BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1961

Credit Union of Texas

Find a Location

Phone: (972) 263-9497Fax: (972) 301-1830View Additional Phone Numbers8131 LBJ Fwy Ste 550, DallasTX 75251-1329 Send email to Credit Union of Texas

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/01/1961

BBB has determined that Credit Union of Texas meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Credit Union of Texas' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Credit Union of Texas

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
04/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They have been charging me paper statement fee(2.00) for several month when their online system show me already setup on e-statements. I spoke with a rep name ******* and she was VERY rude. I tried to advise her I receive an e-statement email every month and she continue to argue with me like I was not telling the truth. After going on and on with her, I requested to speak with an supervisor ******** and reviewed my account and found, I was actually setup on estatement, which he had me log into my account and unselect the estatement box and remove my email. He asked me to resave and go back into the system and select the estatement box and re-enter my email and save information again.

Desired Settlement
I would like an investigation on this bank because I am sure I am not the only person this has happen to.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******* VP
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *******@CUTX.org
After researching this complaint, there was an error on Ms. ***** account. This error was corrected and all fees returned on April 8, 2015.

We apologize for this mistake and Ms. ***** can contact me directly if she has any additional questions or concerns.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

12/13/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Charged me twice in the same day for overdraft fees with the same item and also charged a overdraft fee for $33.
Credit union of Texas refused to refund two overdraft despite a hardship and the same txu going through twice. And then being a few cents under another charge. Their excuse is that I haven't been a customer long enough. So they expect me to stay with bad customer service. They have the power to do what's right but refuse. It seems like they take advantage. Of customers as too make as much money as they can with bogus. Overdraft fees.

Desired Settlement
Refund of 66.00. If the BBB is not able to resolve, I will continue to go till I am not taken advantage of.

04/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
bank placed stop pay on cashier ck 0f 1755. w/out my knowledge . deposited into account of their choice. never asked for stop pay on valid check.
i purchased a cashier ck in 2010 and was told ck had no expiration date . on march 19,2014 Credit union placed stop payment on the cashier and deposited funds into my account without my permission or knowledge. they sent no notification of policies changes and on march 28 in their Desoto tx branch they continued to insist the bank would never enter into members accounts without the members request or permission. yet the check had been invalidated and funds deposited without my knowledge.

Desired Settlement
to notify me in writing concerning any and all polices changes . assurance that this institution will not tamper with my account without my knowledge. for them to reveal any other unauthorized use on their part.

Business Response
Each year the Credit Union of Texas (credit union) is required by the Texas Comptroller of Public Accounts to escheat any outstanding cashier checks that have an abandonment period of 3 years from the date the check was issued per the Texas Property Code. The 2014 reporting period requires all checks issued prior to March 1, 2011 to be escheated or transferred to the state. Ms. ******* had a cashier's check issued from her account at the credit union made payable to herself on March 23, 2010. This cashier's check is required to be escheated during the current reporting process. As a courtesy to all members, any cashier's check made payable to the member who still has an active or open account at the credit union will have the funds deposited back into their account and have a stop payment notice placed on the outstanding check.
Ms. ******* asked for assurances that the credit union would not "tamper" with her account. The credit union is not certain how Ms. ******* defines "tamper"; however, if Ms. ******* chooses to maintain an account at the credit union; then that account is subject to all applicable laws, regulations, policies and procedures.
The credit union does update its agreements with its members from time to time. All changes to the agreement are available to the membership. It is impractical from a business operations standpoint for the credit union to make certain that any one member is aware when such updates are made, and the credit union will not be able to offer Ms. ******* any special notification of changes to the account or other member agreements.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
i have not asked for special notification from this business , however i do not expect to have such a rude and crude encounter when inquiring about their policies . i expect them to follow the law as well as keep my account secure ,. meaning DO NOT ACCESS WITHOUT MY KNOWLEDGE. THEY DID NOT NOTIFY ME YET ACCESSED THE ACCOUNT WHICH DOES NOT APPEAR TO TRUSTWORTHY ON THEIR BEHALF.Anytime i ( account holder) requested them to do so i was told they could not and that i had to make in person appearance before they could access accounts . which is CU OF Texas can not have it both ways.

07/08/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
CUofTX threats of legal action while attempting to collect debt on a fraudulent LOC account.
CUofTX does NOT have a signature analyst on staff to properly determine signature authenticity. CUofTX method for determining signature legitimacy is to "pass the signature around for viewing" and get a consensus from other employees. As a result, a LOC account was opened and my name fraudulently used as a secondarysignature on the account. I need my name removed from this fraudulent account. CUofTX practices do not prevent fraudulent behavior by professionally analyzing signatures nor do they have a professional signature analyst available for disputed cases like this. The CUofTX collection I spoke to today, Clay Gregory(972-705-4953) informed me signatures are verified by collection individuals and peers. Collection employees are not willing to discuss the fraudulent signature and insist they have the same ability and authority to determine a signature authenticity as a professionally trained signature analyst. I need this issue resolved by someone with some authority.

Desired Settlement
I simply want CUofTX to professionally recognize the signature on the LOC application is NOT my signature and remove my name from the account.

Business' Initial Response
June 27,2013
Better Business Bureau serving Dallas and Northeast Texas
Lee Stallings, Director of Complaint Resolution Department
1601 Elm Street, Ste 3838
Dallas, TX 75201
Via-facsimile to: (214) 740-0326 and First Class Mail
Re: ***** ******,
Better Business Bureau Complaint Case # XXXXXXXX Dated June 21,2013
Dear Mr. Stallings:
Please accept this response on behalf of Credit Union of Texas ("Credit Union") regarding the above-referenced complaint. After reviewing our business records and collection notes, we add the following information for your consideration.
A joint Line of Credit was opened in the names of ***** ****** and ***** ****** on April 13, 1992. On January 18, 2013, Mr. ****** informed the Credit Union that he did not sign the Line of Credit Agreelnent and that he and ***** had been divorced for over seven years. At that time, Credit Union representatives informed him he needed to file an Identity Theft Affidavit with the Federal Trade Comlnission and provide the Credit Union a copy. Mr. ****** stated he would weigh his options and file if he felt it was appropriate.
On March 21, 2013, Mr. ****** again told a Credit Union representative that he did not
sign the Line of Credit Agreement. The representative reminded him that he would need
to file the Identity Theft Affidavit. To this date, no such filing has been done.
The Credit Union spoke with Mr. ****** again on June 21,2013. Mr. Gregory informed him that representatives of the Credit Union have reviewed the documents and determined the signatures do match. At no time, did Mr. Gregory state that anyone at the Credit Union has the same ability and authority to determine a signature's authenticity as a trained signature analyst. Mr. Gregory did reiterate to Mr. ****** that if he feels there is fraud involved, he should complete the Identity Theft Affidavit and file it accordingly. Mr. ****** indicated he would like to move forward with the process. Mr. Gregory placed him on hold so he could obtain additional information on how to proceed with the Identity Theft claim and, at this time, Mr. ****** ended the call. Page 2 of2 June 27,2013
To resolve this matter, the Credit Union has removed Mr. ****** froln the Line of Credit and submitted a request to delete the trade line from his credit report.
Should the Better Business Bureau require any clarification or any additional information, I can be reached at 972-705-4885.
Credit Union of Texas

03/02/2016Problems with Product / Service
06/15/2015Problems with Product / Service
05/04/2015Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/01/1961Business started: 01/29/1931Business started locally: 01/01/1931
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

Type of Entity

Unknown

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John B. Lederer (President/CEO)
Related Businesses
FairLease - 8131 LBJ Fwy Ste 400, Dallas, TX
Business Category

Credit Unions

Products & Services

This company offers financial services and products.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Credit Union of Texas

8131 LBJ Fwy Ste 550

Dallas, TX 75251-1329

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 8131 LBJ Fwy Ste 550 

    Dallas, TX 75251-1329(972) 263-9497
    (800) 314-3828

  • PO Box 517028 

    Dallas, TX 75251-7028

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Credit Union of Texas is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 314-3828
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Credit Unions

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.