BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/19/2010

Advancial Federal Credit Union

Phone: (972) 201-1600Fax: (214) 880-9539

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues6
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)
11/09/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My complaint is that I'm being charged on my automobile loan insurance disability instead of credit life which was a mistake by Advancial.
My account number is XXXXXX for a XXXX XXXI BMW. I have been calling Nancy Rivas (XXX)XXX-XXXX forabout 2 weeks now leaving messages about this matter. The last I spoke with her which was the first part of the two weeks, she informed me that her supervisor Frank ****** would be giving me a call to offer me half of my money back refunded to me. I stated that I had requested credit life initially when I talked to the representative on the phone and that I wanted a full refund back because it wasn't my mistake for the incorrect paperwork. She stated again that she would inform her boss and he would give me a call. The bottom line is no call hasn't ever come plus I have lefted numerous messages with Nancy. I truly feel like I'm just being blew off by their actions of not responding back to me in order to solve this issue.

Desired Settlement
I'm seeking a full refund credit to me for the disability insurance that I didn't request. I just wanted credit life insurance from what I requested initially from the first representative back in the early months of 2015. The bottom line is that I didn't make the mistake with the paperwork, Advancial made the mistake because I was thinking the entire that I had credit life instead of disability insurance. Again I just want a full refund and to transition to credit life insurance on my automobile loan.

Business Response
We contacted Mr. ****** directly to address his concerns. The disability premiums on his loan were fully refunded. The type of credit insurance on the loan was converted from disability to the credit life Mr. ****** requested. The loan was also re-amortized and the monthly payment was lowered based on this analysis.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

10/28/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Android Mobile App is non-functional fro making photo deposits.
I have been a very long term customer of Advancial Credit Union, since at least 1992. Seems that within the last year many policies have been changed to extract more fees. Looking a lot more like a bank than a member owned institution.

Beware using their Advancial App for Android to make check deposits by taking images of your checks. Even though the images are clear and legible on your phone they are always rejected by their processing back-end. Also if you make deposits after 3pm CST they will not occur until the next day.

Additionally, If you deposit money over the weekend don't expect the deposits to occur before they process your outgoing payments on Monday. Your withdrawals will occur immediately but your deposit won't occur until after 11:30am.

This is the crux of why I'm writing this review. Since the check did not clear, a draft of $10.37 cause a fee to be charged to cover it. Once the account was negative and the check was not deposited it was then a cascade of every pending transaction to trigger a fee of $27.50. After 6 pending transactions worth $58, the fees were $175 on $58.

They did refund $85 but that still left me with $90 in fees.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to refund the remaining $90 in fees and to fix the mobile app where it can successfully submit a photo deposit.

Business Response
Our Member Service Center Manager contacted Mr. ******* directly. They worked together to reach solutions to the concerns Mr. ******* voiced. In addition, Advancial currently has a project in the works to upgrade our remote capture software. This upgrade will significantly reduce the number of item rejects caused by bad image uploads.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept their response as the mobile app will be improved. But still not a happy customer as they did not offer to reduce the remaining fees.

09/27/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Fees have been taken out due to a mobile app not working properly. Advised Advancial of the issue, nothing was done and the fees more than doubled.
I used Advancial's mobile app to transfer money from savings to checking. For some reason, the transfer did not take place. As soon as I found out, I went to Advancial's website to locate their contact info and I was taken to a page to email them. I emailed them advising of the issue, gave them a few days (I have contacted them like this in the past and they generally take a few days or so) logged in again to see what the state of the account was and also called them to follow up and they had doubled my fees.

Regarding the mobile application: I had advised them that the app crashes and there are issues, I was advised "there is nothing wrong with the application..." and asking if others have experienced issues as a customer should be provided info with possible problems prior to using an app like this and I was advised, "there have been no reported issues by anyone..." I had also told them I had reported issues... (for those unfamiliar with Android, when an app crashes, a message pops up asking if you want to send a report, it allows to either just send the report or add details) via the android app. I was advised that they do not get this information and I am suppose to send a crash report while in the app. I advised that this is impossible if the app has crashed. I also asked if they work with Google Play to obtain these reports and was advised they do not.

Regarding my initial contact: I contacted them approx. 2 weeks after the transfer I made as I noticed it had not gone through and advised them of the situation. They have YET to respond to me even though I have repeatedly asked them about this via email/phone. I used their mode of contact, which, prior to this week, was a web-based form that you fill out and send. Today I logged in and they apparently changed their mode of contact, if there was nothing wrong, why would they have made the change at all?? They had not looked into the issue, despite my alerting them to it, had not contacted me, not even to this day... yet they proceeded to place a hold on my Saving account and withdraw over twice the amount of fees when I sent the message.

I worked with two people:
a rep and supervisor. The supervisor is Frank Zavala. 800.322.2709 x1606

Frank contacted me one time to advise me that he could give me back 10% of the total fees, which in unacceptable! I also wanted to know why they had not contacted me regarding the initial alert to a problem and he never answered and I do not get any further response from him other than what I stated above.

Desired Settlement
I would like all fees returned.

12/26/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They took out the monthly payment even though for November I had asked and was given permisson to skip November. And they charged me late fees
I had asked for the November payment to be skipped. I paid the fine for it and filled out the paper work. I was accepted, and yet they still took out the money and I incurred over draft fees since I didn't have that much money in my account at that time AND they charged me late fees because the payment came back NSF

Desired Settlement
the $25 late fee and the $29 over draft fee

Business Response
This issue was due to a processing error by the credit union. Ms ******'s request involved a two step process. Only one part of the process was completed properly. One of our Managers reached out to Ms. ****** on 12/05/14 to explain the error and offer our apologies. We refunded the transaction fee and late fee assessed by the credit union as well as the fees she was charged by USAA. We value Ms. ******'s membership with the credit union and sincerely apologize for the error.

09/05/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
failure to remove past due (30 days) from credit bureau(s).
****** *******
Acct # XXXXXX



March 6, 2014

Advancial Credit Union
1845 Woodall Rodgers Fwy. Suite 100
Dallas, TX 75201
972-201-1731
Ms. ********
Ms. **** *******

Ms. *********

Speaking with you last week, I am responding to your request with a "draft letter" to see how I might request a brief response letter by an Advancial representative. This would be presented to our mortgage company's underwriting in the event that removal of the 30 day past due notices reported to Equifax, Experian and Transunion currently being processed by Advancial might still remain at time of our closing.

We have an excellent and responsible payment history with Advancial, I can only account one or two brief late pays due to my work travel since joining Advancial, and always received courteous reminders from a representative.

Should there be any questions, I have attempted to provide a brief summary of
We have an excellent and responsible payment history with Advancial, I can only account one or two brief late pays due to my work travel since joining Advancial, and always received courteous reminders from a representative.

Should there be any questions, I have attempted to provide a brief summary of events, as well as those notations and correspondence associated with my account.

As you know, during the last quarter of 2013, making normal monthly payments, for some unexplained reason; multiple payments were with held creating numerous overdrafts with our bank. We were in contact with our bank (Wells Fargo) and Advancial during this event and our bank suggested we temporary remove our account as a method of payment to Advancial until this could be sorted out. Advancial did refund the excessive amounts as well as service fees via my Advancial savings account which I in turn deposited to our WF checking account. I re-established my Wells Fargo account and began making my normal payments assuming everything was fine. We were surprised when contacted by the collection department and informed that we were seriously delinquent again on our loans. While on the phone with the Advancial representative she informed me of the amounts necessary to bring our account current. I advised that I would immediately make a deposit to Advancial while trying to get to the root cause of our problem.

I made the transaction the same day, via AMOC Credit Union to my savings account as instructed. I believe a week or so past and once again I was contacted that my account was seriously delinquent, and at this time over 30 days. I explained the transfer and the representative did see the funds I had deposited to my savings account. During our conversation it was noted that the amount I was instructed to send was short one cent and I needed to make another transfer and my account would could possibly continue to accrue additional days late.


In closing, I thank you for your efforts, and applaud the professional assistance for each of your representatives.

Respectfully,

****** J ******* III
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Desired Settlement
Remove negative information from bureau(s)

Business Response
Our records show that an information update was submitted to the credit bureau on 08/20/14. The revised data should show on the member's credit report as soon as the credit bureau processes the submitted information.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This has been the story since the beginning of March and we are now approaching September. The damages are done, Advancial should be adresssing a Lessons Learn Program to avoid future occurance. Advancial's failure to respond in a timely manner resulted in higher interest rate at home closing due a drop in my credit rating across all three agencies. When asked by lender for a simple statement to acknowledge the error we were advised that Advancial would refuse. This also included a simple telephone call from an Advancial representative to which underwriting was in agreement to accept. I am of the opionion that this should be considered a gross negligence on the part of Advancial to a well established customer. wjs/8/28/14

12/30/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Final payment was made but not added to my account until after late period so that additional costs would be charged to me.
I purchased a vehicle that was financed through this credit union. Prior to 11/26/2013 I made the final payment to pay off my loan in the amount of $172.89. Today I received an email stating that my account was overdue. I called the number listed on the email and spoke with a woman named Adrian who informed me that as of today, 12/11/13, I still owe $36.19 and that interest and late fees are accruing daily. This is shocking to me that this company would wait to cash the check sent out prior to 11/26/13 in order to cause a customer to owe additional fees. My bank statement says that the check was cashed by Advancial on 11/26 which is exactly 12 days past the 10 day "Grace Period" they offer before they add late fees to my account. I worry that by the time the manager who conveniently is out of the office today manages to get back to me I will owe well over $40 in ADDITION to the amount they were paid and I am flat out refusing to pay this. The check was sent long before the date it was actually cashed (which shouldn't be deemed MY fault nor should I be charged for this occurring), I checked with Advancial's website to see what the exact amount was that I owed, and I paid it accordingly. Now they are refusing to release my title stating that I still owe them additional costs. I realize it is $40 but if they do this to every single person who tries to pay their loan in full they are making a large amount of money simply off of fees.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that this matter be deeply reviewed. As stated before, I did what I was supposed to do by paying off my loan in full. When they choose to cash a check in their possession is not something I can control. I am requesting that all fees be waived and my account be deemed paid in full. Someone can contact me to arrange for the address where I would like my title sent.

Business Response
This loan was paid in full on 12/12/13 with an effective date of 10/14/13. No additional interest or fees were collected.

09/12/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Read onward
On Aug. 1, 2013, $864.74 was added to my loan, and I was told to me when I call that it was due to no proof of insurance being listed under Advancial. My insurance sent me verification that this had been sent to them months prior. I was refunded on the 9th of August, but in the amount of $541.16.

On Aug. 8, 2013, I receive a letter in the mail stating that I am due $1092.48, and that my loan has a monthly payment of $785.22. The terms of my loan are $414/mo. for 72 months. This letter continues onward with a "formal demand upon you to pay the sum of $1877.70 on or before 5:00 p.m. on 8/18/13." First I am not due $1092.48, as my account can verify. Second, for me to be due $1877.70 by 8/18/2013, I would be required to pay $785.22, which is not a stipulation of my loan contract. In between this all, I have received phone calls stating that I owe in these amounts which are both incorrect.

In summary: Complaint 1: $864.74 added to my loan, only $541.16 reimbursed

Complaint 2: There are apparent errors on their part, that has me listed as paying $785.22/mo instead of the $414/mo original listed. This is a loan of 11.21% interest, they are getting more than their lions share. If I must, I will go elsewhere, and for lower interest, since I am able to credit-wise.

Desired Settlement
Correct errors on your end, and quit with the phone calls and "formal demands" for that which I do not owe.

Business' Initial Response
We are in receipt of the complaint submitted by M *******. There were two points of concern indicated. Please accept the following paraphrase of the complaints and our associated information related to these concerns.

Complaint # 1 - $864.74 was added to my loan, only $541.16 reimbursed.

As of this date a full refund including interest and late fees has been applied to Ms. *******'s loan. The refund was posted in two separate transactions. The amount added to the loan represented premium for collateral protection insurance (CPI). The amount was posted to the loan on 08/01/13. Credit union procedure is to mail three letters to the member requesting proper insurance information prior to any CPI premium being added. A fourth letter with the CPI policy is then mailed. In this case, proof of insurance was provided but Ms. ******* was not listed as an owner of the policy or as a named driver. The policy was in another person's name who is not a party to the loan. In addition, the credit union requires a deductible of $1,000.00 or less. The deductible on the initial proof of coverage provided was $2,000.00. Subsequent proof of coverage was received with deductibles of $1,000.00. The credit union made an exception to policy by allowing the coverage to be carried in a non-borrowers name. Hence the two separate refund postings. To reiterate, a full refund plus interest and late fees has been applied to the loan.

Complaint #2 - There are apparent errors on their part that has me listed as paying $785.22/mo instead of the $414/mo originally listed.

When CPI is added to a loan, the member's monthly payment is increased to offset the additional premium added. In tandem with the CPI refund, the loan payment has been adjusted back to the original contracted amount.

Consumer's desired resolution - Correct errors on your end, and quit with the phone calls and "formal demands for which I do not owe.

As stated above, a full refund has been applied to the loan and the monthly payment amount has been adjusted based on the subsequent insurance documentation received. The CPI premium and increased payment amount were triggered by the insufficient original proof of coverage documentation and associated data the credit union received from the member's insurance carrier. There were no errors on the part of the credit union in this matter.

It is the credit union's standard policy to send letters to members that are past due on their loan. The amounts shown on the letter included the addition of the CPI. However, the status of the due date at the time of the letter was not related to the CPI. There are notes on the account from our Asset Management Department concerning contact with Ms. ******* dating back to January 2013.

07/08/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My car was repossessed due to their error.
In August 2012 I changed insurance companies for my car. The new insurance company asked me for the financing company information so they could send them an insurance verification letter. Six months later, I started getting phone calls from Advancial about the amount of money owed. They claimed they never got an insurance verification from Progressive so they tagged their own insurance to my loan. In March 2013, I spoke with Diane. I gave her the information they needed form my insurance company so they could remove the extra charges for their insurance. She told me not to worry. I made a $500 payment. I send them a fax requesting to change my new address and thought that was the end of it. On May 15th I got ready to go to work and found out my car had been taken by a repo company. I immediately called Advancial and they were very rude. They told me I owed over $1100 and it was due to the insurance issue. Advancial stated that they had sent me mail which they send to the old address. They told me they didn't have my new address on file yet, but they send the repo company to my new address to get the car. They transferred me to their Insurance Verification Dept and I spoke with Rene. He was able to see that they had information on my insurance and told me to wait while he talked to Progressive personally. Progressive Insurance verified that I've had insurance coverage since August 2012. Within five minutes the credit was submitted to Advancial. Advancial told me I had to wait a few days for the credit to post. In the mean time my car was in the lot of the repo company accruing more charges because they charge $345 fee to get the car plus $20 per day to store the car. By Friday May 17, the paperwork was not ready. They don't work on the weekends and that meant that I had to wait until Monday to get my car. Monday May 20th I was told by Advancial that the credit had been posted and that I could make arrangements to get my car. I had to pay the repo company $445 to get my car. I feel that Advancial should pay for these charges because they failed to clear my account. This company is so unorganized that to this day after almost five years of financing my car they have not corrected my last name. They have me as ******* Comacho and is *******.

Desired Settlement
I would like a check for $445 to cover the repo charges I paid to get my car back.

Business' Initial Response
Response is being submitted via regular mail. It shoudl be received by the BBB shortly.

Business' Final Response
June 19, 2013
Better Business Bureau of Dallas
1601 Elm Street, Ste 3838
Dallas, TX 75201
Re: Case # XXXXXXXX I ******* *******
Dear Better Business Bureau:
We are in receipt of the complaint submitted by ******* *******. In the
complaint Ms. ******* voices several points of concern revolving around
events leading up to the repossession of her vehicle. In the interest of brevity, I
would like to paraphrase the main points of her narrative followed by Advancial's
response and provide a timeline of contact from our account notes.
1) Change of address: Ms. ******* states that she faxed change of
address documentation in March 2013. To prevent fraud and protect
member privacy, Advancial requires that any address changes be
submitted in writing with a verifiable signature from the member or joint
owner. This can be done via letter or completion of our standard "Change
I Add I Delete" form (CAD Form). There are notes on the account dating
from February 2012 where we informed Ms. ******* of this requirement
via phone conversation and requested a written request. There are
subsequent notes from XXXXXXXX where we mailed a change of address
form to the new address Ms. ******* provided verbally and again on
XXXXXXXX when we e-mailed the form to her at a new e-mail address she
verbally provided. We have no record of receiving any documentation until
XXXXXXXX. The account had been flagged with a bad address code prior to
XXXXXXXX.
2) Collateral protection insurance (CPI): Ms. ******* states that she
changed insurance companies in August 2012 and gave her insurance
company the financing company's name to provide insurance verification.
It is standard practice for any insurance company providing vehicle
coverage to automatically provide proof of insurance to a listed lien holder.
Advancial received a notice of cancellation from Bristol West Insurance
Company dated XXXXXXXX with an effective cancellation date of
XXXXXXXXXX. The credit union mails four letters to the member requesting
updated insurance information and notifying them that CPI will be added if
no proof of coverage is provided. Letters were sent to the address of
.ADVANCIAL
record on 09/19/12, 10/17/12, 10/31/12 and 11/27/12. CPI was
subsequently posted to Ms. *******'s account with an effective date of
08/18/12. Records from our CPI underwriter indicate that updated proof of
coverage from Progressive was not received until May 2013. A refund
was subsequently posted to Ms. *******'s account on 05/19/13. CPI
refunds are received from the underwriter via ACH on a weekly basis and
subsequently posted to the member's account. There is no process for a
five minute credit submission.
3) Timeline of contact:
The following information was taken from Ms. *******'s account notes.
They represent dates of contact or attempts to contact Ms. ******* and
associated staff notations at that time.
a. 02/03/12 - Member contacted Advancial by phone and verbally
indicated that she had moved. We advised her of the requirement
that change of address must be submitted in writing.
b. 04/13/12 - Member called in to make a payment by phone and
provided best contact phone number.
c. 06/29/12 - Member called in to make a phone payment. Verbally
indicated that her address had changed. We again advised her that
change of address must be submitted in writing. We subsequently
mailed a CAD form to the address she verbally provided.
d. 07/13/12- Advancial called the member and left a voice mail at
previously provided phone number.
e. 08/07/12- Advancial called the member and left a voice mail at
previously provided phone number.
f. 08/17/12 - Advancial called the member and left a voice mail at
previously provided phone number.
g. 08/28/12- Advancial called the member and left a voice mail at
previously provided phone number.
h. 12/04/12- Advancial called the member and left a voice mail at
previously provided phone number.
i. 12/11/12- Advancial called the member and left a voice mail at
previously provided phone number.
j. 01/07/13- Advancial called the member and left a voice mail at
previously provided phone number.
k. 02/05/13 - Advancial called the member and left a voice mail at
previously provided phone number.
I. 02/12/13 - Advancial called the member and left a voice mail at
previously provided phone number.
m. 02/22/13- Advancial called the member and left a voice mail at
previously provided phone number.

ADVANCIAL
n. 03/07/13- Advancial called the member and left a voice mail at
previously provided phone number.
o. 03/19/13 - Advancial called the member and left a voice mail at
previously provided phone number.
p. 03/21/13- Advancial called the member and left a voice mail at
previously provided phone number and mailed a loan acceleration
letter to the address of record.
q. 03/28/13- Advancial called the member and left a voice mail at
previously provided phone number. The member returned our call
and was advised of CPI being added to her loan. Advancial emailed
a CAD form to the member at an e-mail address provided by
the member. She was also given contact information for our
insurance customer service center. She indicated that she would
contact the insurance center and get proof of coverage issue
resolved.
r. 04/09/13 - Advancial called the member and left a voice mail at
previously provided phone number.
s. 04/18/13 - Advancial called the member and left a voice mail at
previously provided phone number.
t. 04/22/13 - Advancial called the member and left a voice mail at
previously provided phone number.
u. 04/23/13- Advancial mailed a loan acceleration letter to the
address of record.
v. 04/30/13- Advancial called the member and left a voice mail at
previously provided phone number.
w. 05/02/13 - Advancial called the member and left a voice mail at
previously provided phone number.
x. 05/06/13 - Advancial called the member and left a voice mail at
previously provided phone number.
Ms. ******* states that Advancial failed to clear her account and is
requesting that the credit union refund $445.00 in repossession charges
that were assessed to her account. For over a year the credit union made
multiple attempts to assist Ms. ******* with her account. There was no
error or misconduct on the part of the credit union. Repossession action
by the credit union is only taken as a last resort. Based on the supporting
information and documentation supplied above, the fees assessed to Ms.
*******'s account are shown to be valid.
Sincerely: _

**** ** *******
*** - ******* ********
**** ******* ******* **** t: XXX XX I ****
Ste. **** f: XXX XXX XXXX
Dallas, TX XXXXX-XXXX

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions, Estate Planning & Management, Investment Management, Financial Services, Insurance Services, Retirement Planning Service, Investment Advisory Service, Banks

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.