BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/28/2013

Resource One Credit Union

Find a Location

Phone: (214) 319-3100Fax: (214) 565-5300 ext 1PO Box 660077, DallasTX 75266-0077 Send email to Resource One Credit Union

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Resource One proudly serves the communities that live or work in Dallas County, SE Denton County, SW Colin County, as well as NW Harris County.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/28/2013

BBB has determined that Resource One Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Resource One Credit Union's rating include:

  • 19 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Resource One Credit Union's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 19 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues8
Problems with Product / Service11
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 19

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Resource One Credit Union

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (19)
06/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Account was drafted twice when I authorized the fee one time.
On April 24, 2015 I went to WalMart to purchase fuel. My purchase total was $49.00. The attendant stated that the card did not read correctly and said need to swipe my card again. On April 27, 2015 I checked my bank account and noticed I had been charged twice. I contacted the credit union and was told to contact the merchant. I contacted the merchant on Monday, April 28, 2015 at which time I was told to contact the bank. This went on two more times. Finally on Monday, May 4, 2015 I contacted the credit union at which time they said " we will email you the dispute paperwork to file". I received the paperwork via email on Tuesday, May 5, 2015. I asked my mother to assist me in filling it out. The paperwork was filled out Thursday, May 7, 2015. On Friday, May 8, 2015 the paperwork was faxed and the confirmation said no answer. We attempted to fax the paperwork to the dispute center again on May 12, May 13 and decided to mail a hard copy on May 14, 2015. I continued to check my account for the reimbursement. After waiting until June 1, 2015 with no reimbursement, my mother contacted the dispute center at 4:30 pm at which time she was informed that they had received the dispute but would not do anything with it because they only deal with signature disputes not pin based dispute. When asked why they have been given a minor the run around and why they did not tell me that back in April, the response was "I don't know" you have to contact the bank. I contacted the credit union branch manager Lisa Anderson and had to leave a message. This matter still has not been resolved after making multiple attempts. The only thing I ask is that my account is reimbursed for the duplicate charge that should not have happen.

Desired Settlement
I am asking for my account to be reimburse for the duplicate charge. I only authorized on fee of $49 not two.

Business Response
The $49 was credited on June 8th to Mr. *******'s account. We apologize for the delay. It would be helpful if in the future, Mr. Braisden would call us back in regard to the credit, it would have been corrected quicker than going through an external company, such as the BBB.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I have check my account to verify that the refund has been processed and it has been received. My only recommendation is that when a customer leaves multiple voice mails that they may be returned timely i.e. my voice mail and that of which my mother left still to date has not been returned. Thank you for assisting us in resolving this issue. As of now, the refund has been posted and my complaint is satisfied.

05/27/2014Billing / Collection Issues
03/18/2013Billing / Collection Issues
06/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I just want everyone to know how disappointed we are in the unprofessional manner, on how Resource one backed out of our loan 3 days before closing.
We have been working on a loan for a condo in Galveston Texas for about 28 days now, to find out today they needed to pull out of the loan process. We have been corresponding with the loan officer to give them everything they needed to keep the loan process going, in which they have had all the documents on this condo for weeks now and all we where waiting for is the appraisal company to go out. The loan officer finally got in touch with the appraisal company, in which Resource 1 had to pick, so we went with their choice.

We were suppose to close on 05/29/2015 which was 3 days from now, so everyone is just waiting on the appraisal company to give their report. We get a call today stating the appraisal company went out there Friday and refused to do it, because he was not qualified to appraise this type of property. What? SO we get a call from our loan officer stating that they cannot loan money on this type of property 3 days before closing and we are sorry. We were a 100% approved and all the loan documents have been signed and we were waiting only on the appraisal to be done. This is and was the most unprofessional group we have every worked with and how you couldn't know this from the beginning is beyond me. Now we have to scramble to find a real mortgage lender, to start this loan process all over again.

Resource one not only wasted 28 days of our time, not to mention the seller and the agents that are involved in the process.This was our first time dealing with Resource one, recommended by a friend. The friend two weeks later doesn't use them anymore as well.

I just wanted everyone to beware of who your dealing with.

Thanks, ***** H.

Desired Settlement
No settlement, just want people to know who there dealing with and watch out.

Business Response
This situation was as disappointing for us, as it was for *****. The property that ***** was applying for a loan to purchase was a condo located in a community that is considered "Specialized Mixed Use".

This was a Specialized Mixed Use in which the units are used as Hotel rooms and there are too many people renting and too many variables for use to safely underwrite and lend on a property. The Realtor was aware of this detail, understood that this could have an impact on the lender to be able to write the loan, but never communicated these details to us.

To give an outsider a better perspective of the process, here is an explanation of the typical timeline:

We received an application for a Condo Purchase from Mr. ********. The contract was on a standard Condo Purchase contract in which there was no indication that the Condo in question was a "Condo Hotel" in which units are rented out by the Hotel when not in use.

The Borrower never indicated that this was a mix use property, which he was aware of. Also, the Realtor knew that only certain lenders deal with this type of property as she has used them in the past. She never once advised ***** to check with us to be sure that we would proceed when he told her that he would utilize Resource One Credit Union for the loan instead of the lenders she has previously worked with. This would have been a responsibility of a realtor to ensure that their borrower would be able to obtain financing on a specialized property. Between the Contract, Central Appraisal District and Tax Roll, and United States Postal Service Verification (all of which were verified as a part of processing and underwriting), there was no way for any of us to know that what type of property this was. We were not advised until the Appraiser contacted us to inform. At that point, we did not proceed with the appraisal (which saved Mr. ******** the cost) and advised him that we would not be able to lend on this type of property.

We then advised both realtor and borrower that we would not be able to proceed. When we spoke with the realtor, she asked if she had worked with lenders on this type of property and she said she had a few as she knew that not all lenders would be able to lend. This was the first mention by the realtor that this was in fact a Condo Hotel and she was aware of limited lenders capable of providing such a loan.

In good faith, we have refunded the $50 fee that we collected for the appraisal costs that the borrower had paid for the appraisal of the property. We apologize for the wasted time and energy that Mr. ******** had to endure with this situation, but unfortunately, we were at the mercy of the information provided to us to be able to make the business decisions that were made. If at any time the details of the community being mixed use would have been disclosed to us, we would have been able to redirect Mr. ******** to a lender that is best equipped to handle those types of mortgage loans.

06/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My bank card number was stolen and they are not returning my money.
A Mavy's employee stole my bank card number and used it at a Macy's in Houston. I work in Irving TX and was at work when this happened and the fraud department texted me and asked if I used my card in Houston. I replied no and they stopped the card. I went to the bank and filled out a dispute form and they told me that they have to investigate it. and would not be returning my money. I am out raged. I had someone steal my money and now the bank is helping them rob me. This is ridiculous and I plan to take this farther.

Desired Settlement
Return my money 142.00. Go after the macy's clown that stole my card.

Business Response
This case has been satisfied, the credit for the charges was credited to the account on 04/15/2015 in the amount of $112.58. This was within our corporate timelines to issue a credit or notify the cardholder of the decision. The processor and Macy's declined crediting the charge, because they showe that the card was present at the time of purchase. Resource One took the loss for the charge and credited Ms. *************'s account.

06/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Credit Union charges overdraft fees on items that haven't even cleared even though some of those items could have cleared if they hadn't charged a fee
On 5/19 after an Exxon debit cleared, there was a balance of 31.09 on my account. The credit union added up all pending debits and started charging late fees on each item rather than pay the items from the balance in my account. Overdraft fees of $30 each was charged for 3 pending payments that could have been paid from my balance. Their policy is to add up all pending charges and IF they total more than the balance they start charging overdraft fees even though some charges could have been paid. Those overdraft fees then empty the account and continue to add up because they've stolen my money by charging fees for items that could have been paid.

Desired Settlement
They remove all overdraft fees, I pay for the charges I made and close my account and go some place else that doesn't steal my money.

Business Response
Ms. ****,

We apologize for this error in our system. We have credited your account with $150 of the fees. This credit is in the amount of all the fees that were charged, even though one of the charges was justified.

In the future, these situations can be resolved much faster by simply calling our call center or visiting your local branch. Thanks again for bringing it to our attention. We appreciate you being a member.

03/05/2015Billing / Collection Issues
01/19/2015Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions, Loans, Financing, Banking Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/28/1996Business started: 07/15/1936
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending
2601 North Lamar, Suite 201
Austin, TX 78705
(877) 276-5550
http://www.sml.texas.gov/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1997, TX

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Brisendine (CEO/President)Customer Contact: Ms. Jennifer Grinder (CMO)Mr. Doug Bedner (COO)Mr. Jim Ladner (CFO)
Business Category

Credit Unions, Loans, Financing, Banking Services

Products & Services

We offer personal and commercial checking, savings, cds, money market accounts and loans for autos, motorcycles, RVs & boats, as well as personal and credit cards.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMTue: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMWed: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMThu: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMFri: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PMSat: 09:00 AM to 01:00 PM
Service Area

Dallas County, SE Denton County, SW Colin County and NW Harris County.

Photos & Videos

Photographs

1 Photo

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 1200 Belleview St 

    Dallas, TX 75215-1837(214) 565-5350
    Fax: (214) 565-5300 ext 1

  • PO Box 660077 

    Dallas, TX 75266-0077

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Resource One Credit Union is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Credit Unions

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.