BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/21/2008

SignaPay (Headquarters)

Phone: (800) 944-1399Fax: (214) 614-48604100 W Royal Ln STE 150, IrvingTX 75063-2254 Send email to SignaPay

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/21/2008

BBB has determined that SignaPay meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised SignaPay's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
01/06/2014Problems with Product / Service
01/18/2013Delivery Issues
06/21/2012Problems with Product / Service
08/18/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ended my service, paid the $495.00 fee to exit the contract prior to end of contract. I returned the credit card processing machine and they are still deducting money from my bank account when no transactions have occurred since May 3, 2014. They deducted $70.74 on June 1st for the month of May and $178.91 July 1st for the month of June. This is stealing!

Desired Settlement
Immediately stop deducting from my bank account and return the $178.91 that was deducted on July 1, 2014.

Business Response
We apologize for our error and agree that Ms. ****** is entitled to the June fees. A check in the amount of $178.91 has been processed. May bees will not be refunded, as the account was still in use in May.

Consumer Response
Signapay has not kept their end of the agreement with BBB as I have not received reimbursement for the funds they withdrew from my account.

09/17/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We've been turned over to collections by Signapay because we issued a stop payment at our bank as they would not let us cancel out of our account.
Last Fall I made the decision for our company, Sims Fertilizer & Chemical Company to cancel our credit card machine and no longer use the services provided by Signapay Merchant Services.

Turns out cancelling out actually proved to be much harder than I thought it would (or should) be. I cannot be positive how many attempts I made to cancel our account, but is was numerous times, numerous days, numerous months.

Each attempt I called the phone number listed on the statements, XXX-XXX-XXXX. Every time I would be transferred, then transferred again. A couple of times I was able to finally get to an answering service in which I did leave messages explaining that I needed to cancel our services. I never received a call back.

There was one occasion where I actually told a Signapay representative that we were going out of business in hopes there would be a different end result... but unfortunately our account was still not cancelled.

Since our account was debited directly out of our bank account I decided to alert our bank to monitor our account and let me know if Signapay Merchant Services continued to debit our account.

Several months went by and our account was still being charged. Still the customer service phone line proved to be no help in getting the service cancelled.

I finally had to issue a stop-payment at the bank in order to actually get this relationship severed.

Several months passed and on June 3rd, 2013 we received a letter from a collection agency with a balance due of $259.60.

I called the collection agency and informed them of the trouble I've had in closing our account with Signapay. I talked to ***** (with the collection agency) and she said that she would dispute the balance with Signapay and the next step is to wait on a response. She did not know how long that would take. I plan on calling her rather frequently to see what happens there.

She did indicate that the billing is for February, March & April, 2013. Please note that we have not done business with Signapay since September 2012 and our last payment to them, before the stop payment took effect, was January. Another odd thing is the random billing amounts as follows...
January 2013 - $128.90 (I believe this included some sort of an annual fee. All I know is this is well after my first attempts to cancel!)
December 2012 - $39.90
November 2012 - $20.01
October 2012 - $41.12
September 2012 - $19.95
August 2012 - $19.95
July 2012 - $41.62

After receiving the collection notice Joe Sims, Vice-President of our company called Signapay Merchant Services and explained that it was not possible to sever ties with them. They informed him that a cancellation notice was never filled out. This was the first mention of a cancellation notice, fact this was the first conversation that got through to an actual person.

Mr. Sims expressed his frustration with how we were turned over to collections after we tried numerous attempts to cancel. There was not even a phone call once the account was blocked. Signapay told Mr. Sims to pay the $259.60 and the issue would be resolved. However, we feel that is just plain ridiculous as we DO NOT owe for any services.

Again, where do they come up with the large sum of $259.60 due for the months of Feb, March & April, 2013? If anything they should owe us for all the months they continued to collect after we wanted their services terminated. However, we are not asking for that, we just want this $259.60 wiped clean of our account and removed from Transworld Systems Inc collection agency.

In closing, we would like the BBB to check into this matter for us and perhaps the cancellation practices of Signapay Merchant Services.

Thank You.
Sincerely,
***** ***
Sims Fertilizer & Chemical Co
Osborne, Ks XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX
************ (fax)
*********@hotmail.com


Desired Settlement
We are not seeking a settlement pertaining to this matter at this time.

Business' Initial Response
SignaPay's technology keeps a careful record of incoming calls, and this business did NOT call more than once. At that time, it was explained that SignaPay cannot cancel accounts without a signed confirmation from the business owner, and a cancellation form was emailed to the customer. That form was never received. The customer's bank account was closed and the account did go to collections. The sum of $259.60 was paid by the business to collections. SignaPay is mailing a check in that amount to the business this week.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We appreciate the refund of fees, although short-paid a bit. We find their response that we did NOT call more than once to cancel our account very frustrating and aggravating as we have documentation of several of the many calls we made. Anyway, just glad to FINALLY have our relationship severed!!!!

06/28/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
SignaPay continually say they 'cannot' honor the contract we have when it is clear they mean they are choosing not to honor our contract.
In Jan 2013 I opened an account with Authorize.net to process credit card payments from my clients. Authorize.net passed me onto Smart Merchant Services (powered by SignaPay) for part of the process. Automated payments of credit cards is all new to me so I had many questions. I dealt with Holly Franklin, Account Executive, at SMART/SignaPay and the really important element was my question and Holly's answer via email (dated Jan 22nd):
"When is a payment "Non-Qualified"? For obvious cost reasons I want to avoid this.
* Good question; a card is non-qualified if it's key entered without address verification, if you do not batch out within 48 business hours (auth.net typically sets you up to auto batch every night,) and some corporate cards are considered non-qualified. As long as you enter the AVS information and you're set-up to batch every night most of your cards should qualify for the 2.19%."

It was this specific answer that led me to sign a contract with SignaPay.

On March 12 I contact SignaPay by phone to find out if I am doing something wrong as it is clear that all my credit card payments are being processed at the much higher Non-Qualified rate of 3.64%. Randy Jones tells me that Holly is no longer with the company and that she quoted me the wrong prices on my contract.

An email (13 March) from Rhoda Steward, Vice President, Strategic Partnerships, confirmed this:
"Randy passed along your email to me and explained the situation as well. I did take a look at your merchant application and Holly did fill the rates out incorrectly. I truly apologize for that. Your rates should be:

Qualified: 2.19%
Rewards Qualified: 3.64%
Mid Qualified: 3.64%
Non Qualified: 3.64%
Other - Comm Card: 3.64%

Again, we feel terrible for the mistake. I will submit a request today to lower your Rewards, Mid, Non, and Other rate to 3.35%. We will also lower your monthly account maintenance fee to $7.00 a month."

Here is my reply:
"Sorry but this is completely unacceptable. I asked Holly about the rates specifically. I asked her when I would be paying higher then the 2.19% Qualified Rate as I wanted to avoid doing that as much as possible. She was very clear, and I quote:

As long as you enter the AVS information and you're set-up to batch every night most of your cards should qualify for the 2.19%.

The fact that your staff member misled me is your problem and not mine. I expect you to honour the contract that I signed in good faith."

Rhoda's reply was:
"I am very sorry Philip, but I cannot do that. I do apologize that Holly misquoted you, but I can't honor those rates. It is below our cost with Visa, MasterCard and Discover."

We then escalated my complaint to the then president, Kevin Jones, who offered similar reduced rates, but has now left the company, so it's back to Rhoda.

Rhoda then said she needed to do some research. I was hoping she was researching how Signapay could honor our contract, but instead I get an email (dated March 26) where she tells me:

"You were assessed the correct fee for your transactions. All of your transactions fell into the Non-Qualified rate bucket." and further adds:

"The miscommunication came when Holly informed you that as long as you input the AVS that most of your cards would qualify at the 2.19%. That is not true in Canada. So, it is absolutely our mistake in misinforming you on how your transactions would qualify, but pricing is correct and you were charged the correct rate."

I like the fact that Rhoda accepts that this is absolutely their mistake, but she still only offers me a deal where I will pay 50% more than I signed up for. I don't get it. When I make a mistake I do not expect my customer to pay for it, but it seems that SignaPay do.

I was told explicitly that I could expect to pay 2.19% for most of my transactions. I cancelled another contract & signed up on this basis. Now they say they 'cannot' honor our agreement, when the truth is that they choose not to.


Desired Settlement
I want SignaPay to set up my account so that when I collect AVS information and batch out within 48 hours, I am charged the 2.19% I reasonably expected to be charged. I also want SignaPay to refund me the difference on all previous transactions that would have gone through at this rate, but were actually charged at a higher rate.
I know they will say that they 'cannot' do this, as they will lose money on my transactions, but with the greatest respect that is not my problem or my fault. I have already wasted stacks of time trying to get this sorted out, so they have already cost me a great deal when 0% of this problem was caused by me and 100% of this problem was caused by them.
Once they have done the right thing and honored our agreement, then it is up to them how they go about reclaiming any losses incurred. If Holly knowingly gave me wrong information, then they can take it up with her. If she wasn't properly trained or supervised, then they can take it up with whoever should have overseen this. Ultimately, this is up to them. It isn't my problem and I shouldn't be expected to carry any of the cost of it.

Business' Initial Response
An error was made. We take full responsibility for that. A new employee quoted a price far below our cost. We cannot honor that commitment. We have spent hours on the phone with this client trying to find a satisfactory middle ground. Below is an email sent to him by our Vice President. We have the legal right to cancel our contracts any time and for any reason, and are exercising that right.
******,

Again, we apologize for the miscommunication and the complete hassle this has been for you. We appreciate and want your business. I hate the fact that Holly did give you wrong information. I want to clear that up now. The truth is that all of your keyed transactions will qualify at the non-qualified rate. This is how the Canadian interchange for Visa, MasterCard, and Discover works. It is a bit different in the US and unfortunately, Holly assumed it would be the same. We take accountability for that. We cannot honor the 2.19% that is on your contract. Again, I apologize for that. This is what we can do:

We can lower your non-qualified rate of 3.64% to 3.30% and lower your monthly account maintenance fee from $9.95 to $6.50. If these terms are not agreeable to you, we completely understand and we can close your account for you. We do not want to continue to be a burden to you.

Please let us know how you would like to proceed.

Kind Regards,

Rhoda Steward
Vice President, Strategic Partnerships

105 Decker Ct., Suite 650
Irving, TX 75062

Consumer's Final Response
Hello! Anyone there? I am resending this email I sent 2 days ago because no one has replied.

Okay. I give in. You win. I can't afford the time to continue to fight you on this anymore.

I accept you offer to reduce my fees to 3.3% and my monthly account maintenance fee to $6.50.

Please confirm this so I know you won't be terminating my account. And please don't assume that I'm happy with this resolution.

Better Business Bureau Details
Complaint ID#: XXXXXXXX
Business Name: SignaPay

05/09/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Card Processing Service, Credit Cards & Plans - Equipment & Supplies, Financial Services

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/10/2007Business started: 09/01/2006
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Martillo (CEO)Customer Contact: Ms. Michelle Jenkins (Director of Marketing)
Business Category

Credit Card Processing Service, Credit Cards & Plans - Equipment & Supplies, Financial Services

Products & Services

This company offers Provide complete payment processing services and equipment, from POS terminals to eCommerce.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for SignaPay

4100 W Royal Ln STE 150

Irving, TX 75063-2254

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4100 W Royal Ln STE 150 

    Irving, TX 75063-2254

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Dallas and Northeast Texas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*SignaPay is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including the text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013 for complaints filed on 01/01/2013 and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Credit Card Processing Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.