BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Neighborhood Credit Union

Find a Location

(214) 748-939313649 Montfort Dr., DallasTX 75240

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Neighborhood Credit Union is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Neighborhood Credit Union's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Neighborhood Credit Union

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
05/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Allowed fraudulent charges on my acct. after several attempts to get my money back, they have refused me a refund despite a signed affadavit.
Waxahachie location I have spoke with 3 different bank members and they give me the run around. I told them I have no products from the ****************** website. I made a 10.00 purchase and 2 weeks later they took an additional 172.34, without my consent. After I found out I went to the bank and disputed. They asked me about a trial which I said I did not sign up for any trial of supplements. The lady at the bank also stated "this has happened before". This is a known problem and yet they have done nothing to get my money back. At this point, neighborhood credit union is worthless. It has been 16 days so far and I am still out 172.34 for no reason.After online research this is a internet scam based out of Indonesia. I do not know what else to do with this credit union and the loss of my money.

Desired Settlement
Refund of fraudulent charges in full 172.34

Business Response
In reviewing the events from date of notification to the date of complaint, we have identified the following actions took place to resolve Ms. *****'s dispute:

Ms. ***** completed the dispute paperwork which includes an Affidavit, Unauthorized Transactions List and an Investigative Report detailing the circumstances of the dispute. According to the paperwork received by Neighborhood Credit Union, Ms. ***** never lost possession of her debit card and she claims to "have not made any purchases with these companies". Our dispute department pulled the dispute from our internal system and logged as received. Disputes are reviewed and worked in the order they are received, and as quickly as possible.

An account review was performed and showed a previous charge from both companies ~ which were not being disputed. A review of the companies online shows these charges to be for trial samples, with a membership to follow, if the individual does not cancel the membership. The two charges Ms. ***** did dispute were membership fees for each trial.

The dispute was closed as "referred to merchant" with the understanding that Ms. ***** had been notified of the account review by a branch employee. An email from the branch employee was sent to the dispute department stating Ms. ***** was unhappy with this information. Ms. ***** did, however, make contact with both merchants and has since received partial credit for both charges. Although the merchant has provided a valid order number for this transaction, as a one-time courtesy, Neighborhood Credit Union will refund the remaining amount to the member.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
While I did make a one time purchase of supplements, the credit union was in no hurry to get my money back after I told them of the additional fraudulent charges. I immediately withdrew all my savings and had a new card ordered to prevent further incident. I then called both merchants and managed to get half my money back with the bank manager hearing all the discussion and my denial of any membership. However, I do appreciate the BBB and its help in getting my remaining funds returned. I am now completely satisfied. Thanks so much!

05/20/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

This company has refused to correct a fraudulent transaction on my account, has closed the account and are trying to leave me with the bill.
Onebox did an electronic debit on my debit card 3-30-13. After WEEKS of trying to get Onebox to return the funds to my account, I went to NCU to have the charge reversed.

After almost 2 weeks of waiting on NCU, they have refused to correct the charge, telling me that I have to accept a credit from Onebox.

This is NOT acceptable, and NOT their choice.

Desired Settlement
I want the charges reversed, and my account credited and CLOSED.

Business' Initial Response
The facts regarding Ms. ******'s complaint to BBB are as follows:

* NCU received a signed affidavit from member on 04/16/2013 stating fraudulent use of her debit card.
o Member stated in writing that Onebox overcharged her and is refusing to refund her money.
o By signing the affidavit member is stating that she did not give, sell or trade her card to anyone or did she give anyone permission to use her card. She did give Onebox permission to use her card.
* NCU sent a chargeback on 04/18/2013 to Onebox requesting a refund of $181.40.
o The request was denied by Onebox.
o Onebox provided us with a copy of the Terms of Service which states, "charges are to be paid on a monthly (or annual) basis. If this payment method for your account is not received from the card issuer or its agents, you agree to pay all amounts due upon demand. Each time you use the Service, or allow or cause the Service to be used, you agree and reaffirm that the Company is authorized to charge your designated card.
o A copy of the response from Onebox was mailed to the member on 04/30/2013.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

I never stated to these people that ONEBOX never had my debit card number....

PREVIOUS charges on my bank account CLEARLY speak for themselves.....

I gave NCU proof of what my monthly bill, which is $49.95 a month, NOT $181.40.

That should have been the END of it all.

But instead, NCU told me that I have to accept a credit for Onebox for the OVERCHARGED amount, and I absolutely REFUSE.

It is not NCU's place to demand that I accept a credit from anyone.

Onebox overcharged my account, it should be reversed, END OF STORY.

Until this issue is resolved, I will continue to file complaints against NCU.

03/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The credit union is making a claim that I cannot verify regarding my account.
Upon learning I had been victimized financially, the Credit union was immediately contacted. Up until that point I was not sure there was an actual problem and had to research the matter as best as I could. I merely asked them to reverse a charge under the thought that this would not a problem seeing that they merely have to have me sign paperwork and I could prove the funds were released under false pretenses. They refused to provide the service due to charge being past their policy date. Said policy date is 60-90 days and is nowhere that I can see. When I make charges I do not anticipate needing to reverse a charge however if it comes to that I should know when this can be done before I make the charge- not after. I cannot make an informed decision if I am not informed ahead of time. Also I trust when I select a financial institution that they will assist me in keeping my money out of the hands of thieves. This situation is a first for me and should not have to come to this when the resolution is simple and easy to fix.

Desired Settlement
All I ask is that the charge be reversed for the charge being disputed. No additional damages are being pursued at this time.

Business Response
The following information is in response to the complaint:

Dear Ms. **********:

We received your complaint notice from the BBB on 03.17.15. We regret that you are experiencing a contract issue with a company that you authorized to debit your account. Our records reflect that you contacted our office on 03.12.15 to inquire about disputing a debit card purchase to a company. Our staff reviewed your request and regrettably was not able to provide you with any relief in your dispute with the company due to the age of the authorized transaction.
To initiate a valid dispute, notification must be given to the credit union no later than 60 days after we have sent or made available the first statement which the error or problem appeared. Based on our findings, the dispute occurred on 10.27.14, and reflected on the periodic statement for October 1, 2014 - October 31, 2014. The valid dispute period expired at year-end. On the date that the phone call was placed to inquire about the authorized transaction, 131 days had elapsed.
It's understandable that you made this payment in good faith, and subsequently learned that the company may have adverse complaints against it. Based on information that we discovered in researching your concern, the recommendations are that you seek out legal advice in the recovery of your funds from the American Credit Resolution Company.

09/11/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

NCU reps did not tell me that GAP ins is not prorated in the event that the car is traded in. I have always gotten a refund back from other companies.
I bought my car from Carmax in the winter of 2012. I had it refinaniced with NCU in February with my first payment in March. Through all by car purchases I have always gotten the GAP insurance. If I return a vehicle or trade it in, it's always been prorated giving me back a refund for the unused portion of the insurance. For financial purposes I needed to trade in the vehicle recently. Upon trade in, again I signed up for the GAP for the new car. When I asked NCU about the prorated refund. They said that I only had the original 60 days to cancel it in it's entireity to get any portion of the GAP back. I responded that I'm not canceling the coverage because I don't want it, I'm asking for a prorated amount because I no longer have the car. They responded that it's policy and procedure and a refund would not be given for the the prorated amount of about $340. This was very unexpected since I was not informed of this upon signing loan papers with NCU. So I am paying for insurance for a car that I no longer have. I feel that NCU is actively stealing money from me.

Desired Settlement
All I am asking for is the unused portion of my GAP. Nothing more nothing less. Being that I wasn't informed of the 60 day policy includes a full cancelation and surrenders any claim for a prorated amount at the same time, I believe that is fair.

Business' Initial Response
There are two types of GAP products offered in the marketplace. GAP Insurance is offered by Insurance companies through third parties, usually auto dealerships, indirectly to the consumer while a GAP Waiver is offered by financial institutions directly to the consumer. Neighborhood Credit Union offers GAP Waivers.

In the event a vehicle is stolen and not recovered, or deemed a total loss, GAP may be purchased to cover any remaining loan balance above that which is covered through the insurance proceeds. In this instance, if GAP insurance was purchased, the balance of the loan remains. The insurance company would then satisfy the remaining balance of the loan after the consumer files an insurance claim. If a GAP Waiver was purchased, the finance company agrees to waive the remaining balance.

When an insurance product is purchased, and a loan is paid off early, a prorated refund is received. If a waiver product is purchased, there is no prorated portion to refund as the entire waiver/addendum was purchased at contract inception.

Neighborhood Credit Union offers a "free look" period of 60 days on its GAP Waiver product. If a member changes their mind during the first 60 days after loan inception a full return of the Waiver is granted. After the "free look" period, the Waiver is considered fully purchased.

Attached is the signed Loanliner Agreement with GAP listed as a line item. As the Loanliner agreement was signed accepting GAP, the GAP Waiver addendum is not required to be signed. The addendum explains the coverage and is included in the loan documents which are mailed to the member.

Business' Final Response
see pdf

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 04/02/2004Business started: 04/01/1930
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chet Kimmell (President)
Business Category

Credit Unions

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Neighborhood Credit Union

13649 Montfort Dr.

Dallas, TX 75240

To | From


3 Locations

  • 13649 Montfort Dr. 

    Dallas, TX 75240

  • 641 Yorktown Street 

    Dallas, TX 75201(214) 748-9393

  • P. O. Box 224444 

    Dallas, TX 75222-4444

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Neighborhood Credit Union is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Credit Unions


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.