the service. Even so, they took 75 dlls from my credit card. I put a complaint with the customer service department and they give me 60 days to resolve it but the last time I here about it was in 9/10/2014. They did not resolved my complaint. In short, they removed 75 dlls from my credit card and they did not give me any service.
I attached the last email that they send me.:

Match.com Account Inquiry Incident: XXXXXX-XXXXXX

Dear *************

I appreciate the time you've taken to contact Match.

Our records show that your subscription has been terminated due to a dispute initiated by you through your financial institution.

We are currently researching the dispute on your account and will have a resolution from your financial institution within 60 days. At this time, your account is not accessible.

I certainly apologize for any inconvenience this may have been to you. If there is anything else I can help you with, please let me know. As always, we wish you the best of luck in your search for a match.

Warm regards,

Al M.

Desired Settlement
Refund my 75 dlls.

Business Response
Match.com, L.L.C.
PO Box XXXXX
Dallas, TX XXXXX

January 16, 2015
VIA ONLINE RESPONSE

Better Business Bureau of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc.
**** ******* ******* Suite ****
Dallas, Texas 75201

Re: ***** ******* - Comp_ID: XXXXXXXX

We have received your letter dated December 31, 2014 related to a complaint filed by ***** *******. We appreciate the opportunity to address Ms. *******'s concerns.

Our records show that on August 12, 2014 Ms. ******* was charged $73.52 for the renewal of her subscription. Ms. *******'s did not contact us about this renewal but instead contacted her financial institution and initiated a Chargeback dispute on August 29, 2014, which resulted in her account being terminated and blocked from further use. Had she not initiated a chargeback, she would have had access to her account until the end of the three-month term.

Ms. ******* agreed to automatic billing when she joined Match.com. Please note the relevant authorization language to which she agreed appeared next to the "subscribe" button which she clicked in order to sign up for the Match.com services:

"Your subscription will automatically renew for the same price and package length until you cancel via your Account Settings page. By subscribing, you authorize us to charge your card now and upon each renewal."

In order to stop the auto renewal process a member needs to resign their subscription. There are several ways to resign a subscription - via website, email, phone and mail; however, Ms. ******* did not pursue any of these avenues to resign her subscription before being renewed.

Ms. ******* also agreed to the Match.com Terms of Use when she purchased a subscription. In section 12 a of our terms of use it states: "If you initiate a chargeback or otherwise reverse a payment made with your Payment Method, the Company may in its discretion terminate your account immediately. If the Company successfully disputes the reversal, and the reversed funds are returned, you are not entitled to a refund or to have your account or subscription reinstated."

We now show that the Chargeback was won by Match.com and a charge for $73.52 was added back to her credit card. A refund is not available since a Chargeback was initiated. However, Match.com wants our customers and former customers to be happy. Therefore, we have re-opened her account and added the time back to her account that she lost when her account was terminated. Ms. ******* can now login to the website and she has subscriber benefits through March 30, 2015. Her subscription is resigned, so she will not be charged again.

I believe this letter satisfies the issue brought forth. Please let me know if I can assist with this matter further.

Sincerely,

Mark ********
Manager - Legal Affairs

01/15/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I would like a full refund of the amount charged because Match.com does not deliver what they claim to do.
All of the men on this site are fake scammers. They are not who they claim to be, they are non existent people from 3rd world countries involved in some sort of a scam to get women to send money. These people are paid a certain amount of money for every woman they hook into believing their stories. They are professionals at this scam and since Match.com is a paid service, they should have better screening functionality to keep these people away. I paid 83.97 and have to spend my entire time on the site playing detective and 100% of the men that have contacted me have been frauds. I have already turned in several people, and even if I don't, they are found and deleted. I don't believe I should pay for a service that I will not be using. Also I do not feel comfortable that these people have access to my information and my email address.

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund and my name and information taken off their site immediately.

Business Response
Match.com, L.L.C.
PO Box 25458
Dallas, TX 75225

January 12, 2015
VIA ONLINE RESPONSE

Better Business Bureau of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc.
**** ******* ******* Suite ****
Dallas, Texas 75201

Re: ***** ******* - Comp_ID: XXXXXXXX

We have received your letter dated December 19, 2014 related to a complaint filed by ***** *******. We appreciate the opportunity to address Ms. *******'s concerns.

We regret that the service did not meet Ms. *******'s expectations. Although Match.com cannot generally control all who access the website, we do not approve profiles that we know are false or leave profiles up that we learn are false or used by people who otherwise violate our Terms of Use. We have systems and tools in place along with a dedicated security team that works diligently to proactively identify and remove members who we believe may compromise the Match.com experience for others.

We educate members about the potential for online scams and possible warning signs (including someone you've never met asking for money). The vast majority of people using our website use it as intended and in accordance with our Terms of Use. We encourage our members to report any contact that appears inappropriate or any activity that feels suspicious. We provide a simple method for reporting member behavior by clicking a "Report A Concern" button which is shown on every profile. Using this feature alerts our security team to review the account and to take appropriate action.

Ms. ******* initiated a subscription on December 8, 2014 and her Visa was billed in the amount of $83.97. Our records indicate that Ms. ******* subscribed for a three-month subscription package. The price and duration of the package appeared under the "Review Your Subscription" field on the billing page where Ms. ******* clicked to start the subscription. XXMR Ms. ******* MSXX also agreed to the Match.com Terms of Use when she purchased a subscription. Section 12 (b) states "If you cancel your subscription, you may use your subscription until the end of your then-current subscription term; your subscription will not be renewed after your then-current term expires. However, you won't be eligible for a prorated refund of any portion of the subscription fee paid for the then-current subscription period."

The full terms of use can be reviewed at:
http://www.match.com/registration/membagr.aspx

Independent of the facts I have described above, Match.com wants our customers and former customers to be happy. Therefore, we credited $83.97 to Ms. *******'s Visa. She should see this credit on her statement within 3 days.

We have also removed Ms. *******'s account and stopped all emails from going to her registered email address. Most email messages should stop immediately. However, she may receive some promotional items for another 7 to 10 business days, and then those should stop as well.

I believe this letter satisfies the issue brought forth. Please let me know if I can assist with this matter further.

Sincerely,

Mark ********
Manager - Legal Affairs

01/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Automatically charging my credit card for service for 3 months after membership expired.
11/11/14 Match.com charged my credit card for 3 months service without my permission. They did not notify me that the membership expired on 11/11 and just charged my credit card. I called when I noticed the charge on 11/14. I cancelled my membership and they said they could not return my $71.00. I have read many of the same complaints on line.

Desired Settlement
Remove the charge from my credit card.

Business Response
Match.com, L.L.C.
PO Box XXXXX
Dallas, TX XXXXX

December 11, 2014
VIA ONLINE RESPONSE

Better Business Bureau of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc.
1600 Pacific Avenue, Suite 2800
Dallas, Texas XXXXX

Re: ******** **** - Comp_ID: XXXXXXXX

We have received your letter dated November 18, 2014 related to a complaint filed by ******** ****. We appreciate the opportunity to address Ms. ****'s concerns.

Our records show that on November 10, 2014 Ms. **** was charged $71.97 for the renewal of her subscription. Ms. ****'s request for a refund was denied because she used the subscriber-only benefits of her subscription (sending emails) after the renewal.

Ms. **** then initiated a chargeback with her credit card company on December 5, 2014, which resulted in her account being terminated and blocked from further use. Had she not initiated a chargeback, she would have had access to her account until the end of the three-month term.

Ms. **** agreed to automatic billing when she joined Match.com. Please note the relevant authorization language to which she agreed appeared next to the "subscribe" button which she clicked in order to sign up for the Match.com services:

"Your subscription will automatically renew for the same price and package length until you cancel via your Account Settings page. By subscribing, you authorize us to charge your card now and upon each renewal."

In order to stop the auto renewal process a member needs to resign their subscription. There are several ways to resign a subscription - via website, email, phone and mail; however, Ms. **** did not pursue any of these avenues to resign her subscription before being renewed.

We now show that the Chargeback was contested by Match.com and a charge for $71.97 was added back to Ms. ****'s credit card. A refund is not available since a Chargeback was initiated. However, Match.com wants our customers and former customers to be happy. Therefore, we have re-opened her account and added the time back to her account that she lost when her account was terminated. Ms. **** can now login to the website and she has subscriber benefits through February 14, 2015.

I believe this letter satisfies the issue brought forth. Please let me know if I can assist with this matter further.

Sincerely,

**** ********
Manager - Legal Affairs


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
First of all, I notified Match on November 14, by phone that I did not want to extend my subscription. In that 4 days, the only way I was aware of the charge was by checking my credit card on line. I would think that they would notify a subscriber when they were going to charge a credit card, considering all of the credit fraud being perpetrated in this day and age. During that period, I did not use any "subscriber only benefits". I DID NOT EMAIL ANYONE DURING THAT 4 DAYS!!! In fact, I had not emailed anyone during the previous 3 months either. After being told by their representative that they would not refund my $71.97, but they would cancel my subscription, I immediately disputed the charge on my credit card. I did not initiate the charge back in December as they allege. I think their service is a ripoff and if you read the comments on Google, you will see that there are many other people who have had the same experience.

Final Business Response
Match.com, L.L.C.
PO Box XXXXX
Dallas, TX XXXXX

December 23, 2014
VIA ONLINE RESPONSE

Better Business Bureau of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc.
1600 Pacific Avenue, Suite 2800
Dallas, Texas XXXXX

Re: ******** **** - Comp_ID: XXXXXXXX

We have received Ms. ****'s additional comments and respond as follows.

According to our records, Ms. ****'s account renewed on November 10, 2014. She sent an email to another member on November 21, 2014. She also sent emails on October 5, October 10, and on October 20, 2014. There are also records of 2 sent emails in September and 14 emails in August. Ms. **** used her account since it renewed and she used it the three months prior.

Members can easily see their renewal date by going to the Subscription status link in settings. Here are the directions provided in our FAQ's: To check the date your subscription is scheduled to renew or lapse, click on the gear icon in the top navigation bar, click Settings and then click on Subscription Status (if you don't have an active subscription, this link will not appear). Your subscription End Date and Renewal Status information will be displayed on this page.

Since our initial response Ms. **** has issued another Chargeback, so $71.97 was returned to her credit card. Ms. ****'s account was also terminated due to this new Chargeback. We will not be contesting this second Chargeback, so Ms. ****'s account will not be billed again.

I believe this letter satisfies the issue brought forth. Please let me know if I can assist with this matter further.

Sincerely,

**** ********
Manager - Legal Affairs


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept the fact that they have closed my account and have agreed not to charge my account again. As far as their explanation of my usage of their website, I called them on November 14 to cancel my account. I DID NOT send any emails after that date. In fact, when they refused to refund my money, I logged on and removed all of my pictures and personal information so that I would not be contacted by anyone from their website and they could not use my info to lure anyone else. Since I cancelled on November 14, there is no way that I could have sent an email on November 21. I am happy to be off of their site and hope that you follow up when others report them (as I am sure they will).

Thank you BBB for your assistance in this matter.

Page 1 of 65
07/31/2015Problems with Product / Service
07/10/2015Billing / Collection Issues
06/22/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company charged an expired credit card
In December my credit card that had expired in July was charged. I thought that because the card had expired a charge could not go through on it but it did. I canceled the subscription and want the company to remove the charges from my card. The are claiming the charge has been removed but it is still showing on my credit card statement

Desired Settlement
All charges removed from my credit card immediately.

Business Response
Match.com, L.L.C.
PO Box XXXXX
Dallas, TX XXXXX

June 4, 2015
VIA ONLINE RESPONSE

Better Business Bureau of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc.
1600 Pacific Avenue, Suite 2800
Dallas, Texas XXXXX

Re: ****** ***** - Comp_ID: XXXXXXXX

We have received your letter dated April 14, 2015 related to a complaint filed by ****** *****. We appreciate the opportunity to address Ms. *****'s concerns.

Our records show that on December 11, 2014 Ms. ***** was charged $59.97 for the renewal of her three-month subscription. She never contacted us directly about this renewal issue until after she initiated a chargeback with her financial institution.

Ms. ***** initiated a chargeback with her credit card company on January 5, 2015, which resulted in her account being terminated and blocked from further use. Had she not initiated a chargeback, she would have had access to her account until the end of the three-month term.

Ms. ***** agreed to automatic billing when she joined Match.com. Please note the relevant authorization language to which she agreed appeared next to the "subscribe" button which she clicked in order to sign up for the Match.com services:

"Your subscription will automatically renew for the same price and package length until you cancel via your Account Settings page. By subscribing, you authorize us to charge your card now and upon each renewal."

In order to stop the auto renewal process a member needs to resign their subscription. There are several ways to resign a subscription - via website, email, phone and mail; however, Ms. ***** did not pursue any of these avenues to resign her subscription before being renewed.
Also, when Ms. ***** subscribed to Match.com she agreed to the terms of use. In Section 12 c of the terms of use it states: You authorize us to obtain updated or replacement expiration dates and card numbers for you credit or debit card as provided by your credit or debit card issuer.

We now show that the Chargeback was won by Match.com and a charge for $59.97 was added back to her credit card. A refund is not available since a Chargeback was initiated. However, Match.com wants our customers and former customers to be happy. Therefore, we have re-opened her account and added the time back to her account that she lost when her account was terminated. Ms. ***** can now login to the website and she has subscriber benefits through August 8, 2015. Ms. *****'s subscription is now resigned, so she will not be billed again.

I believe this letter satisfies the issue brought forth. Please let me know if I can assist with this matter further.

Sincerely,

**** ********
Manager - Legal Affairs


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am no longer in need of match services and do not want to be seeing emails from them. I would like my money back because they charged an unactivated credit card but if they are unwilling to do this for custoner satisification I want them to deactivate my account so I do not receive contacts from users on match. I still do not understand how they can charge an unactivated credit card when if I tried to go to the store to use same said credit card would be denied.

06/15/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
3rd time my Credit Card was charged automatically
Hey, the first time this happened was around 1 year 3 months ago. I did renew but wanted my account to not auto renew when subscription was due. They changed my setting to not renew automatically.

Then 3 months ago, i saw a charge on my credit card for approx $76.00 for 3 months subscription. I didnt understand why the above setting did not apply but I let it go.

Then 2 or 3 weeks ago I went in and checked my account and it was again set up to automatically renew. I changed my setting on the website to NOT auto renew. Then today i saw a charge on my credit card for $76.72 from Match.com. It seems like even though I change the setting to not auto renew it changes back somehow.

I called today and spoke to a lady named Madalyn (sp?). She said I the setting was auto renew and i had sent emails from the website today. I said I sent the emails before i saw my credit card charge. I asked if i could get a refund and she said no. I explained that the renewal was today, i didnt want the ability to send emails at this time, please can you refund my money. She said no and there is nothing she could do.

I dont have a problem with the product but i am fully unhappy that my setting to not auto renew has somehow been reversed 3 times. I am at the beginning (Day 1) of the 3 months that they have renewed for. If i had used the service for 3 months and then i was charged for using the sevrice, then i would understand but not refunding the money when when the 3 month subscription has just started is unacceptable. Again, i dont want have the ability to send/receive emails at this time. I just want my money refunded. The customer service agent was aweful, helping the customer was not on the forefront.

Again, i dont have an issue with the website, i just dont like the underhandedness that has happened. I dont control their software and am not sure why my settings have been reversed again and again.

thank you, ******

Desired Settlement
Just a refund at this time...

Business Response
Match.com, L.L.C.
PO Box XXXXX
Dallas, TX XXXXX

June 5, 2015
VIA ONLINE RESPONSE

Better Business Bureau of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc.
1600 Pacific Avenue, Suite 2800
Dallas, Texas XXXXX

Re: ****** ***** - Comp_ID: XXXXXXXX

We have received your letter dated April 15, 2015 related to a complaint filed by ****** *****. We appreciate the opportunity to address Mr. *****'s concerns.

We show where Mr. ***** contacted Customer Support on April 14, 2015 and asked for a refund. His refund request was denied due to the terms of use and due to his use of his subscription after it renewed. We have carefully reviewed his account and we do not see where he has resigned his subscription in order to stop the automatic renewal. However, we can confirm that when he contacted Customer Support they did resign his subscription for him, so he will not be charged again.

Mr. ***** agreed to automatic billing when he joined Match.com. Please note the relevant authorization language to which Mr. ***** agreed appeared next to the "subscribe" button which he clicked in order to sign up for the Match.com services:

"Your subscription will automatically renew for the same price and package length until you cancel via your Account Settings page. By subscribing, you authorize us to charge your card now and upon each renewal."

Automatic renewal is also disclosed in our terms of use which Mr. ***** agreed to when he subscribed. In order to stop the auto renewal process a member needs to resign their subscription. There are several ways to resign a subscription - via website, email, phone and mail; however, Mr. ***** did not pursue any of these avenues to resign his subscription before being renewed. If Mr. ***** resigned, he would have received a confirmation number that would have been shown when he successfully cancelled his account and an email confirmation would have automatically been sent to the registered email address.

The Match.com full terms of use can be reviewed at:
http://www.match.com/registration/membagr.aspx

A refund is not available. However, we do appreciate Mr. *****'s loyalty to Match.com. Therefore, we have added three months free to his account. He now has subscriber benefits through October 12, 2015. Again, his subscription was resigned by Customer Support, so he will not be billed again.

I believe this letter satisfies the issue brought forth. Please let me know if I can assist with this matter further.

Sincerely,

**** ********
Manager - Legal Affairs

06/09/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
after cancelling my membership Match.com still charged a recurring fee.
This account was cancelled several months ago and was supposed to be terminated today. I went to the site to confirm termination and found the account to still be active. I went to my bank's website and found my account had been debited for another six months, despite this account having been cancelled months ago.

Desired Settlement
I want $71.94 refunded to my account.

Business Response
Match.com
PO Box XXXXX
Dallas, TX XXXXX

October 07, 2013
VIA ONLINE RESPONSE

Better Business Bureau of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc.
**** ******* Avenue, Suite ****
Dallas, Texas XXXXX

Re: ***** ****** - Comp_ID: XXXXXXXX

We have received your letter dated 9/30/13 related to a complaint filed by ***** ******. We appreciate the opportunity to address Mr. ******'s concerns.


Mr. ****** agreed to automatic billing when he joined Match.com. Please note the relevant authorization language to which Mr. ****** agreed appeared next to the "subscribe" button which he clicked in order to sign up for the Match.com services:

"Your subscription will continue indefinitely unless cancelled by you. After your initial subscription commitment period, and again after any subsequent subscription period, your subscription will automatically continue for an additional equivalent period, at the same price. By subscribing, you authorize Match.com to charge your credit or debit card now and again at the beginning of any subsequent subscription period. To cancel future subscription periods at any time, go to your "account" page."

In order to stop the auto renewal process a member needs to resign their subscription. There are several ways to resign a subscription - via website, email, phone and mail; however, Mr. ****** did not pursue any of these avenues to resign his subscription before being renewed. If Mr. ****** resigned, he would have received a confirmation number that would have been shown when he successfully cancelled his account and an email confirmation would have automatically been sent to the registered email address.

The Match.com full terms of use can be reviewed at:
http://www.match.com/registration/membagr.aspx

Independent of the facts I have described above, Match.com wants our customers and former customers to be happy. Therefore, we credited $71.97 to Mr. ******'s Visa. Mr. ****** should see this credit on his statement within 3 days.

I believe this letter satisfies the issue brought forth. Please let me know if I can assist with this matter further.

Sincerely,

**** ********
Resolution Specialist, Match.com Customer Care


Consumer Response
Match.com refused to honor their six month guarantee.
In October of last year, I subscribed to Match.com , under the terms of a so-called six month guarantee. Upon completion of six months of membership, I was billed for an additional six months, in violation of their own terms of service. Since I complained that they didn't follow their own terms of service, they disabled the account, still not fulfilling the terms of service of the scam they pull on their subscribers.

05/26/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unauthorized charge to an account I have not used in months if not longer. Also, can no longer even access the account at all.
Charge came on my capital one credit card on 4/2. It was never authorized, I do not even USE the site. I've now been forced by Capital One to shut down my credit card, so I won't have a credit card for a week and will have to spend hours changing account information with a large number of companies because of this fraud.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund but I also want them to be responsible for any late charges that result from my credit card being canceled and bills not being able to be paid. I also believe other people should know about their fraudulent activity.

Business Response
Match.com, L.L.C.
PO Box XXXXX
Dallas, TX XXXXX

May 19, 2015
VIA ONLINE RESPONSE

Better Business Bureau of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc.
1600 Pacific Avenue, Suite 2800
Dallas, Texas XXXXX

Re: **** ******** - Comp_ID: XXXXXXXX

We have received your letter dated April 6, 2015 related to a complaint filed by **** ********. We appreciate the opportunity to address Mr. ********'s concerns.

Mr. ******** only contacted us once on April 5, 2015 via email about this issue before contacting the BBB and issuing a Chargeback with his financial institution. We immediately sent him a system generated automatic reply to his email on the same day. The automatic response did prompt Mr. ******** to reply if it did not fully answer his question. We did not get a reply, so we assumed his question and problem were resolved. Mr. ******** complains that he did not create a subscription. Had we been made aware of this issue we could have resolved it more efficiently.

According to our records, Mr. ******** or someone that had access to his account created a new six-month subscription on March 31, 2015 and his credit card was charged in the amount of $119.94. This charge was disputed by Mr. ********'s financial institution and $119.94 has been returned to his account. The financial institution can be contacted regarding information specific to Mr. ********'s personal account.

Mr. ********'s account has been terminated due to the request for a chargeback from his bank, therefore this situation cannot happen again and his subscription will not be renewed.

I believe this letter satisfies the issue brought forth. Please let me know if I can assist with this matter further.

Sincerely,

**** ********
Manager - Legal Affairs

05/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
false advertising
Watched a commerical that gave a code for free 7 day trial. 70626. Could not get itworking on the mobile app. Went to the website to try and find out what to do. On the help screen it said to pick a pkg and thats what I did. I gave them my cc number thinking it wont charge unitl after the free 7 days if we like it or not. NOPE it charged right away. I think this whole free subscribtion was misleading. They will not refund my money.

Desired Settlement
I think they should refund my money because we never got the chance to use the free 7 days. I researched how to do this for 3 or 4 days. And finally ended up giving my cc num,ber thinking then it would ask for the code from the commerical 70626.

Business Response
Match.com, L.L.C.
PO Box XXXXX
Dallas, TX XXXXX

May 13, 2015
VIA ONLINE RESPONSE

Better Business Bureau of Metropolitan Dallas, Inc.
1600 Pacific Avenue, Suite 2800
Dallas, Texas XXXXX

Re: **** ******* - Comp_ID: XXXXXXXX

We have received your letter dated April 6, 2015 related to a complaint filed by **** *******. We appreciate the opportunity to address Ms. *******'s concerns.

According to our records Ms. ******* created a 25% off promotional subscription. We do not show where she went through a trial offer. Please note, we do not offer free trials with any of our discounted subscription offers. We also do not show where Ms. ******* contacted us for assistance with redeeming a trial subscription until after she subscribed.

Ms. ******* initiated a three-month, 25% off discounted subscription, on March 31, 2015 and her American Express was billed in the amount of $74.97. The price and duration of the package appeared under the "Review Your Subscription" field on the billing page where Ms. ******* clicked to start the subscription. Ms. ******* also agreed to the Match.com Terms of Use when she purchased a subscription. Section 12 (b) states "If you cancel your subscription, you may use your subscription until the end of your then-current subscription term; your subscription will not be renewed after your then-current term expires. However, you won't be eligible for a prorated refund of any portion of the subscription fee paid for the then-current subscription period."

The full terms of use can be reviewed at:
http://www.match.com/registration/membagr.aspx

Independent of the facts I have described above, Match.com wants our customers and former customers to be happy. Therefore, we credited $74.97 to Ms. *******'s American Express. She should see this credit on her statement within 3 days.

I believe this letter satisfies the issue brought forth. Please let me know if I can assist with this matter further.

Sincerely,

**** ********
Manager - Legal Affairs

Page 1 of 215
08/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I thought I was signing up for 1 month. I was charged for 6 months. Company refused to refund money even after proof that I requested cancellation.
July 23, 2016 I signed up for what I thought would be a $22 charge for one month membership. I used the service for a few mins until I received the confirmation email stating I had been charged $119.94 for 6 months. Nowhere on the payment page does it indicate you will be charged for the full 6 months, nor was there a pre-order statement declaring that "119.94 will be charged to your credit card" as is the case with most purchases. You always have the chance to review your order. I immediately attempted to cancel the membership, however there is no option to do that online within the account. I cancelled my subscription immediately but that only cancelled future payments. It was the weekend so there was no one available to speak with. I called first thing Monday morning and explained the situation to 2 representatives and a supervisor. They said they had not received any emails explaining the mistake and requesting cancellation of my membership (I have the automated response emails proving that I did send them) and that they were unable to refund my full amount because I had used the service by sending a message to someone. I sent one message prior to receiving the email stating I had been charged $119.94. After that I did not use the service at all. I told them I wanted my entire membership cancelled and all information removed from their site. They did that but still refused to send me a refund. Since then I have found out that my information was not removed as requested, they just locked the account. I called again on July 27 and was able to secure a $68 refund. I was charged $51 to have the service for 10 mins and send one message to someone. It is deceptive practice that you are not informed up front that you are signing up for a block of time as opposed to monthly as it indicates. Additionally, it's unacceptable that you are not given the option of cancelling your membership immediately - that you can only call in and request it. I made a mistake with this purchase and as soon as I realized that mistake I made multiple attempts to rectify that but was not provided the means to do that. With any other service or product if you call in and say this was a mistake, any decent business would gladly refund your money.

Desired Settlement
Ideally I would like my full refund as I did not use the service and the membership has been cancelled as requested.

08/25/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Matches sister site Chemistry.com portrays false user profiles asking for phone, email & text info about me. Most are written in 3rd world English.
I joined the dating site Chemistry.com (sister site of Match.com) June 25th, 2016. It's a 6 month membership that I am 1 month into completing. I want a refund of the last 5 months membership in the amount of $55. But more importantly, I want all of my personal info, photos & financial info removed from both Match.com & Chemistry.com. I haven't been a Match user in a long time and my act is canceled, but I continue to get emails from them, pretending to be someone interested in me, where they reference a lot of very personal details from the old photos and profile I had posted when I was a member. Of the 50-60 member profiles that I have been sent on Chemistry.com, 70% of them ask me for off site personal contact info, or want me to call, email or text them, and when I try to access their "profile" on the site, Chemistry has a "members profile is not available at this time" message shown. I have emailed 2 or 3 members where we had a short dialog. I keep mine short and ask a couple friendly questions for them to answer to see if they are real people behind the profiles, and I don't get any response to my questions, it's as though I am getting a form response calling me "pretty", etc, not using my name. I would also say that about 3/4 of the profiles sent to me that I can open, read like they are written by someone overseas, where English is their second or third language, you know, where they can't get our pro-nouns & adverbs straight when forming sentences. There is no way to contact Chemistry directly and my email questions go unanswered. I would like a refund, yes, and my personal info removed from both Chemistry.com and Match.com, but more importantly, can these types of services be held accountable as being "real" services? I would like to see non-legit sites closed down (I know, I'm dreaming) but I'm pretty savvy (though obviously NOT savvy enough to have avoided this) but I think they shouldn't be aloud to continue to pull money from good people. And when the people on the other end of the fake profile get some personal info., they turn out to have "just moved to Europe or Africa", etc. shouldn't we be monitoring these types of foreign scams better, as our world gets more dangerous? The site does have a blurb warning members to watch out for "Posers and Cat-fishers", but they are creating these fake users and profiles. To sum up, I am looking for a refund of my remaining months membership and all personal including financial info removed. I appreciate your time looking at this, I'm sure you get a lot of crazy requests. Sincerely, **** *****

Desired Settlement
I joined the dating site Chemistry.com (sister site of Match.com) June 25th, 2016. It's a 6 month membership that I am 1 month into completing. I want a refund of the last 5 months of the membership in the amount of $55. But more importantly, I want all of my personal info, photos & financial info removed from both Match.com & Chemistry.com and to have no further email or other communication from them. If Chemistry.com could be proven a fraud and shut down, that would be great, but I imagine you won't be able to do that.

08/22/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Service is not as described. Mobile versions work poorly, choices are limited, I'm not notified of emails or contacts. It's a terrible dating site.
I've been trying to use this dating ap since I purchased a subscription in May. I've reinstalled the mobile versions countless times,

I bought a six month subscription, and tried to use it for two months. It's a terrible service.

The choices of dates available online are not good. I was led to believe there was more options based on the profiles provided pre payment, but those people didn't exist. The people I did contact had many issues dealing with the email service not sending me notifications. Called tech support, and they had me reinstall the ap several times.

I finally gave up and called to say the program was unusable, and I was very unhappy. They refused to give me my money back, but did offer me ANOTHER 6 months of their terrible dating site free. This is a scam site.

Desired Settlement
I want all my money back. This is a scam.

08/15/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charge was made by auto renewal, without notice or authorization.
On June 23, 2016, An auto renewal was made on my credit card without notification or willing authorization by me. When the company was contacted, I was told no refunds. I spoke to a person by the name of ***** aka ********* in the Phillippines, and I requested to be transferred to someone in the US, and was denied. I also asked for a number to call in the US and was denied. The site does not make it clear that they enroll in auto renewal nor do they have any number posted other than a phone bank in the Phillippines. I would like to say I find the practices deceitful and misleading!!!!!

Desired Settlement
I would like a full refund of the charge on my account. As I stated, I did not knowingly or willingly sign up for auto renewal. Deceitful practices are nothing but theft and should not be rewarded. I am asking for prompt and full recovery of the charges to my account.

08/08/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I am seeking a refund after use because the algorithm for this website is broken. I have woman seeking woman and I am still seeing men on my matches.
I am seeking a refund after use because the algorithm for this website is broken. I have woman seeking woman and I am still seeing men on my matches. I tried to have Match.com assist me in getting these profiles off my matches on they can't. We've tried the same thing several times and they continue to show up on my matches. The chat agent refused a refund even though they were unable to help me.

Desired Settlement
I want a refund. I paid for quality over free sites and I am not receiving it.

Page 1 of 294

Industry Comparison| Chart

Dating Service, Internet Marketing Services, Internet Services

Additional Information

top

Match.com, Match.com LLC and other trade name styles are included in the "Match Group" division of IAC/Interactive Corp (public company).

BBB file opened: 11/13/2000Business started: 09/11/1997Business started locally: 05/14/1999
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Amarnath Thombre (President)Customer Contact: Mr. Mark Barnhart (Manager)Ms. Sarah Nordblum (Vice President)
Business Category

Dating Service, Internet Marketing Services, Internet Services

Products & Services

Online personal matching service.

Alternate Business Names
delightful.com, Match.com SN, LLC, Singlesnet.com, Tinder Inc., Chemistry.com
Industry Tips
Dating Services

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Match.com

8300 Douglas Ave STE 800

Dallas, TX 75225-5826

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Match.com is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (214) 576-3236
  • (214) 576-9523
X

Additional Web Addresses

  • singlesnet.com
  • www.chemistry.com
  • delightful.com
  • www.singlesnet.com
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Dating Service

Dating Services
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.