BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/05/2007

Kelleher International

Phone: (214) 526-5566

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
11/01/2011Problems with Product / Service
12/19/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: Kelleher International business premise is fraud. They have not ever listened to me and they have not lived up to their side of the bargain.
Kelleher (KI) is a sham business. What they sell to their clients is they are a matchmaker service. KI's intent is to take a large fee and do nothing. From the start it has been a horrible experience. They have never listened to me. They just wanted my money. They continuously match me with exactly what I am not looking for and in an occupation I specifically state to stay away from.
My first match was with a caterer during the holiday season. He was exhausted and yelled at me on the phone. When I told KI that this match was best left for outside of the holiday season, they disagreed. Clue #1, KI was clueless to matchmaking, people, and life in general. Eventually, I put my contract on hold more than active because KI never seemed to get it together and match me with someone who was remotely compatible. I have been able to meet two men that appeared to be good matches. Both ended up being womanizers who were using KI to get dates and who KI was using to appease clients. One gentleman said, when KI knows you are upset, they throw you a bone. This behavior of KI has been an insult and a waste of time. It would have been nice for KI to say from the start that what I was looking for is not what they cater to and I don't fit their female clientele.
I eventually moved from Houston to Austin and reactivated, things were just as bad. I met one man who was nice and had an earful about KI; all the guys have an earful about KI. When I spoke to KI afterward, their story was that the guys in Austin were limited and their largest pool of potential dates was in Dallas. I put my profile on hold, left for an overseas job and returned early 2013 and reactivated my KI membership. Things have been the same in Dallas as they were in Houston and Austin, KI continues to lack of customer service, available clients, and just plain dating or common sense. Furthermore, they continue to not listen to me. To try and salvage my KI experience, I have spoken with KI and have informed KI that serial daters are not good matches and are definitely not something I find interesting. KI have admitted to me they have serial daters in their clientele and use them when they need to "throw a bone" to an upset female client. I have also met men who are not paying clients. Every man I have ever been matched has a bad opinion about KI; the one who said KI is good at "throwing you a bone" described the typical KI woman and says I don't fit. Proof again, that KI signed me up just for my money and not to actually be a matchmaker.
Other ways I have tried to improve KI's ability to match me is I have more than once updated my profile, called to verbally express what I am and am not looking for, as well as go in to meet with them personally. Without fail, KI has failed to listen to me. This last time, I called them almost 3 weeks ago. Since then, they have matched me with a guy whose occupation is in a field I specifically told both ***** and *** on multiple occasions to stay away from. When I realized what *** had done and put a stop to the match, she had the audacity to get mad at me. She knew before hand to stay away from that occupation and she still matched me with that occupation; typical KI move. What upsets me the most is I have spent a lot of time on the phone with KI describing what I was looking for, etc. They have yet to listen. Also, the ladies at KI do not communicate with each other. I have had the same conversations with ***** so if *** was questioning a match, ***** should have been able to fill her in.
I have no doubts now that KI has been a sham from the start and complete waste of time and money. What KI is doing equates to fraud and is hurtful. If they have so many success stories, I would like to know who is doing the matching because I can tell you, it is not out of Texas. I would like a complete refund from KI. They have not lived up to their side of the bargain.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** F ******** COO
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: ****@********-international.com
A nonrefundable contract was signed by KI and ***** **** on 11/29/07 for a term of 18 months plus an additional 12 months for inactive status.

She paid a retainer fee of $6,500 which is distributed toward the matchmaking process of working on her files, advertising and marketing, personal consulting/coaching, and time spent on her file maintenance.

On June 11, 2010 we met with ***** and added an extra year of hold time to her membership as a good faith effort (at the time she had braces on and would have to be on hold for at least another 6 months).

With the 18 month term plus the 2 years of hold time for inactive status, the contract expired on 5/29/11.

In January of 2013 ***** moved to Dallas and although her contract had long since expired, we continued to match her in good faith to offer more time and opportunities.
We have matched her all this year, agreeing to continue until Sept 2013.

As a company we made every effort to satisfy this client going past our contract time by over 2 years.

Per the contract, ***** agreed to complete and return the Feedback Form after each introduction.
***** provided us with the written feedback and a list of such is provided below.
We presented 12 introductions to *****. She completed 8 matches and declined 6 matches.
Of the 8 completed matches, she stated that she would see 4 of them again and was "not sure" about the other 4.

Dozens of documented conversations and emails were made with ***** from 2007 thru 2013.

***** had 8 matches as of 8/20/13.

Below is a list of comments ***** provided for her completed matches:

****
rate 8
physically she found him attractive, very nice and talkative, easy to talk to, a little hyper, he has text her after the intro,

would see him again and told us she did see him again

****
rate 6
Nice looking. Looks a lot like another guy I was set up with from Kelleher Still nice looking He was nice and entertaining.

not sure she would see him again

****
rate 6
He is attractive but a little shorter than I expected. He is very approachable. He remained nice and very talkative which was good because I am not much of a talker. Some of the things that were discussed were very upfront, which I like. He was very honest with his feelings about the match. I was pleased with the introduction but there never seemed to be that click and I do not know if it is because there will never be a click or we were nervous or I was still flustered. He did talk about our age difference a lot. He has a good sense of humor; it is dry and a little witty like mine. It was pleasant and cordial.

not sure she would see him again

****
rate 7
he liked sports and he was fairly easy to talk to, he will not talk to his ex wife. I do not know if he is divorced or widowed He loves his kids.

not sure is she would see him again

****
rate 8
He is very easy to talk to and we have a lot in common in regards to food and the views we discussed. He seems nice and easy to get along with. I am concerned about my height compared to his. When I wear heels, I will be taller than he and some guys have issues with this.

would see again

****
rate 9
He is a easy to talk to and well educated. He has traveled a lot so we could talk about that as we have had similar experiences. Our backgrounds have some similarities as we both have a business background and come from the Midwest.

would see again

****
Rate 9
nice guy easy to talk to, seem to have business in common and I think social as well
I would like to see him again
We started chatting like we had known each other and could be blunt honest with each other.

would see again; she told us she saw him several times

****
rate 7
he is a nice man with varied interest
not sure she would see him again
End of Submission

We have performed over and above our contractual requirements. Have she has exhausted our many good faith efforts.
Respectfully Submitted for your favorable review.
JFG

A copy of her contract is available to you upon request


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Kelleher's response demonstrates how they have been and continue to be completely incapable of understanding what their clients are telling them. They have completely missed the point of my complaint.

Kelleher had no intention of satisfying their part of the contract. Their behavior may fall under "bait and switch" as well as the Deceptive Trade Practices Act in the State of Texas.

Kelleher business practices are unacceptable.
1. They claim they have a number of available men but in reality they do not have available men. They actually give men free service to fill the need for men. An example of how Kelleher does not have available men but say to the women they do just to get the women to sign a contract and spend an exorbitant amount of money on a service they cannot provide.
2. I have met a few Kelleher men (via match and socially) who are provided Kelleher service for free and do not have a contract or pay fees. I have found most of these men are single friends of Kelleher helping their friend out with their business (Kelleher) to fill the need for men in the Kelleher system as well as to help their friend react their quota of new clients required by Kelleher.
3. Kelleher personnel do not communicate with each other. I have told a number of Kelleher employees what I was looking for and what not to match me with. They all knew yet I was continuously matched with men in an occupation that I said no to and at a height I tower over.
4. Their goal of providing a match of month when they say they have tons of men to match me with is an oxymoron. If they have tons of men, then I should have more than one match a month.
5. Kelleher does not listen to their clients.
A. They continued to match me with men in an occupation I said no to, etc.
B. They continued to match me with men who did not fit my likes/wants and once they have pressured me to take a match that I realized after the call I had already said no to that match.
C. I have told them a number of times that the ratings after a match mean nothing, we are all being polite and they need to listen to the client. They have exposed my ratings from matches to me so I am not going to say anything about a guy that will crush him as Kelleher may expose my rating to him. Furthermore, many of the dates were one date and nothing after. All dates never went past 3 dates, which is common time frame for people who find they have nothing in common and it was a bad match.
D. I have stated that womanizers are not dating material and should not be in their clientele (they have listed 2 in their response).
E. Poor judge of what makes a good match. One match (their favorite) only gave me Tuesday, never a weekend. That is not a match that is babysitting a man.
F. Furthermore, there was never any commonality with a number of matches and I have discussed this with a number of the matches. I would recommend you review the NBC tape where Kelleher matched **** Kotb. Wish I had seen this before I sign or I never would have signed. The "what were you thinking" look on her face is priceless.
6. I am not the type of girl that Kelleher caters to their clients. As described to me by one match, the girls are blond, dumb and have their plastic surgeon on speed dial. I in no way fit that mold and so I wonder what was the drive of Kelleher signing me in the first place. As already stated, from discussions with matches, Kelleher runs on commissions and so signing clients is to actually match the client is not the drive for the Kelleher employees but to satisfy required Kelleher quotas and obtain their commission.
7. Putting contracts on extended hiatus as they did with mine is a courtesy that they have provided to other clients who have gone overseas to work, which is what they did in my case. Their point is baseless.
8. They focus on men with money and their toys and how they will take me on an expensive dinner, not on what they should focus on which is the match and who they are as a person. Their description of matches is scant at best so you have to say yes just to find out who the guy is.
9. Kelleher really does not know their clients and my numerous attempts at trying to get them to understand my wants and needs went nowhere and is the main crux for why I placed my complaint with the BBB. The Kelleher employees are ditzes.
10. From the response provided which appears to be from California and not Dallas, I think California needs to come to Dallas and investigate the office in Dallas, as it appears that California is getting the wool pulled over their eyes by the Dallas office. A behavioral pattern the Dallas office has utilized with all prospective clients.

The response from Kelleher is rejected.

PS: I would like to know why the BBB allowed Kelleher 22 days to respond to my initial complaint and I have been given only 5 days?

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Dating Service

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.