BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Dallas and Northeast Texas

BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Tier 1 Processing

Phone: (855) 781-2364

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 7 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues7
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
05/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Customer Service Complaint Issue

Complaint: The company misrepresents themselves and threatened if we dont accept their offer they will pass *** number out to other vendors and harrassed daily
A representative from the company originally called (*****) and she stated she was with our credit card processing center and they detected a discrepancy in our charge for January. She asked if we could send our statement to them and she would find all the issues and contact us. We complied and then was given a call back that afternoon. ***** then tried to explain several different issues and was going to send our information to her "Senior Account Analyst", but before we could do that she had to have her supervisor verify we were ok with the department having our information. The supervisor came on (Nina) and when I asked to clarify that they were in fact OUR company that handled our services nowshe stated "YES" and was very abrupt to disconnecting the call.
The next call we recieved was from the supposed Senior Account Analyst Department (***) she gave her introduction and that is when I asked her if they were our company that handled our account currently, she then stated that no they were not and she apologized for the company being incorrect in their previous calls. She then gave information as to why we should switch to them and would fax us information on how much they could save us. After about three days of back and forth we informed *** that we were not interested. She then told us that "if we chose not to switch with their options, they would pass *** number on to the other companies and they will harrass us daily"!
This business is threatening and misleading customers trying to use strong arm tactics in bringing in customers.
Completely INAPPROPRIATE business practices.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* VP
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX, *****
Contact Email: **************@datalinkonline.net
We have spoken with Mr. ******* and verified that this complaint was filed in error against the wrong company. Datalink has no business relationship or had any communication with Mr. ******* prior to this complaint. We request that this complaint be closed as invalid.

Final Business Response
We have been made aware of Mr. *******'s concern and removed his number from our dialers. We are unable to locate a record of any calls to Mr. *******, however, we will review internally and take any appropirate training or disciplinary action that may be required.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

03/31/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: None of the Above - Sales Complaint Issue

Complaint: I received 3 phone calls from the same woman at this company when I asked her not to call here in the same day.
I have received 3 calls from this company today. I have told the same woman named ******* ********* not to call and she has continued to do so. The first time she called she said that she was calling because our Visa and MasterCard rates increased. I asked what company she was from and it was not the same as the one we are with. I disconnected the call. She called a 2nd time and I again told her not to call. She said to contact my credit card company. I contacted my card company and they told me they knew nothing about this. She called again for a 3rd time and said that everytime my name comes up she has to call me so expect another call from her. This is not acceptable.

Initial Business Response
We spoke with Ms. ***** directly.We have added a block to ensure the number in question is not dialed in the future as per Ms. *****'s request. Ms. ***** states that she is satisfied with our resolution.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/24/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the service

Complaint: Knew I was in a contract with another processor and a contract with another leasing company for my equipment, but they told me I had been overcharged.
Got a call from Melanie Hall from "The Rate Review" Committee telling my account had been red flagged due to overcharges and rate increases which had now breached any contract that I had with my old processor. She said based on my statements that I faxed to her, I was due at least 300.00 or more and they would at least check the last 6 months of my account. I fell for the fact I wanted more money back but I would not do anything until after Valentine's Day(florist) so on February 17, I received new equipment, which they already knew I was in a contract with my old leasing company. Melanie said that would all be taken care of due to the breach of not telling me about rate increase. Phone call followed in a day to get my new equipment up and running. Friday, February 28, got a call from Dave Davenport,(Tier One) to tell me there had been a mistake in the programming of my machine and that it would need to be reprogrammed for their rates. On Monday, I get a call from Tosha Calico, (Tier One), to tell me that Omar would be calling to reprogram my machine, but also I had heard from my old lease company as to remind me of my terms and the amount it would take to get out of the lease(1800.00rounded) I told Tosha I was very concerned that I never asked for this new machine and did not need it. She said,"Let me take care of that..send me the fax you received and write a letter immediately to them to stop taking money our of your account. There is nothing they can do. Stop payments to them immediately. Let me take care of this..do not worry." Sent Tosha the fax, not only now from my previous processor, but the old leasing company. On Tuesday, Mar. 4, 2014, I called to talk to Tosha of which she said I could call anytime and get her direct. Could not get her at all, called customer service, got Shawn to try to explain the confusion over all these threats and money's I am facing and what is being done about it...then enters Brian Martin, my customer rep, but on Tuesday was the first time I had ever talked to him. He said, "Shawn asked me to call you because you have been given such a run around. I am going to go back and check all the recorded messages and get to the bottom of this, however who sent you the new equipment, I said I have no clue; well did you sign a contract with someone? and I said "I have a contract with Northern leasing here, but I thought it was all from you and part of the entire plan to get new processing." We didn't send you any equipment, Bryan said. Well where did it come from? They sent me all this paperwork and the new lease was sent also, so I assumed it was from Tier One. Then Bryan said to me," Well, there is one thing I know, you have better equipment than you had, just stop payment on your old lease, you might get some nasty letters and letters from a collection agency, but I have never known of anyone getting sued by a leasing company, for such a small amount of money(1800.00) Therefore don't do anything until I call you again tomorrow so I can figure out what has happened." I said ok..Wednesday, Brian called me and said well here is what we know now..we did not send you new equipment, you had to have asked for that..of course I argued, but you are just going to use both of the equipments, or at least pay monthly for both of them, there is nothing we can do. We did not send the new equipment(of which by the way it was in a plain brown box, with no name). So not only have they not taken care of my prior processor and old leasing company, they are basically saying they did nothing wrong, and I must live with it. Called the new leasing Company of which had only now for 2 weeks and they said there is no way out of their contract either. Please help a small business person who only wanted money due them back into their bank account, and trusted others to resolve this entire mess like they said they would.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ********* VP
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX, x1120
Contact Email: **************@datalinkonline.net
We spoke with Ms. ***** regarding her concerns. There was a great deal of confusion regarding which parties were responsible for which issues. We spent a great deal of time sorting out these issues with Ms. ***** and are now confident that she understands who is repsonsible for what. As per Ms. *****'s request, we closed the merchant processing account with Datalink with no penalty. Datalink was not a party to the lease agreement referenced in the original complaint and Ms. ***** states that she understands this and is satisfied with our resolution.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

02/19/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Advertisement misrepresented a service

Complaint: Lack of truth in identifying who they were and what their intent was.
Sales rep. called and would not identify the company she represented. She made and urgent plea that we had been overcharged on our Credit card statement and they, being a first party - not a third - needed to look into this for us. She made it sound as if they represented Visa/Master card direct. She requested a faxed statement from our other processing company which I did. Upon receiving this, the rep had me talk to her supervisor whom then told me they who they were and that they wanted to earn our business and would get back to us with THEIR CC rates. Well, If they can't be up front from the beginning, they will not have or earn my business!

Initial Business Response
We reached out to Ms. ***** regarding her concern. Our company policy requires that we clearly identify our company identity and purpose of our call to each prospective customer. Our review of the phone call details that this policy was followed by our sales rep and additionally during our QA process with our sales manager who again stated the name of our company and the purpose of our call. These steps are required on each and every call. Ms. ***** did indicate that she was appreciative with our follow up regarding this complaint.

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

09/12/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Unauthorized bank debits

Complaint: I cancelled this service on X-XX-XX and I am still being charged via my bank. I was charged twice on 8-5-13 ($25.00) each and then refunded $25.00 on
I cancelled this service on X-XX-XX and I am still being charged via my bank. I was charged twice on 8-5-13 ($25.00) each and then refunded $25.00 on 8-19-13. I want the charges to stop and to be refunded what I'm owed. I think this is a fraudulent company that just keeps increasing it's fees and dreams up more and more service fees and annual fees. I canceled my business with them due to this.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: Scott Stauffer, VP
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX, xtn 1120
Contact Email: **************@datalinkonline.net
We have spoken with Ms. **** regarding this issue. This was simply a billing error that has been corrected and the monies refunded to Ms. ****. She has stated that she is satisfied with this resolution.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

Page 1 of 2
04/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: receiving several harassing calls daily for past 4 business days about problems with our statement (of which we dont even process through them)
got the same call everyone in this thread posted about also. XXX-XXX-XXXX ex **** for *****. She called our business and told our receptionist that there was a problem with our merchant services statement and to call them right away. I called back from my cell and she wanted me to fax her a copy of our statement (because they had a paperless operation and didnt have access to the most recent bills yet) I told her I needed to check with our processing company and would not send her a statement. She called our office 4 more times in the next 4 days about the same issue. I called back to explain to her that I knew that they werent with our processing company and to take us off their calling list. before I could get that information out, she insulted me and hung up. I called back to speak with a manager about taking our business off the call list and was put on hold indefinitely. I called again from another number and was able to speak to someone who very nicely took care of my request.

It is frustrating when you are trying to run a business and have people like this waste your time, not just once, but several times over several days.

Initial Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Scott Stauffer. VP
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX, *****
Contact Email: **************@datalinkonline.net
The comsumer has stated that her issue was already resolved before registering this complaint and and that there is no further settlement or resolution desired. Thus, we are requesting that this complaint be deleted from our record as there is no further resolution that we can provide.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I am still receiving calls at my business from this organization. This matter will be resolved when they stop calling and wasting the time of our employees. Thank you.

04/28/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation used dishonest sales practices

Complaint: Fraud by inducement...scam slam Credit Card processing
My shop foreman said he talked with "our head branch" credit card company supervisor (who called us) and they said they were taking over our account because the original company had been sold to them and they were really the one who did all our processing anyway. They also pointed out the overcharges the "old company" was charging us and that is why they were now in charge of our account.and the other company were the bad guys. They needed to update our information so they could get the refund started of $1200.00 in overcharges. I knew the company was to be taken over The bookkeeper said she got a letter saying so. Trouble is....it wasn't the right company who called....it was Teir 1 processing fooling us by pretending to be in contract with us and the update was for our current account.
Trouble is, it worked, I believed we were being told the truth and sent the updated company information to get the refund and stop the overcharging and get rid of the bad processing company.
We live in the country./sticks....we don't get lied to very often, if at all. Being a trusting person/company is very foolish these days.
I wonder why we get recorded but many people can not record them the (CROOKS )making the sales lies.pitch... I even told them we worry about scams and wanted to be sure....we were transferred to a head supervisor for "our account" and were told everything was in order and we needed to reprogram the terminal to keep the "Bad guys from getting any more fees that they were charging us for.
I put a stop payment on our accounts and have hired a lawyer to represent us in a FRAUD by INDUCEMENT case.
I hope this helps someone BEFORE they fall for this SCAM SLAM
***
Caller: Teir 1 processing
Call Type: Debt Collector

Initial Business Response
We had actually spoken with and resolved Mr. *******'s complaint before he filed this complaint. We re-confirmed with Mr. ******* that he is satisfied with our resolution and he stated that he was satisfied.

Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
A phone came days later, well after I filed. I want people to see the trickery/deception used to SLAM unsuspecting businesses into changing their Credit Card processing. I have been waiting for something in writing....A phone call means nothing to me from a company who I do not trust..at all..I would like confirmation in writing/e Mail that all accounts and/or contracts and/or any fees of any kind have been canceled or voided with Tier 1 and Data Link, Wells Fargo, etc.
Thank you BBB for your help in this matter...
W.S.


Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Card Processing Service

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.