BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

DATCU

Phone: (940) 387-8585Fax: (940) 442-5449

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints5

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (5)
02/24/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Fees charged to business accounts without any notice.
DATCU charged $25 fee to both of my business acxounts without any notice for the last 2 months, totally $100. New fees should be communication in writing and approved by the customer. DATCU has my email, mailing, and phone numbers. Additionally, they could have alerted me via the online account within messages or alerts. To bury the information in a statement is deceptive. When I signed up this for this account, there was no such rule. Customers should be alerted to new fees and we should sign off on those fees or be given time to move our accounts. I maintain a very large amount in my personal savings account and have been a long time member of DATCU and feel as though my business accounts have been financially attacked.

DATCU has a responsibility to inform customers of new fees. The information was not communicated to me and burying/hiding the information just so they could make money on fees is deceptive. I easily qualify for MVP status and maintain well over $10,000 in my personal accounts. If this information was provided to me then I could have fulfilled the requirements so that I would not be charged. My request is that DATCU refund the fees charged to my business accounts and I will maintain MVP status as required. I would also request that DATCU change the wording on their website from: Looking For A Free Small Business Checking Account With A Low Opening Deposit? <== Not true, this is a FEE based account. It used to be FREE and that is changed.

Desired Settlement
Refund the fees charged to my business account. I will maintain MVP status as required. Remove the deceptive wording on website.

Business Response
Member was notified with October Statement which was received in November. Program change became effective December 1, 2015 and the fee was pulled at the end of the month to ensure proper timing according to Regulation DD for the member to be able to avoid fee if they did not wish to be charged. DATCU has sent a separate letter to our member further explaining our position. Member needs to contact DATCU if she has any further questions or concerns so we can address them directly.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I absolutely DID NOT RECEIVE that notification. DATCU did NOT mail any notification to me or I would have made the changes necessary. I have over $100k in my personal checking account and could have easily fulfilled the requirements. I received no mailed statements or notifications of this change. That is my EXTREME frustration. Just because a form was attached does not prove it was mailed. I challenge DATCU to prove they mailed this. Attaching a form I never received does not prove they sent it. I have two business accounts so I should have received this on BOTH. DATCU DID NOT MAIL ANY NOTIFICATIONS ON EITHER OF MY BUSINESS ACCOUNTS.




Final Business Response
This has been resolved directly with our member. Member shows to qualify as MVP and therefore we were able to refund her fees, as requested. After speaking with member on 02/19/2016, she stated she was satisfied with resolution.
FSA

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
A DATCU reached out to me and agreed to the terms and refunded the fees and I have fulfilled the MVP status.

01/26/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unfair late fees, $40 a month since I got the loan even though Ive made monthly payments timely and above the minimum payment amounts.
The original loan was for $42,000 and I made all payments on time, even paying thousands ahead of schedule. I have an auto-pay service so I don't always see the account, but when I got it I noticed a $39.95 fee every month on the account. I called and was not able to get an explanation at first, finally I was told it was a monthly late fee. I told them, I paid every month, even paid an extra $2000 on my first payment. They applied the first large payment to the principle and not towards my loan and started charging me late fees. No one contacted me and I got no notice. After dealing with several uncooperative customer service reps, they have no interest in refunding the fees. They are being unethical and down right greedy to steal an extra $40 a month when I have paid my obligations ahead of schedule.

Desired Settlement
I want the late fees reversed. $39.95 x 3

Business Response
Member called and asked why we
were charging him a 39.95 fee for
payments in Oct, Nov and Dec. It was
explained to him that all 3 payments
were late by almost a month. Due to each payment being late a late fee was charged.
He stated that he received a warranty check and it was sent in September, we explained to him that the check went to the principle.

08/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Incorrect data on new monthly e-statement.
The new monthly statement account (beginning April 2013) has incorrect dates for the Debit Card Transaction and Effective Dates. Initially there was only data on the TRANSACTION DATE column only (blank on the EFFECTIVE DATE column) This data was incorrect, because the date shown was the actual effective date, not the transaction date (card swipped).

After various attempts via their e-mail system when they didn't acknowledged there was a problem, I went and talked in person to the Main office branch manager (*****). she acknowledged there was a problem, and to her credit she got the group responsible to at least include a date on the EFFECTIVE DATE column. The problem is that now both the EFFECTIVE DATE and TRANSACTION DATE are the same and in some cases that is not true. Their on-line transaction history shows that. The data is there but not moved to the monthly e-statement.

When I balance my accounts, I want to know when the transaction actually took place. The e-statement prior to April 2013 had the required data.

I have been given many excuses why it can't be done. (eg. "They have to talk to the marketing department", "the marketing department has to talk to the I. S. department"...)

TOday 7 July I was told that it can't be done, and that "they" are looking into another system, and don't know if it can be fixed!!!

I have talked to **** ******** ***** ****** (among others). This is unacceptable. The data is available to be placed in the e-statement and for over a year DATCU has been unresponsive.

What other data is wrong and nobody checks for accuracy???

******* *****

Desired Settlement
Fix the e-statement where the correct dates are in the EFFECTIVE DATE and TRANSACTION date column.

If that doesn't happen, I will take my business from a "Non-Profit" organization to a "For Profit" organization.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ******
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@datcu.org
The credit union has always shown the date a debit card transaction cleared the account and not the date the transaction initiated at the merchant on monthly account statements. To change to the date the transaction was initiated at the merchant after all these years, we believe would confuse far more people then how the statements are currently done. If we get more requests from our members to make this change we will reconsider in the future.

Consumer Response
Their response is incorrect. Prior to April 2013, both dates were in the monthly statement. The actual transaction date was in the text describing the transaction. It was inconvenient, but was there for years. I learned to live with it. In the new statement it is nowhere to be found.

The credit Union officials I have talked in person agree with me when I show the two different statements.

Whoever responded, should go back and check the statements prior to April 2013.

I would like to meet with the CEO **** ****** or the president Glenn Mckenzie to present my complain.

******* *****
.

10/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Denton Area Credit Union approved our family for a VA Mortgage provided several approval letters told us to sell our home to be able to close on the purchase of our home. Our home sold and four days after we were set to close on the purchase of our new home Denton Area Credit Union informed us that my husband was not eligible for a VA Loan. Denton Area Credit Union and Donna Hall, VP of Mortgage had assured us over and over we were approved. Denton Area Credit Union failed to follow up on an email received in June from the VA Department with critical information pertaining to our loan. Had the email not been ignored we would have had enough time to solve certain last minute problems DATCU created. We were homeless because of their negligence.

Desired Settlement
Denton Area Credit Union needs to admit to their mistake and negligence and provide a portfolio or in house loan for our family

Business Response
In response to the complaint notice dated September 16, the U.S. Department of Veterans denied benefits. The bottom portion of the form DD214 was marked out. Once the new form was received, it was submitted and the Department of Veteran Affairs sent a denial of benefits notice. We were unable to find other financing for their loan.

11/18/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.